Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stanley Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Stanley Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

The Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter offers a convenient, portable way to jump-start your battery without the need of another vehicle. This battery jump starter with compressor comes with a safety system. Simply attach the clamps and if connected improperly the alarm will sound, alerting you to switch the clamps before turning on the unit. With enough power to jump-start your car, truck, motorcycle, boat, RV or tractor, the Stanley Battery Jump Starter is ideal for every day use or roadside emergencies. The battery jump starter with compressor has 1,000 peak battery amps and 500-amp instant-starting power. Additional features of the Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter include 120 PSI compressor with backlit gauge for easy viewing and reverse polarity or reverse connection protection technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
69
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation88%294 out of 333reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
135 Questions | 317 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
69
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Enough amps to do my job

12/05/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This came unexpectedly soon, about 4 days after order placed. Packaged well. I gave it a 24 hour charge before testing. I purchased this as both an emergency jump starter and to run a Christmas float powered by a 500 watt inverter for 2 hours. Most of the less expensive jump starters only have 8 reserve amps, a figure frequently hard to discover, whereas I needed about fifteen. This one is rated for 22. I ran my system that the meter ( a separate tool, this unit has no meter) says was drawing 3.5 amps for 2 hrs ok. My only knock is the built in charger. I would prefer a separate wall wart charger but I suppose having the ability to always charge with only a regular extension cord is good too. The instructions suggest a recharge every month even if not used. Good luck on me remembering to do that. I hope that's just Stanley being extra cautious and not a reflection of some high self discharge characteristic of this unit.
An aside, it is a shame how underpowered most of the jump starters are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Mine was a lemon

08/07/2014
By ,
Maysville, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited about buying the Stanley Jump Starter with all the rave reviews. I thought it would a great tool to have for keeping my auto tires inflated and jump starting dead batteries. I purchased online and the transaction went great in late July 2014. It came partially charged and I charged it overnight until the battery status indicator showed it was fully charged. I decided to use the tire inflator on August 6, 2014 to add air to the tires of my Ford Focus. I hooked the air connector over the stem of the tire and turned the compressor on. it ran about 3 minutes and the compressor died.
I could not get the compressor or the charger to work at all. Tried to recharge it, but it wouldn't charge. I returned it to the local Walmart for a refund. I haven't decided on ordering another one or not. I had no problems from Walmart, but wish it had lived up to all the good reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great Product

04/03/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure about this, but I needed something to get my boat started this spring. It sits at the marina during the winter, normally December through March. Once I backed the trailer with the boat into the water, I kept the boat hooked to the trailer while I tried to start it, figuring I'd probably have to tow it out again and take it somewhere. Much to my suprise (and joy) it turned the engine over with no problem at all. Of course, if you own a boat, you know it takes 3 or 4 times to get it going after sitting all winter, but the product kept turning over the engine with no problem. The battery was so dead, once I unhooked the product from the boat battery, the engine immediately died; however, I hooked the charger back up and it started again with no problem. I keep it in the boat now, and plan on charging it about once a month. Very comforting knowing if I have problems while out on the lake starting the engine, I have the jump starter with me. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Rugged, works as expected, good features

03/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this jumpstarter and unexpectedly got a chance to use it a few days later, when I found my battery dead (as in, completely drained) due to a broken alternator. I actually used it three times, and it jumpstarted my car without a problem each time.
The on/off switch for the jumpstarter itself is nice ... means no sparks which can scare folks (I was thinking about my wife, but I appreciated it too).
This thing is very solidly built, feels tight and tough. I like the features even though I've only used the jumpstarter itself. When first jumpstarting my battery, I connected the cables in reverse and the "reverse polarity" light didn't light up, but I'm not sure if that wasn't my fault ... possibly because the battery was completely drained, but possibly because I didn't have the ground cable actually grounded.
The ability to just charge it via a built-in AC plug, versus a proprietary charger, is a nice feature also.
Definitely a recommended product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Lot's of features!

02/03/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Stanley 500 has: lots of power to jump start your vehicle; an air compressor with a built in pressure gauge; a light to illuminate what you are doing which is attached so it can't be misplaced; a DC power socket like your car has and a usb port - both great in a pinch for charging things like a cell phone without turning on your car.Your phone's car charger fits in the power socket and the usb port is for items that can charge via a usb cable.
It takes up about as much space as a paper grocery bag. I have used the DC power socket to charge my phone. It was so convenient when I was away from home and forgot my AC charger. I was able to charge my phone without turning on the car. Have not used the jump starter, hope I never do. Remember to charge it once a month. I have my phone calender set to remind me to "Charge Stanley" on the first of every month because "Stanley" will be useless if he is dead!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great product - so far!

11/23/2013
By ,
Anacortes, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A product everyone must have. I just received this product and everything checked out just fine. Tested the air compressor and on my SUV with a tire a little low on air. Worked quite well. The USB Port works just fine with my cell phone and android smartphone. Have not tested the jump starter just yet.
I bought this specifically for my V8 2006 Dodge RAM 1500 truck which I drive infrequently the battery dies during the cold winter. It hasn't died just yet to test my new Stanley Jump Starter but I am sure it will handle it. If it doesn't, I will post an updated review.
I also will pickup a Power Bright 200 watt power inverter to plug into the cigarette lighter port when the power goes off. The manuals says the Stanley Jump Starter can handle 5 amps or 600 watts (120 x 5 amps). I won't even come close to 5 amps but a laptop, monitor, and a few low power CFL lights during a power outage is likely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Does not charge after one use

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product with high expectations after seeing mostly positive reviews. I followed all instructions, charged for 24 hours after receiving the item and then every 30 days following. After owning it for four months, a friend needed a jump. The unit jumped her car no problem. Then when I went to charge it afterwards, the charge lights would not illuminate. I plugged it in an nothing happens. No clue if it's receiving a charge or not. The time to return to Wal-Mart has passed and after a call to the manufacturer they want me to return the item at my expense. That's literally half the cost of the item. The warranty becomes worthless at that point. Why should I incur 150% cost just because their product is not up to par? Very dissatisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brandon, Florida
Charging issue
Posted 09/09/2014
My guess is the wall charger is the culprit. Use the 12 volt port to charge it and see if that will work. You can purchase another wall charger from Radio Shack if that is what it turns out to be.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Brandon, Florida
Charging issue
Posted 07/31/2014
I am guessing the wall charger that came with the unit is the culprit. Did it come with a 12 volt male plug cable? This would allow you to charge from any 12 volt source, such as the 12 volt power port in a vehicle. I would try that method to verify it is the A/C wall charger or not.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Just When You Need It!

09/06/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I recently bought this good second hand car, well, its a German car, well maintained, low mileage, nothing wrong with it. But then, its a second hand car, so I decided to buy a back up -- this is my back up emergency plan. Without asking my husband, I just bought it, for the price, what the heck! When it arrived, my husband got so upset! He said we have a nice and good car.... maybe I am wrong??? So, this Jumpstarter was stuck inside our apartment.
A good two months, our car won't start, I was at work, and so my husband took the unit from our apartment and he was relieved! Our car needs a new battery, and for a good one night, we have to use this unit no problem at all! The car starts right away, and to put it the cables at night is just no hassle cause of the light that comes with it! And the history of having this unit being in the car just begun! I am so in love with this unit and you will just never know when you need it!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Perfect Jump Box

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this box my battery was dead and my tires were mostly deflated. It pumped up my tires, then after.a short recharge and oil change jumped.my.battery off . . Make sure when you crank your car you push the gas peddle a tad to start it up, this product is so worth the money. My suv is a Pontiac Aztek.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Sold on this product before I purchased my own!

10/03/2014
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was starting to leave my brother's home, my SUV only made a "clicking sound." I knew what that meant ... dead battery. He immediately brought out his older model Stanley Jump Starter with Compressor and my car started immediately. He demonstrated all the Jump Starter would do. Wow ... was I amazed. I think I was more excited about the Jump Starter than the fact that I could head to Auto Parts for a new battery. He was going to purchase one for me during the holidays (Christmas Gift), but I wanted the Stanley Jump Starter before then and ordered it online from Wal-Mart. This was my first experience of ordering online with Wal-Mart, but it was easy and the product arrived right on time. Great service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

24x7 Roadside Assistance Provider...

11/24/2012
By ,
Post Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit thinking it was a cheaper unit to get me by that was in Denver, CO nearly 2 years ago now! I am still using this unit to provide jump starts to my customers and have since moved over 1200 miles away to north Idaho.
I refer to this little guy as my "Miracle Box" it almost never fails me! I jump a customer's car and then leave the unit hooked up to my customer's vehicle while I fill out the paperwork and chit chat with them. By the time I unhook the unit from their vehicle my little Stanley is back to fully charged. Ready for the next time it needs to be used to help someone out.
If this little guy can stand my heavy 5-10 jump starts per week for the past 2 years then it will most definately be a solid performer for any residential users needs or for an emergency unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Great Tool

06/03/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grabbed this jump box w/ compressor while on sale. Couldn't pass on the price. Been searching for a new one for some time. My old vector box was 10+ years old & just wasn't doing it anymore. Main purpose was for gold prospecting. To run a 12v bilge pump with my highbanker. Can run the 1200gph 3.5 amp pump for a solid 5+ hours before I need to worry about switching batteries. But normally I shut it off while digging then turn back on when I run material. I can get all day run time this way. The on/off switch is sweet for this.
As a jump box, it works great. I've jumped multiple cars before needing to recharge even though they suggest to charge after each jump. The compressor works fairly well for the size. Can take a few minutes to fill a completely flat tire, but it will fill it. Comes in handy for my atc that has a slow leak on one tire. The light is bright enough, just worry that I will break it off before too long. Haven't had to use the usb charger yet.
The only think I wish it had was a built in converter to run 110v & the ability to charge batteries & check the alternator status like my old vector did. Other than that, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
velur
Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor
Posted 07/08/2014
This product which as best one to use at good price
Mini Multifunctional Jump Starter. Now singtech release new product of car jump starter. Which is very useful for all car owners and long travelers. The power bank is a multi functional operation. You can easily Carey and recharge your ipad, camera, mobile phones, mp3 player and not only that, you can start your car when car battery is down. For more info on jump starter, please visit our website: www.singtech.sg
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

I am very disappointed in this item.

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item 8 months ago and did everything according to instructions. It simply will not take a charge and is of no use whatsoever! I bought a cheaper jump starter from Radio Shack 10 years ago and it lasted 8 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Broken on arrival

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I got this home and open the box the unit was broken. The whole back of it where the compressor is located was hanging off the unit. Looks like the baggage handling gorilla did the shipping. Returned it to the store and ordered another. If Walmart asks for a new review I will gladly review it assuming the new one arrives okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

So far so good...

09/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually bought this to power my laptop and cell phone when at vendor events but haven't had a chance to try that feature. I went outside and my tire was flat. It took a few minutes but aired it up with no problem. I didn't have it plugged in at the time and still has a charge. Looking forward to using the other features!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Overall a nice unit.

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this unit for 1 week. However I find it to be a great jumper. I plugged it in and charged it up. Then went too my storage shed and jumped my Harley. The only reason I'm giving my bike name is to state that the cables on this compressor are are short and hard to get position of the big clamps on my battery. Maybe on others wont have the same troubles. I found out also that you can't charge a battery just off the jump start. It must be plugged in.
These facts are why I give the rating of 4 instead of 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Awful

04/21/2013
By ,
Ludington, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was pretty impressed when I pulled it out of the box and charged it up. However, after adding 3 pounds of air to my tire it died like it needed to be be recharged. But, it will not recharge, it's basically a very expensive door stop and I've been calling the 800 # provided for days and just get a busy signal. I tried emailing and was told I have to call customer service at the 800# I've been calling (in spite of telling them in the email that I've had no luck on the phone for days) Maybe I'm just a one off with regard to how this performs but the lack of customer service means I won't be buying another product from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

Saved the day

01/18/2011
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jump started my totally dead Chicago wintered van battery twice in one week. Also used the compressor to inflate my hand truck tires. After starting my van this jump starter still measured 13 volts. Won't leave home without it. Bought a second one for my lady.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

does the job

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son uses it every day It saves alot of jump starts till we find what is draining his car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stanley 500-Amp Jump Starter with Compressor

great

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product boosts my mustang like a toy car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next