Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

The Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles helps you to keep tabs on engine light warnings. You can plug the code reader into your vehicle's onboard computer diagnostics port. This diagnostic reader then gets access to technical engine information and retrieves trouble codes easily. It automatically updates data every 30 seconds and offers you an easy way to verify repair completion. This Equus code reader has an all-in-one LED screen display. Communicating with all OBD II protocols including the Controller Area Network, this vehicle code reader allows you to efficiently decode engine light problems. This diagnostic reader works on domestic and import vehicles made in 1996 or later and finds out the reason for engine light illumination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation88%102 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great product!

04/09/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Excellent... outtadabox

08/01/2010
By ,
Freehdold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a novice with cars.. this unit, right out of the box, read the codes with my 2k Volvo. The software/website diagnosed the problems and within 10 minutes, I had my car fixed, light reset, problem solved. Easily reads our Prius and Santa Fe, so one unit, at an incredibly low price, really does the job and does it well. Paid for itself with it's first diagnosis.. Highly recommended for novice and mid-users. Pros might prefer 'live' data, which this unit does not provide...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good Buy

08/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does all you need for home auto diagnosis. On my Camry, at least, it operates slightly differently than the Owners Manual suggests. The unit lights up and displays 'READ' as soon as you plug it in, even with no key in the ignition. However, it will not read the codes until you turn the ignition to ON. Overall a good buy at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great tool for the money

08/08/2010
By ,
Hatfield, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. Very easy to use I paid $52 and it diagnosed the check engine light and also cleared the light. I went to the website to obtain the information for the code. It was very easy to naviagte the website. If you have access to a computer then this is a great device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII

08/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work as expected even though there is no code to review yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Code Reader

08/23/2010
By ,
Fullerton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The code reader is so easy to use and it's fast. Definitely worth ever sent. I didn't know how to use one of these readers at first and the instructions were as simple as using the reader itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

bargain buy

09/17/2010
By ,
georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product. Only gives the numbers for the code.
buy the cheap Autel version if you want code descriptions and live data. I bought one of each. the Equus is great for preparing for emissions with the green yellow and red lights.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone

09/18/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Worked good

09/20/2010
By ,
san diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked like it's supposed to. You could also buy an online manual thru the company for $15 but I didn't it need to at the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Helpful Money Saver

09/24/2010
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

what was expected

09/28/2010
By ,
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did the research and found this product would meet my needs. I t did exactly what it said. I didn't mind having to look up on the computer the codes meanings as I was able to also research what I needed to do to fix it. I think it was a great value. I'm not paying a mechanic $80 an hr. to do what I did in 15 mins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Works perfect

10/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona.
plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem.
well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Full function product

11/03/2010
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated.
The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Everyone should have one

11/15/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money.
I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday.
(The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.)
I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise.
I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part.
This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code.
Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model.
I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested.
There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good product for the money

11/28/2010
By ,
Denison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Money Saving Product

12/04/2010
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

great for the do it your self car care

12/05/2010
By ,
florida gulf coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
has all you need to diagnose your problems immediatly and fix the right thing instead of going around and wasting money on needless repairs. It also let you erase the problems once fixed. A must have for all cars/trucks with electronic anything in vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Plug it in and it works

12/06/2010
By ,
Massena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great Tool

12/30/2010
By ,
Long Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for the do it your self guy..
easy to use and does it all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good Product

01/02/2011
By ,
Poplar Bluff, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next