Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Innova Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

The Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool reveals the source of "Check Engine" light warnings quickly. This user-friendly car diagnostic tool can be easily connected to your car or truck. It works well with domestic or foreign 1996 and newer car, SUV or light truck. This auto diagnostic tool can perform many tasks including extracting a list of trouble codes, as well as their definitions from your car's computer. It can help in determining the cause of engine light warnings. The Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool refreshes the information every 30 seconds to ensure that you get the latest information for easy car repairing. The battery backup memory also provides off-car reviews and analysis. Using this check engine diagnostic tool, you can also access the Repair Solutions section in Innova's official website to get information on code definitions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.399 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%131 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Good buy for the more advanced technician

11/10/2010
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This diagnostic tool is great for the technician who will use all of the features that are in the Innova 3100e. The printout features and Repair Solutions is great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Excellent Tool For The Shade Tree Mechanic

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was kind of a last ditch effort, to attempt to troubleshoot my car, before having to put it in the shop. After a car that I own, began running rough, I bought this code scanner, in the hopes of figuring out the problem, myself. After plugging it in, several codes were shown. It indicated that a specific cylinder was misfiring, so I pulled the plug and replaced it. Problem solved. For a little over $80.00 I was able to fix my own problem, and instead of paying somebody else to do it, I probably saved money, as well as added a new tool to my garage, which I am sure will be used again.
Wal Mart had the best price, bar none. Make sure that you pay for it through Walmart.com and pick it up at the store you choose. They have this item in stock, but it is almost $20.00 more, if you do not go through the website. Don't ask me why, but play the game, and you save a bunch of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Very Disappointing

04/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this as a more advanced diagnostic tool based on the packaging which turned out to be very misleading.
There is no software included with this. It needs to be downloaded from the website.
Without the software this does not 'automatically open a browser and connect' when plugged into a laptop or PC and limits it's information.
The software is also Windows only so I couldn't load it on a Macbook. And as reported by other buyers there is a charge per report from the website to analyse the data from the scanner for the RepairSolutions feature.
You can't upload a report without a Windows PC anyway so I couldn't check that.
The scanner doesn't do reports on it's own. It also doesn't print without the PC software.
Customer service is poor and hard to contact.
In the end this is no more useful than an under $20 code reader that does no more than show a code number and let you turn off the MIL If you don't already have a Windows PC or don't want to set up a charge account with them to pay over $10 per report stay away from this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Great features at the price

05/01/2011
By ,
Bristol, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OBD2 scanners are very useful tools for anyone owning a 1996 or later car, whether you are a home mechanic, or just someone who wants to maintain their vehicle after the warranty is up.
What I like about this model is that for the price, the feature set is very strong. Not only do you get the error (DTC) codes, but also the basic explanation of what is indicated.
An added bonus, is that you can upload the data to your computer, and get an enhanced explanation, and if needed, you can (for a fee), get a very in-depth explanation including expected parts and repair costs.
I would not use that feature often, but for a potential major needed repair, that may well save najor costs, and give the owner a better idea how to proceed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Great diagnostic tool for saving time and money

07/11/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Check Engine light came on in our 2006 Tahoe. I felt sure it was the fuel sensor in the gas filler tube, since it caused the light to come on about 2 years ago. I took it to the local Chevrolet dealer and they wanted $85 to hook up their small diagnostic tool to it just to get a read out. I felt that was robbery so I went to an auto parts store and asked them to turn off the light with their diagnostic tool and theirs wouldn't or couldn't. I ordered this CanOBD2 from WalMart and it arrived promptly. I plugged it in, got the detailed readout and turned the light off. Now my remote start will work again and the problem is corrected as well. I have since used it on our son's vehicles and feel it was money well spent. It would also be wise to have it if one was going to purchase a used vehicle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Perfect for me

04/19/2011
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this when the engine light went on in my 97 Mountaineer. Was able to pull the codes that caused it, fix the problem, and reset the engine light.
Spend the extra money to get this instead of the cheapest one because it gives you a code and a description of the problem and the cheaper model just gives the codes.
The manual was very informative so read it before you even use the unit.
Didn't try to hook it up to any computer so I don't know what that is all about.
Now when I shop for my next used vehicle I can hook this up to it before I buy so I can see if there is any thing going on that I should know about.
Good Luck and get this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Reveals your vehicle's mysteries

01/22/2011
By ,
Casa Grande, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although some auto parts stores will scan your trouble codes for free, they often won't erase them due to laws. This tool accurately diagnosed problems and cleared the codes after I made the repairs. Remember the phrase "trust, but verify"? Well, this tool helps keep mechanics honest when you can prove you know what the problem is. Wish it didn't cost quite as much extra to get an online detailed print-out of a problem, but the scan tool itself often gives you enough to go on anyway. Works easily as long as you follow the simple instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Excellent Product and Value

04/17/2010
By ,
Bay Area, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Innova 3100e has all features the home mechanic needs. USB cord included in price.
It paid for itself the first time I used it. My daughters 1999 vehicle's "Check Engine Light " came on and car running "rough" with less power. Hooked up the Innova 3100 as instructed and "#4 cylinder misfire" came up on screen. #4 Spark plug tip was black and the cause was the plug wire was cracked and shorting. Simple fix. And then with the Innova 3100 I could erase the trouble code and the "check engine light" goes away. I feel like a real auto mechanic!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Indispensible Tool for a beginning DYI'er.

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used my Equus 3100 on my Toyota 4runner and using the ABS function specific to Toyota was able to spot the rear left wheel speed sensor was bad. Several shops had looked at this, but had not been able to trouble shoot to this sensor.
Just FYI....the quick start paper guide that comes with the packaged product is a little confusing as to what buttons do what. I strongly recommend you download the full manual from the Innova Website before you start to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Fantastic Diagnostic Tool

10/31/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure of which review to believe on this product. Nevertheless I went ahead and purchased this product. I am so glad I did.. this is an excellent product for the do it your self mechanic. It provides everything you need to determine what is wrong with your vehicle OBD2 system. It has already paid for itself in less than a month. You will not be disappointed with this device. Oh! and I don't like complicated electronics...so rest assured. This device is extremely simple to use so don't be intimidated. In addition, I highly recommend taking a look at the You Tube video on how to use this product it walks you through it in case you need a brief tutorial. I don't why I was so hesitant to buy it fantastic product the dealers really don't want you buying this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Good basic tool

10/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only shows error codes. Have to connect to their website for anything else. Only basic instructions included. Also have to download manual. No disk included as shown in pictures. Software is loaded in tool to download to your PC, but was outdated and did not work. Had to contact support for current software, but they responded quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

great for basic information

09/12/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I own a 2002 Ford F150. These trucks are known to have problems with the coil packs and this tool is great for getting the basic information to treat the problem. It was on sale at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

very awesome 'toy'

02/13/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I plan to do all my own work for my vehicles and its already paid for itself in just a matter of weeks... My check engine light came on and so did the check engine lights in my neighbors two vechicles. Its already worked perfectly and accurately on a '03 chevy, a dodge and a porsche! It even comes with some software too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Does exactly what is needed for DIY repairs

07/02/2011
By ,
Columbia. MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fixed two issues the day it was bought. A bad plug wire and a bad gas cap without going to the dealer. Don't expect the device to give you all the answers as it may very well not but the direction and understanding with a small idea of where to look for someone fairly well aware of current technology can use this thing quickly and make things work. Think of it as a test set for your car that used to cost tens of thousands back in the day. The directions are clear enough and the display is fairly clear as to what errors there are. If you need help the enclosed software (Win XP, 7 or Vista) should send you in the right direction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

did not come with a dvd as shown in video

08/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do not know what I am missing on the dvd, might take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

not bad

03/18/2010
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good product if you have access to pinpoint exactly what the problem is, ex.- you receive a dtc code and there could be multiple reasons that code was triggered .Otherwise you will be paying $9.99 everytime you want a precise answer from Repair Solutions
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Saved BIG

11/11/2010
By ,
Destin FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a long term problem that was buggging me for almost 1 year - it was an intermittant problem with one of the ignition coils. This product solved the problem of: what, where and why, almost instantly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Great Bang for your Buck!

11/13/2013
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the $300 version of this device, and except for a few differences (only a pro at a garage would notice) this scanner is just like it. It is easy to use and understand. I had it out of the package, scanning, and clearing the check engine light on my car in 5 minutes. Best of all, the check engine light was on for a silly reason and I was able to find out and clear it myself instead of paying a shop $100 to do it for me (they would have also probably tried to sell me on some service I did not need too). For the "Do It Yourself" auto mechanic, this is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Did not work for me

09/21/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used several different code scanners before. This one is so far the most complicated.
The device screen reads and erases codes, but it would not link to either of my computers, which is the way to determine what the repair solutions are.
The repair solutions are NOT free. It will cost 19.95 per month or 59.95 per year
I registered my info, but there is nowhere to register my device.
Another problem FOR ME is that the device is bulky and made of a hard plastic that can very easily break if you drop it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3100 Innova CanOBD2 Diagnostic Tool

Didn't work for me

09/25/2014
By ,
MV, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this tool for my 2001 Gmc Jimmy with cold start issues, check engine light was on, plugged it in, connected to computer it did its thing, no codes.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next