Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Schumacher Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

The Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger is a great combination of efficiency, ease-of-use, and reliability. It is a microprocessor-controlled battery charger that monitors the condition of the battery and adjusts the rate of charge according to the battery condition. It also prevents the battery from getting over charged and getting damaged. This fully automatic battery charger is designed for 12-volt AGM, gel cell, and deep-cycle batteries. It also enables 8-amp medium charge and 2-amp slow charge for motorcycles, ATVs, snow mobiles, and lawn tractors. It features electronic push button controls and is easy to use and operate. This AGM battery charger has a digital display that shows the percentage of charge and also indicates the remaining volts. It is a quiet charger and does not make any noise. Even with so much capacity, this battery charger is lightweight and is very portable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation91%121 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 122 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Works great so far

02/16/2014
By ,
Norman Park, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hooked this up and charged my battery on my riding mower and leave it on to maintain the charge since it has that feature and it works great so far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

website description is not accurate!

01/22/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this comment before I purchased the charger. I mistakenly assumed that Walmart would have corrected the product description but they have not. I ordered what was described as a 3 level (2, 6 and 10amp) car charger. What is in the box is a 2 level charger (3 and 10 amps). The outside of the box also says it is a 3 level charger) but the product is not. Please, Please correct your description to be accurate. I almost returned the charger, but decided I needed a charger immediately so I have kept it.
I say I would not recommend this product because the web site and package description does not match the charger inside. However, the charger works perfectly at the two levels it has.
PS: I may have the exact amperages incorrectly listed, but the idea is right. Two levels, not three as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

What I received was not even what was pictured

02/20/2014
By ,
Bismarck,nd
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What I ordered was a 2/8/12 amp charger. What I received was a 3/12 amp charger.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

SC-300A vs Battery Tender Plus

04/12/2014
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my BT+ for over 10 years and was thinking about getting another maintainer for my motorcycles to reduce the rotation I've been doing. The SC-300A currently has a 5 yr warranty and the various (3) connectors like the BT+ and walmart.com has an awesome price.
You should always read the manual before using...but this SC-300A is going to work in ways that are not described in the manual. It will have the yellow charge LED lit and flash the green charged LED. It does not talk about this in the manual...so I called technical and the tech said it must be broken. Bought another and it worked the same way...meaning as it gets closer to fully charged the green charged LED is on longer than the charging yellow LED....So...I figured the first tech was confused and the manual mute. It is supposed to work that way. As it charges, both LEDs take turns flashing when it gets to a certain level and the green charged LED flashes longer and longer until turning solid when fully charged. I did get a "knowledgeable tech" that confirmed.
The SC-300A is going to be a great addition to my charger/maintainer options. It has almost the same connectors as the BT+, has a higher 3 amp starting point, is priced nicely, and has a 5 yr warranty. I'm going to give it the chance to earn my confidence like my BT+ has. The BT+ has a small cig lighter type connector that I use on one of my BMW bikes. The SC-300A has a similar but larger connector that will fit in an automobile cig/accessory plug. The connectors seem interchangeable between either charger. I would have given it 5 stars if it were made in USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Be Very Careful

08/11/2012
By ,
WA and AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This charger charges 12V batteries only. If you have a 6V battery, it will not work. Some Schumacher chargers will charge 6V batteries but this one will not.
Also, I was charging the coach batteries in a RV and had the selector set for 8amps. The charger LED indicator showed that I was at 35% charge for half an hour. I switched to 12amps and the charger said I was 95% charged. After waiting 3 hours to minimize surface charge, I measured the voltage with a multimeter and found 12.47 volts or almost a 90% charge. I cannot find anything in the users manual to explain this situation but if you rely on this charger's LED indicator in 8amp mode you might overcharge your battery.
If the 8amp converter is not working correctly, I am worried that the trickle charge (2amp) may not work properly. I bought this charger to replace a dumb charger where I had to measure the voltage with a multimeter to ensure a proper charge. Looks like I'll be replacing this charger and keeping the meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
It's normal behaviour for a Computerized Charger!
Posted 08/24/2013
As an Electronics Tech & Computer Tech who has worked in all aspects of the Electronics industry for over 44 years, I'll tell you that you misread what was happening in this case.
Battery charging SEEMS like a simple subject, but like many things, there's a lot more going on under the surface than meets the eye, it can get pretty complicated.
Your charger was doing it's job properly. This particular charger is VERY intelligent and will vary it's output up & down, apparently "willy-nilly", but is responding to the load it sees and the battery's condition. LET IT FINISH!
Another feature it has is it will show a BLINKING charge light and 15% battery percentage if it detects sulfurization, a problem older, or stored, batteries face. It's not dead, it's CHARGING, but using a special high frequency to breakup the sulfur. This can take 10-16 hours BEFORE normal charging even BEGINS! Hope this helps someone!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Failed After One Charge

12/17/2013
By ,
SoCal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This charger worked for about 20 minutes (it did actually charge the battery) then the LED's began flashing and it would not reset. This is not mentioned in the troubleshooting portion of the instructions. After a lengthy wait for Schumacher customer service for assistance I was told in about 10 seconds that the unit was faulty and too return it to Walmart; just what I wanted to do 9 days before Christmas.......I returned it and noted that the same model was $7.00 higher in the store (I passed)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Great product!

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for around tye garage for most applications. No deep cycle battery options, but will work well with all other batteries
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

new fangled charger

03/21/2014
By ,
Connellsville,Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far so good. really different from the charger I replaced. But the old one was a dinosaur.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Little Powerhouse

03/07/2011
By ,
Rhinelander, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is surprisingly small and lightweight for the capability and features it has! It's actually lighter than my 20' long jumper cables and a lot easier to deal with! For instance, without plugging it in you can use it as a battery meter. The microprocessor control is great and there's a built-in cavity below the handle for the cord and cables.
Another thing I was impressed with was the built-in automatic anti-sulfation mode. I had a bad battery I tested it on and after it tried to rescue the battery it finally flashed "bAd" in the readout. So I didn't need to page through the manual to figure out what the red flashing light meant.
It's got plenty of power and will maintain a battery at lower amperage once it has reached capacity automatically which is really nice because you can plug it in and forget about it until you need to use the battery.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

great product

11/14/2013
By ,
Bally Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was rite, product exceded expectations. simple to use, lots of safety features to prevent doing damage to batteries, charger and yourself. Charger works well, replaced an old schumacher and this one is much lighter and more compact and doesn't hum at all. I like that it tells you % of charge as well as actual voltage in the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

A great little charger

07/01/2010
By ,
Woodruff, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is considerably smaller than my older 10 Amp Charger, yet will charge a full size battery quicker. Another great feature is the "battery tender" mode which will keep the battery full, but never overcharged
It can be used for auto, marine, or smaller batteries, i.e., motorcycle, snowmobile, ATV or lawnmower.
This charger is an exceptional value at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Beyond Expectations

12/21/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product with hopes to charge a battery in a truck that was dead for over 2 months. After about 6 hours on this charger, the truck started right up. I didn't really think it would work. I also liked that I could see at what percentage the battery was charged, on the charger. Good product. Worked beyond my expectations. I definitely would recommend this to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger
11/04/2011
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice device. If you hook it up wrong, nothing gets damaged. The digital readout tells you the state of your battery when you first hook it up, then it starts charging. As it gets closer to full battery voltage, its slows down so you dont overcharge (damage) your battery. Similar chargers sell for quite a bit more and some that cost more do not have the features this one has. This exceeded my expectations which is rare in today's marketplace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Not What I ordered

03/10/2014
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Model SC-1200a.What was sent was the Model SC-1200a/CA. Unfortunately this is what I received from another company I ordered this charger from. Apparently they both have the same UPC Code. The two chargers look slightly different. I have experience with the 1200a and feel confident it is a good charger. The a/CA has to many bad reviews for me to take a chance. The item was returned at the pick up counter with no hassles thanks to the very competent associate.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Charges ok when monitored....

01/09/2011
By ,
South east
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this model for 5-6yrs. I really like the pushbutton selection, and the digital readout, for % of battery charge, and volts remaining, and the alternator check feature. I don't like having to stay with the battery, for fear of the charger not recognizing that the battery is fully charged. When I charge any battery whether it be a deep cyle or regular flooded cell, from say a 60% charge. My charger will not realize that the battery is charged unless I unplug the charger for a minute, then plug it back in. Then it sees the battery as 100% where as before I unplugged it, it was stuck at say 86%. After I plug it back in and "reset" it. It will maintain the 12v battery at the recommended 12.9-13.1 float charge. Maybe something is fried in the sensing network? Other than that it works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

nice

04/03/2014
By ,
Montgomery Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Does just what I needed it to do!

08/29/2013
By ,
Coventry, Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had two generator batteries, brand new but never charged and completely dead. After reading the reviews I was hopefull this charger might ressurect them, even though running the generator did not. It worked! Each battery took more than 24 hours but both of them came up to 100% charge. That was only a few days ago so I don't know how well the charges will hold, but at least I can keep the batteries up now by trickle charging them (with a different charger).
Obviously this should work as well or even better on a good battery that has just gotten run down, such as a car battery with the lights left on. Hopefully it will last, but right now I'm very pleased with the purchase. It is a bit noisy, only because it apparently has a fan that runs constantly, but that is not a problem for me as I used it in my basement. It's quite light weight, so I don't know how well made it is, but time will tell. So far, very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Nice, works well

02/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice charger, use it on motorcycle and garden tracker. Works well, and can re-pair batteries that have been discharged for a long time. No issue with noisy fan. Mine is quiet enough, I dont leave it running all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

It works

05/13/2011
By ,
New Hope PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced 30 year old Schumacher that stopped working. New unit is light, easy to use, and so far works great (charged my dead tractor battery in 2 hours).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher SpeedCharge 12-Amp Battery Charger

Great charger, easy to understand directions

01/23/2014
By ,
Hammond, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I plan on using this charger to charge several small batteries. So far I have charged two small batteries that I use for powering a sonar gps unit. It charged both batteries as expected. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next