Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Highlights of the RCA RTD3133 include 5.1-channel Dolby Digital surround sound, 130 watts of total system power, five satellite speakers, and a subwoofer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.193 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation54%31 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Weak system

12/18/2009
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it had the optical connection to get a pure digital sound. Couldn't tell if it was pure or not because it was too weak. No volume indication numbers, you just turn it up until it quits getting louder which is very quick. Took this one back and bought the next level of RCA and it is good to go. Probably should have gone two levels up, but this one just didn't cut it at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Farmington mo.
zzzillie
Posted 06/04/2012
I agree with Greg . This system is under powered,It is better to spend an extra 20 or 30 bucks for a more powerful system.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Reasonable Surround Sound System...

12/18/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an affordable surround sound system for playing video games from my PS3. This works well for rooms no larger than about 12x12 (or you'll need longer speaker wires) It has an OPTICAL INPUT which is the important part. I also wanted to be able to play surround sound from my PS2 and my Roku Netflix player... I found excellent prices on the optical cables from monoprice for about $3 each and also got an optical switch for about $5 which allows me to change between the 3 devices so I can use all of them with the surround sound. I would eventually like to get one of the $800 fancy surround sound systems with multiple optical inputs, etc. but this solution for about $120 including all cables was a LOT friendlier on the wallet...
Having surround sound makes a BIG difference in games and Blu-ray movies, etc. (I just ignore the "built in" DVD player for the most part) This unit with DVD player is cheaper that many surround sound systems with optical input that have no dvd player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

short lifetime

04/19/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Given the price, expectations weren't high. Sound is very weak- even in a small room. The unit isn't a year old and now won't turn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 4 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Great

04/18/2010
By ,
Aberdeen MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is at a good price it has good sound and the bass is deep it is easy to set up no hard stuff it is good for a big room or a small room it still has great sound in a big room me I would recommend this product thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Makes a strange sound

12/19/2009
By ,
Columbia, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When you are just wantching TV you hear a strange noise but when you are watching it through the DVD player it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Not worth the hassle

01/12/2010
By ,
Menomonee Falls, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First one I received was a gift, and it didn't work out of the box. Plugged in, all wires correct, but it wouldn't turn on by hand or remote. Returned it with no issue for new one that did turn on. Sound was good, but day after the batteries in the remote were dead. Put in a fresh pair, and the next day they were dead again. Absolutely ridiculous. Poor craftsmanship by definition.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

RCA DVD Home Theater

04/14/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money on this one. The sound quality isn't bad, but, not very loud. The DVD player stinks, we had to return it the first time we bought it cause it skipped when playing DVDs , now just a few months later the replacement is skipping on DVDs and CDS. Spend a little more money and go with the LG!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 8 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD

04/10/2010
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This like every thing else I have ever bought from Walmart lasted about two years. Every TV, DVD player or other electronics have lasted about two years NO exceptions. Was it good? It was ok, not a loud system but well enough. Bear in mind this is a cheap good working DVD player, but expect no more than two years out of it. Like most things it has a well defined "preplanned obsolescence". Expect to replace it in around two years. otherwise its a decent throw away machine. Don't bother with extended warranties, they are more than they are worth and cover almost nothing anyway. and at 90 bucks it is what it is. a decent DVD player. price to value decent, buying another one to the next two years..lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Very Basic definately nothing special here.

01/08/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Speakers are super cheap. The remote is also cheap. Lacks some basic features like going to the following chapter. Picture quality is better when running the dvd off my compter. Sound is marginally better than the Vizio lcd, but then almost anything you get will be better sound than the lcd's on the market today. Better off with a sound bar and a dvd seperate, unless you want to go competely wireless, this thing has wires everywhere and not the kind you just plug into the unit, these are stripped you have to find the little corresponding hole; 12 in all. This unit is ok for a 7 year old to a 14 year old. For their bedroom, playroom, nothing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Not bad for $59.99

01/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i just bought this "home theater" system for 59.99 at walmart the other day...and ive been lookin at it for a while because i needed something better than just TV speakers but i didnt want to drop any serious money since im about to buy a big HDTV..i mean this thing makes music and all sound decent...it does what i need it to do...which isnt much...and the DVD player works just fine...easy set up and the cables for the speakers are long enough to do whatever u need to with them...this thing is worth the 59.99 i paid for it...but i dont think i would drop the 97.00 they are charging on here...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

cheap home theatre product

03/29/2010
By ,
GREENBRIER, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT. WE PURCHASED THE SAME PRODUCT ON FEB 15, BUT MODEL # RTD3131. AFTER TAKING IT HOME WE HAD TO RETURN TO THE STORE BECASUE IT DOD NOT WORK. THE NEW ONE, WORKED OK FOR THE FIRST 3 WEEKS, NOW THE REMOTE DOES NOT WORK. WE HAVE TRIED TO SET CODES TO USE A UNIVERSAL REMOTE AND IT WILL NOT TAKE ANY OF THE RCA CODES. I HAVE EMAILED RCA TO GET A REPLACMENT REMOTE AND NOT GOTTEN ANY RESPONSE. THE COST TO US TO REPLACE IS 15.00 AND I DO NOT FEEL LIKE WE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR ANOHTER REMOTE. I DO NOT RECOMMED THIS PRODUCT. BASICALLY YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Not what expected

01/14/2010
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The five satellite speakers were not wireless "satellite" speakers. A yellow colored 1 x RCA Male for the audio line in was supplied but the unit had two audio in ports (L & R). There was only one way to connect to the TV useing 4 x RCA Male connectors that were not included. Not S-Video Cable or HDMI output capable. This unit is not HD or uploading quality and the wired speakers were super small. I was not happy with what I saw and returned this unit to the local Walmart Store without hooking it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Fantastic deal

12/30/2009
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this in Walmart for $69.95. I thought it was too cheap to be any good but bought it to try at home thinking if it didn't work I would return it. But it has exceeded all my expectations. It is so easy to install and it has remote, a DVD player, on screen menu and a woofer that makes all those deep rumbling bass sounds. For the money or even twice the money you can't go wrong. TV sounds great and DVD's also. Don't miss out on a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

very displeased

03/09/2010
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased ours from the store at a lower price than advertised here. We should have gone for the 100.00 set up. We brought it home, my husband installed it, when we turned it on, the 2 rear speakers did not work at all. When watching anything, all the sound come from the front speakers. We purchased SS system years ago for about 50.00 from Wal-mart. It was a great system. This is not even comparable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133
12/20/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
my girlfiend and i just bought this. took it home and we have never use a home theater system before. but i was looking for it to be louder than what it is. i think it would be great for a living room in a apartment or something like that. but know in a house with a big open room. and the dvd is skipping. maybe taking it back and trading it in or getting something with more watts
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

This is an unworthy theatre system!!!!

06/25/2012
By ,
Mesquite, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my mother for mothers day and right after i connected everything I played another DVD just to make sure it was working before I left. The DVD tray would not close. I had to unplug and so it workked. A month afteward it did the same thing. This is garbage!!! This shouldnt be happening to a product straight out the box!!!!!! Do not buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 17 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

poor quality

01/15/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit as a secondary receiver for my kitchen. The first just gave me garble noises when I went to use the optical input. To test I plugged that optical source into my primary reciever which checked out. I returned the unit for a second and had the exact same issue with the optical input. Exhanged it for the Philips model and everything works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Not What I Expected

03/27/2010
By ,
philadelphia,Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Product Was Not What I Expected. The Surround Sound Is OK, But We Are Having a Very Hard Time Trying To Hook-Up The DVD Player And Still Have Not Been able To Connect It. Maybe Its Because I Have A RF Modulator Hooked-Up to My TV, But That Shouldn't Matter Because I've Never Had A Problem In The Past. Thinking About Returning Everything. Very Disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Disappointing

02/10/2010
By ,
Washingon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The DVD player we recieved has a delay in the audio, that doesnt show up until 90 minutes into whatever you are watching. So even when you go into the setup to try and fix it you have to watch at least 90 minutes of somethign just to find out that you havent solved the problem. Have yet to be able to fix this issue. Very dissapointing
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for RCA Home Theater Audio System with DVD Player, RTD3133

Great product for a great price!

02/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this set after seeing another set for twice the price with only the speakers. It is well worth the price plus the dvd player also plays music cds so that was a big bonus. The price was cheaper in the store though, only 69.88 so I don't know what that was about but I'm glad that's what we paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next