Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sauder Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

The Sauder Beginnings student desk features an elevated monitor/printer shelf and slide-out keyboard shelf. This computer desk also provides hidden storage behind the door.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(504 Reviews) 407
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
332
4 stars
144
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%484 out of 504reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
332
4 stars
144
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Kudos!

05/08/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was a breeze! Nice quality, good and sturdy! Can't beat the price either! Thanks Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

One word... Great.

02/26/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great color, I chose cherry. It is quite dark, you would sometimes think it's black but it's still nice. It took me about an hour and a half to put together myself. Some pieces are labeled with a sticker and some of them have the letter on the unfinished sides. The desk arrived two days early which was great too. The desk is very sturdy and no wobbling.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Worth the money

08/15/2010
By ,
Jensen Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk along with some items from Walmart.com and I have to say it's worth the money. Arrived at my house w/in 3 days via Fed-Ex and it was free shipping. I am not quite sure why some reviewers say its hard to assemble, but as long as you read the instructions its quick and easy. Finish is great, now I just need a flat screen monitor to make it feel less cramped.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Worth the price!

03/13/2011
By ,
LaPlace, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I order the because I needed a bigger desk, because computer desk I have, was purchased when I only had a laptop. It did the job, but I wasn't wide enough to fit the keyboard and mouse at the bottom, I had to put it on top of the desk, and the bottom extention the was supposed to be for the hard drive, was not sturdy enough for it to sit on, so it was on the floor. I got this desk because of the price, color, and it fit the needs I was looking for. I needed a wider desk, a space for my printer, and I wanted my hard drive off of the floor. It is very sturdy, and was easy to put together, took me about an hour, so it absolutely fit the bill, and the price was awesome, well worth it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Very Happy with the purchase

08/10/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all let me applaud the shipping it was sooner then expected. Upon opening it up i saw it was packed carefully to protect the desk from damage during transport. Some reviewers here have complained about assembly, I am not sure what there talking about. I am not handy with a tool at all and i had it up and going in a little over an hour. It Fits my dell XPS 8300 perfectly, 21.5 in. monitor fits just right. I placed the speakers behind the monitor and the router as well. I have a huge 4 in 1 printer and the stand to the right fits it just right. All in all the desk looks sharp and seems very sturdy. Its a nice snug fit so its a great buy for small spaces.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Great desk, wrong color

10/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The site shows a light oak coloring calling it pecan. The actual unit we received is closer to the Cherry color than the "pecan" color shown online. Otherwise, the unit was fairly easy to put together and seems very sturdy, especially for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 7 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

A place for everything, & everything in its place!

04/11/2011
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right size, right price, easy assembly. Not my first Sauder product, more than satisfied with the quality and appearance. Much sturdier than it looks. Perfect for someone needing an in between size desk. I have my printer on the side shelf, it is perfect for my needs. I really love the keyboard shelf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Great space saver

03/23/2012
By ,
Big Apple
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my deck on time. Easy to put together, sturdy, nice color finish & is a real space saver. I like the smooth top where as I don't need a mouse pad, COOL!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Very happy with this desk!

02/24/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a compact computer desk but so many of them are either cheap looking/cheaply made or they don't have enough features. When I came across this one, it seemed to have everything I was looking for, plus the price was very reasonable. I was surprised by both the features and the quality. I love that the area for the computer case is elevated instead of sitting near the floor. Makes it so much easier to access. And the storage compartment is an added extra that I wasn't looking for but have really utilized. This desk was surprisingly easy to assemble and feels very sturdy. The ONLY thing I would change is that it would be just a little taller...my desk chair doesn't quite fit under the keyboard tray because of the arms (but that issue was easily remedied by putting small "risers" under the corners of the desk). All in all, I am very pleased with this purchase and would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ohio
Posted 07/27/2011
I have read a lot of comments and by far this is the on that made be decide on this desk. I'm turning 14 and going into my freshman year and need a new desk. So i put it on my birthday list.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Excellent "Kit"

01/28/2010
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to build furniture, but this piece was truly a breeze to put together. Every hole perfectly placed, it contained every single piece (well-marked), and the directions were thorough and clear! They even explained how to properly tighten a cam--not 180 degrees, but 210 degrees (with pictures!). Also, they included a website URL you can you can access to see a video demonstration of how to put it together. It's a very functional desk, fits all my computer parts in a compact space, and is a pretty wood grain. I would recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 11 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

JustRite Everything.

08/07/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a hansom, small footprint, yet large enough
piece, to fit even those large towers from the past.
The easy access to the rear of the tower design, with plenty of air flow around makes over heating
worry free.
Nice little area for a wireless router and modem.
Plenty of room for your LCD monitor with left
over space for a book to read or write a paper.
Even has a convient cabinet to store whatever
you need to, (no lock)... Not recomended for
a CRT monitor.
Basic slide out keyboard tray table works well,
Easy to understand assembly instructions, with
little tools.
I am very satisfied with this desk, and if you need a not to large desk thats looks good and
is easy operater friendly, I give it my blessing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 12 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Worth Every Penny

10/07/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk to go with the desktop PC I also purchased, as my notebook PC recently went out. I was browsing the Furniture area of walmart.com when I saw this. The raised PC Tower area is a glorious thing. It will help prevent hair and dust from working its way into the computer. I was not expecting the slide-out keyboard tray, but that is an added bonus. The assembly was a cinch, with very detailed instructions. It took me around an hour and a half to do, and I just got off of a graveyard shift.
I ordered the maple finish, and it looks perfectly acceptable. It isn't garishly outrageous like some of the other coated pressboard furniture you'll find out there. There are so many little aesthetic parts that I couldn't find places to use all of them.
If you're looking for something reasonably priced, decent looking, and with enough features to make a small space usable: This is your desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Color Way Off- But Great Desk

06/23/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this desk in the Pecan color, but what I got was not even close to the color online. I also ordered the TV stand in the Pecan and it was the same color as the desk. Since both were the same color I went ahead ahead and built both pieces. I was going to check the color on the boxes, but my husband had already threw them out.
Other than that the desk looks great and the CPU stand holds my HUGE gaming computer. It was so easy to put together, and I did it myself. The only thing that I changed was the handle to the door is a cheap black plastic handle. I went to Home Depot and changed the handle and it made the desk look a lot more expensive than it really is. I actually love the desk so much that I am ordering one for mr bed room since this one is for my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 14 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

confidence builder

03/29/2010
By ,
Pass Christian, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I ordered this online. Our first online experience with Walmart. It was great. When it arrived I had to assemble it. It was my first time to do this and I was apprehensive. I laid out all pieces, checked everything and read the directions before I started. I had basic assembly tools, those that the directions called for.I used the box and packing foam for support while assembleing although a good stack of magazines was considered.I had everything except the door and keyboard drawer finished by the time he got home. It would have been finished except for the fact that I had over tightened the the hidden cams which caused the plastic pieces(on the cam dowels) to inlarge too much, I sovled this problem by inserting the screwdriver into the holes to inlarge them a little when inserting the cam dowels. Four hands would have made it easier but I did it.To make a long story short, it looks great and is sturdy. Now I just need to decide on the desk and hutch I want. I feel like I can assemble anything and am looking forward to my next project.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Beat my expectations

01/26/2010
By ,
West Point, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were impressed with the quality of this desk. The instructions were perfect and the desk is sturdy. The color is great, and the packaging protected the materials very well.
5-star product! Wal-Mart's associates were very helpful as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 16 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Well made and very sturdy

04/15/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had ordered this desk to be shipped to Walmart to save on shipping charges. Packaged was not delivered on time as noted and was delayed at least an additional 4 days. Received package in good condition.
Before starting your project, always make sure that you have counted out all of your parts, that way you know what you have and don't have. Unfortunately I was missing one part for the keyboard shelf, so I called the company, Sauder, spoke to Greg and he was very polite and apologized for the missing part and would be sending the part in 2 to 4 business days. No charge for this item since it was missing from package.
So please make sure to count out everything that comes with your item before starting which my husband and I always do. Other than that the Desk is very sturdy and well made. It took about an 1hr to 1hr1/2 to build and very ease to put together. The color is true to what is shown on screen. It is a perfect fit in our bedroom and does not take up alot of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

a lovely desk for a cozy apartment

06/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to assemble, looks good, fits perfectly in a small area and leaves plenty of room for other household furniture. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase. Thanks previous reviewers. I often rely on your comments before I purchase a product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Review 18 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Great Value!

05/31/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This desk was delivered Site to Store and was delivered within the specified time listed.
It came in one box and when I got it home had it up and assembled within less than an hour.
The It is the perfect "little" computer desk! The instructions for assembly were clear and easy!
Caution, with mine it is a bit crowded because I do not have a newer monitor...mine is the old style BULKY type...
But it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 19 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

met expectations

01/09/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good finish for this type of product. Assembled perfectly. Good instructions. Very functional. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 20 for Sauder Beginnings Student Desk, Multiple Finishes

Exactly what you need

09/03/2012
By ,
Buytwo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly what it advertises-an efficient desk with some style.
I purchased it because the measurements were a perfect fit for my room, the price was good (and qualified for free shipping, which is also a great perk), and the color options allowed for some good variety.
The material itself is a little flimsy, and there were some scratches/nicks on it, but for what I paid I feel like you get what you pay for. And, in my case, because this desk met all the specifications I had, I didn't mind.
My biggest concern was with the delivery-I live in a major city, and when the package was dropped off, it was dropped off on the sidewalk in front of my house. Not in my doorway, not in the gate, not even on my stoop-on the sidewalk, where anybody could have just walked by and picked up the item as well as all of my identifying information that was written all over it. Because of this experience, I would be hesitant to order from Walmart.com again.
Aside from the delivery experience, the desk itself is solid and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 408 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next