Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whalen Furniture TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Whalen Furniture TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Solid wood posts with 11-step brown cherry finish Glossy black finish on metal components 5 tempered black glass shelves Floater accommodates most LCD or Plasma TVs up to 50" and 135lbs Swivel flat panel screen up to 85° left or right Floor leveling system Assembly size: 44"W x 20.5"D x 54"H
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%26 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Definitely worth it

01/03/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After looking all over for a TV stand that looked attractive, but wouldn't break the bank, I finally found this guy. I saw similar stands upwards of $400 (and more elaborate ones for over $1000), but I didn't want to spend that much - plus they seemed to be much larger and hulking than what I wanted. I was a little leery of buying something without seeing it in person first, but this was definitely a good purchase.
- The price was right (at that time it was $150, plus I had a $50 gift card!) - much less than other stands on the market. I love that the mount swivels... it's enough so that if I'm sitting at different parts of the room I can adjust so my lamps don't glare off the screen. I put the whole thing together myself in one evening. The only part I needed help with was lifting the TV into place (I have a 46" Sony Bravia LCD). My TV didn't fit the "typical" hole pattern, so I had to use the universal mount that is included. I can't verify that it's 100% universal, but it worked perfectly for mine. It looks great (like it costs more than it did), and is pretty sturdy. While putting it together I was a little worried about the stability, but with a TV on it I'm not concerned (I even shook the unit to be sure... which they probably don't recommend!). I don't know if I'd trust it in extenuating circumstances (such as an earthquake or rambunctious children) without additional support (which they do include hardware for, and recommend), but I'm not expecting anything like that. There is a leveling foot in each of the three corners to help with stability. There are several holes in the back "spine" to run cables through to keep everything neat.
- My complaints are fairly minor, and in some cases expected. The unit is based around the presence of the spine, and it cannot be removed (if you'd rather sit your TV on the top shelf rather than mount it). I've seen more expensive ones where the spine can be removed... but I wanted to mount the TV anyway, so not a big deal. Two of the screw holes didn't line up in different parts of the frame, so two screws were not installed. The overall structural integrity doesn't seem to be affected - there are plenty of other screws in there. It was somewhat difficult to get all of the cables to fit through the routing holes, and I had to get a little creative with stringing them through... xbox 360 connectors are too big for the holes, so I had to work backwards and bring the smaller end (composite connectors) up to the top from the lower shelf... that was interesting. As a result, I'll probably think twice before agreeing to let a friend borrow my system, because I won't want to go through the process again.
- A couple notes about setting it up:
- The hardware is arranged in labeled bags, which makes sorting through everything much easier when following the directions. They also include several different sizes of screws in case you need to use the universal mount.
- I don't really know what the spacers are for on the universal mount... but my TV has a flat, level back, so I didn't use them and it seems fine.
- I had to move my TV up (with some help to lift it) because when I first attached the frame I didn't realize that it would block some of the connectors. Moving it up a couple of screw-holes fixed the problem (there are several holes to allow for varied mounting heights). So just be aware of how the mount will cover things.
- While assembling it I though the suction cups for the glass shelves was a little kludgy, but now I actually thing it's a pretty good idea; there are no screws showing through the top or anything, and the suction is pretty strong, so I'm not concerned about them coming off unexpectedly.
- Overall, I'm definitely happy with it and would recommend to anyone who wants a relatively small, good looking, simple stand that isn't ridiculously over-priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 2 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Exactly what I wanted

11/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little stand works perfectly for me. I don't have a lot of components so I just wanted a small stand that would mount my 40" Sony and would swivel. The assembly took about two hours but for the money it is worth it. It seems to be well made and the brackets are secure. Considering the Sony wall mount itself is $300, this is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 3 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Overall a great stand for the price

12/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no compliants. I ordered from the website and was suprised that I love this stand so much. Its big enought to do it job while not taking up all your space.
You can store all your wires in the tube, and i have quite a few shoved in there...xbox, tvcabe..surrounsound..Hdmi..and power cord. pretty sturdy stand.
I always know their is a push and pull with price vs quality. This exceeded my expectations. You could spend $300 on another stand... if you want to waste your money go ahead. this stand is an A+ on my book
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Great for the Price

12/13/2009
By ,
Jonesboro, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item on black friday for 89.00, it looks beautiful with my 50' flat screen tv.(up in the air) Looks like I paid 300 for it. It took about 2 hours to put together(you have to follow the instructions to a t.) Overall I would recommend this to anyone. I LOVE IT.:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Fantastic TV Stand

12/24/2009
By ,
Bflo NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this tv stand to fit into a corner in my living room along with a 42 inch Plasma flat screen television. I LOVE IT...........It took me about an Hour and a half to put it together,and I love the richness of the wood which happens to match a strip of wood molding on the bottom of the television. the only draw back is my hands were hurting trying to tighten the screws. I would reccomend this to any and everyone if your looking for a elegant but cheap tv stand with mount. Don't forget to get a surround sound to complete the package
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Great product at a great price

01/15/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new TV stand, it totally changed the appearance of my living room! It took me about an hour to assemble it with the help of a friend, and it looks sturdy and long-lasting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

It works

12/19/2009
By ,
Cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what it is supposed to, holds up my flat panel TV and provides space for my components. Overall fairly impressed with it so far as it looks quite expensive even though I paid a nice price for it. The only two downsides so far are that two pieces of wood were damaged when I opened the box but I did not return as once I put the TV stand together the damaged pieces were not noticeable. Other downside is the tube that holds the cabling should be wider as I only have a few components and yet I had to struggle to feed all the wires through the narrow tube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Worth It!

12/22/2009
By ,
Greenbelt, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this stand on Dec. 18th, in-store. In the store the price was $89.99, cheaper than online.
This stand holds my 42" Panasonic Viera perfectly. The assembly was OK, the tools they provide, the allen key mainly, is barely sufficient but does the job.
I would definitely recommend this because of the cost, you can't beat it. The structure of the stand is solid and the rotating feature is great.
Buy this if you are thinking about it. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Fine TV Stand

01/10/2010
By ,
Lehigh Acres, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV stand is fairly easy to assemble. It looks like a fine piece of furniture with brown cherry legs that match our other living room furniture. The black glass shelves are very nice looking. The spine that holds the TV hides the cables and the brackets that hold the TV up are very sturdy looking so that we have confidence that the TV is safely and elegantly mounted. We feel that it is a beautiful addition to our living room suite.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

TV Stand

01/03/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble, designer furniture piece because of wood and black stained glass gives an elegant appeal. The swivel mount is a very nice feature. Only draw back is that that it sits low for 50inch screen, if it had a height adjustment feature the larger screens would appear higher on wall, but it's still a nice for the price, look, and swivel mount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Nice for the $$

12/22/2009
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a bit of a pain to put together, some screws hard to get into some holes but that is pretty normal for put it together yourself furniture. It looks very nice, does not take up a ton of room but holds what it needs to hold in a stylish way. Like the real wood (not laminate or foil). Would recommend definitely!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Love this product

12/26/2009
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful simple appearance! Made very solidly. Fits perfectly in the corner, opening up my living room nicely. Took my boyfriend and I about and hour and a half or so to put together. Very streamlined and the tv look fabulous hanging from it! Cheaper at the register than what the display even said it was!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Great Product. Would Def. Recommend

12/15/2009
By ,
Wilmington, De
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance bought this product as well as our 40" sony bravia flat screen. It looks great.. Except that the Cherry color is more darker than shown on the pictures. But it isnt a problem for me bcuz my living room matches with it, just to let others know! have owned for 1yr. OVER ALL GREAT PRODUCT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Great Stand!

01/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great deal for a TV stand like this. It holds my 42" Vizio perfectly, but is able to hold a much bigger TV if I want to upgrade.
Some of the screws didn't line up with the holes so it took a little work to get them in....but it was worth it.
Great Stand at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

LOVE IT!

01/12/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this product for $89 on Black Friday. Looks great with our 42'' tv. Great product for the price. Had no issues putting it together and it looks much more expensive than it is. Doesn't take up much space either. We have gotten lots of compliments! Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Simply awesome

12/19/2009
By ,
Abq. NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this on BF. Got it delivered 3 days ago and just finished assembling it. For the price I couldn't ask for more. I love it. Even at the current price it is still a good deal. I only wish it had one more glass tempered glass so i could keep more stuff on it. Still love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

HDTV stand with mount

01/08/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for the money, and looks great too. It was simple and easy to assemble, and the directions well defined. It's heavy so you need some assistance. I would recommend it, and might purchase a second one for our other TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

great stand

12/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The build quality is pretty good. The black glass looks great. Assembling take a bit of effort. I would suggest getting all the screws in before tightening any. The back pole is much bigger than I expected. Great tv stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Good Value

01/10/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was heavier and better built than I had imagined from viewing the online photos. Out-of-the-box assembly was quick and simple. Overall a very good value for the price. I would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for TV Stand with Mount, for TVs up to 50"

Exceptional deal

12/26/2009
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so pleased with the quality of this stand, along with the way it looks that I am replacing the stand I have in another room. I purchased two now and may get another! Truly worth the $$$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next