Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kent International Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

The Genesis 29" men's mountain bike from Thruster is the latest in mountain biking with 29" wheels for unparalleled obstacle clearance and low rolling resistance. The strong, gusseted aluminum frame features a supple front suspension fork and disc brakes up front coupled with linear pull rear brakes for sure stopping power. A 21-speed Shimano drivetrain with Tourney derailleurs and EZShift shifters provides crisp, accurate, and easy shifting. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Genesis 29" men's mountain bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%42 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

i love it!! hahaha

01/15/2010
By ,
mission
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i buy my "29" by Store To Store wat...amazing service flawless service.
beautiful color a really "headturner",this bike have some little problems,but hey!! for a 200dlls is a nice buy for a "29"...check other bikes and believe me 600 or 800 dlls base price i think is too much,
need some upgrades...yup...front disc brake have some poor perfomance,but is safe anyway, i rate with a 8 over 10....if you have BIG feet...well......you are goin to "dance" in the pedals in some moves.....believe me it is worth the cost.
the wheels looks HUUUGE!!!!!!......hahaha...kinda monster truck in bike version...lol.
i hope Walmart in a very close future have in stock accesories (tires,hubs, etc etc) for "29's".the only way is by Internet.
best wishes for all and buy this bike,nice and cheap
with a decent performance
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Excellent Value for Money!

02/22/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not exactly a 'world class' MTB, no.... But then it only costs a fraction of what one of those costs. It's a perfectly serviceable MTB capable of handling a wide range of terrains, dealing with substantial obstacles, surviving very hard rides (I don't think I'd recommend it for downhill rockhopping, though...get a another vehicle for that...29s aren't really optimal for that use anyway). For the casual rider who wants a broadly capable MTB, which can also be enjoyed everyday on urban streets and alleys...this one's hard to beat for value. Purists might disdain the down-market shifters and the lack of rear disc brake....but that's not an issue for casual riders and the rear caliper is actually a feature for such riders due to the easier maintenance. At this writing, of course, durability still to be demonstrated, but in its 1st few runs, this one has occasioned no cause at all for any 'buyers regret'....so far it's a tremendous value for money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

29" Genesis

09/29/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seen this bike sitting out in the Garden Center patio and had to have it. The ride is alot easier than I thought it would be. The dual ratchet gear shifters are way more easier than twisting on the fly. As for the tires all I can say is OH MY GAWD!!! It's like owning the monster truck of mountain bikes! 29" tires...woo-hoo! I had researched alot of bikes but had never seen one of these before. Now I am hooked! I am 5' 5" so this thing is huge and comfortable. Changed out the seat to a more comfy one (definitely don't like the "thong" seat that came on it). Have had no problem with having to readjust anything. This is my only means of transportation so I am hoping that Walmart starts carrying accessories for them, otherwise I have to go to the bike shop. As for the overall look it's awesome! Mine is a matte orange with matte black graphics. I added a rear fender which made it look cooler and will keep the mud off the back of my pants if, and when, it rains. I totally recommend this bike for anyone. P.S. The guys are jealous because this gal has a cool bike :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

WOW!

05/21/2011
By ,
Freesoil, MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First: Walmart offered "free ship to home" and I recieved my bike in 4 days. Packaging was spectacular and I had NO damage issues. Second: This bike was EASY to assemble (with a slight exception with one break line) but went together with NO problems. Third: The parts that were pre-factory assembled, were done so with extraordinary care. I couldn't even tighten ANY bolts, as they were already as tight as possible!! Fourth: This bike is a MONSTER, and rides like a DREAM. I'm a big guy and this bike fits me PERFECT. Gearing is tight and shifting is smooth as silk. I used to have a $800 Giant, and this bike performs EVERY bit as well (a tad heavier, but this is a CAVEMAN'S bike so OH WELL). Great Buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 5 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Very strong and great price... Cant complaint

09/23/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i bought my bike probably like a month ago and i ride it about 3 times a week. The bike feels great and strong. size 10 in shoes but doesnt touch the wheel when im turning so thats a plus for me. The only complaint i have are the gears, they are not the best but for the price cant complaint. This bike looks great and is very comfortable. I'm 6" tall and for my size is perfect. I do reccommend this bike. GREAT BUY and very HAPPY with my bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 6 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

It's okay

05/25/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike as a low-end entry level bike to try out trail riding before upgrading to something more expensive. Overall, it's very attractive with the wide, knobby tires and black rims (especially when the goofy stickers are removed) and does a good job for basic point to point travel, but it isn't really designed to hold up under the rigors of actual off road mountain biking. Parts that would typically be aluminum or steel on other bikes are plastic on this bike (pedals, shift levers, brake handles, sprocket guard). Go down once, or miss a turn and go into the trees and you might end up with broken components. Most disappointing though, is the front fork suspension. After riding once or twice off road, the suspension has all but stopped working.
So beware if you intend on buying this mountain bike for actual mountain biking use- it may not last you as long as you hope.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Thruster by Genesis EZ-29er 29" Mountain Bike

07/15/2010
By ,
Highland Village, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike last weekend. The main reason I purchased it was its size, I am 6'4" 230. Since i've had it I've upgraded the seat and put on quick release hubs and quick release seat post. I have a Lincoln MKX and the size of the bike made it difficult to fit into the back. The service department at our local Walmart (Alex@ Highland Village, TX)has been excellent. They have gone above and beyond in helping to outfit and order everything. The ride is great and I have no problems riding anywhere, especially over Smartcars!!! When you ride next to cars they do a doubletake, They passangers know something is different but not what.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 8 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Not sure yet

05/03/2011
By ,
Clanton, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought the " Genesis two nine" on April 29, 2011 on a Friday evening. Since I am a large fellow and out of shape due to 2 back surgeries, i thought i'd get a bike to ride since i cant lift weights , run , etc. We also bought our daughter a new bigger bike for her birthday. So when we got home that evening, I got both bikes ready to go. Walmart put the bikes together for free. We began riding together. I had a very hard time getting the gears to change and when they did, the chain went from the front smallest sprocket to the largest very quickly and sounded like it was in blender and then it jumped completely off the sprocket and broke the plastic guard into pieces. I returned the bike to Wal- Mart and they exchanged it with out hesitation. I now have the new bike siting in the garage until i can take it to a Pro bike shop and get a tune up front to back. I can say this. I am 6'2" and 300 lbs. the bike fits perfect. I tested a 26" Mongoose but for me it was too small and too expensive. I believe once i get it checked out I will really enjoy it and be able to finally exercise and get my weight back down to about 200, as i was before surgery. Nice bike, great graphics, smooth ride ( seat change is a must). Great bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 9 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

very nice bike

10/11/2010
By ,
Phx. Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike after reading the reviews. The bike is a monster! After a few minutes riding around with a screw driver it was tuned up. The seat was a bad joke but I didn't find it funny. I ride in the desert every day and this bike has amazed me. Over all this is a very nice mountain bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 10 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Awesome!

05/26/2011
By ,
Northwest Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bike! Bought from store assembled. Got it home and went over everything to ensure tightness. Checked tire pressure - added some air and went off. What a ride! I am 6'2" 300 lbs with many knee surgeries. Bike felt wonderful and with 21 speeds to choose from - not a problem going anywhere. Cool color/graphics, white with black and red neon graphics. Brakes are spot on. I see many miles ahead! A must buy. First time I've seen a 29" bike in a department store! Just amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

BIG E-Z

01/11/2010
By ,
phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well first off the bike looks cool with the big 29" wheels buttt, does not leave much room when you are turning and if you have more that a size 10 shoe your front foot will rub on the big 29" wheel. The front brake is horrible i have adjusted and adjusted and it just does not have the stopping power to do "front indos" and i love to do them. Im having a bit of issues with the gears but i imagine with a little adjustment i can get them right "i am not a bike expert so dont quote me on this" the bike is really lite it feels like its around 25pounds but i imagine its not. Other than that i am happy with the bike it looks cool and feels cool and it does what i want except "indos"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 12 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

great for price

11/02/2010
By ,
monterrey, N.L.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike its realy big, its great for tall pepole, and works exelent. i recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 13 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
05/22/2011
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike, Seat is a little small but a gel pad seat cover works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 14 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Genesis 29er in Jan 2011 at a local store "online was out of stock"but I am glad I did GREAT STARTER BIKE FOR THE MONEY....make sure you get it tuned up and checked out if do it yourself or at a local LBS,I have been on the trails and streets with no problems, have fun riding... I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike
07/10/2011
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I AM A WALMART ASSEMBLER....I put all these bikes together, and KNOW there price differences and the QUALITY of parts and pricing of the bikes AND BRANDS that Walmart has to offer...
The Geneisis 29er is an AMAZING VALUE, it breaches and brings the high end dollars($800 plus)
bikes to an affordable price of $200.. BUT REMEMBER your getting a lot more for less but you are not getting all of the $800 of quality..YOU ARE GETTING a quality bike better than any $200 bike!!!!
If y our having any problems its due to who put the bike together, remember.....
WE ASSEMBLERS put these bikes together for the general public,...A 15 year old bought one today, he will grow, but then my last buyer was 6Ft 6 and 250...the seat, and the feel of the bike must be adjusted for the individual...I need a bigger seat as well.as many bikes offered...as it is with all bikes...the bike is fully adjustable to young and old...NO bike comes from the factory in the box shift perfect....they are within range but need the fine tuning, if your does not work correctly..does not shift smoothly or brake correctly.. then BRING IT BACK!!!!so they can do there job...right.
as for the performance of this bike.........THIS BIKE IS the best BANG for the BUCK!!!!!.........IF your a HARDCORE MTN rider. its still a nice value. but may not meet your needs of gearing and other hardcore highend requirements.....BUT that's why these bikes can cost up to
$5000 BUCK's.....THIS IS THE biggest BANG FOR THE BUCK BIKE!!! and you can always take it back......but I encourage those who by this bike if you have any troubles to have it fine tuned rather than returned......swapping it out puts you into the same boat....by the way....FINE TUNING is a small adjustment......to correct how its performing,,,,most real bikers know this...but for the many who can't build there own bikes from scratch...take i t back for an adjustment rather than a return.....Thanks for listening. Aladin from Laurel MT...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Good Product

03/16/2010
By ,
Eastman, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the Walmart 29er, I'm impressed with the bikes ride and the grearing is spot on, nice solid shifts. Some reviews say the frount brakes are weak, I'm happy with both rear and frount brakes. The complaint about your feet touching the frount wheel is correct. I wear a 9.5 shoe and have to pedal on the ball of my foot to keep from scrubing the frount wheel. The other weak linc is the frount suspention. There is no adjustments for the forks and they top out when you snatch on the bars to pull the frount wheel off the ground. The bike is a steal of a deal @ $200.00 rides as good as a $500.00 bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Great for light use

06/12/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bike if a good bike for getting you back and forth on side walks and roads. If you plan on doing any "mountain biking" it would be a bad idea to purchase this bike. It does not hold up to rocky terrain very well. I took my bike in twice in one month, once because they forgot to put grease in the bearing and a second time because the forks broke, and eventually ended up buying a higher quality bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 18 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

great bike

04/02/2011
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the genesis 29 inch white mountain bike march 30 very happy with it no problems have riden it about 40 miles no problems so far very comfortable good looking bike worth the money highly recommend :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

Bought - tried - returned

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bike had a number of annoying squeaks. Turns out the wheels were not true. Also the dust caps on the front forks were off. Returned the bike for another and looked it over carefully in the store. Brought it home and after one ride the dust caps were off the front forks and exposed the grease to the elements. The gears did not work properly and after a number of adjustments still did not work properly. The tire tubes are non-standard and did not fit a bike pump without some finagling. Good luck on finding tubes for this bike - even Walmart doesn't carry them! All in all the quality is not there ... in the long run I see lots of problems with this bike so returned it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Genesis 29" Men's Mountain Bike

happy with bike

05/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than I expected. Aluminum frame and decent components. I'm 6'2" and it is big enough for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next