Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stanley Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Stanley Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

The Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter offers a convenient, portable way to jump-start your battery without the need of another vehicle. This battery jump starter with compressor comes with a safety system. Simply attach the clamps and if connected improperly the alarm will sound, alerting you to switch the clamps before turning on the unit. With enough power to jump-start your car, truck, motorcycle, boat, RV or tractor, the Stanley Battery Jump Starter is ideal for every day use or roadside emergencies. The battery jump starter with compressor has 1,000 peak battery amps and 500-amp instant-starting power. Additional features of the Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter include 120 PSI compressor with backlit gauge for easy viewing and reverse polarity or reverse connection protection technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(297 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
60
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation90%266 out of 296reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
120 Questions | 279 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
60
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Enough amps to do my job

12/05/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This came unexpectedly soon, about 4 days after order placed. Packaged well. I gave it a 24 hour charge before testing. I purchased this as both an emergency jump starter and to run a Christmas float powered by a 500 watt inverter for 2 hours. Most of the less expensive jump starters only have 8 reserve amps, a figure frequently hard to discover, whereas I needed about fifteen. This one is rated for 22. I ran my system that the meter ( a separate tool, this unit has no meter) says was drawing 3.5 amps for 2 hrs ok. My only knock is the built in charger. I would prefer a separate wall wart charger but I suppose having the ability to always charge with only a regular extension cord is good too. The instructions suggest a recharge every month even if not used. Good luck on me remembering to do that. I hope that's just Stanley being extra cautious and not a reflection of some high self discharge characteristic of this unit.
An aside, it is a shame how underpowered most of the jump starters are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Lot's of features!

02/03/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Stanley 500 has: lots of power to jump start your vehicle; an air compressor with a built in pressure gauge; a light to illuminate what you are doing which is attached so it can't be misplaced; a DC power socket like your car has and a usb port - both great in a pinch for charging things like a cell phone without turning on your car.Your phone's car charger fits in the power socket and the usb port is for items that can charge via a usb cable.
It takes up about as much space as a paper grocery bag. I have used the DC power socket to charge my phone. It was so convenient when I was away from home and forgot my AC charger. I was able to charge my phone without turning on the car. Have not used the jump starter, hope I never do. Remember to charge it once a month. I have my phone calender set to remind me to "Charge Stanley" on the first of every month because "Stanley" will be useless if he is dead!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great product - so far!

11/23/2013
By ,
Anacortes, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A product everyone must have. I just received this product and everything checked out just fine. Tested the air compressor and on my SUV with a tire a little low on air. Worked quite well. The USB Port works just fine with my cell phone and android smartphone. Have not tested the jump starter just yet.
I bought this specifically for my V8 2006 Dodge RAM 1500 truck which I drive infrequently the battery dies during the cold winter. It hasn't died just yet to test my new Stanley Jump Starter but I am sure it will handle it. If it doesn't, I will post an updated review.
I also will pickup a Power Bright 200 watt power inverter to plug into the cigarette lighter port when the power goes off. The manuals says the Stanley Jump Starter can handle 5 amps or 600 watts (120 x 5 amps). I won't even come close to 5 amps but a laptop, monitor, and a few low power CFL lights during a power outage is likely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great Product

04/03/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure about this, but I needed something to get my boat started this spring. It sits at the marina during the winter, normally December through March. Once I backed the trailer with the boat into the water, I kept the boat hooked to the trailer while I tried to start it, figuring I'd probably have to tow it out again and take it somewhere. Much to my suprise (and joy) it turned the engine over with no problem at all. Of course, if you own a boat, you know it takes 3 or 4 times to get it going after sitting all winter, but the product kept turning over the engine with no problem. The battery was so dead, once I unhooked the product from the boat battery, the engine immediately died; however, I hooked the charger back up and it started again with no problem. I keep it in the boat now, and plan on charging it about once a month. Very comforting knowing if I have problems while out on the lake starting the engine, I have the jump starter with me. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Rugged, works as expected, good features

03/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this jumpstarter and unexpectedly got a chance to use it a few days later, when I found my battery dead (as in, completely drained) due to a broken alternator. I actually used it three times, and it jumpstarted my car without a problem each time.
The on/off switch for the jumpstarter itself is nice ... means no sparks which can scare folks (I was thinking about my wife, but I appreciated it too).
This thing is very solidly built, feels tight and tough. I like the features even though I've only used the jumpstarter itself. When first jumpstarting my battery, I connected the cables in reverse and the "reverse polarity" light didn't light up, but I'm not sure if that wasn't my fault ... possibly because the battery was completely drained, but possibly because I didn't have the ground cable actually grounded.
The ability to just charge it via a built-in AC plug, versus a proprietary charger, is a nice feature also.
Definitely a recommended product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Just When You Need It!

09/06/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I recently bought this good second hand car, well, its a German car, well maintained, low mileage, nothing wrong with it. But then, its a second hand car, so I decided to buy a back up -- this is my back up emergency plan. Without asking my husband, I just bought it, for the price, what the heck! When it arrived, my husband got so upset! He said we have a nice and good car.... maybe I am wrong??? So, this Jumpstarter was stuck inside our apartment.
A good two months, our car won't start, I was at work, and so my husband took the unit from our apartment and he was relieved! Our car needs a new battery, and for a good one night, we have to use this unit no problem at all! The car starts right away, and to put it the cables at night is just no hassle cause of the light that comes with it! And the history of having this unit being in the car just begun! I am so in love with this unit and you will just never know when you need it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

24x7 Roadside Assistance Provider...

11/24/2012
By ,
Post Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit thinking it was a cheaper unit to get me by that was in Denver, CO nearly 2 years ago now! I am still using this unit to provide jump starts to my customers and have since moved over 1200 miles away to north Idaho.
I refer to this little guy as my "Miracle Box" it almost never fails me! I jump a customer's car and then leave the unit hooked up to my customer's vehicle while I fill out the paperwork and chit chat with them. By the time I unhook the unit from their vehicle my little Stanley is back to fully charged. Ready for the next time it needs to be used to help someone out.
If this little guy can stand my heavy 5-10 jump starts per week for the past 2 years then it will most definately be a solid performer for any residential users needs or for an emergency unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Stopped working in 2 weeks, had to exchange

11/01/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got the first one, and it was great for charging the cell phone during the day. We never had a chance to use it to jump start the auto battery, because the first time we tried, it said it was out of juice. We plugged it in, got it "charged" and nothing happened. Couldn't just exchange, since its an online-only purchase, so had to return and then re-order when the refund hit our account. Just re-ordered, and HOPE second one works!
I chose Stanley because I grew up with their equipment around my house, my father was a big fan, and they always made quality goods. Disappointed with this first machine, but hoping for better luck with next one. Will submit second review when we see how it works for a couple months!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Excellent

04/16/2014
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it to recharge the battery of an Acura MDX without any issues. The charger comes with an ON-OFF switch to prevent the unexpected charge when the metal contacts mistakenly touch and sparks are triggered. That's a good safety feature. I also love the tire-inflating feature. This will eliminate trips to the fuel stations to pump bikes or cars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Worked great

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got out of work and found I had a flat tire. My girlfriend had this Stanley jump start with compressor in her vehcle so I used it and was very impressed. That is why I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

excellent buy

02/02/2014
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a great buy , also great for on the road mishaps with battery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great Tool

06/03/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grabbed this jump box w/ compressor while on sale. Couldn't pass on the price. Been searching for a new one for some time. My old vector box was 10+ years old & just wasn't doing it anymore. Main purpose was for gold prospecting. To run a 12v bilge pump with my highbanker. Can run the 1200gph 3.5 amp pump for a solid 5+ hours before I need to worry about switching batteries. But normally I shut it off while digging then turn back on when I run material. I can get all day run time this way. The on/off switch is sweet for this.
As a jump box, it works great. I've jumped multiple cars before needing to recharge even though they suggest to charge after each jump. The compressor works fairly well for the size. Can take a few minutes to fill a completely flat tire, but it will fill it. Comes in handy for my atc that has a slow leak on one tire. The light is bright enough, just worry that I will break it off before too long. Haven't had to use the usb charger yet.
The only think I wish it had was a built in converter to run 110v & the ability to charge batteries & check the alternator status like my old vector did. Other than that, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Would not charge.

02/19/2014
By ,
Morganton,n.c.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appears to be well built, heavy construction, very nice, but I charged it for 24 hours like the instructions said and it would not hold or accept the charge. I tried it again and it still would not charge up. I returned it to wal-mart for a refund and only lost my shipping charges, but I really wish it would have worked. I would have tried another one but it was not avaliable in the stores around here.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Stanley jump starter

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad didn't work I've 2 return it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Cheaply Made - Came Broke

02/20/2014
By ,
Louisisana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this expecting a good product by name brand but when I got it. It was broken in three places because it is cheaply made.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

So far, so good

04/09/2014
By ,
Pauline SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used jump box 2 times in 2 weeks. Also pumped up lawnmower tires.
Box jumped off a full size Chevy Suburban whose battery had been dead 2 weeks. That's pretty stout. Air compressor hose is annoyingly short, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Must have emergency tool

04/07/2014
By ,
sacramento CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast charge many handy uses at home on the road or in a boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Arrived just in time!

12/11/2013
By ,
AR -travel often to FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already used it twice within 2 wks of purchase!!!
I'm 35 yrs old and never had to jump start a car, so before my husband moved out of state, I made sure to have him teach me how using the car-to-car jumper cable. A few days after that, a friend showed me her Stanley Jump Starter and recommended I purchase one, since my car is 7 yrs old and my husband will be gone for a long while. I did my research/reviews and ended up buying the Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter/Compressor on black Friday. It arrived within a week. I charged it for 24hr and placed it in my van. Within 2 weeks after getting it, my van wasn't starting up. It was due to issues with the sliding door not automatically closing right, which then drained the battery. I started to panic, as the roads where icy and I needed to drop the kids off at school asap.
I brought out my jump starter and placed the clamps on properly and turned on the switch and then started the car. It worked! I've felt like I had super power!
I've designed & built a wooden playground big enough for young kids/teenagers and multiple adults to play on, an electric commercial style sprinkler system that ran thru the front and backyard, replaced roof, landscaped and garden (without gloves), tiled, built ground-to-ceiling wooden bookshelves, and put down concrete sidewalks in our landscape, so I'm not your typical girlie-girl, but I've never had to jump start a car, as I've always had my husband, dad, or brother do that for me.
Well, a few days after jump starting my car, I had to do it again due to same door issue, so I've put it to good use already. I had paid $70 and it was worth every penny! Saved the headache and worry of having to borrow my parent's car or if my car was to die in some parking lot.
I'd recommend this particular model to everyone! Just an FYI - make sure to charge the unit monthly as recommended in pamphlet; this is suppose to keep the unit lasting longer - and that's my goal...
We travel often, so I'll be using this a lot for it's other functions. I'm hoping to have this unit still working in 5 yrs, so I'll try and remember to post another review around then.
...Next is to learn how to change a tire. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Compact well-designed and well-built unit.

04/06/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Short time owner. Pleased with design and performance so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great product. It works.

04/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as intended
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next