Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Sauder Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Add a perfect storage solution to your home with the Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet. Ideal to reduce clutter in your home or home office, this cabinet has two spacious drawers that can hold letter or legal size hanging files. The drawers feature full extension slides for smooth movement. Interlocking safety mechanism ensures that only one drawer is opened at a time. The 2-drawer lateral file cabinet has ergonomically designed knobs that give easy access to the contents inside. Engineered from high quality wood, this file cabinet will serve its purpose efficiently, while enhancing the dcor for years. The rich Estate Black finish adds style as well as a contemporary look to any room in your home. You can use the top surface of this lockable file cabinet to display decorative items. The lateral wood filing cabinet can be easily assembled with the help of minimal tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.052 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
42
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation87%117 out of 134reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 178 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
42
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Great product

12/09/2012
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to order this online due to previous reviews. However, I couldn't be happier with the result, while it was a tad pricier than I would've liked, the overall quality is great. This is exactly what I was looking for and looks high end. Would definitely recommend this filing cabinet!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Very STURDY and EXTREMELY Beautiful!

03/26/2011
By ,
Florence, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what you want if you're looking for a lateral filing cabinet that doesn't look like a filing cabinet. Mine was undamaged out of the package. They really package it well to avoid shipping damage. It has the look, size, and quality of those ones you see for $500, but the catch is a very tedious build. I took my time and double-checked every measurement and made sure every screw had the same number of turns when tightening...and don't over-tighten anything! If you are handy and patient, the final product is very beautiful and extremely sturdy. And WOW, I mean sturdy...I'm 6'00" 250lbs. and I had trouble lifting the box. The cabinet is VERY STURDY...I see it lasting a lifetime, really. Also, the rods and brackets for the hanging folders are screwed into the drawer, so no more accidentally collapsing folders! YAY! Each drawer is designed to hold two rows of folders front-to-back (not one long row from left-to-right). Buy It!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Attractive File Cabinet

02/28/2013
By ,
Coconut Creek, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As per other reviews...it does take 2-3 hours to assemble. Instructions are not written the best. The top piece of the cabinet arrived damaged, but Sauder immediately sent out the replacement without questions and arrived within five days of contacting them. It does appear that the finish can be scratched easily, but a dark furniture marker would hide this and I have a runner on mine to protect the top as my printer and phone are on it. You probably should'nt put heavy items in the bottom as it is a about 1/4" thick piece in the bottom of the drawers. Though I am using it for some storage such as DVDs and the like. It is a heavy, solid cabinet and looks very nice. I wouldn't say it is black as it has some brown undertones. Definitely worth the cost, unless you prefer to spend $400+ for a real wood file cabinet. BTW, Walmarts price is the best available on this item. Sauder has it for $270 and Amazon for $240.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Better than I expected

02/12/2014
By ,
Suffolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this item this afternoon. Put it together without a lot of difficulty, took a couple of hours. Once you have assembled one of these types of pieces, you have a better understanding of the hardware that is used. This piece is much heaver than I anticipated for particle board furniture. All hardware was included, no shipping damage was noted. The drawer runners are a real plus. They work effortlessly. Extremely pleased at the finished product. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a lateral file cabinet.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Great customer service excellent product

08/10/2012
By ,
Alpharetta, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our unit arrived with a damaged top, but the process to order a new one was VERY easy online and a new undamaged top arrived in 3 days. Customer service was excellent. Assembly for this unit is tedious so be prepared to focus on it for an afternoon. Instructions were sufficient for assembly with no mistakes. Functionality is good and there are no external hints this is a filing cabinet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Top shelf broken when I opened the box

08/30/2013
By ,
Garland TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this would be a great file cabinet, but when I got it home, with no obvious outside damage, the top of it was busted. Obviously the box had been manhandled, dropped or whatever. Now it's worthless and I have to go through the hassle of trying to get my $189.99 plus back or a new cabinet. My one day off this week, earmarked to assemble the cabinet, and it's wasted. Don't use Walmart store pickup/Steve
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Looks good; difficult assembly

05/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product looks nice, like a piece of furniture, rather than a filing cabinet, which is good and just what we wanted. Our friend who put it together said it was the worst item we had him assemble. And, he assembled at least 5-6 items for us. Additionally, this item arrived with minor damage -- some scratches in the wood, in various places. Not a huge deal, just saying. Also, the top drawer sticks at times. I was filing papers yesterday, closed the top drawer, went to the bottom drawer, firmly closed it, to return to the top drawer, and could not get it open. The left side of drawer wanted to open, but the right side was sticking shut. We think it may be off the track. I tried several times and could not open. About an hour later, I tried again and it opened. I'm afraid to close again, as the top drawer is where the majority of my files are. All in all, I would say this looks nice, especially for the money, and if you can deal with an occasional tug-of-war with the drawers, it's a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Gorgeous Cabinet...Crazy Good Deal!

08/22/2011
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this filing cabinet! My home office is becoming a mobile office, as we need the room to become a nursery. This cabinet is placed in my dining room and fits beautifully with my decor...does not look like a filing cabinet at all. Another reviewer posted a photo, and I agree this looks like the photo they took rather than the photo on the site. (It is a solid black cabinet, not at all dark brown). I waited for a long time before taking the plunge on this, and when I finally went onto the site to place my order, Walmart had rolled the price back by 25%...and it was a great deal before that! It did take me many hours to put together. The cabinet and directions are a little complicated. My husband helped a bit, but otherwise I was able to do it by taking it slowly. Just know, you will probably not be able to throw this together very fast. It's well worth the time it took, for the value it is and the stunning result!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Great Look for a Filing Cabinet

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a heavy piece of furniture. We sold an oak version of the same size and it probably weighed 60% of what this weighs. And it looks great.
Yes, it did take a while to put it together and we're very experienced at self assembly. Found a simple step was missed in our directions, but got by that issue.
Well worth the time to put it together though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Great piece of furniture

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the file cabinet 3 days earlier than estimated, put it together in one evening with the help of my kids and it works perfectly. We just took our time, went through everything carefully and the cabinet, drawers, etc. work great! Very happy with how it works and looks and would highly recommend to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Excellent, setup a little confusing

01/16/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the price in my opinon. In the $200 range, I only found much smaller cabinets.
My husband and I have lots of documents we need to store. Medical, child support, banking, refinances, etc etc. I had a regular 2 drawer file cabinet extremely full plus stacks of papers that needed to be filed but couldn't fit. Once we setup and filled it, it's barely over half full!!
SETUP: Fairly time consuming with a few confusing sections. Most of the pieces were not labeled. So when it said Piece A...we're looking at the pieces to try and figure out which is A. My 1 year old was running around trying to help. if he had not been there, it would've been quicker. I would estimate 45 minutes.
MATERIALS: Everything came in the box that was supposed to. It's not solid wood but like compressed wood particles or something. Once you have it together, you cant' tell. It's sturdy and looks like a wood cabinet
SIZE: This cabinet is extremely deep. I would say the image is a little deceitful on the depth. I would measure the space you're going to put it in to get a better idea of how far it will stick out. It worked for us. but I'd reco a double check before buying.
USE: the drawers slide in and out extremely easily. I also don't have the issue with the cabinet falling forward because of the weight of all the files like I did with our previous one.
Really happy with this. the finish is a really nice black. Hope these comments helped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Like it.

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took a couple of hours to assemble. I feel like I need to be careful moving it around. Probably not as durable as its metal counterparts, but a couple hundred dollars cheaper. It's really cute and it is functional. Perfect for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

File cabinet

04/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking. The instructions are a little intimidating and they would do well not only to mark items A & B but Top and Bottom would help. Looks nice put together though and is very solid.
Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Nice looker for the price

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised at how nice this two drawer filing cabinet is. It came in excellent condition, I like the look and color work well with my other office furniture. It is true the drawers are deeper than the picture appears. You can open the drawer all the way out to reach the very last file which is a pleasure. I was able to get quite a bit of files in the unit, and it is heavy duty not to worry about the unit tipping forward. I would strongly recommend this. Please note that when putting it together you need someone that is somewhat mechanically inclined, a beginner would need some time to figure it out. I would also recommend you have two people do it together. Definitely worth the money, so thankful Walmart offers these along with free shipping, you just cant go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Meets My Needs and Expectations

09/29/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading mixed reviews about this product, I was a bit hesitant to purchase, but took a chance anyhow - as its from Sauder and I reminded myself that you "get what you pay for". I was looking for a filing cabinet, wood, to blend with my decor and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. Knowing this, I know I have to give a little on quality - as I didn't want to spend over $300 for a filing cabinet!
I put this together myself. I'm mechanically inclined, but my husband normally does this kind of stuff. I found it easy to assemble. The directions could have been a little bit more clear in places - however, if you look at the pictures and read, it's easy!
The look is great... blends right in with my decor - as I wanted it to. I got it on sale so spent even less than I had planned.
The only thing I don't like is that the metal bars that hold the file folders in place isn't secured to the drawer - so they can go askew. But again.... you get what you pay for.. and I didn't expect a $400 filing cabinet!
Love it..... think it's great for a home office - as mine is... and am so psyched to have all my paperwork organized!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

High quality; low price

06/06/2011
By ,
Columbia, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was hard to find a file cabinet that was both aesthetically pleasing and affordable. This one did the trick. I love it!!!! It was pretty simple to put together as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Not exactly what you would call easy assembly

06/20/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have put together many pieces of furniture and I have never had this much trouble with the instructions. Its kind of a hit and miss. When i got it together and moved it the bottom piece fell off. So after taking 3 hours to get it to almost finished I had to take the next night to actually tear it back down and figure out what was wrong with the piece. It doesnt have locking cams on every piece, and theres a couple of places I would expect to be more sturdy, but isnt. Overall piece looks nice after put together but i wouldnt buy another one. This should be about 130.00 file cabinet not 215.00. its not worth that. The instructions dont tell you which side is up as far as the laminant wood cover, and then you mostly have to reference the drawing to put piece by piece... Would not buy this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

good for me

12/03/2010
By ,
St. louis / Metro-East
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed more file space and the top has enough room for my tower , printer , etc. Though not mentioned , I would suggest using a white glue where ever joints or edges meet , including the slot for the drawer bottoms . I have assembled many pieces like this and don't know why this would not be included in the instructions . Also have help when inserting the drawers so you dont nick the front trying to line it up .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Excellent Furniture File !

01/20/2014
By ,
Buford,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This file took my son approximately 2 hours to assemble , it came very well packed to protect all the compressed wood boards. The file meets all of my expectations it has four sections for your files and you can adjust to legal size if you desire to , I used 8 small tie wraps on the inside file rails to prevent rails from sliding. I like the large area on top where I placed my HP office 8600 Plus jet printer. The file looks more expensive than the $199 I paid for, and very nice looking. Over all , I'm very satisfied with my purchase of the Sauder Edge Water file cabinet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Edge Water 2-Drawer Lateral File Cabinet, Estate Black

Very Nice Looking -Get Furniture Moving Discs

02/02/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased. This file cabinet looks like a very nice piece of good wood furniture. I also like the lateral file concept. There is so much more room. My only concern was that this cabinet weighs over 100 lbs. I was not sure where in the office I was going to place it and how I could move it around to find the right spot. I bought some furniture moving discs and they worked out great (less than $5) . This cabinet weighs more than I do and I had no problem sliding it around to find the best place for it. The bottom of the back legs are exposed raw particle board and would have scratched any wood floor and would have got stuck on any carpet surface. Got hung up on step # 5 during assembly. Make sure that F is flush with A2 and B2 so the drawer tracks will open for step #6. All said and done, very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next