Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

The Genesis 29" men's mountain bike from Thruster is the latest in mountain biking with 29" wheels for unparalleled obstacle clearance and low rolling resistance. The strong, gusseted aluminum frame features a supple front suspension fork and disc brakes up front coupled with linear pull rear brakes for sure stopping power. A 21-speed Shimano drivetrain with Tourney derailleurs and EZShift shifters provides crisp, accurate, and easy shifting. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Genesis 29" men's mountain bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%42 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

very strong but a little too tall

05/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tried tough mountain trails, very strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 22 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Breaks

05/10/2011
By ,
Worcester
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When i got this Bike the first time i had some problems. The back brakes were not working well so i hade someone take a look at it and they were put on wrong. And the Front brakes were all wrong. The brake itself was put on wrong and caused it to fail and not work right. That was the only thing wrong with it. Everything else’s was just fine. And i mean it was like riding on a cloud i loved it besides the breaks it was all vary good. But wean you by it from the store make sure it is put together right. I’m getting a new one by site to store about 5/17/11 or 5/23/11 and wean I get the new one I will make a new review.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 23 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
06/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well i bought this bike and they gave me a shipping window and it came the first day so good job on that. and the firts day i had it i was riding in the mountians and there was a log that i was going to go over so my front tire hits it and the log was rotten so my front tire planted and i flipped over the handle bars, the seat hit me in the back of the head and my bike continued to flip and roll all the way down the hill so i got to the bottom and my bike was fine not a scratch or dent, really good bike for anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 24 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Terrible Bike

05/28/2012
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off it did not shift and the brakes squeeked. Followed the idea from the other reviews and took it back to the store. After a couple of days I picked it up and the brakes did not squeak but it still did not shift. Decided to do it myself. Took it for another ride and it just did not go. I could not keep up with my wife's "Next" 26 in bike around a pond. It barely got going down a hill without peddling. Tires were split down the middle. Took it back and bought a 26 inch Schwin.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 25 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Problems

09/21/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay, had the bike for a month before I had any problems. Had some rainy weather than I rode through, then it felt like there was sand in my hubs, and one of the spokes on the rear wheel broke. I changed out for another bike, same model. Hopefully there won't be any more problems. I'll write another review about this later. Since I ride almost everyday, it get's alot of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

wow

01/24/2011
By ,
TEMECULA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS BIKE FOR THE $ YOU CANT BEAT IT .MY BOSS GOT A GT AND THIS IS JUST AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER IM SO HAPPY WITH IT.....
DONT BUY ANYTHING ELSE............
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 27 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
12/05/2010
By ,
Jupiter, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bicycle for my husband as an early
Christmas present and he loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 28 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Well worth the price

03/05/2010
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Thruster 29in bike is great for me it rides nice but as with all 29in bikes you have to make turns cautiously due to the big wheels. I own a fuji 3.0 29in bike also and this bike rides almost as good even thought it cost almost $400.00 less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 29 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Very happy

04/21/2011
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm am completely happy with the purchase. Price was great, little more assembly than I expected, but not a problem, I had skills from years ago.
Hard seat, but it seems they all have that now.
No problems at all, rides very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 30 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good to know

04/06/2011
By ,
Downingtown pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike is good for tall people. For the price it's a good buy. But a few up grades are need though . One is metal pads , two is a adjustable seat clamp. I was riding it on a dirt trails and it handled well .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 31 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

mountian bike

03/30/2011
By ,
columbus,indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the few places i found a 29 inch mountian bike. Price was affordable. Pleased with performance and design. Walmart assembled after the to store shipment, did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 32 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

I AM IMPRESSED!

06/10/2011
By ,
Ogden, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this bike and had it shipped to home. Assembly was straight forward. I did not read the instructions and had no problem putting it together. Had to tweak the front derailleur but that was no problem. I have had the bike for two days and my legs are like rubber from peddling it around on some park trails. I definitely need to get into shape and this bike will help as much as anything. I have been trying to find out the country of manufacture, not sure yet, but I had been looking at Specialized and Trek bikes and they are all made in China and cost three/four times as much. I think this 29er is a fantastic deal. Seems very sturdy for my weight of 230 pounds. The Walmart buyer that picked this bike for consumers did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great Bike

03/05/2011
By ,
Southern Cal.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a few hours on this bike and the seat needs to GO!!! Buy a more comforable seat.
Whoever put the bike together at Walmart did a horrible job....had to spend a half hour to align the gears and adjust the brakes and to make sure all the nuts and bolts are tight.
Other than that.....I LOVE THIS BIKE
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 34 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Awesome 29er

07/07/2011
By ,
Chubbuck, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this bike for fathers day. It rides high compared to the 26 inch bikes. I added a softer seat plus a seat post shock. It now rides like a Hummer H2. Love the bronze color. Only one thing I found is the chain sometimes rubes the shifter cage. I've adjusted the cable tension and it helped a little. Im sure a little more tweaking will do the trick. The front disc brake is fair but the V brake on the rear has a better bite. Im 5' 8" and it fits fine and I wear size 11 shoe and they have never rubbed the front tire while riding it. This bike also has more ground clearance than my daughters 26in. Diamondback mountain bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

mountain bike

03/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice ride and ratios are perferct.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

say what?!?!

03/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok, first of all i was very disappointed in the site to store delivery, it took 3 weekends without a bike. when i got the box home i was a bit surprised/disappointed with the color, it is not what is pictured on this site.THIS BIKE IS ORANGE. Other than that, after a lil fine tuning,and add ons and peeling the ugly stickers off this bike i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-6points
Review 37 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
06/14/2011
By ,
Queen Creek,AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike is a perfect size for me, was disapointed as the wheels were not straight but being I've worked on bikes i trued them myself as to sending it back. The only reason I ordered it was for the color as the one in the store is all white. All in all I'm happy with it, yes it has inexspenive parts but does ride very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

TRASH

03/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike looked great, but after taking it for 1 spin the front shock rubbers popped out. Everything loose and needed to be fixed. Disk brakes were very poor over all. If your looking for a bike don't buy one here, if your looking for a brake-able toy go ahead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good bike, but better to purchase from store

05/22/2011
By ,
Two Rivers, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike has met my expectations other than a few components being broken when I received the bike after taking advantage of the free shipping in May.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 40 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
06/15/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glad to finally see a 29er for so cheap, now how long must we all wait for a 29er full suspension??? Come on Walmart start bugging designers for one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 43 total reviews