Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

The Sauder Beginnings student desk features an elevated monitor/printer shelf and slide-out keyboard shelf. This computer desk also provides hidden storage behind the door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(405 Reviews) 332
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
127
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%387 out of 405reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 308 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
127
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk, great price

12/24/2012
By ,
Hollywood,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, very steady, it looks really nice and at $50 you cannot go wrong, all around great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Meets my expectations & great desk for budget

11/07/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to buy this product because it was on rollback and I've been needing a small size computer desk for the living room. This product meets my expectations and it's such a great desk if you're on a budget. It is a little wobbly, but it will hold up quite well against the wall. Just be careful and don't let anyone lean against it. The part to cover the desk in the back is not soft wood, instead it's hard wood that isn't sand. It doesn't bother me since it's against the wall.
Before I purchased this, I thought the drawer on the bottom pulls out, but instead you just open it like a regular cabinet drawer.
What I disliked about this is the space to put my pc. If you have a huge Alienware pc like mine, then your pc will not fit in the area designed for the pc. So since I wasn't able to use that for my pc, I just put my sub woofers there and set my pc next to the desk on a box.
Overall it's worth the money.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great "cheap" desk

11/01/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this desk because I needed a cheap smallish desk for my laptop and school books that wasn't going to fall over when the wind blew. It came in the color just as the picture shows (on my computer anyway) and I didn't care that it wasn't a "cinnamon cherry" as that sounds ugly to me. It arrived only 3-4 days after I ordered (with the second cheapest shipping method). Warning, the box is HEAVY. Box had protectors on the edges and wrapped in plastic as well, it didn't seem damaged from shipping. When I unpacked it, one of the pieces was crushed on the edge (see image). They also left out the washer and gave me an extra nail. The washer is for the door, but it works fine without it, too. I put it together myself (19 yr old college student) and it took about 1-2 hours. I suggest having at least two people put it together as there are some steps where someone holding the piece would be helpful, but the instructions were not confusing. After completion, I wiggled the desk to see how sturdy it seemed, and it barely moved (on short carpet). It is also good to note that the back side of the desk is unfinished, so it looks best against a wall. Overall, I think it's a great product for the price. I have included a picture of the damaged piece as well as the finished product with a regular sized kitchen chair and a laptop with a 15.6" screen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great Product for a reasonable price!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's begin with the instructions, they were the easiest most detailed instructions I've had in quite some time. They show you actual size of the screws you're going to have to use and it makes the putting together a whole lot easier!! There was only two steps you actually need two people because of how you need to place them together but other than that, you can do it on your own. It seems sturdy enough, a little shorter than I expected but it's ok for me. The color is different than shown but I'm not complaining, goes well with the rest of my house decor. It's a little darker than cherry cinnamon. I'm not sure about how long it took me since I didn't do it all at one time. Highly recomment this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great Buy while it last

09/10/2010
By ,
Chalmette, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new Mac and needed a small desk for my old computer. While searching the Walmart site, I found this desk, great price $40 bucks including free shipping right to my door. I read previous owners descriptions and one person said that it wasn't a cherry color and it wasn't black so by this I knew it would be just the right color to match my office furniture and it did , it's exactly the same color. Now I can set up my old computer and let the kids have fun.......Highly recommend it is extremely sturdy...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Cute Desk, Lots of Space

01/05/2011
By ,
Ringgold
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For as small as this desk is, there is a lot of space. I use it for office use and for my hobbies. I am able to store my sewing machine and supplies in the little door. And then all my office supplies fit on the top. The desk is very stable. I would definitely recommend this product. It is a nice desk and not very expensive. It does look black when you firs open it up, but after awhile you can tell it is not black.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

great spacious desk

12/13/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together lots of work space.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

A great looking compact desk for what its worth.

11/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent buy! I don't regret it at all, and I highly recommend it. It has a sharp minimal look to it. The dark cherry finish is flattering to any existing home decor, will blend right in, and people, this is REAL wood, not that fake pressed plyboard stuff. So keep that in mind during assembly, because that means the parts are not light. I am using it for my new laptop, and it is the perfect desk for one. My only (petty) gripe is that whoever wrote the instruction manual complicated the assembly for no doggone reason, because its not really that deep, and didn't have to take that long, this is actually very easy to assemble and needs only a hammer and screwdriver. Don't toss the packing foam, you will need it as a support prop while you assemble. It fit nicely into a corner of my living room and my large printer, a Canon, can sit on the perch with no problem. The cabinet is spacious enough to store printer paper plus a few college textbooks, an added plus. I am a happy camper with this purchase. If you are on a budget but want quality and style, buy this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love this desk!

04/20/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an adult student, returning to college after many years of being out and needed a small desk to do my work. This is absolutely perfect for what I was needing! And the top floating shelf area is perfect for my small HP DESKJET 1000 printer. It takes some time to put it together but worth the time and SO easy to assemble; the written instructions are so detailed with words and pictures. Could not have been easier to assemble! All pieces were labeled with the correct number/letter to match the instructions and for the pieces that do not have the sticker, they are labeled with a clearly written letter/number, written with black marker on the unfinished edge. I saw some reviews say that they were not all labeled with stickers, which is accurate, but they are all labeled.
Actually enjoyed laying all the pieces out and putting it together like a puzzle. WONDERFUL desk, very sturdy, and attractive. PERFECT for a young person's bedroom or like me, in the corner of my living room for my school work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
HP Deskjet 1000 Printer
4.2 out of 5(961)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk for a small space

11/18/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this desk after my old (Dollar Store) one started falling apart. I kept on coming back to this as I'm on a budget and was looking for something that had a spacious keyboard tray, plus storage, plus room for me to use my laptop and monitor as a dual-screen set up. This fit the bill perfectly! It came on time, and I was able to put it together in about an hour with frequent 'ooh shiny' breaks. It is fairly heavy, not expected for something made out of 'engineered wood' more aptly described as particleboard. True, it's not going to last forever, but short of me throwing it out my second story window (through which it can't fit lol) I don't think it's going to break anytime soon. The dimensions given are right on target and it fit the intended location perfectly. I'll definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a computer desk for their studio apartment or a small home office. If you have clients in to see you though, you should get something a bit flashier as the particleboard does show on the back (which would typically face a wall in it's intended set up). Go buy this desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Glad I bought it

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the color, dark but not black. I put it together by myself in about 2 to 2 1/2 hours. All pieces were present and fit together perfectly except the door is slightly askew. It still opens and closes ok. It fits perfectly in the space I bought it for. I like the raised shelf - it makes not just another piece of boxy furniture. I kinda wish the cubby with the door was a drawer since it's down near the floor. Overall I am very happy with this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Very nice

04/17/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk is working out just fine. Just a couple of words of caution. First, be very careful with the large screws. Do not sink them but rather leave them flush and don't reverse them. It is a cheap desk but very attractive. Although it took a while to put together, it was all clearly labeled (except not to sink the screws) and went smoothly. It holds the 23 inch monitor just fine. Didn't have to tilt it just scoot it a little forward. Overall, I'm very pleased but just a tad disappointed I couldn't put the screw covers on. HOwever, I just may glue them on! Very nice for the price. Came package very well'; nothing broken or missing. Not wobbly either. Will get a side table to match.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

perfect fit

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little apprehensive when I saw that in description stated student computer desk and thought it would be too small for my use, but it was a perfect fit. I put my printer MX410 on top shelf and computer in the CPU area and my 22" screen and it all came together along with the little storage area (I only wish it had a small drawer). Looks great and works great, very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Like it

04/20/2014
By ,
Stratford, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk looks just as good in person than it does online. It met my expectations. Its was also easy to put together. It looks great and is very useful.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk for good price

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my kids and they're exactly what they look like in picture. It took me about 45 minutes to put one together. Very detailed and easy to follow instructions. Once put together it looks nice and is sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry
12/24/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small desk for my room and it fit. It was easy to put together and was packaged as they said with no damage. The printer stand to the right holds my all in one large printer. I love this computer desk and use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Love My New Desk

04/11/2014
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The desk is just the right size for the room I have it in. I love the fact that there's a place to put my printer and a space for my harddrive so I won't have to sit it on the floor. The little cabinet on the bottom holds my paper and envelopes. I'm satisfied with my desk. The only problem I had was putting it together. I'm not good at that. Fortunately, my mom is so she put my desk together without any glitches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

Very good value

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear instructions
everything fits
all parts in the box
delivery sooner than promised
storage door difficult to attach
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

very comfortable

04/10/2014
By ,
galveston, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
what I like the most is that it is very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Cinnamon Cherry

my desk

04/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just right not to big and not to small
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 333 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next