Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

The Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles helps you to keep tabs on engine light warnings. You can plug the code reader into your vehicle's onboard computer diagnostics port. This diagnostic reader then gets access to technical engine information and retrieves trouble codes easily. It automatically updates data every 30 seconds and offers you an easy way to verify repair completion. This Equus code reader has an all-in-one LED screen display. Communicating with all OBD II protocols including the Controller Area Network, this vehicle code reader allows you to efficiently decode engine light problems. This diagnostic reader works on domestic and import vehicles made in 1996 or later and finds out the reason for engine light illumination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.306 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%98 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 123 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Albertoyrc

12/20/2012
By ,
Laredo,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recived equus 3030 innova on time good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool

02/24/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code.
The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

OBDII code reader for the masses

04/05/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Helpful Money Saver

09/24/2010
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Works Great

07/03/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to use and did just what I needed it to do. I had bought a different brand once on another online site and it didn't work and I never was able to get my money back. This time I decided to get one from Walmart and pick it up at the store. Then if it didn't work I could take it right back to the store. But I didn't have to, it worked great and I was able to fix my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good for the money!

02/19/2011
By ,
GOODVIEW,VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good and reliable product

04/25/2014
By ,
Brownsville , tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mete expectación for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Got Code, Looked Up Code, Replaced Part. A+

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quickly downloaded code from car. Looked up code online to discover it was a bad coil #2. Found a You-Tube video for instructions on replacement. Purchased and installed part. Engine light went off. Bravo!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Fantastic, great product

05/26/2011
By ,
Melbourne Beach, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

serves its purpose good price

05/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for its price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good Product

01/02/2011
By ,
Poplar Bluff, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great product!

04/09/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone

09/18/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Full function product

11/03/2010
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated.
The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good product for the money

11/28/2010
By ,
Denison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

This unit is exactly what you pay for. Basic!

03/17/2014
By ,
Amado, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device only provides code numbers on the LCD screen. Could not download codes from the device to the PC. I tried several times to download the software from the device as instructed from the basic instructions included. Didn't work. Logged in to their web page and downloaded the software from there. Tried to download the codes to my PC and still didn't work. I have two computers. One runs Windows XP and the other Windows 7 Home Premium. Their software did not work on either computer. However, I'll keep the device and lookup the codes on the internet.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good value, does the job you expect

05/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why pay $80 each time to the dealer to get a trouble code when you can buy this for around $60.
It pays for itself the first time you use it. Make $20 a pop just getting trouble codes for someone!
It has a sort of weak display, but if you angle it correctly that's not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles
09/27/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tool to diagnose a problem with a 2007 Honda Accord (my daughter's car) for a P2138 code. The repair shop wanted to sell her a Throttle Body and a Throttle Sensor that attaches to the gas pedal for the tune of $1200.00. I told her to don't do it that I will check out. I had her tow car back to her house.
I hooked up the tester and yes, I got the same code. I did a volt test on the throttle sensor that is on the Firewall of the car (cruise control model), tested with no problems . There was no throttle sensor on the gas pedal. TPS is part of the throttle body. What I found were dirty connectors on the throttle body and the Pedal sensor. I cleaned them up, erased the codes. Road tested car at different intervals for 3 days-car runs even better after the repairs. No surge or hesitation at all.
This tool was a wise investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Works perfect

10/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona.
plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem.
well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Plug it in and it works

12/06/2010
By ,
Massena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next