Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canwood Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Canwood Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

With the Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed, the top bed is always theirs. In addition to just being fun, this elevated sleeping space is an ideal space saver, leaving the area beneath it available for a bureau, a desk, file cabinets or even another bed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%29 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Too much aggrivation

04/08/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read good reviews and decided to buy this for our daughter. The boxes came in on the same day, but just the bed was checked in. I took the bed home, went to set it up, the directions are vague & terrible, the leg posts were not labeled correctly. After calling my sister to come help me, we figured it out fine. Finally picked up the ladder and rails that were there not checked in, took it home opened it and there are NO directions in the box. Storkcraft has terrible customer service, I had to email them and I'm waiting for them to email me the directions. It's a nice bed, a very frustrating and aggrivating process and our daughter is upset that she doesn't have a bed to sleep in. UGH!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Beautiful space-saver; fit our needs perfectly

02/06/2011
By ,
Athens, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed looks beautiful with the antique furniture in my sons room and around the house. We had to remove Ceiling fan because our ceilings are so low, but there's enough space for child to sit up in bed.
Keep in mind, changing the sheets on a loft bed is tricky, since the weight limit is 165 and you have to get up there to do it.
It went together easily, but some pieces came broken, so we had to break out the wood glue before we could complete assembly. Wood not high-quality, scratches pretty easily, but okay value for the money. Convenient to shop for online and ship site-to-store.
Looks great together with Delaney Chair, Brown Faux Leather found on this site.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Nice bunk, but color is not true

12/26/2011
By ,
Indian Trail, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this bunk bed is good. It's sturdy enough (but I can shake it side to side with a little force). This price is reasonable and it looks very nice. The only think that bothers me is the color. It is not espresso, it is more of a cherry. There are some areas of the bed that are stained a little darker, the color is not consistent on every piece. It may not bother others, but I bought this bunk and wanted it to be espresso. It actually matches my boys old dresser which is cherry, so I ended up keeping it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Quality and Ease of Assembly!

01/09/2010
By ,
Akron, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am THRILLED at the quality and value of this loft bed. My 5-year-old loves it too (although it recommends 6 as the age for use). As a 41 year-old (strong) mom, I was able to assemble myself..with the exception of an extra pair of hands to connect the two ends and place the boards under the mattress. *****I recommend and took a chance with no reviews***** BTW it ships in 2 boxes and the main box is HEAVY...I ended up carrying piece by piece in from van as it was to much to get ahold of to carry. Still worth it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Great Buy!!!

10/03/2011
By ,
Murphysboro, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this bed for almost a week and I have no major issues. I was expecting some problems with damage and parts missing because that seemed to be a common problem. I did have to go to the hardware store and buy another screw because there was a piece stuck in the top from the factory however, you can use it in a place that it would not be seen. There was also minor damage (thankfully) but luckily it was on a spot that was covered up by another piece of wood. Also there were some pieces that were not labeled but it was not a huge issue. So I am glad I didn't have to deal with the customer service. Putting it together was not difficult. There were no words on the directions but the assembly drawings were not hard to follow. As far a quality of the bed....it is great. You really can't ask for much more with the price. It is all nice real wood, the stain was done to par, I can see where it will gets marks on it easier than a hardwood but as long as the child is nice to the bed it shouldn't get too banged up, too quickly. It is very sturdy, I read some reviews that said it wasn't sturdy until it was against the wall. This is not the case for me. All I can think is that it wasn't put together tight enough for those people. It is very sturdy and of course even more so against the wall. For me, 115lbs and my boyfriend 170lbs changing the sheets is not difficult. I have no problem with the weight limit on this bed. The ladder is very sturdy as well. I have no fear that my daughter (6) will slip, or fall off. She loves it, I love it and it does free up so much space. Excellent product. I think it should last into her teenage years. I am not docking any stars based on the screw and damage, and even the non-labeling because in reality, any company can have those issues. I've seen it before and it doesn't affect the quality of the bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Watch Instructions

06/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered two of these beds: one this color and one natural. Either the instructions were wrong or the parts labeling were wrong. I learned the hard way when building the first bed. I followed the instructions to a tee and then discovered I did not have holes that lined up on the posts. I had to take the bed apart and rebuild a few times before I got the right posts in the right spots. DO NOT assume the posts are labelled correctly. Make sure the right holes are in the right spots before building. Specifically, there are lower holes on only two posts that are needed to secure a lower support bar at the back of the bed. If you follow the instructions/labeling, these two posts will end up on the same footboard/headboard, which won't work. Furthermore, a few screws supplied are insufficient. They are TINY screws that are supposed to hold a metal support bar to the bed. This bar will bear some weight/load and these screws are far too small and weak for the job. I had to replace these screws with bigger ones on both beds.
Aside from these hiccups, the finished beds seem to be nice and a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Disappointed

02/16/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this bed for my 10 year old daughter to give her more space in her room. I also ordered at the same time the Jr. Loft for my 4 year old. We were able to put the Jr. Loft together after my husband drilled holes in the CORRECT side of the back railing. This Camp Loft bed came in two boxes the ladder and railings in 1 box and the bed frame in the other. The bed frame box had NONE of the screws or parts needed to put the bed together. Needless to say I had 1 very upset child. And when we call the customer service line we were told it would be another 5 to 10 days of processing to get JUST the box of screws sent to me. Not pleased!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Great Value - Great Product!

01/25/2010
By ,
Dale City, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We shopped for a few months before we found this loft bed. We actually bought it sight unseen (hesitantly) since it was offered only online. Happy we did. Easy to put together, however we wish the wooden parts had been marked with stickers instead of dark dye stamps so you could tell which was which easily. Overall we are completely happy with the bed. Our 8 year old son thinks it is the coolest! Much sturdier than I expected. Ample head room above and perfect amount of space underneath. Online specs should include weight limit for bed and ladder. I weigh 140 and don't feel comfortable on the ladder when I am trying to make his bed. The price was right on! This type bed is sold elsewhere for so much more. Site-to-store was the way to go, it was quick and an associate brought it to the front and helped me load it into my SUV. Very pleased with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Beautiful Bed

03/06/2011
By ,
Gallatin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The directions for this bed were terrible!! but luckily I was able to figure it out. It is sturdy and beautiful. My 8 yr old loves it. Worth the $ for sure
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso
07/08/2010
By ,
IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 year old son as he has a very small room and I thought it would give him a little more space to play. Needless to say, he LOVES the bed! Overall all, it looks very nice and seems to be very sturdy. The only drawback was putting it together. A couple of the pieces were not labeled at all or labeled incorrectly which made the set-up a little challenging. We had it almost put together twice and then realized that there was a piece in the incorrect place. We also were short a few screws and had some minor damage to one of the pieces, but I think I can find some stain to touch up that piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

GREAT bed for the price!

11/28/2011
By ,
Imperial, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this bed for the price. It arrived early to the store, both boxes arrived together. It was fairly easy to assemble by my husband with little help from me. The one annoying thing was the stickers that are on the bed itself. They do not peel off easily. It is very sturdy! Our 4 almost 5 year old daughter LOVES it, she climbed right in and has slept great. My only dislike is that I can't reach her to kiss her goodnight before I go to bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Great bed for kids' room

10/23/2011
By ,
Oregon, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this loft bed for my 6 year old. His little brother's twin bed fits nicely underneath it perpendicular. With the exception of the difficulty of changing the sheets on it (due to weight limits) it is a perfect solution to their room space issues. Easy to assemble and looks great! Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

great product for the money!

02/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a great value for the money spent! I couldn't find a loft bed for under $600, and especially not one made of real wood! I purchased the bed for my son, and there is plenty of toy storage and play space underneath. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to save space in their child's room!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Very nice

09/07/2010
By ,
New Rochelle, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 6 year old son because of the limited space in his bedroom and when I say that I am in love with his room- it's very practical and functional if your looking for a little bit of extra space (i.e. playing) where the space is limited. Thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

not worth the money .

12/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not like this bed at all, it came broken in 3 places. In one part it was broken it was detached from the head board. It was also very scratched up. My dad felt like it was dangerous for me too sleep and climb up to.The wood looks like its covered in plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

review

01/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best product evereven in a tiny bedroom it stil fits i would recomend to anyone who wants or needs a loft bed to buy this i love it and it is pretty colors to my daughter uses it every single night and sleeps like a baby so anyone outthere get this loft bed its the best
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Not sturdy or built to last

12/27/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not believe this is a solid wood bed frame as the description states. Ours lasted 8 weeks before screws started falling out. The entire bed was very unstable. I could touch the leg and it would make the whole bed move. When the bed rail decided to come loose that was the last straw!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Easy assembly, looks great

10/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 11 year old son. The loft makes for a great space saver, we bought the 5 drawer chest to fit underneath. Highly recommend for an economical, yet nice looking piece of furniture! The espresso finish is very nice. The only complaint is one piece of wood was not cut completely straight, but overall the bed is sturdly and looks nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

Great bed wonderful color

07/05/2011
By ,
Irmo, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves his new bed. I am a mom who loves to put things together and I was able to do this all by myself. The bed feels really solid when my son (40 lbs) is in it but it feels less stable when I try to get up there to make the bed and I am only 120 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canwood Base Camp Loft Bed Bundle, Espresso

SENT INCOMPLETE PARTS!!!

03/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a BIG purchase, my son was upgrading from a toddler bed to a BIG boy bed. Received as expected- with no problems. Made the mistake of putting it together with my son present- discovered there were 2 of the same post. Ended up "rigging" it, to make a little boy happy. Its a great bed and besides the missing post, I am very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next