Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

This Straight Talk Samsung R451C Phone provides everything you need in a slider cell phone without a contract. With the Samsung Prepaid Phone with keyboard you'll enjoy nationwide coverage on one of America's best networks. The Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone features a slider Qwerty keyboard, Bluetooth capability, and built-in camera. Best of all, with this Samsung Prepaid Phone with keyboard you don't have to worry about fees for activation, reactivation, cancellation, daily access or overage. Additional features of the Straight Talk Samsung R451C Phone include 1.3 -megapixel camera, Mobile Web services, Caller/Picture/Ringtone ID, Hands-free, Phonebook with up to 500 entries and battery talk time of up to 4 hours. Straight Talk's Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone includes charger and services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.755 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(429 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
108
3 stars
54
2 stars
26
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation75%321 out of 427reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
108
3 stars
54
2 stars
26
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

ONE OF THE BEST!!

09/26/2011
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned the R451C for almost 2 years and have been more than satisfied I have been amazed. The phone I have dropped more than once and the durability surprises me and it has all the features of the big money phones and NO CONTRACTS OR HIDDEN FEES, CONNECTIVITY CHARGES, SURCHARGES OR SCRATCH YOUR NOSE SURPRISE CHARGES. That is the greatest feature and I can have unlimited facebook, sports/ football scores with pictures and headlines, news and up to date weather reports. I was not a text person till I got this phone with the qwerty keyboard and now all I do is text. I can switch from the $45 to $30 if I do or don't plan to use more minutes and most of the time the $30 plan is enough. GREAT PHONE AND SERVICE! WOULD RECOMMEND TO MOMS AND DADS TOO, FOR THE KIDS. The only problem I found was the keyboard lock feature is too easy too operate and my phone sometimes calls people while in my pocket. takes great pictures but the ringer is very low for my deaf ears other than that its great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Excellent Value

11/12/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my phone for almost a full year. It has worked very well even though I fell and landed on it the first week I had it. The phone part works fine, and it's great for texting. The camera is OK, but not that great compared to what most phone cameras will do. However, it has delivered some very nice pictures. The web browser is minimal, but OK for checking email. Overall, I'm very pleased with this phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE PHONE

07/18/2011
By ,
Artesia,MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THIS IS A HORRIBLE PHONE. DO NOT BUY. EVEN THOUGH THIS PHONE MAY LOOK ALL HANDY AND DANDY, ITS NOT. YOU SEE ALL THE REVIEWS ON THIS PHONE ALL NICE AND STUFF. WELL THATS AFTER A WHILE IS WHEN ALL THE TROUBLE STARTS. THIS PHONE WAS GREAT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE PERFECT PHONE FOR ME. THIS PHONE DID NOT MEET ALL MY EXPECTATIONS. IVE HAD THIS PHONE FOR OVER A YEAR AND IVE HAD 2 REPLACEMENT PHONES. THE KEYBOARD IS COMING APART AND THE BLUETOOTH CAPABILITY STARTS TO ACT UP AFTER A WHILE. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. IVE HAD TO CALL STRAIGHTTALK TECH SUPPORT OVER 100 TIMES DURING THE PAST YEAR. I HATE THIS PHONE. I KNOW 3 PEOPLE THAT HAVE HAD THIS PHONE AND THEIR SLIDER HAS BROKEN TOO. I THOUHGT IT WAS JUST BECAUESE THEY WERENT TAKING CARE OF THEIR PHONE AND IT WAS JUST COMING APART BUT THIS WAS A MANUFACTERUER PROBLEM. THIS IS A HORRIBLE. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minneapolis, MN
No problems. Going on 2 years.
Posted 08/21/2011
I have not had any of the problems you mention. Mine has been very reliable and durable. I have dropped it a few times and the keyboard has loosened up a bit -- but it works fine.
Seriously? Over 100 calls to ST Tech support? I cannot imagine why. I have only called them once or twice (it will be 2 years owning this phone November 2011).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Awesome connection but the telephone is 2nd rate.

07/08/2011
By ,
Central Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have several friends with this exact phone and plan and they all love it. When I found out that if I buy a CDMA mode phone I would still keep using Verizon network I was previously using I was sold. First off, activating the phone and switching my phone number could not have been much easier. I call Straight Talk and 20 minutes later, it was complete. I love using the Verizon network as I always have a great connection.
However that is where my praise ends. The phone itself is lacking the same quality that I am used to with my previous phones. When I make a call, I hear a lot of crackling that I did not have before with my old phone. The ring volume is only about 60% as loud as my previous LG phone. When I use the speakerphone, there is a lot of rattle noise in the speaker. The internet menus are old school quality from what I am use to with my old LG phone, I guess I was spoiled by Verizon. You will also have a very hard time finding any phone specific accessories for this phone beside chargers in your local store. Checking your usage is not easy as it should be either.
I do like the keyboard, even though I am not one to text much. I also like the display as I can read it without my reading glasses which I could not do with my older LG phone. I also loved not having a contract or having to pay an activation fee. I guess when you use a discount service provider such as Straight Talk, you get phones that are geared for a discount price market.
Would I recommend this phone and service? Yes! I love the fact that I can still use the Verizon network without paying their premium pricing. Straight Talk made switching over easy and quick. I just don't care for this Samsung phone, to be honest, I expect higher quality from them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Great Phone

08/20/2010
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both have this phone. This phone works great. The first one I bought from the store fell off of my couch while charging, while keyboard was open, and the Qwerty keyboard didn't work after that. I returned that phone to WalMart, no hassles and I got another one. Not had a problem since. My only complaint is that the ringer is extremely low when someone is actually calling. When you preview the ringtones it is louder.
A word of advice for anyone not yet in the Straight Talk network. If you have any issues that arise, DO NOT CALL THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER. Google the corporate office number in Miami. The regular customer service number support is horrid. They outsource these calls to India, and you will be on hold forever. Ever since I read online to call corporate, any issue I have ever had was resolved immediately with almost no wait time.
I am extremely happy with my service and phone. I do not plan on switching any time soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+389points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pittsburgh, PA
phone is no good, neither is customer service
Posted 12/25/2011
I bought this phone a little over a year ago. On a good day we can recieve calls. On a great day, We can hear our voice mails clear. Customer service is a joke. Very long wait time, and the website is down more that it is in opperation. Going back to Virgin Mobile!
+1point
Customer Avatar
deer lodge tn
ty
Posted 12/21/2011
thats a great idea callin miami, i shared your comment on fb thank u
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Talk about a "smart" plan

06/25/2011
By ,
Loretto, Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my R451C and the 45$ a month unlimited plan for 6 months now. The plan is awesome and works exactly as advertised. I can text, call, and access the internet unlimited. It's rare you find a deal that is true advertising. Now, is my R451C a smart phone that can truly utilize unlimited internet access? Nope. But I can access all the internet features I need from my phone. I have 4 teenagers who's lives revolves around texting. I have not only found a new way to make sure that I at least have the opportunity, but also the means with which to stay in my teen's lives 24/7. This is not the fastest program you CAN find. This is not a SMART phone. This is a great phone, with a great plan, at a great price. Ive never been late for a refill and as such Ive never had a problem. I recommend this plan(and phone) to all my friends and co-workers and to anyone who reads this review. The camera is good, the options are good, and the plan is fantastic. Thank you Walmart from a truly satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Good Phone & Good Service

12/14/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is good enough, but not great.
I got my phone for free. I wouldn't pay $99 for this phone or any phone. All the phone functions work well.
Pro: I had a problem scratching the Phone Card pin numbers off and lost a few of the pin numbers needed to activate the service, so I had to contact Straight Talk Customer Service. Straight Talk Customer Service did an excellent job in solving the problem quickly. Yes, Customer Service sounds like they are from India, but I could understand them, they were very polite and efficient and I was only on hold for 5 minutes.
Cons: Camera button engages camera too easily resulting in unwanted camera function.
The Web function works in a limited way. I can't fully access any web page and moving around web pages is awkward at best and on some pages impossible. So, it's OK for checking my yahoo email and real simple stuff. Maybe the Web service will improve or I will improve.
For the money it's a way better deal than I had with Verizon or Sprint.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Great phone and service for the price

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a rural area and my other carrier had severe service problems. I debated about switching because even though I did not have great home service, I carried the phone for safety reasons. The Samsung phone is very functional, works just as good as my Razr with a few more features. I won't say that I don't miss my Razr, as it did a few things that the Samsung did. They keys are a little small for us big fingered people. The slider keyboard is great!!!! I wish I had gotten one much earlier. The value was great. If your with a major carrier and buy a phone outright, they take you to the cleaners or lock you into a two year contract to get a "free" or reduce cost phone. If Straight Talk can sell a phone this cheap, why can't the major carriers? If you hesitant about switching as I was, buy the cheap phone and card and try it for a month, and you will be switching!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

INDESTRUCTABLE

11/26/2010
By ,
Midland, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone, it is off of Verizon towers so you know it has great service. This phone is an amazing phone not only because of the features, but because it can take a beating. I am not the type of person to abuse expensive electronics, but accidents do happen. I dropped this phone in a toilet, up until this day I still can't believe that it still works, but a few weeks ago I was outside and it fell out of my case. I didn't realize it until I went to make a call. The next morning I found it because it was already dark when I lost it. this phone has been sitting out in the rain all night, still works, no problems. Just like a brand new phone. However I do recommend looking at the service carrier under specifications because some phones are Tracfone, AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon, this phone is Verizon. I am happy with it. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Easy Phone To Work!!

01/21/2012
By ,
Nasshville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you already have a phone similar to this one, like I did previously with Sprint,.. you will LOVE this phone. There are no extra steps to do to add a contact or to send an email. This phone is sooo easy to use. It's a little sensitive though.. and maybe i haven't figured out how to turn it completely off, so you don't make a butt call, but this phone is soo amazing. It's like a phone for dummies. So easy to pull the qwerty keyboard out and use and the picture flips. It's also a great camera and easy to take photos. I can't say enough good things about this phone.. you won't regret it.. and especially to be on such a lower payment plan for unlimited texting and talking.. who can even come close to the $45 a month plan. Ends up being $51 after tax.. I was paying over $70 a month with Sprint.. and only if I didn't go over my minutes.. such a relief to have one price that i know will never change.. YEAH WALMART STRAIGHT TALK!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

The everyday cell phone

10/17/2010
By ,
Northport, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm finished with giving away my hard earned cash and being chained to a contract. This phone is not an iphone but it's everything I needed without the frills. It is thicker that most cell phones but if holding on to a tiny, thin phone and locating it in your purse was difficult, this is the phone for you! It takes good pictures, the speaker phone is clear, and it is easy to use. If you do decide to use an existing cell number, it will take several hours for the service to transfer your number. $45 a month is a small price to pay to have unlimited minutes, text, and internet. Why pay a service provider who dictates when & how you can use your cell phone anyway? It's a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+337points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Surprisingly Nice Phone

08/07/2011
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went from a touch screen smartphone to this... wasn't thrilled about it but now that I have it, I LOVE it! Was tired of paying so much to have Verizon drop calls at my house, but thought for $30/month, I would get a CDMA Straight Talk phone and live with it. This phone is a breeze to text on (I have fat thumbs and short nails), the display is beautiful, and I haven't dropped a call in the several days I've had it- unheard of with my old smartphone. If you need a phone you can play on for hours, this isn't the phone for you (personally, I use my Nook Color for that), but if you want a solid phone that's nice for texting and don't want a huge bill every month, I would highly recommend this phone!!! For those who may not know, you will need a CDMA phone for Verizon tower service and GSM phone for ATT tower service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Awesome cell phone

05/15/2011
By ,
New Castle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with my cell phone purchase. Set up and transport of my old number to my new phone was a breeze. Having connectivity to the outside world no matter where I am at - PRICELESS. Previously, I used a cell phone for emergency purposes only and bought minutes every 2 months. As my minutes started to get down, I would stop using the phone. With Straight Talk, the $30/month plan for 1,000 minutes is all that I need. Yes - I use the phone for more than emergencies - it is my main contact number now since anyone can reach me any time of the day - PRICELESS when you have kids and aging parents. Thanks Walmart for offering an AWESOME product at an affordable price. A++++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Great value for the money!

08/07/2010
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone! I've had it about 2 weeks so far but am really enjoying it. The sliding QWERTY keypad makes texting simple and and yet keeps the phone compact. The sound quality of the earpiece is excellent, and I've been told by those I talk to on the other end that the phone mic works well, too. The camera takes great pics. The phone works pretty well with the internet, too. So far the only negative I've found is that the keys on the QWERTY keypad are a little difficult to push. But the good side is this makes it harder to accidentally type the wrong characters. I haven't tried the mp3 player yet but am looking forward to giving that a try soon, too. Overall I am extremely satisfied with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+235points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Great phone at a great price

08/10/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone sells for around $100 but when I bought it online as opposed to the store it came with the first 30 days included (in the form of a 1,000 minute 30 day card) so really, the phone only cost $70. I love this phone. I also love Straight talk. I used to use BoostMobile and I got so sick of the pitiful network, minimal internet, slow and unreliable messaging, and the junky phone (the good phones were expensive). After switching, all the places I had no signal with Boost I get great signal with StraightTalk. I am very happy I switched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

AMAZING PHONE!!!

12/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is amazing. Im what they call a technology nerd, so when i seen this phone i new i had to have it. I usually went for nokia because they are the best phone but this phone is wayyy better! Its so easy to use and its worth the money. I have had mine for almost a year and i haven't had any trouble with it at all. The internet is supper fast and the pictures are great! It took some time getting used to it buttt once you do its sooo easy. I get service anywhere and everywhere and i never have a drop call! i definitely say this is the phone you should choose!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

A Great Solid Phone!!

09/28/2010
By ,
Lock Haven, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my doubts when I first purchased this phone, but once I got it I realized I should have bought this a while ago!! What I love most about this phone (and the whole reason why I bought it) is because of the QWERTY Keyboard. At first it was something new to get used to, but now I've got the hang of it. The buttons require a bit of effort to push, but I think of it as a good thing, because there are definitely a lot less errors in my texts. Secondly, it has a nice good sized screen, I mean it's no Droid or anything, but it's enough to do what you go to do. When pulling out the keyboard, the screen flips automatically. The camera works great! It takes really nice, crystal clear pictures which can be sent via pix message to anyone. I was a little sad to find that the phone couldn't send or even take videos. That was definitely a bummer :( . Another thing that kind of bummed me out is that the phone doesn't seem to have a lot of internal memory for text messages. Right around the time I hit about 70 messages in my inbox and outbox (about 125-140 total) my phone prompts me to delete everything. But when you think about it, do you really need old text messages anyway? The ringtones on the phone are nothing special, but you can always buy ringtones from Straight Talk online. I, however tried to do that, but it didn't seem like it was a secure place for a credit card, so I opted out. Phone call quality sounds good and clear, and I am told by others that I sound clear from their perspective. The internet works on it pretty good, connections are relatively fast, and you can get on facebook, or wherever you need to to check your email. So overall I think it's a good solid phone. It's a little bulky, but that's what I personally like about it. Talking on it is comfortable, it doesn't get too hot, it's nice and sturdy for texting. I really love this phone and I wish I would have bought it a while ago! I currently have the $45 a month plan from Straight Talk and it works great! I can text/call anyone at anytime and get on the internet whenever I want. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants a stylish reliable phone, and a great phone plan. Thanks for reading!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+676points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
Posted 11/06/2011
I do a lot of traveling all over the U S. Are there certain places that I will probably experience dead areas?
0points
It can't download apps
Posted 11/04/2011
To the previous commentator, no this phone can not download apps. It's a nice looking phone but it's very simple and limited. Most Straight Talk phones fall into this category. The 'semi-smart' T528G is app capable, running Samsung's proprietary OS Touchwiz. T528G has decent reviews, however, it always comes down to coverage in your area as this is a GSM phone using AT&T and TMobile towers. If you have Verizon in your area look for models with "C". Or the new Galaxy Precedent uses Sprint.
+2points
Customer Avatar
woodland ca
apps
Posted 08/28/2011
can u download apps on it?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Nice keyboard & functions

05/26/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first slider phone and I love it. I can lock & put on vibrate with the touch of a button and if Im talking & I slide it open it automatically goes to speaker - awesome. The only downside I can think of is that it doesnt hold many text messages. That said I just lock the ones I might want for later and then use the erase messages option to clean it out daily with a few clicks, no biggie. It takes pretty good pics too. I like that the side button is easy to take self pics.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Great for the money!

10/28/2010
By ,
Le Roy, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have the same phone. I use the unlimited and he uses the $30 plan. I have to say I was really impressed with this phone and service! I get reception in alot of places my friends with Verizon do not! Internet can be on and off depending on where I am but that's what I have a computer for! I didn't buy this phone and plan for the internet! Never lose a call on my end, and 99.9% of my texts go through first try! And for $45 a month it is cheaper than any plans my friends and family pay for unlimited everything and like I said I get better coverage where I live in Western New York. Definately worth getting if you are shopping around for prepaid!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Prepaid Phone with Keyboard, R451C

Pleased With Phone and Service

10/22/2010
By ,
Faison, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone and the Straight Talk (ST) service for temporary phone and mobile web access for several months. Activation over the Internet was quick and easy.
The phone quality seems excellent. It has a solid feel with adequate tactile keyboard feedback. The voice call quality is good. Texting is easy using the slide out keyboard. My fingers are probably average in size and I do not have any problems using the keyboard with my index
fingers or thumbs.
The MP3 player and camera work well. I purchased a separate micro SD card for using the player and storing pictures. The rear cover must be removed to access the card.
I believe this phone operates on the “V” network. Coverage in my area is adequate for my needs. It is my understanding that ST
now has some phones that operate on the “A” network. If you have coverage concerns, you might want purchase a phone that uses the best
network for your area.
Do not expect Internet (Data) access on par with your home PC. The ST service offers what I would say is a “lite” version of the Internet. Many websites now offer mobile versions of their sites and this is what works on my phone. I am able to check email from the major players, but not my home phone company based email service. These mobile websites are mostly text versions (with limited graphics) of the full website. I do not believe
ST allows streaming audio, video or file downloads.
This phone and service has met my expectations and I would recommend
it as long as you are aware of the above limitations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next