Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Oster Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Serve great tasting iced tea with the elegant Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker. It brews both tea bags and tea leaves and features adjustable steeping control, brew strength selector and a permanent filter. With an auto shut-off, this Oster tea maker helps conserve energy. It features a 2.5-qt glass pitcher, which is dishwasher-safe for easy maintenance. This iced tea maker has a permanent filter that does not call for a replacement. It also has a on/off indicator light for user convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.841 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation68%30 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Would recommend this product...

12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do like this tea maker....it is very modern looking which is what
I was looking for to go with my stainless appliances. Only thing is you have
to be careful with the "glass" pitcher...otherwise a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Awful iced tea maker

06/06/2011
By ,
Nappanee, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews, but have to tell you about this iced tea maker. I read some of the negative reviews and thought Oster would have fixed whatever was wrong with this product by now... nope, not a chance. I ran fresh water through to clean as it is directed. I dried all the pieces, and decided to make tea the next day. I even found a nice spot on the kitchen counter and let it sit overnight. So today, I tried it. It wouldn't turn on!!!! Just like other reviews, this thing won't work! Do not try it. It's garbage and will be returned asap. I'll continue to brew tea on the stove and pour it into my old ugly juice container when it cools. Sorry Oster, you've lost my support for good. If you choose to ignore this review, like I did others, good luck to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

WORKED ONLY ONCE

12/12/2009
By ,
Rapid City, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading reviews on other websites that indicated some people had got ones that only worked one time... I simply ignored it and got one of these from walmart.com... only to brew one single picture of ice tea and it never to turn on ever again there after. Wow, how can a company stay in business selling this kind of junk! It was a great idea, and this was the only black ice tea maker I have ever found (which matched appliances in my kitchen), but very very bad parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Worked only once!!!!!

01/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seems I am not the only one. Is this a bad lot number? The first unit we bought worked one time then stopped so we returned it only to find that the second one only worked once! Love the look of it as it is the only black iced tea maker on the market!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Oster Tea Maker

03/26/2011
By ,
Roanoe, V
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the age of BPA's and other chemicals leaching out of plastic, it is great to have a glass pitcher. It has a nice slimline handle and makes great pitcher for the table. I am very happy with this maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

My New Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

10/27/2012
By ,
East of Reno, NV.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all of the reviews on this Oster Iced Tea Maker, I was very skeptical of buying it, but I'm very glad I did, & happy with my decision & the product. This is an awesome machine. It does what it's intended for, does it well & is very fast. It only takes 1 to 1.1/2 minutes to make a whole pitcher of tea. It's a good size too. It's great looking, small enough to sit, unobtrusively, on my small beverage counter, & is a pleasant addition to all of my other black appliances. I only use 1 or 2 tea bags (which saves tea bags & still tastes great), not quite as much ice as they call for (my own preference), & the tea comes out great every time. I use 1 cup sugar to every pitcher of tea made, but the tea bag compartment won't hold it all, so I have to add it to the pitcher when the tea is done. Also, the one time (2nd use) I did add the sugar to the tea bag compartment, it didn't all dissolve. Most people's iced tea makers stopped working after the first pot/use, but mine is still working & humming right along, considering I use it once every day. I am quite happy with this beautiful Oster Iced Tea Maker & highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Good Deal

12/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is stationed in Bagdad and this plus tea bags and 50lbs. of sugar was what he wanted for Christmas. Southern Boys need their "Sweet-tea" even in Iraq.. Good, well made product at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Great T maker

02/11/2010
By ,
Winston-Salem NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I like it very much. I think the pitcher itself could have been a little more sturdy. It seems a little fragile, especially the handle. I would have been happier if the pitcher had been a nice heavy (unbreakable) acrylic. I am sure though that I can find another pitcher I like better as long as the height is right the design of the brewer itself allows just about any 2 or 2.5 quart pitcher to work as long as the output spout swings out over it. We fill the tank to capacity out of a full pitcher of water and let the brew run into the remaining water in the pitcher so it ends up full of just tea (no ice). We buy loose tea and use 2/3 of a cup for each batch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Works great, Looks great

01/21/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a black tea brewer for some time now. Most other stores sell white. I planned to keep it out on the counter and I have black and stainless steel appliances in my kitchen. So I did some online searching and came across this tea maker at Walmart!
I was hesitant to buy it because of some of the reviews on here, and I don't usually shop at Walmart. But went ahead anyways because a few reviews doesn't mean every tea maker is bad. Walmart's shipping was super fast! Upon receiving it, I promptly opened it up, cleaned it and used it. I am happy with how it looks, works, and how it brewed the tea. I've used it several times since then, with absolutely zero problems. I HIGHLY recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

really disappointed

01/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am now on my fourth one since christmas. The first one made about 6 pitchers of tea. Then would not turn on, the second made two, then wouldnt turn on. The third made two, then of course would not turn on. I am going back to get one more, my friend bought hers the time I got the first one and hers is fine. I am so disappointed, I got rid of our old one for the new stainless steel look to match the rest of my stuff, little did I know -the new ones dont work!!! No one else seems to make a household size in stainless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Great Product

02/23/2011
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this as a Christmas gift (2010) and use it about 12 times a week. We drink a lot of tea! It's very easy to use and clean. I read all the bad reviews and thought WHAT!, I love my tea maker! In the 3 months that I've owned it it has never given me any issues. I thought having the glass pitcher would be a problem but it's held up so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Montana
UPDATE
Posted 08/08/2011
After making tea 12-15 times a week for the last 8 months with no problems, my tea maker will no longer turn on. I thought for sure it would at least last a full tear, but NO.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Nice product, very classy

09/21/2012
By ,
Butler, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this iced tea maker because it's easy to prepare the tea and the glass carafe is very classy to serve it. The process is quick and the tea is tasty.
It's easy to pour the water in the iced tea maker and it's ready to serve when it automatically shuts off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Only worked once

01/11/2010
By ,
Bullhead City, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got as a gift for Christmas, followed instructions cleaned part, ran the first cleaning pot never emptied. Went to run a regular pot of tea and it would not turn on. Checked several outlets, allowed to cool completely and nothing.
It is a nice looking tea maker, however, it appears now I am the 3rd review on here that it only worked one time. I can't actually say if even worked right the first time as nothing ran into the tea pot.
Also the glass pot does not feel very sturdy. I am not going to exchange, I would worry that one bump and it would shatter.
It ask questions below, I would use it daily but it didn't work. I have had the product since Christmas but just opened the box today to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Quit Working after 3 months

03/09/2010
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for Christmas and while it was working it worked great. But it has just stopped working for who knows why. When you pay $40 for an Ice Tea Maker it should not stop working after 3 months. Also the lid is not the greatest. It has a hole in the top which makes no sense to me because you do not need the lid on to make the tea. So it should have a closed lid that does not almost fall out when you poor the tea. I would not recommend this to anyone. I liked it because of the glass pitcher but other than that, the $15.00 tea maker is probably a much better deal, that's what I am buying next.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Highly Recommend!!!

11/29/2011
By ,
Ruther Glen, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tea maker that I highly recommend. It is really easy to use. This was my first tea maker so I used the instructions but after that first time it is great. The color is perfect and will not get as dirty as other colors. I like the design, it is made so when not in use it can stay out and does not take up a lot of room, very compact. One of my favorite features is you can use tea bags or loose leaf tea. This leaves you open to a lot of variety. If you like tea then this is the perfect machine to add to your kitchen.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker
08/04/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would definitely give this a 5 star rating if the pitcher was made of plastic. I like everything about the tea maker but the pitcher. It is shaped wider on the bottom and I find it a hard shape to fit in my refrigerator and I am concerned about breaking it too.
I did not buy this tea maker first because of negative reviews ....but I have found it to be a great tea maker and it looks really nice on my counter top. The real plus for me is that it is black too which are really hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Lasted 4 months

10/05/2011
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did not read the reviews before I purchased this. It was wonderful - for 4 months. When I went to make a pitcher of tea it would not switch on. I am waiting for Oster to contact me concerning it, however, I do not expect much as I did not keep the receipt. I would like to purchase another, but after reading the reviews will probably look for a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Classy iced tea maker!

08/16/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this. Had one and accidentally broke the glass so ordered another one pronto.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker

Best Tea Machine

02/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased literally dozens of machines over the years and this one brews great. It does not clog up or have a water heating problem as time passes. The only thing I have an issue with is the fact that there never seems to be any extra carafes available. Since they are glass, we have had a few mishaps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster 2.5-Qt. Iced Tea Maker
05/25/2013
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tea maker just be careful not to break the pitcher because they are very hard to replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next