Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Protege Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Protege Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

The versatility of this three-piece travel set makes it ideal for all types of travel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.907 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%44 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

very roomy and a good price

04/22/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This luggage set had enough room for 3 days of clothing and accessories. The outside pockets are deep enough for miscellaneous items that you do not want to put inside the case with your clothes. the wheels are wonderful and even work well on carpeting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Traveling Light? You'll love this set.

09/01/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a small woman, my luggage needs to be light so that I can lift it to the overhead bins. This set is simply a metal frame and nylon case, extremely light-weight when empty, minimal added weight from the luggage itself. It is roomy enough for me to pack what I need for a 5-day and maybe even a 7-day trip. This includes an extra pair of shoes and light jacket. My clothes are small and I prefer jersey or slub cotton layering garments which don't take up much space. With the changes in baggage fees I have learned to travel with less stuff and must say that I enjoy having only what I need. I can wear my everyday outfits twice and take extras for evening and exercising; everything fits perfectly in my small upright. Several reviewers thought this set was too small but perhaps it wouldn't be with some changes to wardrobe planning. They only complaint I have is that the upright tends to tip when fully packed, not a big deal for me. Highly recommend this set for like-minded travelers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Up Up & Away

06/17/2010
By ,
NE Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great luggage set. Sizes are all carry-on to avoid checked luggage charges, yet very roomy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Good Product

06/21/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set was just right for us. We ordered 2 sets as we were going to be gone for a week. Smaller than most people would need but with the bag and shave kit bag it makes it just right. The side pockets are great for shoes and tall bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Great Product

03/25/2010
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 for a cruise vacation for my kids. upright was a little smaller than expected, but overall it works fine. Especially for the price. Great Deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Great starter set of luggage

06/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this luggage set for my 13 year old son as he was leaving on a trip to visit his grandparents in another state. It is a smaller set, but it was big enough for him to pack all he needed for his 5 day stay. The carry-on and toiletry bags are adequate sized as well. For a kid who is too old for the cartoon character themed luggage but is still rough enough on things that you don't want to drop a large sum of money, this is the perfect set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set
07/09/2011
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everything look much larger online, but in person it is very tiny!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Perfect Overnight Set

04/05/2010
By ,
Placentia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although I overestimated the actual size of the wheeled luggage, it actually had enough room for all my overnight essentials. Also, the price was perfect. The set itself does not look "cheap" at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Too small

04/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this product as a backup suitcase but was under the impression it was much larger. It is very small and will only hold a few things. Don't let the picture fool you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

GREAT BUY!!!

03/22/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a weekend trip to North Carolina. I was expecting it to be abit larger than it is but its still large enough. Its very nice considering the price. I will definitely be using this again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Falls apart

09/18/2011
By ,
Lehigh Acres FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use the pull behind to carry my church and concert organ music around with me. I'm handicapped and walk with two canes, so I can manage this piece of luggage well considering. The trouble with it is, it starts falling apart at the seams after four month's of continuous use. The nylon zipper doesn't work anymore and won't close properly. The seam in the upper pocket totally pulled apart and looks like real cheap see-through cotton material. Everything in the upper pocket falls through to the large pocket underneath it. I was pretty dependent on this piece of luggage, but am going to throw it out as it has turned into a useless piece of luggage now. I am very disappointed in the cheap quality of this pull behind. I will look to another manufacturer for another pull behind.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Item is cheap and tears easily

07/08/2011
By ,
Fairmont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I packed very few items in the large brief case. The zipper broke in half. I was very disappointed. The appearance looked nice but was cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Fell apart before I even made it onto the plane!

09/09/2013
By ,
Broomfield, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for some reasonably priced luggage for my daughter to take to college. This set caught my eye because it was not only a great price, but it was really, really light weight. After packing her up and taking her to the airport, we proceeded through to Security. The bag had already lost the stand by then because it is merely "nailed" onto the bottom. The stand was flopping around loosely because one of the "nails" had popped out -- and this was just from wheeling the cart from the curb inside to the ticket counter. The bag was then searched by Security because they had seen something questionable in the x-ray. Security zipped open the outside pocket, determined that the article in question was safe, then attempted to zip the pocket back up. The zipper had completely broken -- the zipper pull was nowhere to be found, as it completely fallen off and no one could find it (not that it would have done any good to find it at that point anyway). It was pretty embarrassing to be carting this piece of junk around, and my daughter felt a little humiliated showing up to her dorm room with a broken piece of luggage that couldn't stand up on its own with the outside pocket flapping wide open. This suitcase didn't even make it through one trip -- it literally fell apart before it even made it onto the plane. I hope Walmart will let me return it, because I'm beyond dissatisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

SUPERRRRR SMALLLL - Not well made *RETURNED IT*

07/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was soooo sooo small. It looks way bigger in picture than it really is. I returned it immediately and got something better. Also, the build quality was so so. The fabric was thin...this is going to break apart in no time. I recommend spending about $20 more and getting a better case. I ended up getting a JEEP Duffle Bag with Wheels for like $39 or so...it holds a LOT more things and still can be carried onto flights.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Smaller than expected

08/30/2010
By ,
Tempe, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The 20" was a lot smaller (the height's alright, but the width was quite less) than expected and doesn't have an 'expansion' zipper, which is fine only if you are travelling light...
The 20" can handle bumps and scuffs but the tote and the accessory kit feel thin to the touch...You pay what you get for I guess...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/02/2011
i think you meant to say "you get what you pay for"
lol
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set
06/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 3 piece personal luggage set for the price of only $20 is a good value. Very much what I expected. The 20" luggage inside lining is very thin though, just a piece of velcro-on nylon. Zipper lack extra clasp for luggage lock, but one can still manage to put a small lock on it. Reminder the 20" luggage is not expandable. Nonetheless looks and feels uptodate and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

So far so good

10/26/2010
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this suitcase for my 7-year old daughter to take to her grandmother's out of town on the weekends. It is just the right size for all of her things. And the smaller bags are perfect for bathroom products. We have not had any problems with it. Great product for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Utile

03/04/2011
By ,
Port Orange, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed a little carry-on and didn't want to pay eighty bucks for it. Walmart to the rescue! It's decent for the price, plus you get two extra bags (which I didn't need). I've only traveled with it once, and it held up fine. It's black, neutral and doesn't look "cheap".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

Great Luggage!

04/26/2011
By ,
Collinsville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely encourage anyone looking for a durable and nice set of luggage, then this would be it. It was used for several trips with my family and given to a daughter and she was so elated to recieve the luggage. Great Job Walmart for a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Protege 3-Piece Luggage Set

A good size for short trip travel.

12/03/2010
By ,
Los angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's prefect for up to three-day trip for two people. The biggest luggage case is not heavy and easy to roll around. You get what you pay. Maybe it's not a high quality Travel Luggage Set, but it's a very useful and roomy luggage case that I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next