Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Silvertone Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Silvertone Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

The Silvertone SD3000 guitar package with instructional software is terrific for beginners. This full-sized dreadnought acoustic guitar has a natural top, mahogany stained back and sides, rosewood fingerboard, and quality, die-cast tuning machines. The Silvertone SD3000 acoustic guitar set includes eMedia's Starter Guitar Lessons software that will get beginners off to a good start. The Silvertone acoustic guitar set includes lessons on everything from stringing the guitar to playing chords. Players can fine tune their skills with the help of the video demonstrations conducted by professional guitar instructor Kevin Garry. This Silvertone SD3000 acoustic guitar package also includes a digital guitar tuner, chord chart, guitar picks, extra set of strings, and much more for making wonderful music.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%123 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural
01/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The excitement on my son's face when he received this gift was PRICELESS...unfortunately, it arrived w/o the anchor on top that attaches the strap...otherwise...it's worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
about the strap
Posted 12/23/2011
from what I understand the strap is supposed to be tied to the headstock . Hope this helps!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

nice one!!

02/19/2011
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my first guitar.. im only a beginner but i like it, i love it...it meets all my expectAtions.. really for a beginner guitar...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

A real bargain and quality product

01/12/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this guitar for my 13 year old daughter as her 1st guitar. It has a carrying case, extra strings, tools to tune it, several picks to play with, a strap to carry it, a CD to learn with, an electronic device for sound check. We were pleasantly surprised at how much was included for the price and it sounds beautiful and soulful when she strums her guitar. What a quality product for the money !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Good guitar, great price

03/11/2011
By ,
Halifax, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great deal for a beginner I can tell you that. I wanted to learn how to play and I have an electric but I have kids and didn't want them tripping over the amp so I saw this listed on the Walmart website. I ordered it to be shipped to the store and arrived safely. Be careful when you take it out of the box though as they don't pack the picks and other items in bags so everything just fell out (and I had to tip the box upside once the guitar was out to get all the picks.). Other than that it sounds great. I used the software's tuner for the guitar which I think is easier. The guitar has no scratches or other problems. The guitar strap attaches on the bottom then ties up on the neck under the strings (I am not using my strap currently.) If your looking for a beginner guitar or something on the low side this is a good start. I might have to buy another if my kids pick up wanting to play!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

don't waste your money

10/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for my son to learn on. Was happy to receive the guitar in excellent condition. No scratches or dents or anything. String broke trying to tune it first time, changed string, tuned guitar, same string broke while trying to play it. It is the Hi E string that breaks. Like it is not lined up right. Have a Yamaha acoustic and when compared the string just doesn't look right. Overall weight and feel are great. Don't have the sound of my Yamaha or my dad's Gibson though. But sound was as good as expected for this guitar. Would have kept and even given at least 4 stars if not for breaking the strings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Good value

02/11/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will try to answer a few questions either I had or others have posted.
This is a full size (Dreadnaught), steel-stringed, acoustic guitar suitable for beginners or (like me) someone who is returning to the guitar. It is not a classical guitar with gut/nylon strings. It is too big for a child but fine for a small teen. Its sound is very good for the price. Remember, you are not buying an Ovation or high priced Gibson.
The case is soft and unpadded but adequate. It is pre-strung, although the high E string on mine was improperly wrapped and promptly broke on initial tuning. Good news - they give you a spare set of strings. Top, fret board and tuning knobs are acceptable quality. Digital tuner is very rudimentary. I have an electronic keyboard from which I could tune much more accurately. Good in a pinch I suppose, but not a high grade digital tuner. Fact is, once you have any one string tuned, the others are easiest to tune from that one, as most guitar students quickly learn.
Strap is 'hidden' in the side pocket of the case, which may be why a few people said they didn't get a strap. Likewise, the strap ties to the head. There is not supposed to be a strap attachment knob on that end; only on the body.
The included CD and chord chart are good for a beginner but unnecessary for anyone who already knows the basics.
The bridge, frets and clearance from the soundboard are all good. Expected sore fingers that go away as callouses develop. The strings set a proper distance from the frets so there is no vibration if fingering is done properly. The workmanship is great for the price. I anticipate it will be some time before I abandon this bargain for an upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Great Product and Great Price

12/29/2010
By ,
The Colony, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In searching for a beginner guitar, I was so afraid I might buy a piece of junk. Well, I am pleased to say that this is a wonderfull product, although it has yet to be tested over time. It is well made, beautiful and sounds great. The item was exactly as described and included all listed accessories. For someone who does not hvae the best ear for tuning an instrament, the electronic tuner is wonderfull (note: The best way to use it, is to allow it to lie on the guitar rather than to try and hold it above the guitar). I have not tried to use the tuner in a noisy environment but I heard that it does not work well if there is much noise and I would guess that is true. ANyway, if you are looking for a beginner guitar, you can purchase this product without fear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Great for a beginner

01/12/2010
By ,
Mississippi Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter who informed me she want's to be an American Idol when she is 16. It's great for all beginners. She won't put it down . Very easy to tune and stays in tune very well considering its being played by a 7 year old. If your looking for a starter guitar I would recommend this guitar for anyone age 5 to 95.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

a valuable product

01/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has been very valuable: financially as well as sentimentally. You get all products shown for the low price, and this is a very big guitar. My daughter absolutely loves this and has played it dutifully. It gives her pleasure, which makes my day a little brighter. I thank you for the option of site to store shopping. You can not find some things in the store. This is a great opportunity and will be repeated by my household.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Great Starter Guitar

01/11/2010
By ,
West Bend, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this guitar for my 15 year-old daughter. It sounds as good as a more expensive Ovation guitar I own. The guitar is well built, and the strings have good action. Contrary to the picture, there was no shoulder strap, and the left side peg was not mounted on the guitar. The tuner is made cheaply but works well. I have not loaded or used the software.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Great guitar for a beginner.

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful Guitar kit for my 13 yr old grandson - starting guitar lessons in school. CD-ROM instruction disc is an added bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Killer deal for the quality!

03/28/2010
By ,
Huntington Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very impressed with the quality of sound and the complete appearance of the guitar. This will be my daughters second guitar. Her first was a junior size and I believe this size will be perfect for her. It will be her 10th birthday gift. I believe it will be a great starter guitar and upgrade from her first. I tested it and got it all tuned..it sounds awesome!
However, the strap was missing from the package and the guitar only had one peg to attach only one side of the strap to?? A bit bummed about that. Which will definitely make it a bit difficult to rock out on the guitar standing! Otherwise, its a great deal for the quality of the guitar. She'll be stoked!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

bad...bad...bad

09/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality. ...i returned and i get my money Bad ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Not Too Shabby

01/07/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The guitar itself is nice. The tuner is a bit sensative but pretty good. The only thing I would recommend is not relying on the software that comes with the guitar. It's not that great and my son was disappointed with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Nice little kit!

03/30/2011
By ,
So Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this guitar kit for my 16 y.o. daughter to learn on. I was quite pleased with the guitar.
I had one of my friends that is an accomplished guitar/piano players as well as a musical instrument repairman take a look at it before giving it to her. He figured he would have to adjust the bow out of the neck (you get a wrench with the kit) and maybe adjust the level of the strings but it needed nothing done. He tuned it up and said it played pretty nice. It had a good tone for the money. He said the strings are pretty light and would suggest getting a little heavier string later.
My daughter loves it and has begun lessons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

A nice starter guitar for students

03/07/2011
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always wanted to learn to play guitar and I found this is a good starter set for learning to play guitar. The guitar is very nice looking, the case is very handy because you can carry it on your back like a backpack...which is nice when you need to run down to music store with your guitar. My teenage son lit up like a christmas tree when he saw the guitar, and now he wants to use it to learn to play too! The extra set of strings is and the training materials are a very nice touch, as are the extra picks! We love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

2nd Review, GREAT BUY

01/05/2010
By ,
Marina, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the nicest guitars that I have played, better than the two epiphones that I have owned that cost much more. The action on the neck is just about perfect. No fret buzz but still plenty fast. The accessories that come with the guitar are decent quality and are enough to get a beginner off to a great start without costing major bucks..
The guitar strap is serviceable, just woven nylon but still is pretty comfy. The tuner works just fine but needs to be close to the guitar's sound hole when in use. The guitar bag is of good quality but has no padding. Buy a new bag when possible for better protection. Picks are OK, medium stiffness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Good for learners

12/31/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my husband online and had it shipped site to store. Received it right on time, and was thrilled to learn that the guitar came in its own box that was also boxed up, so it was in very good condition when he opened it up on Christmas.
The guitar itself is nice, and sounds wonderful. It came with 4 different picks, the tuning machine, the cd, an alan wrench and the case. Everything was in good shape, and he has had no problems with any of it. The guitar was a little hard to tune at first, but I think that is more inexperience than the guitar itself.
For those learning, we found www.howtotuneaguitar.org a great site for tuning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Missing items

04/04/2011
By ,
Fayetteville, NC.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upon inspection of the package, I found it was missing several items that were indicated in the package. The guitar itself was a good looking guitar, however, it only arrived with the bag and a computer disc. Every other item indicated in the package was missing. I would say if you are looking for a good beginning guitar just purchase the guitar. You can purchase the other items (i.e. picks, chord charts, tuner) at a music store and get some invaluable advise a well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Silvertone SD3000 Complete Acoustic Guitar Package with Instructional Software, Natural

Awesome Value

05/29/2010
By ,
Kelso, Wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this guitar to have something to drag around and play wherever, much to my suprise, this is an awesome deal for a guitar! I've bought many a gitbox in my life and this rates right up there. The sound is rich and deep, the tuning is spot on and maintains, make no mistake, this is a full size guitar, you are not left for want with this deal. I'm looking into what else the Silvertone people have to offer after this purchase. If you are looking to just get into guitar or to have one for every occasion this is it, go for it, you will not be dissappointed. Great Deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next