Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Innova Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

The Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles helps you to keep tabs on engine light warnings. You can plug the code reader into your vehicle's onboard computer diagnostics port. This diagnostic reader then gets access to technical engine information and retrieves trouble codes easily. It automatically updates data every 30 seconds and offers you an easy way to verify repair completion. This Equus code reader has an all-in-one LED screen display. Communicating with all OBD II protocols including the Controller Area Network, this vehicle code reader allows you to efficiently decode engine light problems. This diagnostic reader works on domestic and import vehicles made in 1996 or later and finds out the reason for engine light illumination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation88%103 out of 117reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Albertoyrc

12/20/2012
By ,
Laredo,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i recived equus 3030 innova on time good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool

02/24/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code.
The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

OBDII code reader for the masses

04/05/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Gizmo

08/12/2014
By ,
Quartz Hill, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is very easy to use. I followed the instructions on how to hook up and in about ten(10) seconds i got the code up. checked online what the code is all about, and that's it. the only bad is i thought the gizmo comes with the cd but its not. On the website, there is a picture of the gizmo with cd on it. so its very deceiving.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Helpful Money Saver

09/24/2010
By ,
Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great Product

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a well made and excellently designed tool. It worked flawlessly out of the box, has a simple uncomplicated user interface, and you can get it up and running within minutes out of the package.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Equus Innova diagnostic code reader.

10/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed that the CD as well as more detailed instructions did not come with the tool. It was rather difficult to go threw all the hoops to get onto the web site that had the software that had to be downloaded to run the tool. Thus the missing CD would have been much easier if it had been included as the picture and description showed in the Walmart add web site showed. After at least three hours of web site to Innova and getting it all set up with several email confirmations and a lot of personal information I had rather not had to put on the web, I got just enough information on how to use the tool. There are still many things I need to know about it.
As for what I did get from the tool, it confirmed that what we thought was wrong with the auto is what is wrong and there is no guess work, but a lot of grease work.
I think this will help a lot with repairs as I will no longer be deceived by auto mechanics who try to say they did more work or it needed more work that was necessary. It will also help me with little things like recalls on the auto and other trouble shooting in the future with this vehicle I used it on. I can see it as a great tool when buying a used car as it can be plugged in quickly and I will be informed as to what is wrong and avoid a bad purchase of a messed up auto, or dishonest seller.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good for the money!

02/19/2011
By ,
GOODVIEW,VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great investment for the backyard mechanic

10/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would only be better if it could do the repair for me too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Fantastic, great product

05/26/2011
By ,
Melbourne Beach, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good basic OBD2 reader.

10/18/2014
By ,
Marion, N.C..
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good basic reader. In the age of easily accessed information on the internet and the rise of the smart phone, who needs to pay double the price of this OBD2 reader? All you have to do is hook it up to your car, get the codes if any and then look it up on your phone or home computer. No more driving to the auto parts store to borrow theirs. The only negative is that it's a little slow to read the codes from the car but who doesn't have a few minutes?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good Product

01/02/2011
By ,
Poplar Bluff, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone

09/18/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Great product!

04/09/2010
By ,
Livermore, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Full function product

11/03/2010
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated.
The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Good product for the money

11/28/2010
By ,
Denison, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Works perfect

10/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona.
plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem.
well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Plug it in and it works

12/06/2010
By ,
Massena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Just as advertised

02/26/2011
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned a more expensive code reader previous to this purchase and am pleasantly surprised at how much this reader does. Remember, do not turn on the engine to test codes. The PC download is very useful as well. Light weight and very easy to use. Great handbook as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equus 3030 Innova Diagnostic Code Reader for OBDII Vehicles

Money Saving Product

12/04/2010
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next