Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virginia Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Virginia Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

The versatile Virginia Crossback 24" Counter stools are perfect for your kitchen. These classic-styled wood counter stools in a sleek black finish enhance the look of your contemporary kitchen. The cross back design provides comfortable back support. The sturdy horizontal support bars at the base provide more support. Constructed from rubberwood, these black counter stools are strong and durable. These 24-inch armless chairs can also be used in the dining room, patio, or the home bar.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
44
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation80%105 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
44
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Great value

12/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, the set of chairs was a good value. I bought 2 sets, so they were a little frustrating to put together, especially since the holes for the top of the chair weren't pre-drilled for the screws. They came out of the box with a couple scratches, but nothing that couldn't be covered up. They're pretty sturdy and look nice placed at my kitchen island counter. Overall, I would recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Very Sturdy!!!

10/18/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These counter stools are very sturdy and was very easy to assemble. A few pre-drilled holes didn't line up, but my electric screw driver took care of that. Looks great and an awesome buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Great for the price!

09/08/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought four of these counter-height stools (as a 5-piece package that came with a counter-height table.) They really are pretty...good quality & nice design. However, be prepared for a lot of steps to assemble them. The directions are somewhat helpful but with certain things - like attaching the seats, you kind of have to "wing it". Plus, for some of the assembly, you better be pretty flexible! ;-) You have to contort yourself to get into the proper position to attach things to each other! Now that they're assembled, we're very happy with these stools & they were a good quality for the money spent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

cracked, chipped and poor quality.

01/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These chairs are horrible quality. We opened the box only to find that there was not one place on a single chair that did not have a chip, dent, or even a fracture in the wood. After lugging the table and chairs upstairs (and fitting them into our compact car) we now have to haul everything back to the store for the refund. Will not be buying anything from walmart.com again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Great chairs

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Very sturdy and look nice, once we fixed them!

03/22/2011
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These stools look great, a very nice color and sleek and sturdy once constructed. However, when they arrived there was one piece in which the built in dowel was broken off! Luckily because the screws go through the dowel it didn't affect construction. There was a small chip in the paint as well, but a little sharpie and you couldnt tell.
That being said, you really cant beat the price for 2 stools that look very nice once put together. They are also very very sturdy feeling, no wobbling or shaking due to the way they are constructed. And they arent that hard to put together - if you have ever bought anything from IKEA you will be fine :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Cheap, poorly made

06/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The stools look great , but they were a pain to assemble. Pre drilled holes weren't in the right spot. Chairs were slightly higher than average counter height so our legs touch the under neither of counter. One day after putting them together my husbands foot broke the footrest on bottom. It cracked right in half! He didn't even put weight on it. Very cheap product and definitely won't last long if they are going to be used regularly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Counter Chairs

05/29/2010
By ,
Federal Way, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these to match the dining room chairs, for around the kitchen counter. Good solid construction and sturdy for both adults and kids. Make sure you don't make the mistake we did and order the "bar stools" for the counter. Different height and too tall! The counter stools are perfect for your kitchen counter, and the bar stools are too tall to fit and sit at the counter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Good for the price

05/03/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased 4 chairs (2 sets). It was hard to find 24 " chairs in black - thought these would be perfect - and certainly a great price. They look great when assembled, but like the other reviews said - the instructions leave a lot to be desired - sketches only - no verbal instructions. Parts are labeled well - but the process is not like most furniture I have assembled so was a bit tricky to figure out. I was not impressed with the quality of the construction. First chair wobbles - second one feels more sturdy; in fact I may take the first one apart and reassemble it now that I see how it works. But long term I am hesitant about whether they will stand up over time. I will keep the two I have assembled but am returning the other two and will keep looking for something sturdier even though I know I will have to pay more. I need 8 chairs total - so will get 6 others and keep these two for the 2 "extras" so they don't get daily use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black
07/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy. They are alittle small but they are so worth the money for the product. I had NO trouble putting them together. It was so easy. I was worried after reading all the reviews how hard it was but let me tell you. I'm a girl who isn't handy and had no trouble. A must buy for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Awesome!

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live alone so the four Cross Back Chairs were ordered two at a time about a week apart from each so while my apartment was being remodeled I wouldn't have boxes and/or chair parts all over the place possibly getting lost or accidentally getting thrown out.
The first chairs I started on was the 30 inch Cross-Back for the bar area of my Dinning Room and after getting them put together right which took two days the (4) 20 inch Cross-back chairs for my Dinette chairs were actualactually put together the same date of receiving them by either FedEx and UPS.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Horrible Product DO NOT BUY

01/23/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The package arrived late, the directions didn't make sense especially with the obscure pictures. The worst part of this all is that the screws are too short to attach the chair seat to the stool. And there is only one screw to attach the whole seat so the back of the chair seat wiggles around. Complete waste of money if you plan on using the chairs. They would work for staging a home and they are actually very pretty but impractical to use to sit on. Very little thought is put into the actual portion that you use to sit on. Warning; do not buy. Now I have to return something that doesn't even fit in my car to return to the store. Waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Very poorly finished/painted, hard to align

01/13/2014
By ,
San Diego
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Those stools look perfect on the picture. In reality even though the materials are OK, (no cracked parts made of rotten wood as the table that goes with them in the set) but there are few issues:
1. minor one - it's rather hard to assemble it precisely - if you slide and align the seat to the back seat snugly - then it will extend very differently on the left vs right in front of the stool.
If on the other hand you aligh it to be symmetrical on the front (as it should be) - then it will create ugly gap between it and one of the rear bars. I thought that gap would not be a big deal - but it is very noticeable.
2. Major one. Every single surface is not painted/finished form the bottom. On the top bar you can actually see naked engineered wood in spots when it was supported while being spray-painted. On the front in grooves there are rough patches (not polished, looking like tar)
3. Usability: The edges are rather sharp (right non-routed corners everwhere - hurts legs and feet, if you rest them on the lower bars. (where else you are supposed to keep your feet on 24" stool?)
4. Overal - Poor QA. Poor design. What you get is what you pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

very uncomfortable

04/09/2013
By ,
NE Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought 4 of these, wish I could have sat in them first! the seat is square, no taper & no rounded edges, so right on the edge where your legs rest, you are putting pressure on a sharp 90 degree angle. If you sit all the way back, you are force to rest your feet on the 3/4" little pieces of wood across the front. Again, not rounded. Look nice, just don't use them!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Great Chairs for the money

02/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As others have said, the worst thing about the stools are the poor instructions. Just make sure to take your time and study the drawings during assembly. They stools look great and seem sturdy enough. I sis end up with a slight wobble and there doesnt appear to be any adjustment to level them. Overall you cant beet the look and sturdyness for the money. Would buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Excellent value!

01/04/2011
By ,
Stuart, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at a LOT of stools for about 3 months before Christmas and this was by far the best bang for the buck. They were easy to assemble and sturdy when done. It was a fluke that I looked on Walmart.com because I figured it would be the same offering as in the store...was I ever wrong! There was a huge selection and I was extremely pleased with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black
09/30/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very upset about the appearance and sturdiness of these chairs. For the amount of money paid for them, they should not be so uneven that every single chair wobbles after construction. All four chairs that I received arrived with damage to them, cracks and a lot of dings. I put together the first chair and the legs were very uneven, so i took off the white bumpers that come on the bottom and it didn't help any. I thought that would be the only chair to be uneven (hopefully) and it wasn't. They ALL wobble and are uneven. If I would have known this, I would not have bought the set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Great chairs and value

01/17/2011
By ,
Williamsport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these to go with a counter height bar/island from Pier One. They look as if they were made for it! They are of great quality and value. I looked for counter height stools/chairs at several stores and online, and these seemed to be the best bang for my buck. Walmart also had a much lower price than their competitor (Tar-jay) for the exact same product.
These chairs are very sturdy, and look great. Simple, modern, clean lines. The only thing I did not like about these chairs was the assembly and instructions (or lack thereof). There was only an illustrated drawing to go by-- the directions were not clear at all or easy to follow, in my opinion. But it wasn't impossible. My husband and I put the first chair together in about 30 min., and then the second one was much easier once we knew what to do. It was worth it. Now I have a beautiful pair of chairs that I hope will last for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

Pleased with purchase

01/23/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for the money. These are nice looking chairs that feel pretty sturdy. The finish is good now but i wonder how well it will hold up over time. My husband tells me the assembly instructions were very poor but it was fairly easy to figure out what to do with the parts. I think it took him about 20 min to put both chairs together. All in all, I'm quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Virginia Cross-Back Counter Stools 24", Set of 2, Black

New Chairs missing something

01/06/2011
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These chairs for the most part were just what we were looking for the price we wanted to pay. The only issue we had is that both chairs after being put together had about a inch to inch and half gap between the seat and back rest. My husband had to drill additional holes to make them sit flush. But like I said for the price happy with the procuct.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next