Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

The Dirt Devil Extreme Power Stick Vac BD20040RED is a good choice for those searching for a lightweight cleaning solution. It easily moves from carpet to hardwood floors with a simple flip of a switch. The Dirt Devil stick vac has a low-profile nozzle that makes cleaning under beds, tables and chairs a cinch. The lightweight design and folding handle make it easy to transport from room to room. The compact size also means that it takes up less space in your cleaning cupboard or linen closet. This cordless stick vac requires no cumbersome bags, and the removable dust cup is transparent so you know when it needs to be emptied. The device is rechargeable and comes complete with a convenient charging base.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation83%50 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Good buy

04/13/2012
By ,
Independence, MO 64052
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a vacuum cleaner with a small foot print for easy storage.
It is powerful enough to pick up things on the floor and is very easy to
handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Don't Wastew Your Money Not great on CARPET

03/05/2010
By ,
Berwyn, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this for everyday use. I have 2 cats, hardwood floors as well as area carpets. Works fairly well on the floors, but did not pick up cat hair or small pieces of lint, paper, etc. from my carpet. I bought a Carpet Sweeper that works much better and is QUIET. Is too loud for the power it produces, has a "High-Pitched motor" sound that takes some getting used to. The cordless feature is nice, unfortunately I don't think it's very "Light-Weight". The dirt cup fills up quickly. When emptying the cup, the dust from it being a "bag-less" stic gets all over. Creating more to clean is not what I had in mind when purchasing this stic vac. This product has made me appreciate the "bagged" type of vacuum cleaner. I'm sorry I bought it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Poor Battery Life

06/21/2010
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't usually write bad product reviews, but this one really bothered me. I've owned this item for a little over a month now.
The problem: I'll charge it for 24 hours and it'll run for 30 seconds and then die.
I bought it because I live in a tiny apartment and I liked the fact it was compact and light. I also trusted the brand Dirt Devil, my mom has had one for years. But now it doesn't work. :/ I'm going to have to buy another vacuum, and this time I will not cheap it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Poor battery charge after 3 mos, dead in 10 mos

08/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Dirt Devil Extreme Power Stick Vac BD20040RED for use on the kitchen's tile floor. The very first time vacuuming (after 24 hour charge), I used the FLOOR level and found that it was not strong enough to pick up small particles. Each time after that, I had to use CARPET level, sometimes had to roll multiple times in order to get crumbs sucked up. In less than 3 months after purchasing, the high pitch sound dropped within minutes of turning on. Called Dirt Devil, told me to drain battery completely and recharge. This worked for the first time. Then drained again several times after that in order for the battery to fully charge, to no avail. Now 10 months after purchase, the battery is completely dead and does not charge at all.
At the same time, I also purchased a Dirt Devil BD10045 Cordless Hand Vac for use at the business to vacuum dust in the display cases, same problem with the battery. I now have 2 non-functioning Dirt Devils collecting dust. I am done with Dirt Devil.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

AMAZING LITTLE MIRACLE

01/29/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shocked it looks and feels like a toy, glad I broke my old one. This is so lite and I'm sick and very weak and still pick it up to clean. The only drawback is the cup is tiny. After one or two uses I dump it, it's so easy I can do it over the kitchen trash. The old one required a trip outside and beating the filter on a tree and then a shower. So lite really picks up without blowing fur balls away into the air. Not good for carpet maybe a flat rug, use it for litter p/up. Keep it by the litter box. Never lower the handle too convenient as is. Wouldn't give it up for anything. Love the way it swivels, charges not heavy have hard floors everywhere and it's all I need. A great great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Great for people with back pain and pets!

04/07/2014
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I must say that I bought the Electrolux vacuum that was on sale from $100 plus to $50 or so. I returned it almost immediately because it lost a lot of suction while the trap was being filled. Also it did not have a lot of power to begin with. I will say that I was very excited to buy the product because it has the removable hand vacuum. I returned it almost immediately. Then I decided to try this model the BD 20040. I am very pleased with this product. It has power to vacuum up my long hair, my dogs' hair-all three of them, my cats' hair, and my parrot's feathers and seeds. I vacuumed about 1000 ft.² before the contraption died. It does lose power when the cup is getting full, but that is to be expected. I have already recommended it to my Facebook friends and my mom who also has chronic back pain. I have three degenerating disks and two bulging disks and I can tell you this is much better than using my conventional 15-pound Hoover vacuum. It has a rush roll switch to turn it on and off for hard floors. It performed remarkably well on my regular carpeted floor. I wish it could be hung on the wall, but I'll take what I can get. It is a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Great Little Lightweight Vac

01/30/2010
By ,
Hodgenville, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This power stick is great.It picks up a lot more than I expected it to.Just wish it had a crevice tool.I have only used it for about 3 weeks so I don't really know how durable it is.I am really pleased with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Loved It!

11/03/2011
By ,
Kermit, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about 5-6 years ago and loved it from day one! It picked up beautifully and was very lightweight. It's small enough to get into some small places -which is why I bought it, because I needed to vacuum our RV- yet it's powerful. I did mostly use it for small jobs, though I would occasionally vacuum our 18 x 20 family room with no problems, if the carpet wasn't too soiled. I would sometimes even use it to vacuum our church because it was so easy to get around the pews. The battery life was good and the cup was easy to empty, though the filter was not as easy. Unfortunately, I cannot say anything about it's longevity because my small son broke mine. I'm not sure how but I suspect he beat it against the floor {!} Not too many vacuums would tolerate that- even an expensive one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Very happy with this product

02/23/2011
By ,
Pacific City Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum cleaner, has a recharging stand, buy this 14.4 amp vacuum, not the 10 amp dirt devel stick vac, had both and this one is a 1000 times better at only $14 more, its a little bigger, heavier, recharging last twice as long and lifting power is much better. I'm very happy with my choice. I live with a husky dog in an RV, vacuum 3 times a day and this Dirt Devel is up to the task.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Nice little vacuum, but not suitable for my needs

08/04/2014
By ,
southeastern Massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This vacuum is so compact & cute it should be called My First Vacuum.
I bought it to clean up in my indoor bunnies pens, which accumulate bunny poo, fur & pine shavings. Unfortunately, the shavings & stuff would get clogged up in the chute that leads up to the dirt cup, so I would have to stop & unclog the tube. I'm sure this product would be fine for cleaning dirt & dust off of floors & I was tempted to keep it, but we already have 2 powerful vacuums (& 6 cats & a duck, which this vacuum would choke & die if it ever had to clean up after alla' them) so I returned it today. For someone who doesn't have quite such ambitious cleaning to do as I this would probably be a worthy investment. It's a decent little vacuum, but sadly not for my cleaning needs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

love it

09/15/2014
By ,
arcadia ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wife love it work very good
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Love it!

01/05/2010
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have hard wood floors and area rugs and this vacum is great for the everyday quick clean ups. I love the switch from bare floors to carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Spend money elsewhere

04/12/2010
By ,
Whitewater, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I do not like this product or recommend it simply because the battery life gives you less than 5 minutes of use. You have to charge the vacuum for long periods of time (overnight) just to get very little use out of it. Plus the vacuum will not tell you when it is fully charged which is not very helpful. If you feel like you need to vacuum but it is running low on power find something else to do because you will not be able to use it for four or five hours. I bought the product six months ago and now its suction power is worse than it was when I first got it which was not very good in the first place
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

New, improved and wonderful

08/22/2011
By ,
Jesup, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this sweeper for 6 to 7 years. We have a lot of tile in our house and I use it everyday on tile and hardwood to just keep it dust and things picked up. I was sorry to see that the price kept going up on this item. I paid 29.95 for my first one, the last one was 49.95. But it is so improved it was well worth the extra money. I have referred to cordless small sweeper to everyone I know over the last 7 years and have brought several as gifts for people. I love it, I just hope my other ones die soon so I can have two of these in the house. I usually keep one in the kitchen and another in the bedroom. I can't say enough about this sweeper, it is the secret to keeping a cleaner home.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design, cordless
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Finally!

05/12/2013
By ,
Dothan, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a good, lightweight, powerful vac for my home, since I have all hardwood floors. I tried a couple of other items, yet none of them did what I really needed. I found this one randomly online and decided to give it a try! It was just delivered yesterday, so it may be too early to say this but I am going to say it anyway: I love it!
Best part is that the traditional vacuum "roller" does not operate unless you want it to, therefore I can vacuum the hardwood floors without hair getting tangled in it (which is what has turned me off from most vacs). Keeping that thing untangled is a tough job! It is more powerful than the other machines I have tried, and it easy to use. Not a lot of bells and whistles which I like. The only slightly negative is that it runs a little loud, but I can totally handle that as long as its suction is good, as I have 3 pets that shed!
So far so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED
10/16/2013
By ,
killeen Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great tool !!! I use it all the time .. At first I wasn't sure of this product .. But I was mistaken .. It is powerful and does great on tile floors plus great on little carpets !! I don't give 5 stars often but this tool deserves it !!! I love it !!! Highly recommend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

LOVE IT!!!

12/31/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this stick vac soooo much!! It is just what we needed, we are seniors and can't handle a big vac. also we have a small house so it will cleann the whole house on a charge. It is so lite weight it's easy to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Handy for small jobs

08/10/2013
By ,
Salome, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The vac is great for hard floors to vacuum up kitty litter and at the touch of the switch go to cleaning area rugs. I no longer need 2 cleaners for the rooms with hard floors and area rugs. The vac is light weight, has a head that swivels, and picks up both kitty litter and "fuzzy" stuff from area rugs. The turning brush bar doesn't seem to throw the kitty litter like my bigger vac does. I like the option of vacuuming without having the brush bar spinning.
The filter cup is easy to change and has a sight line that is easily visible. I have the dustpan size charger on my vanity top so it is easily accessible and is so easy to recharge the vac. I can clean 2 bathrooms and the kitchen with battery power to spare.
The price was right and delivery was as promised when I ordered the vac. I have told friends about the product and where I bought it. One of the best investments I have made.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

LOVE IT....

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Dirt Devil, more powerful than my first one, perfect for area rugs and bare floors. I am happy with it and strongly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Extreme Power 14.4V Cordless Bagless Stick Vacuum, BD20040RED

Great lightweight floor sweeper

06/23/2014
By ,
The Villages, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently purchased this item and was surprised at how light and easy to use it is. There was very little to do to put it together which was a big plus. It is quiet and does a really good job of picking up the dust on my bare floors. It is pretty powerful for such a small vaccum and has a nice filter that is replaceble and no bags to use. The upper section swivels around as well like some of the really expensive ones. The price was reasonable and afforedable.
My only comment is that it does not fit under the furniture or sofa, so for that I have to use my regular dusting broom, but considering all the rest of the floors I have to clean,(the old way with the broom) this is a minor detail.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next