Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Radians Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Radians Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Radians provides an easy, do-it-yourself kit that molds custom molded earplugs in 10 minutes. Use for sporting events, construction work, lawn care, assembly lines, farming, auto races, swimming, flying and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation59%10 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Radians Custom Molded Ear Plugs

03/30/2010
By ,
Atlanta GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price. Easy instructions, however I would stress that you be fairly aggressive on pushing the material into your ear canal during the molding process, it makes for a better soundproof fit. Commpared to $100 for what an ENT charges for basicly the same product these are an incrediable bargin!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 2 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

great earplugs

03/06/2010
By ,
Herriman, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was about to find an audiologist and spent $80-$100, but luckily I found these instead. They work great. Everything as expected, sound blocked extremely well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 3 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Pretty good

08/28/2010
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got these to help deal with a snoring wife.
Yes, it's a wife this time. They were recommended by a reader in a newspaper medical column.
And they do help a lot for this purpose. You must mix two ingredients, as with epoxy, and then stick the results in your ear. Keep it there for 10 minutes while it cures. It's a little uncomfortable when cold and of course is much harder when fully cured, but a little extra trimming helps. When all is done carefully, they are quite comfortable for sleeping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Pretty good plugs

08/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These work as advertised. Great for making church music quieter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 5 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Excellent Product (10 minutes is too short)

04/27/2011
By ,
Fountain Hills, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is inexpensive and the documentation is well written and easy to follow. The only issue is that the documentation suggests that the product once in the ear will harden in 10 minutes. Actually it says something to the effect that wait at least 10 minutes or until the product is no longer pliable. It took nearly an hour for the product to harden. We got 2 of these and both worked well once formed and hardened. I would buy these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs
12/01/2010
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased these to wear when riding my motorcycle. They don't work to well for this. They formed well and are good until I put my helmet on. They hurt your ears because they form into a hard ear plug. Really painful to take the helmet off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 7 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

shoddy

12/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know it's a cheap alternative to expensive custom-made earplugs, and after loosing two pairs of the latter in a single year, I don't want to splash money. The reviews of this DIY earplugs were passionate, and the price was next to nothing. So, I decided to give it a try. However, the result is a pair of bulky, uncomfortable monstrocity which is so hard that my ears hurt. If you have iron ears and really don't care about aesthetics at all, you can give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 8 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Can be used for custom earbuds!

10/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This review won't help you if you are trying to find out if they block out sound.
I bought these to build my own custom earbuds, and it worked great.
Pros: easy to create. mix up two balls and stick them in your ears then wait ten minutes. You can hear them snap, crackle and pop, and then you have custom fit plugs, with a carry case.
Cons: Price. I think $15 is a bit much for ear plugs. Especially one's that I had to do all the work for. I would happily pay $10.
They work great for my custom earbuds, but I'm not sure how much sound they block out.
They become pretty rigid when cured.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 9 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Probably good for the right application

10/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these earplugs to block out noise while i sleep, because they appeared more comfortable than in ear plugs. They were in fact much more comfortable to wear, however they block moderate sound levels poorly. I expect they probably do block loud sounds like gunfire very well, but i would not suggest them for sleeping. Also, I noticed some people had difficulty forming the plugs. Personally, I had no difficulties whatsoever, they seemed very easy to mold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Simple and inexpensive

11/29/2010
By ,
Detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used these ear plugs at the shooting range yet , but I tested them in front of my tv , the volume control goes from 0 to 100 - with the plugs in I have to turn it up to 90 to get the similar volume of 15 with out the ear plugs .
So they do work better than the big over the ear muffs which the tv had to be at only 65 to be the same as 15 with out .
Not very scientific but very real world none the less .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 11 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Takes way longer than 10 minutes.

06/15/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The instructions say that the material will harden in ten minutes. I gave up after letting them "cure" in my son's ear for 30 long minutes. He had been patient for too long so I pulled them out while they were still soft. It messed up the outer part, but I think the inner part retained it's shape. We're hoping they are good for water use, but we'll see. It's not as tight a fit as what I was expecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 12 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Could be easier to use

10/07/2010
By ,
Erei PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used mold-able earplug product before to make custom fit headsets with ear-buds. I ordered two different colors to color code right and left ears. This product would be easier to use if Radians would send 4 little cups instead of 2. Predividing the product to make two inserts would be very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs
06/01/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product does what it is intended for but it doesn't solidify quick enough. You must keep it in place for to long a period of time. If I had to do it over again (and I do cause my first attempt didn't work out) I would not buy the same product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs

Wasteful

04/25/2011
By ,
Jackson, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately for me, this product was a waste of money. The product cannot be used right away. You have to make the ear plug and it takes 24 hours for it to set. Once the clay is hard enough to use, it is too hard for your ear.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 15 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs
06/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I made the molded earplug and put it in my ear, it worked quite well. When I put it in
the second time, it didn't work at all. It has never blocked out sound except for the first time
I molded it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs
02/26/2011
By ,
LA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,just mix fast and well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Radians Custom Molded Earplugs
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5