Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aspca ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Aspca ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

This ASPCA gate is a pressure mount barrier for standard door openings, hallways and at the bottom of stairs. The adorable paw prints and finish on the gate make this a perfect choice for your pet and your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.959 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation76%110 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 77 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
25
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Just ok

12/05/2012
By ,
Bronx, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's a good value for the money, but the wood is so lightweight that you have to be careful when opening and closing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Don't waste the money!!!!

10/06/2011
By ,
naples, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this last week for our new 6wk old Pit Bull only because I could not find the gate I had purchased 2yrs ago at Walmart for our other dog. It only took about 5 days for her to figure out how to use the door and door frame as leverage to scale the gate like Houdini because the gate is only 23" tall and has wiring that goes horizontal and vertical creating little sort of steps for them to climb. It's a poor design as well. The pressure system doesn't work unless you figure out which notch will work first and then cram and squeeze it into the door and she's already chewed chunks out of it too!! I was able to find the gate that I had 2 yrs ago that Walmart used to carry in store. It's website only now, but you can have it shipped to store for free and it's 40" tall, sturdy metal frame with vertical bars only, so no climbing, with a one touch door for you and a doggy door on the bottom, and it's only $33.00!!!Trust me, save your money and get this one....Carlson Extra Wide Walk Thru Gate item#0089161800130. You'll be happy you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Great Pet gate

11/22/2013
By ,
Melbourne,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These gates are great..The best feature (I think) about them is, the walls/doorways you use them in- don't need to be flush..Most every other gate I've seen , must be mounted in a flush opening**
I use these gates all over my house..I use them in open doorways, so my dogs can't push though the screen doors..I use them to keep them in a specific room, like the kitchen, when I'm going out....When I want to keep bedroom doors open to have fresh air flow - I use them to block the doorways , etc to keep the dogs off the carpeting..
I only wish the offered more sizes..This particular model is fine for smaller dogs..Larger dogs can jump over them..But all and all I like the gates...They are very simple to use and adjust, and they are pretty sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Very disappointing

04/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made, broke within 24 hours, cracked at a pressure point. I would not recommend this gate. Returned to Walmart the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Good product

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its work fairly well with puppies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Gate Is Great

03/08/2014
By ,
Ontario ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate it works perfect to keep my little Shih Tzu in one area at night.. So Easy to use.
Good in just about any door-way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Returned to the pound... I mean store

08/30/2012
By ,
Erwin, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this gate to help keep my puppy away from my cat, so that she could have her own dog free zone. I was unimpressed.
~ While the gate expands the rubber feet are in a solid position. Not good for older homes where walls may not be as flat as they look. I found the gate would wobble a lot. We had to place a large tupperware bin behind it for added security and stability.
~ The size adjuster was difficult to use. It took both my husband and I working together to strong arm and wiggle the locking piece while the gate was in between the walls to get it to actual lock. Trying to lock it outside the tight walls made it unlock once trying to place it. However once in place even when moved it stayed locked.
~ Not good for doorways you plan on moving through with your pet. It was easy to step over, but while trying to hold a puppy on a leash and remove it from it's pressure fit area was awkward and difficult. I almost knocked my dog in the head several times trying to knee and push it free. If it's going to be blocking that doorway permanently, this is less of a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Helps my dogs know their boundary...

02/19/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally purchased this when we got a larger-size breed puppy (Australian Shepherd/Blue Heeler mix) so that we could have some "damage control" within in our house. Now we use it to keep him and our older (and also large-size) dog in the utility room of our new house, which does not have a door into the rest of the house.
I purchased this gate for around 20 dollars in our local Walmart store and have had it now for about 4 months. While it is not the highest-quality wood, we really like it since we can remove it when need be. Also because we rent and cannot alter the structure of the house by installing a gate that takes screws and would damage the framework of the doors. It takes some getting used to to learn how to adjust the width, but it works well. At first, both dogs, would jump up with their front paws on the gate and it withstood all that pressure. The pads are getting slightly worn on the sides as it no longer holds quite as tight, but for what we paid, we are very happy.
I would also recommend using it as a training tool to teach your dogs that this is a barrier that they cannot cross (without jumping over, of course), so that hopefully some day you can remove the gate altogether and they will be trained to not go further than that imaginary line. That's what we're working on with our dogs right now...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pet Gate
Posted 09/21/2012
I noticed you live in Kansas, which city, it seems I can't find one of these gates near me, I am looking in Overland Park, Kansas. THanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Not a puppy friendly gate

03/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Keep in mind that we have an eight week old puppy which we are in the process of training....First off this gate was a little bit difficult for me to put up. The puppy tries to bite through it and gets its teeth stuck. It is very noisy at 2 am when puppy wants out of her room. I have bought another gate that out weighs this one in ratings... I will not be telling people about this gate.. Very disappointed especially with the ASPCA who put their stamp of approval on it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Great quality

03/27/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Great quality but for extremely small puppies and teacup size dogs. My chihuahua can jump over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Best Value

03/22/2014
By ,
Pleasant Hill, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made gate. Helps keep out my two munchins from areas that we don't want them while potty training. Now if my wife could only figure out which side goes up....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Sturdy & good looking gate.

02/22/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This good looking little gate did not disappoint. Its features work as expected and is as sturdy as the "utility looking" less expensive gates. Hardware and wire is durable and met our expectations. Arrived in record time too, well before expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Great Disappointment

01/09/2014
By ,
Rowlett, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let me preface this review with this... I am aware that part of the problem is my own fault. I failed to notice just how short this gate is when ordering it, so the fact that it is far too short for a growing pup, who will soon enough be more than able to jump it, is my fault. That said, I am still very dissatisfied with this product. My biggest complaint is the locking mechanism for this product. I simply could not get it to lock securely in place in my door frame, despite the fact that it fits my door frame just fine. I'm elderly, and trying to force the lock into a secure position simply became impossible after repeated tries. I ended up fitting it into place and then bracing the back of it with my walker that had its brakes on to keep our pup from moving it aside. It does keep the puppy out, for now, and is low enough for all of our three cats to jump from the hallway into the bedroom and escape the antics of a puppy who just wants to play. I also agree with another reviewer who makes note of the vertical and horizontal screen design, which is far too easy for some animals to climb. Our puppy hasn't figured it out completely yet, but he did climb a couple of rungs before falling so far. A lighter weight pup could probably do it easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

So far so Good!!

02/05/2010
By ,
Hillsboro, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product so far, until my pug learns how to jump it. It went right into the door way with no struggle or assembly needed. So im happy with that.
I was originally looking for a cheap baby gate to do the trick but this is all they had in stock at the time. For a similar gate, without the puppy paw prints and a different color of wood you can get a baby gate for about 8 to 10 dollars cheaper. None the less this does the job just fine for now
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Works well for smaller dogs

02/06/2014
By ,
Archbald, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although the unit works well and it is easy to use it does have some shortcomings. The unit does not have any pads on the bottom and the metal bottom clamps may scratch wooden floors if not installed slightly above floor level. Also, the size indicators marked on the cmlamp bar are marked an inch off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Another "jewel" from Walmart

07/24/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first time I've used store pick-up for an online order and it was fairly painless and convenient. Timely delivery and a quality product, as advertised. I am surprised and delighted with the finish and overall build quality. Once you mark where to set the adjustment (I use this in only one location) it's relatively easy it install and it effectively keeps my beloved cat from coming down the stairs to my man cave then I'm "focused" on the project du jour. Perhaps it's the ASPCA endorsement but in any event apparently she still loves me because she comes in to socialize when the gate's not up. I wish the "people gate" to my cave was as effective... Maybe if I get another one of these and put it at human face level... with a "Danger - Keep Out" sign attached. {;-) Anyway, solid product and recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Good for a puppy or very small dog

02/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't realize this gate is so short. While it is an attractive and well functioning gate, it is not very tall. I think that once my poodle puppy gets a little bit bigger, he will easily jump over this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Didn't do the job

10/07/2010
By ,
Walker, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My pet, a toy poodle, was able to jump over it the first day we used it. She also chewed on the bottom wood a little, I guess until she figured out how to jump it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Better Than Expected!

02/16/2012
By ,
Xenia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with this gate! We have a similar gate we have owned for almost 30 years, but it is not as nice as this one. This gate has a wood frame that matches our cherry molding in our home perfectly! It looks like it was made for our home! It has cute pawprints along the top and bottom that are subtle enough to not be tacky. Since the mesh inside the frame is made of covered wire it should last well. I am going to purchase another one because I can get two of these for less than one we saw from a different manufacturer (that is not as nice!) The gate is easily adapted to doorways and hallways, and we even use it to close off our deck where the stairs go down! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

GREAT INEXPENSIVE GATE

10/30/2013
By ,
Palatine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased three of these. Not strong enough for dog
to jump on all the time. But great to deter them from going into
another room and low enough for you to walk over. Great value!
Just what we were looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next