Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gear Head Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gear Head Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Gear Head Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation86%137 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Amazing

11/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast (4 days i think) and when it got here i opened it right away. to my surprise it came with batteries! after a month of use the batteries are still good. the mouse sometimes needs a little shaking to turn on every now and then, but i believe this is on my account. consideridering all the abuse of my 7 yr old sister. so ya its good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 2 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

helpful

10/22/2010
By ,
Titusville Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I AM VERY IMPRESSED NOT ONLY WITH THE PERFORMANCE, BUT WITH THE PRICE AND QUALITY. I USE IT ON MY COFFEE TABLE ALONG WITH MY VGA PROJECTOR AND 58 INCH SCREEN.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Great value and performance. Works great.

09/27/2010
By ,
palm beach, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My purpose was to add a 2nd keyboard and mouse (wireless) to my existing computer setup to control the computer output I watch on my HD TV through the HDMI output coming out the back of my computer. I am able to keep both keyboards in play at the same time, but had to disconnect my wired mouse, now using only the wireless mouse that came in this set. Keyboard runs on 2 AAA batteries, while the mouse runs on 2 AA batteries. Getting long life out of my batteries since the wireless mouse has an automatic shutoff when not in use to preserve battery life (simply lift and click mouse to activate). Very easy setup, as Windows installs the driver required. And hey, cheaper than what eBay has to offer. A very good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Good Money Well Spent

09/05/2010
By ,
Gulfport, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of the mouse and keyboard cables fighting with other things on my desk at home. At work, I use a Logitech setup. I've always been pleased with Logitech products except for the wireless mouse at work. It EATS batteries. Probably Logitech has fixed that problem. Not being sure, I bought this product and was very pleasantly surprised.
The keyboard has all F1-F12 keys without using a special shift key to get to them. All of the extra functions (volume, email, etc.) have their on keys, not imposed on the F1-F12 keys.
The keyboard does not waste space, leaving more room on my desk for other items. Fairly small and lightweight, I can easily set it aside if I need to. The keys have a very nice, smooth, quiet action.
The mouse automatically shuts off to save batteries after an almost too short time, requiring a click to awaken it. Somewhat annoying at first, but now I don't even notice it.
My compliments to WalMart for a low price and an extremely low shipping cost. Well done!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mo

07/04/2010
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice 2.4Ghz RF wireless keyboard at a great price. The bottom row of keys is comfortable to use because there's extra room open below the keys. Some keyboards have the bottom row of keys located too close to the bottom edge but this keyboard is easy to use while lying in bed because of the extra room at the bottom of the space bar. To me this is a huge advantage over other keyboards. There's no on/off switch for the keyboard which would be nice in case something accidentally ends up on top of the keyboard keeping a key depressed unknowingly and draining the batteries. I had a little problem at first with a couple of keys sticking but that problem cured itself after manually pulling the keys up a few times. The sticking key drained the batteries before I caught the problem but the keys no longer stick. The keys are virtually silent except for the space bar making it very nice to use if others are sleeping when you're on the computer. Overall the keyboard is very nice but the optical mouse works poorly for me moving the pointer around a little too fast. The plug-in USB RF receiver works great and is very small. There is no program disk included with it but it's a simple plug and play keyboard and mouse. Despite the small problems with a couple of the keys sticking and the mouse being a little too sensitive, I really like the keyboard and I use it regularly with my laptop when I'm lying down. I don't use the optical wireless mouse which I don't particularly care for but instead I just reach over and use the touch pad on my laptop. I would recommend this wireless keyboard for anyone and I will probably purchase another one as a gift for someone. I am very satisfied because it suits my needs perfectly. It comes with a great limited lifetime warranty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 6 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Easy to Install

09/07/2010
By ,
Tinley Park, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This keyboard was very easy to install. Was looking for just a new mouse but came across this deal for the keyboard and mouse. Terrific value for the small amount of money. Do not hesitate to purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Good keyboard for the price

12/11/2010
By ,
jacksonville, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a keyboard for my laptop because my screen was going dead and decided to use my tv as a monitor and get this setup for it. It works pretty well but if you type pretty fast like i do, occasionally it misses keys that you type. The install was nothing, vista recognized it instantly and I had no problems there. It only takes up one USB for both the keyboard and mouse. Overall it was a good buy for the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

junk

09/27/2010
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mouse worked fine...keyboard never worked. If you type 123456789, you would get 13679. Keystrokes
on letters same thing,would show every second or third letter you typed. don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

You get a gold star!

05/14/2011
By ,
Willis, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had absolutely no problems with either the mouse or keyboard. I bought these items along with an HDMI cable, to hook my laptop to my tv, and a USB hub, to connect the wireless reciever and other USB things to.
The range works great for my set up. Like I said I have the wireless reciever (dongle) hooked up to the USB hub so that it can be closer to the edge of the desk and not be as obstruced by things close to the pc.
If I had to name one con it would be that the battery life on the mouse isn't super great. Mostly becasue my wife forgets to turn it off when it isn't in use and my 1 year old grabs in and starts clicking around with it.
Overall, I am very pleased. I looked at tons of wireless keyboards/mouse combos that range in price from over $100 to this one for around $20 and I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

a good product

02/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a pretty good wireless keyboard. In addition, a good wireless mouse. They are worthy of the money that I spent on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Horrible>>>>>stopped working 2 weeks later

05/30/2011
By ,
arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I opened the box easy install, It burned through 12 pack of batteries and the keyboard stops working peridically after 2 weeks and a pack of batteries later I threw it out. I was dumb and threw out the box so i couldnt return the item. What a waste! i am severly disappointed in this product. Gear head has fallen low on my brand to buy list. IF your looking for cheap and reliable at about the same price point Try LOgitec EX100 mouse keyboard combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Logitech Cordless Desktop Keyboard and Mouse EX100 Combo
4.5 out of 5(239)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 12 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse
11/19/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This wireless keyboard and mouse are great if you are used to the standard keyboard and mouse and have a laptop but, it's not so great if you are a gamer. This keyboard simply can't withstand the intensity of a gamer's fingers. I actually purchased this product for both and for the most part I'm satisfied enough to recommend this product to a friend.
Oh, forgot to mention, it was at my house less than 24hrs after ordering. That's value in itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Great Product/Not for Gaming

12/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product, if you are just going to use it for emails, chatrooms and other simple stuff. If you are wanting to use this for gaming, don't, because the signal strength is way to weak and while playing games the mouse and keyboard will bounce around the screen. I decided to just use it for chatting on my ps3 and it is great for using the ps3's internet browser! Sure fun to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Keyboard and mouse

01/13/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wal-mart processed and shipped ( including an upgrade to overnight at no extra charge for free shipping ) in the quickest response to an order I have ever experienced.
However the keyboard and mouse value is superior only for the price paid for them. the operation of the keyboards leaves alittle to be desired in that some of the keys both letters and numbers need to be watched because they don't always register on the item that is being typed. A little frustrating indeed until you realize that a wtachful eye is needed before pressing enter.
I would recommend the product if price is a consideration without the absolute neccesity for accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Mouse GREAT, Keyboard no so

03/31/2011
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to use with my laptop.
I wanted a wireless mouse/keyboard that had a small receiver, which this does, it is the size of a USB port. The mouse works great, although you have to click it if it has sat for about 30 mins without use. The keyboard is HORRIBBLE, it loses signal all the time and I have to take the batteries out and put them back in to restart it. The way it types is just not what I am used to (I am used to tying on a laptop not a regular keyboard). Anyway, it just feels strange typing on it. Actually right now they keyboard is sitting over in the corner on the floor and I just use the mouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Quiet Keyboard

05/16/2010
By ,
New Bern, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I can only rate the keyboard, which is what I bought this combo for in the first place, as I continue to use my Vertical Mouse. At first I thought the space bar was way too loud until I compared it with my old keyboard. I found that the sound from the two was virtually identical. What I came to realize is that all the rest of the keys on this keyboard are nearly silent, much quieter than my old keyboard, so the space bar only seems loud by comparison to the rest of the keys. Keyboard is close to computer so I can't attest to the range of the wireless function, but for me, so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Works well

01/08/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wireless keyboard and mouse combo were easy to install, and worked right away, once the batteries were popped in. I use it every day. The mouse is lively, so a good mousepad is handy. I forget to turn in off sometimes, but the batteries are still keeping it going. The keyboard went offline only once in the past 3 weeks, and came back on when I checked the batteries to see if they were dead. No other problems. For the price paid, this is a good deal. Of course, I've been using it for less than a month. So far it has been reliable and better than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

It's just ok

06/03/2011
By ,
Adelanto, Ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I was excited to have a Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse again. It was one of the cheaper packages on Walmart.com. The keyboard doesn't have an indicator light to show you your caps are on. I loved this feature on my wired keyboard. It's also not that easy to navigate the qwerty keys. It doesn't keep up if you're a fast typist
The mouse is something else. It's suited for a small hand. If it stays idle for 5 minutes it won't work until you click on it. I forget that sometimes, and just get frustrated at it.
This package was easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Not bad...

07/11/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in a jam when I bought this keyboard. I have a laptop but the "A" key had fallen off and the clip on the keyboard was broken off so I couldn't re-attach it. I work from home as a transcriptionist and buying a new laptop wasn't currently in the budget so I had to buy an external keyboard. This one came with a mouse which made it a good deal for the price. The keyboard works well but the mouse is a bit touchy and sometimes doesn't work 100% but oh well it serves its purpose for the most part. I would recommend this product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Gear Head KB5100W Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

Good price!

01/21/2011
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this wireless keyboard and mouse because I wanted to surf the web om my widescreen tv. I ran out of usb ports on the back of my computer so now I am using it full time. I don't know if it is interferance or something else but the keyboard sometimes does not work right all the time. When I hit a key it won't respond. But this is an intermittant problem. overall it is a great value! I'm going to try replacing the batteries that came with it with some energizers and see if that helps. For he price I am satisified. Scott
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next