Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Remington RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

The Remington extra-large wire kennel provides a secure comfortable home for your dog.
Average Customer Rating:
4.398 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%90 out of 103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"
02/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and they are awesome! Perfect size, shipped fast, great price. I have a pit bull and a lab. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Dog Kennel That's HUGE!

03/08/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kennel is as described, but much larger than anticipated. It's definitely large enough for an American Bulldog and his owner. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

better than expected

12/28/2009
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a one year old border collie that was wreaking havoc on our backyard while we were gone to work. I worried that she could tear up this kennel, but she has not. She even likes to go in it. The price was so much lower than any other that I have seen. The quality is good. It is sturdy and easily folds away.
I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Perfect and easy

01/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was absolutely what we needed for our 3 month old lab. Already crate trained, she needed a bigger space and we needed something portable for going on vacation and to grandma's. This was easy to assemble and holds her perfectly, with lots of room to grow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Warning about Size!

06/21/2013
By ,
Cozad, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Remington model wire kennel that was purchased from Wal-mart 2 years ago. This year we needed an additional wire kennel. I purchased this because #1 - it was labeled Remington and we enjoyed our first one and #2 - in the detailed specifications it says it is 42 x 26 x 28.5 (which is identical to the one we have.) WARNING!!! First off, this is no longer "Remington" but "RuffMaxx" brand. Secondly, the kennel is truly 42 x 28 x 31; much larger than we anticipated. Honestly the design is much better than our older wire kennel, but still disappointed that the website is misleading and the information is not coinciding (eg. the title and the item specifications).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

great value

12/12/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to put up and once I placed a dog bed inside, my pitbull dog went right in. I may have to buy another one because our other dog loves it too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Wonderful for my 90 lb dog

02/05/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My German Shepherd/St. Bernard mix is 90 lbs and fits very nicely in this kennel. She must love it because she lays inside it for most of the day everyday. I would buy the same one again for my other dog if she's ever back here with her sister.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

For the tamest of tame

12/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One word for this wire crate = cheap! My dog is a 75lb italian mastiff, and he was able to open the front latches repeatedly. We also zip tied the sides and front, and he still was able to get out. If your dog is totally tame and has zero separation anxiety, this crate might work.
We went to one of the hard plastic crates and had no problems from there on out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Horrible cage Horrible quality

03/13/2011
By ,
Avondale AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Me and my wife bought this for our 1 yr old beagle Sheppard mix. The first day we got it we tested it by putting her in it and leaving to check the mail. When we came back she had busted through the front and opened the door. Then we left again a few days later and came home to find her out of the cage and the side bars broken and bent. This cage was horrible for having her in it and was not worth the price. Its cheap and flimsy. I would not recommend this cage for anyone who has a dog who cant be alone. HORRIBLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Great Kennel cage for cats also.

03/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kennel to use for stray/feral cats that I help out with a volunteer group to help feral cats. The kennel folds to open/close and it has plenty of room for cats, and dogs. You could put about 4 cats in this kennel and they would have enough room for a litter box, food/water bowls. The size is great since it doesn't take up much room. The door latches open/close easily and the latch when fully closed prevents the animal from sliding it open with their paws. The cage is sturdy but not too heavy to move around. The plastic floor pan is easy to clean. The price was great, only $73 and delivery was only $1 so it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Cheaply made

06/02/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this looks to be a strong cage, all the wire 'spokes' bend very easily. As in... our dog can break out of it with both latches hooked.
Don't waste your money unless you have an old dog that won't even attempt to get out.
Also, it took 2 deliveries (shipped to our home) to receive this in good working order. The first one was mangled beyond recognition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Does the Job

02/16/2011
By ,
West Seneca, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roomy enough for an 80lb Lab or more. This kennel is perfect for my good-natured Lab, but probably won't be sturdy enough if you have a crazy escape artist.
Also, the latches don't secure the door as well as I'd like.
Would I recommend? Yes ... with the right kind of dog. Especially, given the very low price for the size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

perfect for a medium to large dog

02/26/2014
By ,
rockford il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my dog is 72lbs. she has enough room in there to turn around and be comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Folds up easy to transport with handles

03/04/2014
By ,
El Paso, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It comes in a flat folded state, easily unfolds and folds back down for ease of transporting. also has two plastic clip on handles making it easier to handle, as it does have a bit of weight to it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

worst walmart purchase...EVER!

01/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have been buying from walmart for forever. it's where most of my discretionary income goes. but this has to be the worst purchase i have ever made there. i was in desperate need of a dog crate and the size i needed in the aspca brand was not available. so after reading the reviews on the Remington brand, i decided to purchase one. hands down, one word...CHEAP. cheap in price and cheaply made. so for those of you who rated this product 5 stars i can only assume you never had the aspca brand. aspca's wiring is twice as thick and the tray is better made too. buy with confidence and get the aspca brand. if your dog is meek and tiny, the remington should be ok. but for the more "active," larger dogs, get the aspca crate.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"
02/12/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good crate for our growing Rhodesian Ridgeback puppy. It is not as sturdy as our other crate made by petmate, but it serves its purpose and was the right price. We also love the handles on it for easy carrying, as we travel a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

I Recommend This Product

05/20/2010
By ,
Oro Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Remington Wire Kennel, extra large definitely met all my expectations for my growing puppy. Easy to assemble and was very easy to transport on a recent out-of-state visit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Met all expectations

07/01/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this crate for our newly adopted 70 lb. adult labrador retriever. We already own a similar crate that cost us quite a bit more and this one is very comparable. My only minor complaint is that the latch isn't as smooth as the other crate, but it isn't enough to be dissatisfied with the product. Also, it arrived at my door days before I expected it to. Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"
07/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up right out of the box....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RUFF MAXX WIRE KENNEL, 42"

Remington Wire Kennel, Extra Large

08/28/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The first time I put my 4 year old springer into this cage, he destroyed the door breaking the locks off and putting a whole in the door making it unusable. Contacted Walmart and they are working with me at getting me replacement parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next