Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bayer Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bayer Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

The Bayer contour USB blood glucose test meter is useful for those people suffering from diabetes and need to check consistently on their blood sugar level. This meter plugs into your computer and allows you to obtain the blood sugar data as well as view history of blood sugar data and trends. This is an easy to use USB blood glucose monitor that is meant for a single patient use. The glucometer includes GlucoFacts the deluxe diabetes management software that helps you to view or to retrieve data and enables you to track previous readings. With this monitor, you can also analyze the blood glucose test results and easily share it with a healthcare professional. This monitor works on a no-coding system, recognizes the code strip and sets it automatically. One can simply insert the Bayer Contour test strips in the monitor and obtain accurate results. The bright colored display of the USB monitor makes it easy to read results.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%41 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Works really nice

03/30/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bayer Contour USB is a nice compact device that only takes but a few minutes to take a reading, software loaded very easily and updated without a problem from Bayer's website. Comes with a portable carry pouch, USB connecting cord, sampling strips, Microlet lancets and lancet deliverer.
Software is easy to set up and gives a wide range of reports that you can use to track your blood glucose and notice any trends, also I use it for noticing any foods that seem to spike my blood sugar.
All in all I think it is a very nice product and have no need to search any further for a monitoring device.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Works Great!

06/28/2010
By ,
Coarsegold, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using my meter for one month now. When I received the meter I read the instructions, charged the meter, took a blood sample, selected "After Meal" on the meter, the meter gave me the reading, simple. I then registered my meter, I then downloaded the latest version of GLUCOFACTS Deluxe to my computer. I manually entered a few older readings from another meter. I've continued taking readings and downloaded the readings to my computer when I get around to it. I never liked logbooks, too little space, couldn't get trends, etc. I took my reports into my primary care and when he saw the reports he said "WOW". I was able to give him the info he needed by quickly looking at my reports. He could easily see my trends by looking at the trends graph. I use my meter with Windows 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 3 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

A very excellent product.

12/17/2009
By ,
heath,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this meter for about a month and its the best one that I've ever owned. I like the bright screen and the light up test strip port. i like the fact that you can plug it in and the software starts up and you can see how your doing and even print reports or save reports and send them to your drs. its sleek and a accurate.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Review 4 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Great Glucose Monitor

12/29/2009
By ,
Omaha, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bayer Countour monitor works wonderfully. Being able to download my daily readings periodically to my computer is wonderful. This function saves me a great deal of time, i.e., not having to record my readings 3 to 4 times daily. Plus, I no longer have to carry my glucose record with me at all times. The software has fantastic reporting abilities. I prepare the reports before seeing my doctor. All of this information is readily available on my PC. This device makes handing this disease much easier.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 5 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

2 Star Review Wrong

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two star review dated 1/9/10 is wrong. Here is a quote from Bayer's Tech Spec page on this device:
"Bayer’s CONTOUR® USB Blood Glucose Monitor is currently compatible with Window® 7, Windows® XP (SP3) and Vista® (SP2) as well as Mac OS X® 10.5.7 and 10.5.8 (Intel® 64 bit processors)
Please register your CONTOUR® USB Meter. After registration we will notify you of software updates including news / updates concerning operating system compatibility."
If it is not working, you need to perform the software upgrade (of course you registered it) and if you still have problems, either contact support or return the product under warranty.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+27points
Review 6 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Super Meter!

03/09/2010
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter is simple and straightforward while offering useful options that are easy to access and manage. Being that it has a built in USB (the reason I purchased this meter) it simply slides into a USB port on your PC and you can access all your numbers. You have the option of downloading the GLUCOFACTS® Deluxe Diabetes Management software to your PC which makes reading your numbers very nice. This software is available from the Bayer simplewins™ website and is free. Another plus is that the meter uses Bayer's Contour® test strips. These strips require a very small amount of blood and use No Coding™ technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Newly Diagnosed

12/05/2009
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first glucose meter and I have no complaints.
It is a bit pricey but the high tech features and ease to use right out the box is so worth it. You get what you pay for shines true with this meter. I Love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Excellent product

02/21/2011
By ,
New Hamburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit plugs directly into your computer's usb port which eliminates the need for the log book. Software is available to analyize the gluclose levels. User friendly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter
10/30/2011
By ,
Richmond, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a God send for diabetics. After using it for a few weeks, I have found myself testing more often and more accurately managing my diabetes. When used with the software, you begin to see exactly how your blood sugar levels respond to your diet and you are able to make much more educated decisions. Since using this meter and software, I have been able to adjust my insulin levels to where I able able to hit my target levels within a point or two. Before, it was more as a guess and not realizing it and I was running 200-300 points above my target. Those days are now gone and I feel great! I previously used a One Touch but the additional cost of cables, software and such provided absolutely no benefit, with this one, test your level and stick into your computers USB drive and you are done. The only drawback is that I would like to have more area to write notes. It is limited to approximately 100 characters. The reports produced are providing my doctor with information that he has never had in managing my condition. I would highly recommend that anyone with diabetes use this meter and throw your old one out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Useful Meter

02/23/2011
By ,
Hoquiam, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, let me say, thank you, Walmart for making this meter affordable for my family. It was between $40 to $50 less than other stores I checked.
The meter is easy to use and uses the same strips as the Bayer Contour meter, which we were using before. It has a strip light feature for nighttime use, but I take a little too long to get my sleeping child prepared and the light turns off. The screen is backlit and full color, easy to read. The design is sleek. The case is a bit too small to carry any extras, like needles, but all the meter necessities fit in nicely.
On the computer end of it, it took me a few times to get used to the way it downloads data, but the reports are useful. One complaint would be that if you test for breakfast after 8 a.m., it goes into the lunch category and I don't see any way to change that setting. The meter settings can be done on the meter itself or on the computer...like blood glucose range. There is a PDF option so you can email your reports to your medical team directly.
Overall, this is the best meter I have seen available so far and I hope Bayer continues to improve upon the basic meter to make it a more useful tool to the diabetic person. As a side, our diabetic family member is a child under 7 and I would recommend this meter to other parents of diabetic children out there because of the ease of use and the wicking feature of the strips and the small amount of blood sample needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richmond, Texas
Adjust times in software
Posted 10/30/2011
You can adjust the times. I found by accident that you can click on the time and while holding done the button, you can slide the times up or down to adjust them to the times that you need. Using insulin, I found that if you take it 45 minutes before a meal you get the best effect and you can set the meter to remind you 2-5 hours after wards to take a after mean reading if you like.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

The best ever product

02/16/2011
By ,
Fort Mill, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a diabetic this product is the best ever so far. I've been a Type 2 diabetic for 28 years, gone through a few glucose meters over the years, till I heard of the Bayer Contour USB. I've had mine for about three weeks and must say this is by far the best meter I've ever owned. I highly recommend this glucose meter to new diabetics and to those who have been diabetics for years. The features are unbelievable, just go to BayerContour USB.com and see for yourself. The price is right too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Not Connected

04/25/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good meter, but it does not connect to health vault yet, my main reason for purchasing it. Just because it is usb, does not mean it is computer friendly. The regular contour connects with a cord, and does work with health vault.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 13 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Timesaver

04/04/2010
By ,
Roanoke, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the most time consuming parts of tracking blood sugar is entering it in a spreadsheet to report on it... This will save you time as it has its own software to track it for you.
It needed some technical ssistance to get setup on a Windows 7 machine with the latest Java release, but it is well worth it.
The compact size of the unit is also a bonus
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

The software doesn't work...

01/09/2010
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The biggest selling point is that this device is 'plug-n-play' compatible with your computer. They don't say that your computer must be an antique.
The software is not compatible with either current operating system: Mac OS 10.6 or Windows 7. Bayer can't guarantee that the software will EVER be compatible with Mac OS 10.6 or Windows 7. Bayer won't guarantee that they will continue to upgrade the software to be compatible with future versions of either operating system.
If you do ever upgrade your computer, then the Bayer ContourUSB becomes a dumb reader no better than a $20 generic model. Without working software, it is junk. IMHO, it is being falsely advertised as 'plug-n-play.'
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Works fine with Windows 7
Posted 10/25/2011
Funny, I got it to work on Windows 7 and XP. I think it is just user error.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Compact meter

07/16/2010
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used meters far a number of years now. I wanted a compact meter. I also wanted a meter that could connect to a pc easily. This meter is very nice and fits all my requirements. If you like a meter that takes cartridges this meter is not for you. One thing I particularly like about the Compact test strips is when sampling, you can see the sample being drawn in and know it is working. Results are fast and in comparison to my other meter look to be accurate.
Hooking up to my pc is straight forward and reports are intuitive.
I am very happy with this meter
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Excellent monitor for blood sugar.

08/02/2011
By ,
Collinsville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor is great finally something that is current with the times. I love it. The readout is large the set up is guided all the way no guess work to this set up. Buy it while the price is right...I couldn't believe what a value I got. I have an iMac & the program on my computer is ready to go it's included within your Mac. I love that it has a rechargeable battery so I no longer have to buy new batteries just hook it up to the computer or a wall charger that is included with the monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Nice looking but still pretty basic.

11/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this mainly for it's looks. Otherwise it's basically just a Contour.
Pros: Small, bright color screen, built in USB, rechargeable, software included which is probably the best thing about Bayer meters even though the software is also pretty basic.
Cons:Case isn't very well designed. Hard to zip closed with large test strip container. very clunky lancing device. I replaced mine with one from my old Freestyle Tracker.
I really wish one of these companies would make a meter as advanced as the Freestyle Tracker which let me enter carb & meds info so I could easily graph and view correlations between diet and meds. Meters these days are just getting dummer and dummer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Contour USB

03/01/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great unit, attach it to your computer and you get an instant reout of your blood sugar levels since you first started using the unit. Great to give to doctor who can download the information so they can have it and work with you on controlling your level. Really easy to use and very reliable. Thanks Bayer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Size great and easy to use

06/14/2011
By ,
Yakima, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool. It is easy and quick to use, small enough to fit in my purse without loading it down. All the info will download into my computer to keep on record and help me keep tabs of where I am at, prints reports to take to my doctor or just to examine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Bayer Contour USB Blood Glucose Test Meter

Great Buy

07/15/2010
By ,
Woodville, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many glucometers in the 13 years that I have been diabetic. This one is better than any of the others and well worth the price. The software is easily understood and easy to use, just plug the USB in and the computer does the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next