Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Schumacher Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

The Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter is a handy device to be kept in the house or at your work place. It is a powerful and robust jump starter that yields enormous power despite its compact size. This instant power jump starter comes with a built-in charger and a 12-volt DC power source. Its sleek-silver finish gives it a trendy appearance with a powerful performance to match. Bright LED indicators help you monitor the charging of the internal battery. The Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter number 8 gauge, 18 inch flexible cable remains supple even in the coldest temperatures. The jumper weighs 14 lbs, which makes it portable, compact and light. The car battery jump starter is ideal for use at campsites, college campuses, or even for jump starting stored vehicles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%35 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great compact power source!

12/18/2011
By ,
Bushkill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product specifically as a backup power source, dedicated to operate a single device, during power outages. It is compact, lightweight and attractively designed. It charged, ran my Coby TFTV1091 10-Inch Portable LCD TV for 17 hours over a 5 day test (using a cigarette lighter adapter) and recharged without a problem. I haven't used it as a jumpstarter (don't intend to) but from other reviews I've read I have no doubt it would work well. I will purchase at least one or two more soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Surprised

06/11/2014
By ,
Cordova, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the power available this is very small. Big plus to me. A brand name and another plus. As a retired body man, I've seen shops go through these left and right. A big disadvantage is many are too big, so, like I said, it's compact enough to easily find a storage space if you want to carry it with you, and being small also means easy to place under the hood. Since there are several shops close to me, I hit a few looking for some dead batteries. I boosted off two cars quickly with no problems. Be sure to keep the booster charged. The lower the charge, the shorter the time it will put out maximum power. And, it 'will' shorten the booster life. That will apply to any booster.
This is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great...but needs a cord!

10/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish it would come with a cord to charge the thing itself. I did not have a compatible cord, nor did anyone that I know (I live on a college campus, btw). But I was able to piece together something out of a household extention cord and a three-to-two prong adapter. Probably, wasn't safe, but it got the job done!
After that charging adventure it worked perfectly. And it does come with a decent charge out of the box (at least mine did, anyways), so if you're buying it last min on an emergency, it would most likely work, but the instructions recommended 36 hours of charging after opening it and finding that there's no cord :/...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Satisfied Customer

07/19/2010
By ,
Wears Valley, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does precisely what I got it for - to provide auto and other equipment battery jumps conveniently. Lightweight, portable with lots of power for the size. Can be used for aux power to campsites, etc. as well. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Started my car 4 times in a row.

07/10/2013
By ,
Midwest City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an exact replacement for one that was over 7 years old. Same exact thing just a newer model. It was cheaper to buy a new unit than replace the old battery. It did have to charge for about 48 hours before the green light came on showing fully charged. To test it I disconnected my car battery and hooked the jump starter up in its place. I was able to start my 2010 Toyota Corolla 4 times before the starter kinda slowed down some. I have faith that if ever needed it will do the job. I used my old one mostly helping others that were having battery problems.
I also use it to power a portable 12 volt air compressor. I've got a slow leak and have to air up a tire every week. Works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

a great booster

01/18/2013
By ,
Casey County Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Schumacher instant power jump starter is compact, well built and appears to be a solid unit. I just bought it so we will have to re-evaluate it in a year. I am glad that I invested an additional $10.00 in getting a better model and a stronger charge to jump start the battery. My wife took the unit out to our car and was able to understand how to use it in only a minute or so. We live in a rural area and I did not want here to have battery problems and at the same time be in a dead zone for her cell phone. (which happens more times than you would think.) I have other items in the trunk of her car to assist her in case of other breakdown problems. My only complaint at this time is that the cables are very short and you may not have room to place the red hook-up on the positive terminal and be able to ground the black hook-up to a engine bolt or other metal object. Be careful jumping any battery by using a jumper hook-up to both positive and negative terminals on your battery as some batteries could explode. This jumper would be useful in helping out your neighbors or jump starting your lawn tractor in the springtime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Portable battery booster

02/07/2011
By ,
southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A dandy and useful tool for my use. Have a stored vehicle and once a week or so, as the cold weather varies up and down for the temperatures, this unit does a very good job of boosting a weak battery in the car in storage. If the car hasn't been started for a week or so, the battery needs a boost and I'm off and running. The best part is the power of this unit, which will easily work for the old truck battery, too.
The unit is easily carried around packs a punch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Worked well. Got me started.

12/02/2013
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My car battery was too low to start within a week after receiving the jump starter. Pulled it out of the back and was off and running in minutes. Much more convenient than jumper cables, etc.
I purchased one for all 3 of my daughters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter
05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great but needs a cord with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
16601
Power cord:
Posted 05/11/2013
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Micro-Connectors-AC-Power-Cord-6-Black/22879208
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great little emergency unit.

01/08/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this about 2 weeks and have already had to use it. I got it for emergencies and when the temp dropped to minus 20, and my car battery would barely turn over my engine. I connected the Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter and it really gave the car battery a lot of juice and I was on my way in just a few minutes.
Pro:
Small
Lightweight
No chager cord to worry about. (Uses any extension cord)
Lots of reserve power
12V outlet to run or charge portable devices (even has a chart of times)
Con:
Takes a long time to charge(Initial was 36 hours and after using it to jump, about 4 hours)
Wish it had a built in LED lamp
Overall, this was a good buy and I would recommend one in every trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Handy thing to have around

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one of these -- I bought the first one in April 2009 and it served me very well for over five years. It finally died. At its heart is a lead-acid battery, like the one in a car, and five years is as much life out of such a battery as one could reasonably expect. The thing is, I live in a city where I don't commute in my car -- parking downtown costs a fortune, so I take public transit to and from work. So there are times when I don't drive my car for three weeks, even though I keep telling myself I ought to. Therefore, when I've gone down to start my car, I've found the battery to low to turn the starter motor over. Having a Schumacher IP-125 around is wonderful. Since it has two spring-loaded clamps similar to jumper cables, all I have to do is attach the red one to the positive battery terminal and the black one to a nearby bolt head on the engine block and, voila, the car starts. (Driving the car around for 45 minutes charges up its battery.) The thing about this charger is you plug it into a wall outlet and when the green indicator lights up, you know it's charged up. You can leave it plugged in if you like so it's always fully charged -- the charging circuitry in the IP-125 is such that it cannot overcharge from being plugged into a wall outlet in your house. You do need the right kind of extension cord to attach to the two standard plug prongs coming out of the side of the unit in a square recess. Fortunately, I had a heavy duty 2-wire extension cord perfect for the task and I do think they should include one with the unit instead of requiring you to buy one yourself. There's a red indicator LED that tells you it's charging but not yet fully charged, and a green one that comes on to tell you it's fully charged (the red one goes off at that point). There's also a "test" button and three other lights so you can determine the charge when it's not plugged into the wall. Push the button and one of three LEDs will come on while you hold the button in to tell you what the status is: green for fully charged, yellow for charged but not fully charged, red for not charged. The two clamps on the ends of the cables clip onto plastic studs that keep them secure and separate when the unit is not in use. There's also a 12-volt DC outlet on the side so you can plug in any cord that fits into the cigarette lighter socket in your car, so if you have one of those for charging your cell phone and the electric power has failed locally, you can recharge your cell phone by plugging the mobile charging cord into the side of the IP-125. It's fairly heavy -- it has a lead-acid battery inside and lead is heavy -- but it's not egregiously heavy and has a comfortable carrying handle. It's such a good thing to have around.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Good Product from a Good Mfg.

10/05/2014
By ,
Medina, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of Schumacher's power jump starters some 12 years ago and it held up great. When i needed to replace it i went with the same mfg Schumacher and this one is smaller but still has the punch I need,
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Saved by the Jump Starter!

01/18/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The battery in our BWW with a 4.4l V8 goes dead intermittently. Got the Jump Starter "just in case" while we troubleshoot the cause. Used it yesterday morning and it worked great. Beats digging out the jumper cables! Compact, nice storage for the cables/clamps, good instrumentation showing state of charge. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

power jump starter

07/20/2012
By ,
charlotteville ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant, just what i needed, light weight, powerful, charged upon opening box and cracked over a old ford truck that was sitting for a while 5*****...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter
09/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to use and holds charge very well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

completely worth the money!

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this to have in my car "just in case", because my battery was not very happy with the cold weather. luckily i didnt need it, but my sister did. i tried it the first time and i couldn't get it to work. at first i thought it was a bad product. but then a friend of mine showed me that i wasnt "grounding" it properly so i put the black cable on the negative terminal and it worked perfectly!
i tried it again another time and it works!
it saved me so much time- no need to wait for help to boost my car, wait for roadside assistance, or rely on someone passing by to help!
i'm very happy with my purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

wont hold a charge

03/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
charged it fully as per manufactuers guide lines , inflated two auto tires at 30 psi , and it lost its ability to stay charged. This was the only time that I used it and I had it less than a month after getting it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

great for do it your selfers

12/22/2011
By ,
Memphis, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing did exactly what it was supposed to do
I am very satisfied...I have a fully loaded Chevy Surburban
and it started my truck with no problem when my battery went out
I also have one in my Silverado.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Two Years and Going Strong

11/18/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband two years ago for Christmas. He has jump started several vehicles with it, uses it to start his lawn mower all the time, and we use it to charge our phones or for a light if the power is out via the 12V plugin. I think it was an excellent buy and am considering getting a couple more as gifts for family members.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Worked as Advertised

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dutifully charged the device as instructed by the tag attached to it, for 36 hours. That was quite a long time after the 'Grn' fully charged light had come on. My van had previously needed a charge to get it started so I decided to try starting it, it would not turn over. So I gathered up my new jump-starter and connected it as the instructions directed and it turned that baby over so fast it started in and instant. With that success I returned it to the charging station because the instructions say to charge after each use. With this experience I'd say Schumacher has made a good product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next