Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

The Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader helps you to keep tabs on engine light warnings. You can plug the code reader into your vehicle's onboard computer diagnostics port. It then gets access to technical engine information and retrieves trouble codes easily. It automatically updates data every 30 seconds and offers you an easy way to verify repair completion. This Equus OBDII code reader has an all-in-one LED screen display. Communicating with all OBD II protocols including the Controller Area Network, this vehicle code reader allows you to efficiently decode engine light problems. This engine diagnostic code reader works on domestic and import vehicles made in 1996 or later and finds out the reason for engine light illumination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%93 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Albertoyrc

12/20/2012
By ,
Laredo,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recived equus 3030 innova on time good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool

02/24/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code.
The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

OBDII code reader for the masses

04/05/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Helpful Money Saver

09/24/2010
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

This unit is exactly what you pay for. Basic!

03/17/2014
By ,
Amado, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device only provides code numbers on the LCD screen. Could not download codes from the device to the PC. I tried several times to download the software from the device as instructed from the basic instructions included. Didn't work. Logged in to their web page and downloaded the software from there. Tried to download the codes to my PC and still didn't work. I have two computers. One runs Windows XP and the other Windows 7 Home Premium. Their software did not work on either computer. However, I'll keep the device and lookup the codes on the internet.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good for the money!

02/19/2011
By ,
GOODVIEW,VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Diagnostic Reader

03/21/2014
By ,
Marysville, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Equus 3030 is light, fits in your hand an has a generous screen making it easy to read. Have your engine diagnosed within minutes just like the pros. The Equus 3030 provides the information you need to make the decision of whether or not the job is to big to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

very helpful

03/11/2014
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product it help me to figure out what was wrong with my car
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Fantastic, great product

05/26/2011
By ,
Melbourne Beach, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great product!

04/09/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good Product

01/02/2011
By ,
Poplar Bluff, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Full function product

11/03/2010
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated.
The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good product for the money

11/28/2010
By ,
Denison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone

09/18/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Plug it in and it works

12/06/2010
By ,
Massena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Money Saving Product

12/04/2010
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Money Saver

02/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the code reader to get an idea what I was going to have to pay for repairs. The code and report gave me the leg up I needed when I took the car in. I showed the report to the service writer and saved the fee for them to put the car on their code reader. Far and away paid for itself with the first use. Wish they told me about the fee to get the detailed report, but the summary was enough for the service tech.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

what was expected

09/28/2010
By ,
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did the research and found this product would meet my needs. I t did exactly what it said. I didn't mind having to look up on the computer the codes meanings as I was able to also research what I needed to do to fix it. I think it was a great value. I'm not paying a mechanic $80 an hr. to do what I did in 15 mins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Impressive Code Reader

08/11/2011
By ,
Cornelius, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the instructions, plugged it in, took the reading, put the Disc in my PC and what do you know? It told me exactlyl what my problem was and I fixed it. I also like the fact that with the push of a button you can get rid of your check engine light! Awesome!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Everyone should have one

11/15/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money.
I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday.
(The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.)
I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise.
I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part.
This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code.
Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model.
I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested.
There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next