Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3M 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

3M 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Return your car, truck or SUV to its original condition with the help of this 3M Headlight Restoration Kit. It is designed to repair lenses that are losing clear visibility. Using this car headlight restoration kit will increase the illumination capacity of fogged, yellowed, cloudy, hazy or dull looking parts by improving their performance. It will not only enhance the appearance of the vehicle, but it will also increase road clarity for added safety. This kit is intended for use with a standard household drill with an RPM rating of 1200 to 1600, which is not included. Simply follow the steps of sanding the parts to remove the yellow layer, refining or reducing the scratches, then polishing the headlight for clarity and shine. It even comes with detailed, simple to understand instructions for added convenience. This easy to use headlight lens restoration kit is also ideal for clearing up the haze on your taillights and fog lights or directional lights.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%184 out of 192reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 201 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Went beyond my expectations...

09/17/2014
By ,
St. Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use on my daughters car that I had just bought that had one new and one original head lamp after watching a guy on you tube demonstrate it, and he was doing it for a living out of Florida. It took me about 1/2 hour to to follow all the steps and get the head light looking like new. I think the secret to this product over others is that you use a sanding disk that actually removes the top layer of plastic and then you seal it with this compound. And it gives you enough disks to probably do 4 to 6 lights. I just used 1 disk of each sand paper provided for this one light. I've included photos showing the before and after. The one thing I would say however is don't forget some trim tape to put around the light, it's the only thing that's not included (well you need a drill too LOL) and you'll need it to put around your light so you won't damage your paint in case when using the sanding disk you bump the edge of the paint.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

3M Headlight Restoration Success

01/23/2011
By ,
Smithfield, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most of the reviews here, I was impressed with the final results of 3M's kit. It does take a while to do but it is well worth the effort. You will see lots of yellowed or frosted headlights on cars these days. I really got sick of mine and how dim they were. I wish I had done this a long time ago. It is a huge savings over replacing the lens. They are like new now and I'm pleased with the additional lighting I get out of them. My restoration was on a 96 Grand Caravan. The plastic lenses on cars really need this restoration process after 10+ years of sun and abrasion. My only criticism, (and it is no doubt in vain), is that they could easily give you more sanding media or enough to do more than a pair of headlights but they don't. If you are careful, you can probably do 4 headlights with the materials in the kit that they give you, (Depending on how bad the lenses are). I do think 3M has developed state of the art sanding and polishing media.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Great DIY product

12/29/2013
By ,
Bartow, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used 3M Headlight Restoration Kit on my vehicles and various friends vehicles and I still get amazed by the results. I have use 2 other products but none have gave me the same results. A few Tips:
1: Do this with time to spare, depends on how old and bad are the headlights, it will require time, rushing thru it will not give you the best results.
2: Follow the instructions, skipping steps will not end well.
3: On first step make sure all the yellow/bad stuff is off and sand until white plastic dust comes out; Step 2, dedicate some time to this step it will make surface smoother; Step 3, do not be shy and use to hearts content , this is the one that gives the end result, i personally rinse the pad and the headlight at least three times each before I'm done with it, I spend at least 15 minutes on each headlight on this step.
4: Electric drills work the best, unless you have awesome batteries.
It is a money saving option, good luck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Never New Product Existed

07/21/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not know that a product like this existed. My cousin told me about it & I went online exploring. I found this product. This product is fantastic! It is simple as long as you read the instructions & take your time. My only suggestions are: Make sure you tape your car as shown; read the instuctions carefully ahead of time; take your time you will have enough to do more then one vehicle; also take a before & after picture. I bought this online for $15! Walmart has this cool thing that some items in the stores can be purchased for the online price & picked up in the store the same day. This was one of the items. I saved about $3. This product is definitely worth it no matter which amount you pay. The last thing I would like to mention is do not get scared when you first use this product & the lens becomes cloudy. It's supposed do that...it will eventually become VERY clear after you finish the process.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Works better than expected.

09/19/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy job to do with spectacular results. Headlights on my 9y old Accord look almost like new. I say almost because small deeper chirps still remain, but I can see them only from 1-2 feet distance. From 10ft I can't see them. I see noticable improvement during night driving.
Just follow simple instructions and you'll be amazed with the result. It took me all together ~45min to do pair of headlights. All you need to have is a drill, masking tape, and a water bottle. If you are planning to use cordless drill, than pre-charge second battery.
After I did my own car, I have done headlights on another 13y old car with equally good results. I don't think you can count on more than 2 pairs of headlights from the same kit, as 800-grit paper wears out quickly.
You'll need a car wash after you are done.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Works As Advertised

08/08/2011
By ,
Lenexa, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm satisfied with the results on my '97 Buick Regal. Although one of the other reviewers is right: it's a function of how much effort that's put into it. I still have some haze left after going through the process once. However, 3M does caveat their instructions with a repeat-as-necesary note if there's still haze left. (See photos below.) I took my time, cleaning lenses and sanding pads frequently as recommended in other reviews. Also, double-taped the body well. I knew after completing the P800 step that I didn't get all the hazing, but by then I just wanted to complete the sanding steps. I agree with another reviewer that another P3000 pad would've been nice. It seems that the single one I had clogged up, despite frequent water sprayings. For sedan lights, the sanding does take a toll on your back after the P800 step - another reason to take frequent breaks. The P500 does skip around at certain pressures, as another reviewer warned. Maybe this fall I'll get another kit to see if I can get the rest of the hazing. I did purchase this using "pickup today" for the cheaper on-line price. Bottom line: the Buick's lights seem brighter and my efforts (not the kit's quality) were 80% effective. I recommend watching 3Mcarecare.com's video at least once (3 times for me). Their directions are good and easy to follow. One caution: when taping (I used 3M's Scotch blue painter's tape) be careful when taking it off at the end: I taped over a chipped area and removed more of the paint when I peeled off the tape. My thanks to other reviewers' warnings and suggestions! - August 6, 2011, Lenexa, KS.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Works as advertised....GREAT!

01/05/2014
By ,
south shore Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me about 45 minutes to do both headlights.
This product is among the least expensive and really brings your dull, frosty headlight back to new!
I was impressed.
Here are my "Before & After" photos
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Great for the price

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kit because the headlights on my 89 f250 are yellow as could be. I didn't want to put it on my old restoration project without a test so I used my beater car and it worked great. It does not look like new but I'd say it's probably 75% of the way there. Easy clear instructions and it only took me a couple hours and I was being very slow and picky. If I would put it on my 89, it's good. Highly recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Well Worth The Money

06/22/2011
By ,
KC, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really Impressed with this product. I was kinda worried about the sanding and such but when you hook it up to your drill and just make passes with that it makes it verry easy. The instructions were verry accurate so I would recommend to just read them through every step before you do it. The longer you take on them the Better they will look.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

My headlights improved drastrically

11/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Based on the price, it's obvious that this a basic product. However, it does what it says. I don't have any experience at all polishing plastic and a did it for first time when I used the 3M kit. It took me about 45 minutes for each light. The final result isn't 100% perfect, but my headlights improved a 90% percent.
Tip: Keeping the plastic surface wet during the steps with the rubber and the foam could get a better polishing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Exceeded Expectation

12/01/2010
By ,
Perrysburg, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked as advertised and even exceeded my expectation. Follow the instructions and your project should come out looking great. I was recently given a van and just one of the headlights were fogged (other one was replaced recently due to it getting cracked). Looks brand new again!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Good product, great price if....

09/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went into this project with a kit from another store that cost near $25 with tax. Using a cordless drill that was supposed to be 1400rpm (probably not true speed in hindsight), charging and switching out batteries, etc. it took me over 3 hours to complete one headlight, and I used up all of the P500 sanding discs. I had a corded drill, but it runs single speed at 2800rpm, enough to burn your plastic headlight pretty fast. That first headlight turned out nice, but I was short those 500 grit discs to do the second light, so I went around lopsided for a few days, not wanting to pay another $25 for the kit just for a few sanding discs.
Ran across this deal online with walmart....pay the online price, pick up in store the same day. So the GREAT PRICE part is IF walmart would match their own online prices in store, I would not have to go through the extra steps of buying online first. Anyway, I did the online purchase, pick up in store off the shelf a few hours later. Meanwhile, I bought a corded drill that runs at 1400rpm because I didn't want to mess with the cordless/battery problem anymore.
Well I'm happy to say that after my initial disgruntlement with the first kit, the second went much smoother. Freshly armed with my new corded 1400rpm drill, I was able to complete the second headlight so much easier. Now I'm running around promoting this to anyone with hazy headlights, offering to do the work if they'll buy the kit. I love it! Amazing results once you get the right tools and get the hang of it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

MY HEADLIGHTS ARE LIKE NEW NOW.

07/31/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because of all the good reviews and watching youtube videos and its price. It took me couple hrs to do both headlights but this was my first time using a drill. .lol. Make sure you get good masking tape to protect the paint on your car and a good micro fiber cloth. My headlights were really really really yellow, hazed, dull etc. but now there like new. This product is time consuming but well worth and save lots of $$$$. Before and After Pics
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Crazy good!!!!!

02/20/2013
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried another restoration kit a few years ago and it was useless. I decided to give it a go due to fantastic ratings. The first light took me about 25 mins due to kid interruptions and the second took about 10-15 mins. The results are AMAZING!! I am genuinely impressed with this product. I added some images so you could see before and after results.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Don't Hesitate

11/06/2010
By ,
Chbg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit makes it very easy to make your headlights look like new. All you need is a drill! I needed to polish my headlights so my car would pass inspection. After reading a few of the reviews, I drove to the local walmart and picked up a kit. An hour later, I was amazed with the results. There is a note in the directions to periodically stop and wipe the pad clean of dust to prevent clogging which I recommend. This way you will have enough pads left over for additional polishings. Excellent kit, don't hesitate if you have headlights that are fogged or yellow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

My option was this or a $113 replacement from Ebay

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$15 + some elbow grease instead of $113 replacement. Well worth it. Results far better than expected. Showed the pictures to a friend and they thought I had installed new lights. Easy to follow instructions, plenty of sand paper discs (I could probably do another 2 sets), and a reusable polishing head that I'll likely use for multiple other projects. Couldn't be happier.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

I wish I had known about this product years ago!

10/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used this product today! It made such a difference in both the visual appearance of my headlights as well as night driving visibility. I wish I had done this years ago! Definitely worth the money!
Check out my before/after pics!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

What A Money Saver!

10/29/2012
By ,
Lebanon, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must try! I have to admit, I was very skeptical of this product, but I had nothing to loose. After finding out how much it was going to cost me to replace both my headlight Len's on my 2004 Pontiac Vibe ($140-$180 each) I decided that for less than $20 if this product did not work I was only out 20 bucks. OMG, I was so impressed and I saved at least $280. I even posted it to my facebook page for others to see.
Only thing I will suggest is make sure to use a "electric" drill or have a couple charged batteries for your cordless. Mine did not hold a charge long enough to complete the project for both sides.
Thank you
Helen
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

Great & Cheap Headlight Restoration product.

08/24/2011
By ,
Hamilton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had Major deep spots & blurriness on my headlights, I could barely see at night. I knew a whip on/off products would not work. This is a great product for the $16, my mechanic said he could fix my headlights for $175. Well I fix it myself for $16. I would not recommend a battery drill, this will slow down your process due to 1-2hrs of recharging :). It took me about 5 hours to complete. I needed to make sure the surface did not have any clear streaks prior to the buff & polish, this process took some time. Please see my pics below.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 3M Headlight Restoration Kit

It really works!!

05/26/2012
By ,
Chesterfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used other products and this one was going to be my last before I just purchased new light assemblies for my 2k caddy. It was very simple and took me around and hour, I split the sanding pad evenly between the two lights and used each pad for only a portion of the whole light and paid special attention to the part of the directions that suggested that the more you sand on each step the better the results of the next step, and they look great now it changed the whole look of the car. See the before and after pics.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next