Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schumacher Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Schumacher Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

The Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter is a handy device to be kept in the house or at your work place. It is a powerful and robust jump starter that yields enormous power despite its compact size. This instant power jump starter comes with a built-in charger and a 12-volt DC power source. Its sleek-silver finish gives it a trendy appearance with a powerful performance to match. Bright LED indicators help you monitor the charging of the internal battery. The Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter number 8 gauge, 18 inch flexible cable remains supple even in the coldest temperatures. The jumper weighs 14 lbs, which makes it portable, compact and light. The car battery jump starter is ideal for use at campsites, college campuses, or even for jump starting stored vehicles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%30 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great compact power source!

12/18/2011
By ,
Bushkill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product specifically as a backup power source, dedicated to operate a single device, during power outages. It is compact, lightweight and attractively designed. It charged, ran my Coby TFTV1091 10-Inch Portable LCD TV for 17 hours over a 5 day test (using a cigarette lighter adapter) and recharged without a problem. I haven't used it as a jumpstarter (don't intend to) but from other reviews I've read I have no doubt it would work well. I will purchase at least one or two more soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Surprised

06/11/2014
By ,
Cordova, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the power available this is very small. Big plus to me. A brand name and another plus. As a retired body man, I've seen shops go through these left and right. A big disadvantage is many are too big, so, like I said, it's compact enough to easily find a storage space if you want to carry it with you, and being small also means easy to place under the hood. Since there are several shops close to me, I hit a few looking for some dead batteries. I boosted off two cars quickly with no problems. Be sure to keep the booster charged. The lower the charge, the shorter the time it will put out maximum power. And, it 'will' shorten the booster life. That will apply to any booster.
This is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great...but needs a cord!

10/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish it would come with a cord to charge the thing itself. I did not have a compatible cord, nor did anyone that I know (I live on a college campus, btw). But I was able to piece together something out of a household extention cord and a three-to-two prong adapter. Probably, wasn't safe, but it got the job done!
After that charging adventure it worked perfectly. And it does come with a decent charge out of the box (at least mine did, anyways), so if you're buying it last min on an emergency, it would most likely work, but the instructions recommended 36 hours of charging after opening it and finding that there's no cord :/...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Satisfied Customer

07/19/2010
By ,
Wears Valley, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does precisely what I got it for - to provide auto and other equipment battery jumps conveniently. Lightweight, portable with lots of power for the size. Can be used for aux power to campsites, etc. as well. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

compact and reliable

05/11/2014
By ,
west florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed for a jump start on my lawn tractor and it started up promptly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Good Value

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Schumacher Instant Power JumpStarter for my car, it's a good value and I read a
lot of good reviews about it...I'm happy that I purchased the Schumacher Instant Power JumpStarter for my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Started my car 4 times in a row.

07/10/2013
By ,
Midwest City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an exact replacement for one that was over 7 years old. Same exact thing just a newer model. It was cheaper to buy a new unit than replace the old battery. It did have to charge for about 48 hours before the green light came on showing fully charged. To test it I disconnected my car battery and hooked the jump starter up in its place. I was able to start my 2010 Toyota Corolla 4 times before the starter kinda slowed down some. I have faith that if ever needed it will do the job. I used my old one mostly helping others that were having battery problems.
I also use it to power a portable 12 volt air compressor. I've got a slow leak and have to air up a tire every week. Works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Worked well. Got me started.

12/02/2013
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My car battery was too low to start within a week after receiving the jump starter. Pulled it out of the back and was off and running in minutes. Much more convenient than jumper cables, etc.
I purchased one for all 3 of my daughters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

a great booster

01/18/2013
By ,
Casey County Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Schumacher instant power jump starter is compact, well built and appears to be a solid unit. I just bought it so we will have to re-evaluate it in a year. I am glad that I invested an additional $10.00 in getting a better model and a stronger charge to jump start the battery. My wife took the unit out to our car and was able to understand how to use it in only a minute or so. We live in a rural area and I did not want here to have battery problems and at the same time be in a dead zone for her cell phone. (which happens more times than you would think.) I have other items in the trunk of her car to assist her in case of other breakdown problems. My only complaint at this time is that the cables are very short and you may not have room to place the red hook-up on the positive terminal and be able to ground the black hook-up to a engine bolt or other metal object. Be careful jumping any battery by using a jumper hook-up to both positive and negative terminals on your battery as some batteries could explode. This jumper would be useful in helping out your neighbors or jump starting your lawn tractor in the springtime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great little emergency unit.

01/08/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this about 2 weeks and have already had to use it. I got it for emergencies and when the temp dropped to minus 20, and my car battery would barely turn over my engine. I connected the Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter and it really gave the car battery a lot of juice and I was on my way in just a few minutes.
Pro:
Small
Lightweight
No chager cord to worry about. (Uses any extension cord)
Lots of reserve power
12V outlet to run or charge portable devices (even has a chart of times)
Con:
Takes a long time to charge(Initial was 36 hours and after using it to jump, about 4 hours)
Wish it had a built in LED lamp
Overall, this was a good buy and I would recommend one in every trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Portable battery booster

02/07/2011
By ,
southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A dandy and useful tool for my use. Have a stored vehicle and once a week or so, as the cold weather varies up and down for the temperatures, this unit does a very good job of boosting a weak battery in the car in storage. If the car hasn't been started for a week or so, the battery needs a boost and I'm off and running. The best part is the power of this unit, which will easily work for the old truck battery, too.
The unit is easily carried around packs a punch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter
05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great but needs a cord with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
16601
Power cord:
Posted 05/11/2013
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Micro-Connectors-AC-Power-Cord-6-Black/22879208
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Saved by the Jump Starter!

01/18/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The battery in our BWW with a 4.4l V8 goes dead intermittently. Got the Jump Starter "just in case" while we troubleshoot the cause. Used it yesterday morning and it worked great. Beats digging out the jumper cables! Compact, nice storage for the cables/clamps, good instrumentation showing state of charge. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

power jump starter

07/20/2012
By ,
charlotteville ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant, just what i needed, light weight, powerful, charged upon opening box and cracked over a old ford truck that was sitting for a while 5*****...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Awesome

08/01/2013
By ,
Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome and well built unit. I ve used it several times to jump my boat and car. It has never failed me yet. It is also very durable and compact.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Great prouduct

03/23/2014
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had other similar brands first time with Schumacher,it is built better,as far as working it started a near dead 94 Ford explorerer right up without a struggle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

great for do it your selfers

12/22/2011
By ,
Memphis, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing did exactly what it was supposed to do
I am very satisfied...I have a fully loaded Chevy Surburban
and it started my truck with no problem when my battery went out
I also have one in my Silverado.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Two Years and Going Strong

11/18/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband two years ago for Christmas. He has jump started several vehicles with it, uses it to start his lawn mower all the time, and we use it to charge our phones or for a light if the power is out via the 12V plugin. I think it was an excellent buy and am considering getting a couple more as gifts for family members.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter

Excellent product

11/02/2011
By ,
Coperopolis, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For its money it is powerful, light and easily recharged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schumacher Instant Power Jump Starter
09/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to use and holds charge very well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next