Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Remington Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation92%242 out of 264reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H
11/27/2010
By ,
NW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great kennel. Both my dogs love it. I just ordered a second one and am selling or donating the ASPCA portable kennel I bought because neither one like it probably cause it feels to enclosed. I put a PoochPlanetcrate mat in it that is very comfortable and they both share it and are very comfortable in it. I really dislike the thought of kenneling a dog but when I go away to shop and walk them seperately they don't mind it with a treat. My first kennel was delivered to my door within a week. Takes about a minute or so to put together. I bought the Giant one so my Dobie has room to spread those long legs and the second giant for my rescue Ridgeback/Shep.Please help support Rescue animals. John
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H
12/02/2011
By ,
York Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not useing this cage for its intended purpose. I am replacing the prototype of the one in the photo. I am redesigning it to eliminate the need to cut the cage out to accept the bagger hood. The new one will run the duct work directly into the top of the cage. The hood assembly will no longer be needed. The inside of the cage is lined with 1/4" mesh wire. The new one will also have a dumping feature.
Note -- If you buy any of the cages, have them open the box at the store and check for damage. My new cage had bent metal, a broken pan and a busted carry handle. No damage to the box, however.
John
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 3 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Great value for the price

10/01/2011
By ,
Cocoa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This crate is fairly light weight, but seems be holding up well while being moved around and used daily. I wouldn't want to lift it with a dog inside, though, because it is not that strong. The door is secured by sliding a wire (a length of the same wire that the rest of the crate is made of) across into a loop of wire, like a bolt on a gate. It is very flimsy and rattled open as soon as the dog pawed at it. The problem was easily solved by securing the wire handle on the "bolt" to the cage door with a metal clip (like the one on the end of a dog leash or a key chain). You can't expect great quality for a crate that would cost more than double this price in other pet stores, but if you are willing to treat it with care, this crate is a great place for your pet to spend time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
OUT Puppy Pad Holder
3.7 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 4 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Great kennel, Great value! =)

12/20/2010
By ,
Kimberling City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two kennels just arrived today and I'm very pleased with them so far. The size is amazing! I have 2 German Shepherds and these kennels fit them both (my female is around 65lbs and my male is pushing 100lbs). They have enough room to stand up and to turn around. I would defiantly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 5 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

ok product

08/17/2010
By ,
iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we bought this x large crate for our new great dane puppy. we aleady have a large crate for our 2 yr old dane that is made by petmate, which we have been very pleased with. we purchased the remington because it was just a little bigger than the one we have by petmate and also because a petmate crate was not available at time of this purchase. the gauge of wire is not as heavy on the remington, therefore if you have a dog that has not been in a crate before or really hates to be in one and get aggressive, this will not work, the dog could easily tear it appart. if i would have a choice, i would choose petmate over remington.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H
01/11/2012
By ,
Cypress, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 3 mini dachshund (AGE: Max 3yrs, Duke 1yr, Spot 1yr) The babies kennels were getting too small for them and wanted to get something they would be more comfy in and for all of them to be together. This product arrived and it exceeded my expectations! It did not need any tools to put together, just unfolded and popped things into place was SO EASY! We LOVE IT and so do my pooches!! I actually ordered a mat but it has not arrived yet.. but right when i placed a blanket in it they hopped right in!! We plan to purchase another for upstairs :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Love it, couldn't live without it.

09/23/2010
By ,
Cody, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This giant wire kennel is perfect for my 4 1/2 year old Golden doodle. She is all legs and this kennel will keep her for her first year she outgrew the large kennel at 4 months. It is perfect for her to stay in while at work. the latches are strong and so is the kennel.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Extra Large Crate

03/01/2010
By ,
Cleveland, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second crate I have bought by this manufacturer. I have a large one for our German Shepherd and an extra large one for our Neapolitan Mastiff. The dogs enjoy the crates too. Great quality for the money and easy set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+149points
Review 9 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Great Crate and half the price

02/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shopping around for a sturdy crate for my Saint Bernard for some time. Other stores price crates similar to this one from $230 to $300. I expected it to be of inferior quality but ordered it anyways. To my surprise, it's perfect! It's roomy and sturdy, but also easy to break apart and carry. I definitely recommend this to anyone crate training an x-large breed dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Review 10 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Good Value

12/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this because of the price and that it could be delivered by the date i needed it.
I bought it for an English Mastiff that weighed about 140lbs and was about 34" at the shoulder.
The crate is one piece and comes with the pan. Its very easy to put together as all you need to is basically pull the top up and pull the front and back pieces up and lock into place. It could be a little tricky possibly depending on your strength.
I thought the crate was pretty solid, especially for the price. The one thing about the crate that i would change is the door latches as they are easy for a dog to open. Though that could be easily remedied by most home owners.
The size of the crate, though not as big as i wanted, was still big enough to house the dog i had. It doesnt leave much room for a dog the size i had though but he did fit in it and was able to turn around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 11 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H
10/15/2010
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently got a puppy and I could not find a kennel anywhere that I liked or one that was a decent price. I found this one online and we needed the giant size and since it already had some really good reviews, thought I would give it a try. I have been VERY pleased with our kennel. We have a large 50lb teething puppy and it has held up for over a month of everyday use and punishment from him. If the need would ever arise, I would most certainly by another one of these kennels!! Strange enough, it also cost less than the large size kennels that I looked at in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 12 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Let Down.

01/18/2011
By ,
Chicago, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased a giant sized crate for a medium sized (approx 40lbs) dog. He destroyed the front gate of the crate within 45 minutes of being unsupervised. The kicker: the warranty says that this item is not meant for "untrained or destructive" animals... the moral is: it looks nice , seems stable, and is definitely spacious, but fails to meet expectations if you have a dog that is the slightest bit ansy when left alone. Do not rely on this product for safety, as it can not provide security or protection.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Review 13 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

size is fantastic but...

05/05/2011
By ,
Rolla, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The room the kennel provides for my 80 lb lab puppy is fantastic, but the latches that keep the door closed are terrible. Gideon opened them the first time he was in it. I had to purchase D rings to keep it secure. If you have an intelligent, inquisitive dog this probably isn't the kennel for you or him/her.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 14 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Crate

12/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does just what it is meant to! My only problem is the door only opens one way, and not the way I wanted. The grating on the bottom is larger so I couldn't just flip it. The dogs would get out, so I had to take off the door panel and flip it myself. Yay pliers! Either way, I'm glad I bought it. Know, too, that it's 2" longer than the equivalent at PetSmart, and $50 cheaper!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 15 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

The bottom "pan" is made of very thin plastic.

01/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bottom pan broke the second night my dog entered the crate. He only weighs 65 pounds. I purchased the largest crate I could, so he would be more comfortable. Remington is a well known name, and they really need to address this poor design.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 16 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Did not live up to expectations

04/18/2010
By ,
Gouverneur, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do believe that this product would be useful for those who have a rambunctious dog. I bought this kennel specifically because my lab/rott/pit mix cannot handle being left home alone. She is a chewer and represents the essence of separation anxiety. I was very excited to try this product; however, my pup was able to "break out" of her cell. The door was so destroyed that I had to take it apart, rebend it, and put it back together. After a second trial, she seems to not be able to get out, but I surely would not pay as much as I did again for this product. I feel that I should not have had to adapt it to my dog. If this product were $30 cheaper, I would not have had such high expectations.
My recommendation to others with excitable dogs: try something more durable!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 17 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

ease of use

12/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use makes this dog kennel stand out from the rest. Set-up and storage are unbeatable. After Christmas I'm ordering a second one to replace a pain in the neck kennel that takes forever to put-up and really tough to store because of all the loose pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 18 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Great Kennel for the Money!!!!

07/13/2011
By ,
Piedmont Triad of North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an American Lab & she is very tall so this kennel gives her plenty of room to move & stretch out completely & not even touch the sides. The latches are little hard to latch if ya don't lift them completely up before shifting to lock position. If you don't your pet will learn how to slide lock & get out on their own as it has 2 flanges that fit to secure the latches at the top & bottom. Very sturdy & easy to assemble, but better remember how it went up or can be a pain to take down. You need plenty of room for this kennel as it almost completely covers a 36 inches door opening. Compare with others like it selling for over $100.00, so well worth buying as I shopped around myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

Great for fast growing puppy

11/21/2011
By ,
Moreland, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a German Short Hair Pointer and need something she would grow into and this has fit the bill. They grow so fast i did not want to have to keep buying a new kennel every few months.
I also like the fact it has 2 latches on the door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Remington Wire Kennel, Giant, 48"L x 30"W x 33"H

hasn't destroyed or escaped yet

04/27/2012
By ,
Lake Placid, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Henry my boxer with a bowling ball for a head has yet to destroy or escape from this kennel yet. Will keep you posted. was easier to put together then to get out of the box. Shipped to my door for free, can't beat that.!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wilmington, NY
Henry still hasnt gotten out of this crate...
Posted 03/05/2013
I ordered a nother one to keep at my Boyfriends house and am going to use it for Henry and Hazel for sleeping in so they can come with us more places. I placed the order on 2/28 and the creat arrived on 3/5. It is from a diffrent company however and I am not finding any reviews about this company... RuffMaxx... I hope it lives up to the prior creat!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next