Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aspca ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Aspca ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

This ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate is a pressure mount barrier for standard door openings, hallways and at the bottom of stairs. The adorable paw prints and finish on the ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate make this a perfect choice for your pet and your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
26
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation77%115 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
26
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Just ok

12/05/2012
By ,
Bronx, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's a good value for the money, but the wood is so lightweight that you have to be careful when opening and closing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Don't waste the money!!!!

10/06/2011
By ,
naples, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this last week for our new 6wk old Pit Bull only because I could not find the gate I had purchased 2yrs ago at Walmart for our other dog. It only took about 5 days for her to figure out how to use the door and door frame as leverage to scale the gate like Houdini because the gate is only 23" tall and has wiring that goes horizontal and vertical creating little sort of steps for them to climb. It's a poor design as well. The pressure system doesn't work unless you figure out which notch will work first and then cram and squeeze it into the door and she's already chewed chunks out of it too!! I was able to find the gate that I had 2 yrs ago that Walmart used to carry in store. It's website only now, but you can have it shipped to store for free and it's 40" tall, sturdy metal frame with vertical bars only, so no climbing, with a one touch door for you and a doggy door on the bottom, and it's only $33.00!!!Trust me, save your money and get this one....Carlson Extra Wide Walk Thru Gate item#0089161800130. You'll be happy you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Helps my dogs know their boundary...

02/19/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally purchased this when we got a larger-size breed puppy (Australian Shepherd/Blue Heeler mix) so that we could have some "damage control" within in our house. Now we use it to keep him and our older (and also large-size) dog in the utility room of our new house, which does not have a door into the rest of the house.
I purchased this gate for around 20 dollars in our local Walmart store and have had it now for about 4 months. While it is not the highest-quality wood, we really like it since we can remove it when need be. Also because we rent and cannot alter the structure of the house by installing a gate that takes screws and would damage the framework of the doors. It takes some getting used to to learn how to adjust the width, but it works well. At first, both dogs, would jump up with their front paws on the gate and it withstood all that pressure. The pads are getting slightly worn on the sides as it no longer holds quite as tight, but for what we paid, we are very happy.
I would also recommend using it as a training tool to teach your dogs that this is a barrier that they cannot cross (without jumping over, of course), so that hopefully some day you can remove the gate altogether and they will be trained to not go further than that imaginary line. That's what we're working on with our dogs right now...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pet Gate
Posted 09/21/2012
I noticed you live in Kansas, which city, it seems I can't find one of these gates near me, I am looking in Overland Park, Kansas. THanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Returned to the pound... I mean store

08/30/2012
By ,
Erwin, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this gate to help keep my puppy away from my cat, so that she could have her own dog free zone. I was unimpressed.
~ While the gate expands the rubber feet are in a solid position. Not good for older homes where walls may not be as flat as they look. I found the gate would wobble a lot. We had to place a large tupperware bin behind it for added security and stability.
~ The size adjuster was difficult to use. It took both my husband and I working together to strong arm and wiggle the locking piece while the gate was in between the walls to get it to actual lock. Trying to lock it outside the tight walls made it unlock once trying to place it. However once in place even when moved it stayed locked.
~ Not good for doorways you plan on moving through with your pet. It was easy to step over, but while trying to hold a puppy on a leash and remove it from it's pressure fit area was awkward and difficult. I almost knocked my dog in the head several times trying to knee and push it free. If it's going to be blocking that doorway permanently, this is less of a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

poor fit

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
there are notches on the cross bar which are used to widen the gate to fit. None of the notches worked for our 2 door openings
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Great Pet gate

11/22/2013
By ,
Melbourne,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These gates are great..The best feature (I think) about them is, the walls/doorways you use them in- don't need to be flush..Most every other gate I've seen , must be mounted in a flush opening**
I use these gates all over my house..I use them in open doorways, so my dogs can't push though the screen doors..I use them to keep them in a specific room, like the kitchen, when I'm going out....When I want to keep bedroom doors open to have fresh air flow - I use them to block the doorways , etc to keep the dogs off the carpeting..
I only wish the offered more sizes..This particular model is fine for smaller dogs..Larger dogs can jump over them..But all and all I like the gates...They are very simple to use and adjust, and they are pretty sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Wooden Dog gate

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as expected - terrific!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

So far so Good!!

02/05/2010
By ,
Hillsboro, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product so far, until my pug learns how to jump it. It went right into the door way with no struggle or assembly needed. So im happy with that.
I was originally looking for a cheap baby gate to do the trick but this is all they had in stock at the time. For a similar gate, without the puppy paw prints and a different color of wood you can get a baby gate for about 8 to 10 dollars cheaper. None the less this does the job just fine for now
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Another "jewel" from Walmart

07/24/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first time I've used store pick-up for an online order and it was fairly painless and convenient. Timely delivery and a quality product, as advertised. I am surprised and delighted with the finish and overall build quality. Once you mark where to set the adjustment (I use this in only one location) it's relatively easy it install and it effectively keeps my beloved cat from coming down the stairs to my man cave then I'm "focused" on the project du jour. Perhaps it's the ASPCA endorsement but in any event apparently she still loves me because she comes in to socialize when the gate's not up. I wish the "people gate" to my cave was as effective... Maybe if I get another one of these and put it at human face level... with a "Danger - Keep Out" sign attached. {;-) Anyway, solid product and recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Didn't do the job

10/07/2010
By ,
Walker, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My pet, a toy poodle, was able to jump over it the first day we used it. She also chewed on the bottom wood a little, I guess until she figured out how to jump it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Better Than Expected!

02/16/2012
By ,
Xenia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with this gate! We have a similar gate we have owned for almost 30 years, but it is not as nice as this one. This gate has a wood frame that matches our cherry molding in our home perfectly! It looks like it was made for our home! It has cute pawprints along the top and bottom that are subtle enough to not be tacky. Since the mesh inside the frame is made of covered wire it should last well. I am going to purchase another one because I can get two of these for less than one we saw from a different manufacturer (that is not as nice!) The gate is easily adapted to doorways and hallways, and we even use it to close off our deck where the stairs go down! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Great gate, great price, and a great cause!

10/09/2011
By ,
Massillon, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate because I have two small daogs that I wanted to keep out of the bedrooms of my new home. I wanted something that was both well constructed as well as nice looking since I was planning on leaving it in place. This gate is made by Evenflo and is of a very nice quality. I like the color and the metal/wood construction As opposed to the plain looking gates that you can find just about anywhere. I also bought it because it is only 23" tall since I am leaving it in place. It makes having to step over it much easier. Plus I was pleased that a portion of the sale goes to the ASCPA. If you need a gate for a small pet and want a styish option, I recommend this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

great for the price

08/20/2014
By ,
El Paso,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good gate. Nice-looking and sturdy. Frankly, I was surprised. If I had known it was going to be a good gate, I would have bought two. Nice gate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is sturdy enough for my cat, looks good and extends easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Perfect!

04/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for, for the price I was a little concerned but it arrived very fast and was easy to set up. It's short enough so that I can step over it but not so short that my cat can escape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Excellent gate and great pricing

08/11/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would purchase this gate again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Gate Is Great

03/08/2014
By ,
Ontario ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate it works perfect to keep my little Shih Tzu in one area at night.. So Easy to use.
Good in just about any door-way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate
04/19/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this gate 8 months ago to keep our dog (medium sized yellow lab mix) on our back deck. It works really well and is easy to use. I used a permanent marker to mark which notch it needs to be set at to keep it in place, which makes it easier to put back up. And I had to tighten it one notch when my son brought his energetic puppy over, who easily knocked it down and escaped! But tightening it worked wonders and kept the little stinker on the deck. So far, for the money, it's been great and doesn't show any signs of wear despite being on our deck all winter, exposed to the elements.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

Nice little gate for toy breed

06/03/2012
By ,
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's doing the job and it was cheap. check the dimensions because it looks bigger than it really is. Mine just fit our deck entrance with no room to spare. Its short enough the cats can jump over it easily but tall enough my 9 pound Yorkie cant scale it. If you have a little dog that can jump high this might be to short. Super easy to adjust but a rogue raccoon popped it out of place last night, so a husky dog might be able to pop it lose. Would only recommend for a toy breed like mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ASPCA Wooden Pressure Mount Pet Gate

GREAT INEXPENSIVE GATE

10/30/2013
By ,
Palatine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased three of these. Not strong enough for dog
to jump on all the time. But great to deter them from going into
another room and low enough for you to walk over. Great value!
Just what we were looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next