Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for WATERSNAKE Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

WATERSNAKE Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

The Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor is designed with a small footprint deck mount for Jon boats, Tenders, Inflatables, Gheenoes, Canoes and Kayaks. This transom mount trolling motor features five forward and two reverse speeds and leaves your hands free to attend to other tasks. Powered by a 12v motor, the electric trolling motor delivers 54 lbs thrust that ensures a smooth navigation. Its three-blade weedless propeller ensures smooth movement even through underwater grass and marsh. The 42-inch chrome plated steel shaft adjusts up and down movement which helps you adapt to different conditions. Other remarkable features of the bow-mount trolling motor include the completely potted control circuit boards, 42-inch chrome-plated shaft and an extendable telescopic handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%48 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Nice Addition to My 14' Aluminum Row Boat

09/08/2013
By ,
Roscommon, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this motor online to supplement rowing our 14' Starcraft aluminum boat on a very nice, but very shallow local lake. The motor performed well today on our first outing with it although the 42" shaft is a bit long for our boat (I managed to compensate). I also bought the EverStart 27DC-6 Marine Battery (quite heavy), the Minn Kota Trolling Motor Power Center (very nice), and the Schumacher XCS15 15/10/2-Amp Marine Battery Charger from Walmart online to complete the trolling motor package. As always, it's hard to beat the value and convenience of Walmart. A few days after I picked up the trolling motor from Walmart I noticed that the price had dropped about $20. I notified Walmart customer service and the refunded the difference. Treating customers like this is what keeps me coming back to Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

It is OK, but came without an owners manual.

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is OK, but came without an owners manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

The right tool for the right job!

12/16/2013
By ,
McGregor Ont./St.Cloud FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tracer for my 20' pontoon boat and I'm thrilled with it, the first run was around three NM at high speed and used about a third of my battery, not bad. I mounted it on the bow on a simple hand made 2x6"PT bracket bolted through the for deck, reversing the power-head was very simple, I just opened up the casing and removed the brackets holding the tiller-tube and under was a 7/16" lock-nut and carriage bolt, simply undo and spin the head and re-bolt everything back up and your good to go. I feel it's a well built trolling motor and the longer shaft really works for a pontoon boat application but keep in mind that the reverse is a bit weak [my only criticism], I leave the battery hooked up and when I'm done I simply loosen the mount bolts and walk both motor and battery into the shed ready for tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Great motor, terrible packaging

06/24/2012
By ,
Hopewell, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor works perfectly and exceeds my expectations. After several long runs at full speed, it appears to run efficiently, and battery life is excellent.
My only reservation about it is that the packaging was completely inadequate--a flimsy cardboard box that had broken open during shipment. I'm sure it was not FedEx's fault; the motor weighs about 20 lbs and was not secured inside the light-duty box. No parts were missing, but plastic parts inside the top portion had been broken, and the speed switch was rattling around inside the housing. I was able to repair the broken parts and make the motor work. But I had to use glue and several long, self-tapping screws, and the repair is obvious from the outside.
Because of the damage caused by the cheap packaging, I recommend picking the motor up at a Walmart store--and making sure it works properly before accepting it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

well worth the money

07/30/2011
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was not sure about a watersnake when i bought it online but its been the best money i could have spent not only is it very powerful but its easy on the battery. It is very well constructed its all metal in the clamp and the T Bar minn kota has a plastic T Bar i had problems with that in my last motor. Its alot of bang for the buck and i would not hesitate to recomend it to anyone
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
virginia
prop from old minn kota motor fits watersnake
Posted 02/17/2012
the prop on my old min kota had longer blades on the prop but fit and connected to the new watersnake perfectly even used the same tool to connect it for those worried about a spare prop. If this is replacing an old trolling motor check it out you might get lucky enough not to have to buy a spare prop
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Great Price

08/09/2011
By ,
Camden, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this trolling motor out on the water 5 times now and it has been flawless. It is very powerful and pushes my 14ft. flat bottom across the water pretty quick, even with my wife and son with me. It's easy on the battery as well. I still have not had to recharge it even after the 5 trips. One trip was 4 hours trolling around the lake and then back out the same night for 3 more hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tallahassee
Battery life
Posted 07/01/2014
Just a note, always charge your battery. Fastest way to spend a $100 is to let the battery charge get below 10.4V. Always charge your battery.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
07/18/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this 54 lb thrust in mid-July. I really am pleased. Put it on a 14' Scanoe and it really moves it. Pushes up river even in swift water. Went fishing yesterday and trolled all day. Had to go about two miles back up river. No problem! I do wish the shaft was 10 to 12 inches shorter. It's pretty tall on my Scanoe. Other reviews are correct. The box was distroyed at pick up. There is a picture of the trolling motor on the box. You would think they would be more careful with it. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
05/20/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of power, very heavy duty constructed and the price was $60-80 less than the competition.
It works great and I am pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

So far nothing serious

03/27/2013
By ,
Johnson City, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the last fishing season I have used this trolling motor as the sole propulsion for my 12' aluminum boat. I have gone through 2 batteries with this trolling motor. Added up the times week before last from my fishing logs and had a whopping 348.3 hours so far on this thing. The reason though I was adding up the hours was it stopped working out on the lake while I was trying to get out of a storm. Fifth gear went out first, then all forward gears, then reverse went out about 200 yards from the dock. Paddled in and took it home. Called Watersnake and they set me up with an authorized maintenance shop local that did the work for free. Its been beat on banged up and has found the bottom on more than one occasion. So I figure I have gotten my monies worth out of it.
Its lasted a long time and the only issue is that the light on the top burns more juice when its in gear. The bushings on the shaft could be a little more stout, but then again running into rocky bottom doesnt help them either.
All in all I have to say I am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Great Buy!

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is fast and quiet. Only thing I do not like is the telescope arm does not lock into place and keep pulling it out to far. Good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Perfect fit for a Mariner 4 by Intex.

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase for my needs. Meets all my expectations and was a great price (which included free shipping).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Very good deal

07/12/2014
By ,
Welch, WV.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was just what I expected. Very easy to assemble and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

Outstanding Trolling Motor

08/16/2013
By ,
Portland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a replacement or first transom mount trolling motor for your Jon boat, then I would highly recommend the Watersnake brand. I purchased the 54lbs. thrust Tracer. I fish for catfish regularly. Those of us who catfish know current can be a big plus when locating them. This motor will push my 12' boat just fine against the main river channel current. I'm sure it will really move on in the smaller waters, but I wanted to really put it to test on the big water. I'm also impressed with how little battery drainage there is. It passes with flying colors! If this company decides to really push its brand in the larger stores and outdoor stores, I would be shaking in my boots if I was associated with any other brand. This is one of those rare occasions when I believe you get Better quality at a Lower price. If I am ever in need of another trolling motor, it WILL BE a Watersnake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

very good price for bigger motor...poor packaging

08/09/2011
By ,
Troy,MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the unit seems to be very good value but I was disappointed that the special prop nut and prop shaft shear pin were missing. Also, the package contained no instructions and no user manual. I found a manual online and also saw that the pictures show the motor electric cables with clips for battery connection...these clips were not included. I went to a hardware store and bought a nylon-insert locking nut for the prop and bought a couple of tensioner pins to use as shear pins; also, picked up a pair of battery cable clips to I could get on with fishing instead of waiting on parts to be sent. The motor is strong and I hope to receive missing parts in the next week or so
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
07/05/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Packaging was unbelievably horrible. I can’t believe it made it to me but other than that everything has been fine to this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
05/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product lacks the proper packaging to prevent items loosely packed from making it to the intended destination. I'm still lacking the owners manual and warranty information.
Overall, for the price, if you get everything that your supposed to, it is a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
04/09/2012
By ,
Durango, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The clamps for the depth in the water are not secure enough, BUT...If you want to water ski behind a canoe, (oh yeah!) then go for the 54 lb thrust! With two people and gear in the 15 ft canoe I can see a wake, which made me wonder if I was going to get a ticket near the docks! It is light enough to handle at the docks and easy to control....but could use a longer adjustable handle making it easier to reach from my seat. I can put a piece of PVC pipe over the end of the handle to make it easier without twisting too much. With only me in the stern, in light chop on Navajo Reservoir I can get enough speed to lift the front of the canoe and take on water at the stern (oops), so I had to trottle it back a bit. Without being scientific though, I could probably get 5 knots of spped. In still waters the reverse thrust ws awsome and impressive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
04/02/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the FWT54TH and have used it for just over two years. It works great, has plenty of power, pushes my G31544 boat with no problem; However I will no longer reconmmend it because parts are impossible to get. I need the replacement 3 blade propeller kit (55130), walmart has it listed on their website for about $19.00 but it is always out of stock. Since the manufacture is based overseas, trying to order this part has become such a headache. I dont't understand why walmart is sell a trolling motor with three blades, but never have the three blade kit instock. It is not uncommon to have to replace a propeller, this is a dumb problem to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Moore, OK
Do a google search for the propellor kit
Posted 10/09/2013
http://www.amazon.com/Watersnake-12-Volt-3-Bladed-Propeller-23-inch/dp/B0041DFWV4
http://www.watersnakeusa.com/accessories/
http://water-sports.info/7-buy-watersnake-12-volt-3-bladed-propeller-kit-black-23-inch/
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor
06/14/2010
By ,
Ste. Genevieve MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very well pleased with the trollong motor that I just purchased. It arived at the store before the expected date, which was good. And the store clerk was very nice and helpful. I plan to check the internet for more deals. The savings was terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Watersnake Tracer FWTCS54TH-42 Trolling Motor

54 lbs thrust is over rated

05/21/2012
By ,
Clayton, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty good value - It runs a long time on the battery without much power drain, but I was expecting a 54 lb thrust motor to move my boat twice as fast as the 24 lb thrust minn kota it was replacing - the power and speed produced is nearly the same as the lower rated motor - I can't help but wonder how the 40 lb minn kato that sells for the same price would compare?? I thought the higher thrust rating would offset the lack of a lifetime warranty on the shaft that you have with a minn kato
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next