Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SAS Survival Guide

SAS Survival Guide

Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%16 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SAS Survival Guide

"WHAT'S IN YOUR EDC/BOB"

07/20/2014
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a retired U.S.A.F. Security Forces supervisor with extensive survival training coupled with real-world experience. My experience as a survival expert on the civilian side of things comes from being caught in flash flood situations, tornadoes, civil unrest, riots, an earthquake, political upheavals, food stampedes, trapped at altitude in a blizzard and the imposition of martial law more than once.... Yes, its obvious I travel to some rather dangerous places at some rather unfortuitous times. After devouring the full size version, I knew I had to have this pocket edition in my EDC/BOB. I even ordered copies for my not so well trained loved ones. I've read stacks of survival books and manuals. This one is top of the top! No one who is routinely exposed to possible life threatening situations should be without this book.... As we all know, life threatening situations can happen to YOU while on your on the way to the corner store. Get a copy, read it, heed it and keep it within reach at all times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SAS Survival Guide

Excellent book

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this to anyone spending time in the woods at all. The book isn't much bigger than two decks of cards stacked, the pages are coated with something to protect them from light rain damage or dirty hands, so it's ideal to take with you camping, hunting, hiking, anywhere that you might have a little down time to read, or need it as a reference in an emergency.
As far as "survival" books go, this is the benchmark all others should strive to compare to. It covers nearly every imaginable subject to some extent. This, and a plant identification book specific to your region (Petersons, or Falcon's) make the ideal duo for anyone wanting better themselves with knowledge that could one day save their lives.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SAS Survival Guide

A must have for 72 hour kits.

02/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for our 72 hour kits. This little book is packed with tons of info, from cover to cover. When I read on the cover that it is a survival guide for any climate in any situation. I was like "right" "I don't believe that" and you know what I was dead wrong. I love this book! It was worth every penny and I would pay much much more for all the knowledge that's crammed in this little book (about the size of a deck of cards) It teaches you things like how to chop wood, how to make spears, how to read the stars, what plants you can eat and some you shouldn't , how to make splints for broken bones , dress wounds , how to tie knots, trap game, fish, building/finding shelters, fire making and much much more. I liked this book so much that I bought 10 of them and am going to give them to my family and in laws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SAS Survival Guide
05/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product. It is very small ( a little larger than a deck of cards ). This makes it great to keep in your pack. Great for a Scout or just to keep in your vehicle. Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SAS Survival Guide

For the beginner and the experienced!

09/21/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this SAS survival guide is very detailed oriented.. for some of us.. you will need to pick and choose what you feel is important enough to have. Book is very small( 4X3). In case you did not read the size, you could be surprised. it will fit in a bug out bag or tool box very easily. But if you have trouble reading fine print..might not be the book for you, or get a magnifying glass(which is suggested in the book for lighting fires). this book is broken down in sections. Essentials, Climate and Terrain,Food, Camp Craft, Reading the Signs, On the move, Survival at sea, Rescue, Health(fist aid,CPR,wounds,fractures,emergency child birth,bites, poisoning,And even plants that have medicinal purposes.) It covers more than I had even anticipated. And we were just looking for a guideline for disaster at home. This little book covers just about every thing you could image a need for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SAS Survival Guide

Highly recommend

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just a smaller version of the large sas guide. It fits in your pocket or small pouch and is very lite. I liked it so much I bought a second for the car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SAS Survival Guide

Great Book

07/02/2011
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teaches you how to survive anywhere on earth. Must have for hikers, campers and adventurers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SAS Survival Guide
11/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was small and easy to pack and it had everything that you would need to survive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SAS Survival Guide

Terrific and I'm thoroughly pleased!

11/01/2012
By ,
Sterling Heights, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This SAS Survival guide beats the others, hands down. First, I received my order quickly and was very happy regarding that fast delivery. (Thank you Walmart.com) I can also see why this survival guide has sold over 1 Million copies world-wide.
The SAS Survival Guide, by John 'Lofty' Wiseman is written clearly and concisely; is truly easy enough for any beginner to understand (Should be a Scouts bible in the wilderness, really). It is the pocket sized edition that fits in pocket or backpack easily. This is the Revised Edition, and on the cover states that the iPhone App is available. The pages are a tad heavier than most; they are glossy, and the pictures are great!! Many of them in color.
Wiseman is an expert survivalist of 26 years and his knowledge of practical applications in the field is outstanding. In his chapters he covers all the Essentials, Climate and Terrain, Food, Camp Craft, which includes Shelter and making camp, Fire, Cooking, preserving food, organizing the camp, Tools, Furnishing the Camp, Animal products, Ropes and Lines; Reading the signs which covers maps, direction finding, and weather signs. On the move covers planning the route, moving in groups, walking at night, Upland travel, Jungle travel and waterways. There's survival at sea, abandoning ship, being in the water and making landfall. Rescue covers Signalling, codes, search and helicopter rescue. Then he goes over Health and first aid, including unconscious casualties, breathing and pulse, choking and so much, much more. The list in this book is nearly endless. There are disaster strategies for everything. It's 383 pages that are simply 'packed with information.'
Believe me, if you're truly concerned how you would fare on your own, don't be. With this survival guide you can't go wrong. There's always a way. I love this book and I highly recommend it for those who travel 'anywhere' because even 'if' you're alone ...there's no way you couldn't survive unless you don't buy this book. It's worth every, single penny. I hope this helps you decide because I do not intend to mislead anyone. If you follow it and do as suggested, there's no reason for you not to survive, unless a person just plain does not care. So, in turn, you need the 'will to survive' first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SAS Survival Guide

SAS Survival Guide

03/25/2014
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am S.A.R. and S.E.R.E. certified, I have been a survivalist for 38 years,
I have done jungle, swamp, and desert survival in the worst of conditions
and weather....thought I knew a lot! However I learned a lot! this book is outstanding!!!
I have read it front to back in a couple of days......It is a great addition for anyone wanting to gain
a basic to advanced understanding and skill set of survival
~~Randy, A Cajun Italian Survivalist! 3-24-2014~~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SAS Survival Guide

Survival: Fun Sized!

01/07/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this online for a friend to be a part of a walking dead gift set. The book is like 3 inches tall! I thought it was a normal sized paper back book! LOL
I don't know if was in the description of the item or not; but the book was little.
Other than that, it's really nice! There are illustrations, and what's a book without pictures?! :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SAS Survival Guide

Nice Book

01/26/2014
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A smaller book than I was expecting, but full and very nice! I'm pleased. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SAS Survival Guide

Best little book I've found.

11/06/2012
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this book for our preparedness kits. Because of it's size it takes up no space and carries a wealth of information on a broad range of topics. Despite it's size it is well illustrated and easy to read. I wanted it included as a reference if anything ever happened requiring us to live off the land in an emergency so that I didn't have to rely on memory or experience, which is limited. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a well rounded set of information.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SAS Survival Guide

Lots of info

12/05/2012
By ,
Independence
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only problem I had with is that the picture does not depict the actual size of the book. The book is small and the printing is a little hard to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SAS Survival Guide

Great Book for the Price!!!!

12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase fast free delivery. Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SAS Survival Guide
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5