Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

The Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone comes to you with no contracts, so you don't need to shell out unnecessarily for any of the services. A large screen that is bright and sharp, allows for clear and easy viewing. The Straight Talk LG slider phone has a slider mechanism with a spring to avoid accidental opening or sliding shut of the keyboard. This prepaid camera phone boasts of a 1.3MP camera that clicks well to capture your special moments. The Straight Talk cell phone features a durable construction to stand up against daily wear and tear. With an impressive voice quality and good signal reception, you can always keep in touch. You can store up to 1,000 contact entries in its huge phonebook. A battery talk time of up to 3 hours and a standby time of up to 7.5 days will ensure you're not caught with your battery dead in the middle of nowhere. Enjoy secure and free data transmission with Bluetooth wireless technology built into the Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.862 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation77%67 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Best value i could find

08/26/2010
By ,
Eureka, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this is the best value i could find, i have sold sprint and at&t phones along with net 10, trac phone and boost. I was also a verizon member for 4yrs and i tried out net 10.
I'm not very big on cell phones, but i feel they are pretty necessary nowadays. I have had this service since November '09 and have not had any issues with it.
"CONS" The web browsing is slow, but for the price its better than dial up. The phone doesn't record video, which makes sense because it doesn't have an sd slot but it was expected since it has a camera. Also at the beginning of every call it says the balance, which is very annoying especially when one knows they have plenty of minutes ( last month i was at over 70hrs of talk time).
Pros: cheap, works almost everywhere, minutes, text and web all rolled over (except when i got over 80hrs i think it reset.) Can record my voice as a ring tone.
Verdict: The service is well priced for those who don't need unlimited but use over 400min/month and 200texts, nothing out there comes close. The web browsing is cool if only for the fact that it doesn't cost extra.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prattville, AL
Please Answer
Posted 09/03/2011
Thanks for your review
Does it have and alert (beep when you have a text, voicemail, etc).
Also does it have a video? Thanks in Advance
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Very Poor Customer Service

11/21/2010
By ,
rocky point, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service is very poor. The phone when it works is great, but if you have any problem do not expect much in the way of a response from customer service. I have been trying to resolve problems with my phone for the last several months and have spent over 10 hours on the phone trying to resolve these problems. My phone has been shut off, I have had the multimedia / web browser functions disabled, I have been unable to access my account on line. My phone is not working at all right now. My wife is disabled and I have an elderly mother. I need a working phone. I have had multiple tickets generated by customer service and spent many hours on the phone with no resolution. My last experience with customer service was having a phone with no multimedia / web capability. Now the phone that does not work at all and I was told I would have to wait another 24- 48 hours to have it fixed. I wonder if they have anyone capable of fixing the problem. Stay away from this product if you are looking for reliable servce.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

GREAT VALUE!

09/19/2010
By ,
Logan, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my LG 290C on time. The online setup was easier than expected and setting up voice mail was a breeze. The features included on this phone are a great value for the price. I use Straight Talks option to purchase 3 month unlimited talk cards. The per month charge is the same but you don't have the hassle of recharging time each month. The only down side is that the browser is slow and knocks you off often but for the price of the phone and monthly cost, you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Good Value

10/15/2010
By ,
Picayune, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The numbers are large, the setup is very much like other phones which make it easy to change over to. The monthly charge is a great value. I'm saving $86.00 a month...goodbye Sprint!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Great Phone with Straight Talk package

12/09/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good phone for the basics...battery life is decent, ease of use is good, the Smart Talk package works for me and this phone uses the Verizon towers/network which seems to have better coverage in my area. The $30.00/mo. for 1000 minutes/1000 texts beats my old AT&T package. I'm very satisfied with the deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Best cell I ever had

09/03/2010
By ,
Austin Area, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone, clear, distinct voice, easy web access, and one of the great things is I normally only have to charge it after 3 days of use. My last LG phone had to be charged almost every evening, and would squeel in my ear on incoming calls. You'll like it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Nice looking phone with some issues

11/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have only had the phone for about a week, and at least 3 people have complained of me cutting out during our conversations. I'm not sure if it is the phone or the service, but I will be returning the phone and trying out a different one. Besides that, I really like the look of the phone, and it has alot of nice features. But since this is my main phone (no home phone) I would like to have decent conversations on it.
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

good cellphone

08/18/2010
By ,
Gassville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone seems to be a good phone. It has a lot of good options on it and we are pleased with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Awesome Phone

03/22/2011
By ,
woodville,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone gets great service it runs off of verizon towers so it gets bout the same signal that a verizon phone would get. In our area we have a hard time finding phones that get good service and this one gets great service!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

A Very Reliable Product

05/03/2011
By ,
Mount Washington, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this phone for almost a year, and am very pleased with its performance. I do not reccommend dropping it into the ocean, for it will cause it to glitch, but other than that incident I am very pleased with this phone's durability and its dependability. I took a trip to Florida, and I had service the entire trip, except in Tennessee. StraightTalk in general is a wonderful idea and I am very pleased with the service I have had in the 10 1/2 months I've been with StraightTalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

LG 290 Fails the most simple expectations

03/24/2011
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an LG 290 with Tracfone service from my local Walmart about a year ago. My expectations were not high, all I needed was a simple phone that would make and take calls. I chose an inexpensive phone (LG290) that had good reviews at the time and was attracted by the prepaid / pay when you need it plan.
At first I was just a little disappointed in the phone. I had trouble hearing people and vice versa, calls would randomly drop even when the battery was full and the signal was strong.
After using the phone for approx. 3 weeks it started to reset itself about once a minute.
I went through the proper channels to get it fixed, (the worst customer service experience I've ever had, but that will be addressed on the proper forum.) Two weeks later I finally get a replacement phone, a brand new shiny LG 290. I had good hopes for this second phone thinking the first one was just a bad apple.
Then after two months of dealing with bad audio and dropped calls the second phone developed the same failure as the first... It resets itself at least one a minute.
Two more weeks of waiting and I got my 3rd LG 290. This one still had bad audio and dropped a lot of calls but it did last longer. 8 months later I'm watching my latest replacement LG 290 as it refuses to stay on a full minute.
Thanks for the quality product!
RJ
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+12points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

This is my second LG 290C Phone

06/10/2011
By ,
Albany New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd LG 290C Phone as I needed to replace my first one. It has great features and the 30$ per month card which has plenty of minutes and 30 mega bytes of browser. It also has 1000 text messages available. It is a very good phone and probably would get this phone again unless something better becomes available for straight talk plans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

It's An Alright Phone

08/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are pro's & con's to this phone:
PRO'S:
Fast internet
Fast pix messaging
Easy to use
CON'S:
I got this phone in april, and at the end of june, it started acting wierd. it kept turning itself off and wouldn't let me use it at all. It wouldn't let me recieve texts or anything. I had to keep it turned off for 3 or 4 days for it to work again. And then it did it again the next month. I know of 3 other people who have the same phone and it did the same exact thing to them. I would not recommend getting this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jacksonville florida 32211
IT A ALMOST GOOD PHONE
Posted 01/05/2012
I ORDERED THIS PHONE OFF OF EBAY.COM FOR STRAIGHT TALK IT WORKS GOOD BUT SOMETIME IN THE AFTERNOON IT KEEPS HANGING UP ON ME EVERYTIME I TRY TO PLACE AA CALL OR TRY TO SEND A MEESAGE IT WOULD CLICK OUT WITHOUT ME WANTING TOO IS THERE ANY WAY TO GET A NEW PHONE EBAY WONT GIVE ME A NEW PHONE PLEASE HELP
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

not worth the money I paid for it

08/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not like this phone because it keeps dropping all my calls and when you speak it gets blurby and I can hear my own voice come across the phone when I am speaking to someone. This makes two of the same phones I have had. The first one done the same thing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Definitely worth a try!

05/02/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third time I've owned this phone. When I gave up my landline phone last year, I searched for this particular phone because I had owned one previously when I was on a Sprint contract, and I knew it would work well in the rural area where I live. I purchased the first one in Nov 2011, but unfortunately it was damaged beyond repair just a short while ago. I got another phone, (different brand#, but I was very unhappy with it, so I ordered another one of these.
The call quality is good, as well as the reception. I live in a heavily wooded area, and it works great for me. #FYI: this phone is a CDMA phone, which means it works off the Verizon network, not AT&T's!) Fortunately for me, it works great due to my area being served largely by Verizon.
I have no problem calling from anywhere in my house. I do not have to stand by a door or window or sit in one particular spot to make and receive calls. The speaker phone works good too. I do sometimes have problems hearing on the speakerphone when I am driving due to background noise. But I don't drive and talk on the phone at the same time very often so it's not a problem.
The large numbers make it easy to dial. Texting is cumbersome due to not having a QWERTY keyboard, but it's still manageable. This phone comes with quite a few ringtones you can pick from, so you shouldn't have to worry about having to purchase additional ones. The camera picture quality is so-so. You can also access the internet with it, but it's on the slow side. I think the best use for this phone is making/receiving phone calls. If you want bells & whistles, look for something else.
The phone serves my purposes, so I would definitely purchase yet another one if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

GREAT SERVICE AND VERY GOOD PHONE FOR THE MONEY

08/31/2011
By ,
UNION NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WELL I HAVE METRO PCS AND AN ANDROID WHICH COMES TO $55 A MONTH. I LIKE PREPAID BECAUSE OF THE TWO YEAR CONTRACT AND THE FEES THE CELLPHONE COMPANIES CHARGE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH METRO PCS BUT RECENTLY GOT A TRANSFER FROM MY JOB TO ANOTHER PART OF THE STATE. NO RECEPTION. SO I LOOKED AND LOOKED AND READ REVIEWS ON STRAIGHT TALK. SO I GAVE THEM A TRY. I WENT TO WALMART AND GOT A SAMSUNG TOUCH SCREEN. TOOK IT HOME AND DID NOT LIKE IT. FELT LIKE IT WOULD BREAK IN MY POCKET, VERY CHEAP. SO I WENT BACK AND GOT A SAMSUNG THAT OPENS UP. WELL I PUT THE BATTERY IN AND BEFORE I ACTIVATED I COULD SEE THE SIGNAL STRENGTH. IT WAS GOING FROM 3 BARS TO NO BARS WHEN I WALKED FROM ROOM TO ROOM. I LOOKED AT THE BOX AND THE PHONE HAD THE LETTER G IN IT. THAT MEANS IT RUNS OFF ATT LINES. ATT IS GOOD BUT I WANTED THE PHONE THAT RUNS OFF VERIZON TOWERS. SO I TOOK IT BACK TO WALMART AND GOT AN LG THAT HAD THE LETTER C IN IT. THAT MEANS IT RUNS OFF VERIZON TOWERS. IT WAS THE LAST VERIZON LINED PHONE LEFT NEXT TO AROUND 50 OTHER PHONES WITH THE LETTER G IN IT MEANING ATT LINES AND TOWERS. WELL I PUT THE BATTERY IN BEFORE ACTIVATING IT AND I HAD FULL STRENGTH WHEREVER I WALKED IN THE APARTMENT. WENT TO WORK AND STILL HAD FULL STRENGTH. WOW. FINALLY NO DROPPED CALLS. SO I ACTIVATED IT, THEY GAVE ME A NEW PHONE NUMBER AND I HAVE BEEN AMAZED AT THE SIGNAL STRENGTH. THANK YOU STRAIGHT TALK. DID NOT WANT TO GET TRAPPED INTO A TWO YEAR CONTRACT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

the best phone for price and TAKES ABUSE

09/22/2011
By ,
ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE USED THIS PHONE FOR OVER A YEAR. DROPPED IT A FEW TIMES. NO PROBLEM. I HAVE DROPPED THIS IN WATER X 2. DRIED THE PHONE WITH HEAT. STILL WORKS GREAT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Great phone

11/03/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a Moto Flip phone...then started to white screen! This LG 290C is just what I need. Not too high-tech, but has great features for common folks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

Phone has held up great

10/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for nearly 2 years now. I am now having some problems with it. It will randomly power down even though the battery is full. Though it has never done that in the middle of a call. It also no longer tells me when I have voicemails, I just have to check occasionally to make sure I'm not missing anything important.
BUT I can understand why it would have some problems after all that I have put it through. And really, I can deal with the few problems I have until I have enough to afford one of the new Straight Talk smart phones!
Here's what this phone has been through, and why I am AMAZED that it even works at all.
It has been dropped a million times, on carpet and concrete. It has been dropped in both the toilet and a running sink. It has been dropped, thrown and smashed into walls.
It does of course have many scratches, of which I am at fault. But all of the buttons still work, the screen still works great, sound works great. After all it has been through, those are the only two problems I have.
As far as the service itself, I have had very few problems with it. When I did, customer service was very helpful. I think a lot of the complaints I hear are more about the user and not the service. If you don't understand your service options I can see how things would get confusing and cause problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Prepaid LG 290C Phone

No connection

12/13/2011
By ,
Moyock, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone works OK if you live in a "busy" area. I live in Moyock, NC which isn't far at all from VA and can not get a signal at all when I'm at home. It works just fine in Virginia. Seeing how I bought it in NC I expected it to actually work in NC, however that is not the case! Apparently if you live in North Carolina the best thing to get is a straight talk phone that uses Verizon. I had a previous straight talk phone that used service from Verizon and never had a problem getting a signal. The only way to be sure of which provider your getting when you get a pre-paid cell phone with straight talk (they don't have any answers when you call customer service) is if the phone ends in a "C" it is CDMA and runs on Verizon. Phones that end in "G" or the Smart phones run on at&t's GSM/UMTS network (which does not work in all areas).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next