Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

The Sauder Beginnings student desk features an elevated monitor/printer shelf and slide-out keyboard shelf. This computer desk also provides hidden storage behind the door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(468 Reviews) 394
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
280
4 stars
147
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%444 out of 468reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 331 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
280
4 stars
147
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk, great price

12/24/2012
By ,
Hollywood,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, very steady, it looks really nice and at $50 you cannot go wrong, all around great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Meets my expectations & great desk for budget

11/07/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to buy this product because it was on rollback and I've been needing a small size computer desk for the living room. This product meets my expectations and it's such a great desk if you're on a budget. It is a little wobbly, but it will hold up quite well against the wall. Just be careful and don't let anyone lean against it. The part to cover the desk in the back is not soft wood, instead it's hard wood that isn't sand. It doesn't bother me since it's against the wall.
Before I purchased this, I thought the drawer on the bottom pulls out, but instead you just open it like a regular cabinet drawer.
What I disliked about this is the space to put my pc. If you have a huge Alienware pc like mine, then your pc will not fit in the area designed for the pc. So since I wasn't able to use that for my pc, I just put my sub woofers there and set my pc next to the desk on a box.
Overall it's worth the money.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great "cheap" desk

11/01/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this desk because I needed a cheap smallish desk for my laptop and school books that wasn't going to fall over when the wind blew. It came in the color just as the picture shows (on my computer anyway) and I didn't care that it wasn't a "cinnamon cherry" as that sounds ugly to me. It arrived only 3-4 days after I ordered (with the second cheapest shipping method). Warning, the box is HEAVY. Box had protectors on the edges and wrapped in plastic as well, it didn't seem damaged from shipping. When I unpacked it, one of the pieces was crushed on the edge (see image). They also left out the washer and gave me an extra nail. The washer is for the door, but it works fine without it, too. I put it together myself (19 yr old college student) and it took about 1-2 hours. I suggest having at least two people put it together as there are some steps where someone holding the piece would be helpful, but the instructions were not confusing. After completion, I wiggled the desk to see how sturdy it seemed, and it barely moved (on short carpet). It is also good to note that the back side of the desk is unfinished, so it looks best against a wall. Overall, I think it's a great product for the price. I have included a picture of the damaged piece as well as the finished product with a regular sized kitchen chair and a laptop with a 15.6" screen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great Product for a reasonable price!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's begin with the instructions, they were the easiest most detailed instructions I've had in quite some time. They show you actual size of the screws you're going to have to use and it makes the putting together a whole lot easier!! There was only two steps you actually need two people because of how you need to place them together but other than that, you can do it on your own. It seems sturdy enough, a little shorter than I expected but it's ok for me. The color is different than shown but I'm not complaining, goes well with the rest of my house decor. It's a little darker than cherry cinnamon. I'm not sure about how long it took me since I didn't do it all at one time. Highly recomment this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Beautiful and sturdy

07/23/2014
By ,
New York City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this desk to replace a larger one. It is very easy to assemble as long as you follow the instructions and added storage by using small bins.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great Buy while it last

09/10/2010
By ,
Chalmette, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new Mac and needed a small desk for my old computer. While searching the Walmart site, I found this desk, great price $40 bucks including free shipping right to my door. I read previous owners descriptions and one person said that it wasn't a cherry color and it wasn't black so by this I knew it would be just the right color to match my office furniture and it did , it's exactly the same color. Now I can set up my old computer and let the kids have fun.......Highly recommend it is extremely sturdy...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Cute Desk, Lots of Space

01/05/2011
By ,
Ringgold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For as small as this desk is, there is a lot of space. I use it for office use and for my hobbies. I am able to store my sewing machine and supplies in the little door. And then all my office supplies fit on the top. The desk is very stable. I would definitely recommend this product. It is a nice desk and not very expensive. It does look black when you firs open it up, but after awhile you can tell it is not black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

great spacious desk

12/13/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together lots of work space.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love it!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got tired of waiting for my husband to put the desk together so I decided be proactive and put it together myself. I must say that I was intimidated at first but once I opened the box and saw every part was labeled and the instructions had real size pictures of each screw, nail etc and named each one as well as gave the size of each, I became more confident. Nothing was missing from the box, I actually had extra screws in each size. Assembly was easy as long as I followed the instructions. I can't say how long it took to put together because I didn't time it but it didn't feel like a long time maybe 1 hr 1/2 to 2 hrs. The desk is very sturdy and the color was represented perfectly online. It's perfect for my kids to do their school work as it has a lot of desk top space. My husband decided to put the monitor on top of the little piece where you can put a lamp, pencils holder etc. This way they have more room on the desk top. I love this desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love this desk!

04/20/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an adult student, returning to college after many years of being out and needed a small desk to do my work. This is absolutely perfect for what I was needing! And the top floating shelf area is perfect for my small HP DESKJET 1000 printer. It takes some time to put it together but worth the time and SO easy to assemble; the written instructions are so detailed with words and pictures. Could not have been easier to assemble! All pieces were labeled with the correct number/letter to match the instructions and for the pieces that do not have the sticker, they are labeled with a clearly written letter/number, written with black marker on the unfinished edge. I saw some reviews say that they were not all labeled with stickers, which is accurate, but they are all labeled.
Actually enjoyed laying all the pieces out and putting it together like a puzzle. WONDERFUL desk, very sturdy, and attractive. PERFECT for a young person's bedroom or like me, in the corner of my living room for my school work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
HP Deskjet 1000 Printer
4.2 out of 5(961)
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

A great looking compact desk for what its worth.

11/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy! I don't regret it at all, and I highly recommend it. It has a sharp minimal look to it. The dark cherry finish is flattering to any existing home decor, will blend right in, and people, this is REAL wood, not that fake pressed plyboard stuff. So keep that in mind during assembly, because that means the parts are not light. I am using it for my new laptop, and it is the perfect desk for one. My only (petty) gripe is that whoever wrote the instruction manual complicated the assembly for no doggone reason, because its not really that deep, and didn't have to take that long, this is actually very easy to assemble and needs only a hammer and screwdriver. Don't toss the packing foam, you will need it as a support prop while you assemble. It fit nicely into a corner of my living room and my large printer, a Canon, can sit on the perch with no problem. The cabinet is spacious enough to store printer paper plus a few college textbooks, an added plus. I am a happy camper with this purchase. If you are on a budget but want quality and style, buy this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk for a small space

11/18/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this desk after my old (Dollar Store) one started falling apart. I kept on coming back to this as I'm on a budget and was looking for something that had a spacious keyboard tray, plus storage, plus room for me to use my laptop and monitor as a dual-screen set up. This fit the bill perfectly! It came on time, and I was able to put it together in about an hour with frequent 'ooh shiny' breaks. It is fairly heavy, not expected for something made out of 'engineered wood' more aptly described as particleboard. True, it's not going to last forever, but short of me throwing it out my second story window (through which it can't fit lol) I don't think it's going to break anytime soon. The dimensions given are right on target and it fit the intended location perfectly. I'll definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a computer desk for their studio apartment or a small home office. If you have clients in to see you though, you should get something a bit flashier as the particleboard does show on the back (which would typically face a wall in it's intended set up). Go buy this desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Very nice

04/17/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk is working out just fine. Just a couple of words of caution. First, be very careful with the large screws. Do not sink them but rather leave them flush and don't reverse them. It is a cheap desk but very attractive. Although it took a while to put together, it was all clearly labeled (except not to sink the screws) and went smoothly. It holds the 23 inch monitor just fine. Didn't have to tilt it just scoot it a little forward. Overall, I'm very pleased but just a tad disappointed I couldn't put the screw covers on. HOwever, I just may glue them on! Very nice for the price. Came package very well'; nothing broken or missing. Not wobbly either. Will get a side table to match.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love It

08/27/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk is amazing, i love it and it is better than i thought it would be
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Not Bad, Price Kind of High

08/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got this desk for a new apartment to set up my desktop computer. Was one of the cheaper ones I could find but was still a little out of my price range (just moved, new job, little available money) but I wanted more than a Mainstays brand. Followed the instructions to put it all together but there are several noticeable gaps between pieces. The door for the little compartment at the bottom won't open or close without pushing the piece next to it out. The screw and cam covers are also completely worthless. For the money it isn't bad, but I was hoping for something a little better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

A very helpful product.

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful little computer desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Get what you pay for.

08/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks nice when set up but already the particle wood is lifting the same day we received it. Don't think it will be lasting very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Desk for high school student

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter put it together herself. The dark wood matches her furniture. I can tell she is happy with it because she hung a painting above it. Looks good in the room and is just the right size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Easy assembly desk!

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great computer desk and very heavy and sturdy. It's nice to not have my tower on my desk with everything else. It gives more space to be able to work with. Definitely glad I bought this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Cheap starter desk

08/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really needed a desk so I searched online for something cheaper. I guess you get what you pay for. This desk is aesthetically pleasing. Although after assembling the desk I moved it from my living room to my bedroom and it started coming apart at the hidden cams. I tightened them according to the instructions but it still fell apart. As a person who doesn't build things often, I put in a lot of time and effort. I expected the product to be a bit more durable than it was. It's not falling apart now. I guess it's fine as long as I don't move it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 395 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next