Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Western Digital Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

The Western Digital 2TB Elements External Hard Drive is the right answer for simple, reliable add-on storage. Designed with the same commitment to quality that made WD external drives the number one drives in the world. Just plug it in to a USB port and start saving your photos, music, video, and files.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%102 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Awesome Backup Potential

05/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just took this out of the box and it is working great, took 10 seconds to detect and show up in computer panel, Barely Room Temp to the touch. I should mention that with the filing system it will only have 1.81 tb for your use but it is all worth it.
It has a very decent weight to it, will make a good paper weight in 5-10 years when it burns out.
I plan on using this to backup all of my itunes videos and music.
Also my 20,000 home movies and pictures.
Overall a great product
I should Mention that the usb cable is extremely short i had to re-arrange my entire workstation just to make the cable reach.
My advice is to upgrade to a longer cable.
Also the transfer rate is on average 2.8 mb/s which is kinda bad but hey, you get what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 2 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

2 TB of pure storage and no frills!

06/29/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USB 2.0 2 TB external drive works great right out of the box. It's formated for NTFS with no bloated software. Just the drive and ready to go! I'm currently using it to back up my desktop along with incremental back up's. No problems with the drive so far and it work's great! The price is reasonable for 2 TB with out the frills. I recommend it to anyone considering a back up drive or just to store files with out having to worry about running out of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Excellent Product

10/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use on my MacBook Pro for the Time Machine. It works flawlessly. You cannot beat the amount of storage space for the price. I am extremely happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 4 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
05/29/2010
By ,
Lewisville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic hard drive for someone who just wants more space (and lots of it) and doesn't need any frills or programs. I have a backup program that I use and only needed more space, and this more than provided it. I have no idea how I'm going to fill all of it up, but I am able to keep everything backed up easily and completely without ever worrying about running out of space, and that's fantastic. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Really good deal

09/06/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and plenty of storage for all my needs. I back up all my drives and store my digital photos on it too. Does run a little on the warm side though when left on constantly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 6 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Best Investment I Could Have Made

10/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is everything I could have wanted in a storage device. It has plenty of storage space, it is easy to use on both laptops and desktops, there is nothing to install, and it was a great value for 2TG. Just plug in and go, I LOVE it! I have had this for several months and it has worked like a charm. It is such a great product I am going to get a second one...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 7 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Good unit.

07/26/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a simple storage solution and this is it. No extra software, just lots of room and easy installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Excellent, well designed product for the money!

08/01/2010
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted something simple as most hard drives these days come with their annoying built in software which cannot be deleted (like WD Essential Edition). This is a hassle free drive and is not bundled with any of the extra software which is exactly what I wanted. You simply plug it in and it works. It can easily be formatted to work with macs as well. I've been using WD hard drives for years and I own several models of the "essential" and "passport" editions. They are very reliable.
This elements hard drive has a sleek and sexy, minimalist design. It is well built overall and constructed of durable plastic. There is a slot for the USB cable, a slot for the power adapter and a tiny circular white light which blinks when it is in use (the light is not overwhelming as some hard drives can be). All three of these features are on one side/face of the hard drive (as shown in the picture), so if you have this plugged in and it is facing away from you, you won't see the light at all. This doesn't bother me but it may be a turn off for some people.
When in operation, it is very smooth and quiet compared to other WD hard drives I own. This may be due to the fact that it is closed entirely and there are no holes for ventilation as in other WD models. But this doesn't bother me because I just use this as a backup and don't need it on all of the time. This could (emphasis on "could") be an issue if you are constantly using your hard drive because it may become hot. I haven't experienced this at all, just speculating. If you are just backing up files and, say, watching a movie on your computer which is stored on the hard drive, I think you'll be fine and there won't be any heating issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

a very good product

11/18/2010
By ,
Belleville, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I purchased this product I looked at all the reviews and was concerned about some of the negative ones. But I bought it anyway to give it a try. I easily set it up in under 5 minutes. It has been working flawlessly ever since I turned it on. With USB
2.0 The data rate transfer is very good. I transfered over 50 gigs in one hour with absolutely no heating problems that would have me turn the unit off. So far so good. I am thinking of buying a second one because the value is so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Easy to use

01/26/2011
By ,
Longwood, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended highly by company I purchased my computer from. I can see why, price for 2TB not much higher than for 1TB. Easy to connect and install. Loved the fact I could order from Wal-Mart and pick up at the store with no delivery charges.
Thanks Western Digital and thanks Wal-Mart!
Thanks Apple for the suggestion of both the item and store - you saved me both time and money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

AWESOME!

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked around for a 2TB and I have always like WD's products so I found this one, and it was the cheapest around and it was free sheeping!! woot woot!
Thanks walmart for a awesome transaction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN
12/26/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hard drive is VERY quiet and performs as I would expect it to. In the 30 days I've had it, it is working admirably.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Good Product but not complete

08/06/2010
By ,
Campbell, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The disk drive does what I wanted from an external disk drive but there are two things that are missing.
One is the on/off power switch.
Second is lack of heat circulation mechanism.
I cannot leave it ON for long time since the heat cannot escape from any vent. No ventilation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

WD hardrive is not a good product

08/15/2010
By ,
Atlanta, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a week ago and yesterday it just flopped on me. the light is blinking and its already clicking from inside. ITS dead and i bought it for $119+TAX. this is a piece of junk no afence. there are product complaints allover google repeatedly complaining about the product not working for the same reason. I already talked to the company all they do is try to find another way to plug it in, making you think ur computer might me defective. since my product is still under warrenty they gave me two options. 1) exchange & 2) send out an adapter to work the hardrive. HOW IS IT GOING TO WORK if its dead! i highly advise against this product i donno y wallmart is still selling it. yah some hardrives might work out but if u have imp files that you want to put on to your hardrive i would never trust this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-15points
Review 15 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Excellent product

12/21/2010
By ,
Garwood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monster of Hard Drive is as advertised. It is plug and play with nothing to install to get it working and ready to transfer files, movies, pictures etc. to it. I have only had it for a month but so far no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 16 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Awesome Product!

12/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this product for about a month now and I love it. It's very fast. I use it to store back up copies of all my DVDs that I own (legally, these are just images of the originals I have. It's nice for when kids scratch up that brand new $24 disc, and I can watch from my PC without a hassle!) I needed something bigger than what I was using because TV seasons can eat up a lot of space. I jumped at a chance to pick this up.
I transferred an existing set of 67 movies to it and it only took 4 hours to complete. That's super fast compared to what used to take double the time with less movies on my old 350Gb drive.
Fast, cool (plugged in constant since I have owned it, not a trace of heat at all), and cheap (on cyber Monday at least) and tons of storage. Can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Good external HD at a good prcce

12/23/2010
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked fine right out of the box--just what you expect for a WD HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Why can't I Fix This

11/17/2010
By ,
Carrollton, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
/two days after I picked up the Elements External Hard Drive, I was hard at work moving files from
older drives into the new folders that I had created.
I had to move the drive so I UNPLUGGED the power cord from the drive and put the drive in it's new location. When I plugged the power back in, the drive failed to respond. I tried everything and it turned out to be the power receptacle on the drive.
No way to fix and two whole days of transfer now down the drain. Why not make that part a replaceable part? Drive is sealed and no way of getting into the drive box. Needless to say I was disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Great unit for expanding your HDD!!!

01/02/2011
By ,
Poconos
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need a unit that will expand your HDD space 2TB?
This is it. I have had other external HDD from other manufacturer's (Seagate), that have failed 3 times in a year. They have replaced every one, but I don't have time for replacing, backing up to on-line site, every time they crash.
I decided to go with this unit, based on numerous tech reviews, and I love it. PNP with USB 2.0-3.0 and it does it all. Use it for SAN, direct drive or whatever your uses are.
In addition, Western Digital has a no nonsense website, easy upgrade downloads, and superior "In Country" customer service. I tried all of them out first, before purchasing 2 WD drives (I also received a WD MY BOOK- 1TB Ext. HDD as a gift. In addition, that unit is just what I expect from Western Digital!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Western Digital Elements 2TB USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive, WDBAAU0020HBK-NESN

Good Hardrive, Pricy Hardrive

03/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent hardrive. The hardrive itself is quite elegant in my opinion. Its design is very appealing and works as expected. No extra software, just plug and store. Hardrive is 1.8 TB, which is satisfying enough to know that I will not need to worry about space for a long time. Downside is that there is no OFF switch. I dont like pulling to plug, but its the only option to keep good care of it. Another con is the weight. A bit heavy compared to the 1 TB Western Passport model. Weight itself will probably bother you the second you pick it up. I keep it in one place though, so weight poses no threat. KEEP CARE, unit does get warm sometimes. If not, you will be one of the people writing 1 star reviews about how your hardrive "messed up".
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next