Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

The Virgin Mobile prepaid 3G USB adapter offers a nationwide 3G wireless internet connection with no monthly commitments. Plans start at just $10, and with no contract or monthly commitments, you can change plans as your internet needs change. 3G broadband internet comes to you through Virgin Mobile's cell phone network, wherever there's coverage. No need to connect to wi-fi; just hook into the mobile internet network and start browsing. You can use your Broadband2Go service to work, shop, play, chat, and more — all at lightning fast speed. It's easy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation74%73 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Excellent Product

03/29/2011
By ,
Jacksboro TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I purchased it in November and I use it daily. The only problem I have with it is the company no longer offers unlimited if you hadnt already purchased the plan before 12/31/10 and it is very fragile and my children did break one. It was so valuable to me that I purchased another one. I use SKYPE and play games with it and it has been adequate for my needs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 22 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Don't waste your money!

02/14/2012
By ,
Alexandria, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been a VM customer for well over a year, grandfathered in the $40 a month unlimited plan. People were upset when they put the 5 gig cap on the unlimited plan, I myself didn't care.
Its so slow now that you would never be able to pull through 5 gig in 30 days.
Customer service tells you its a signal problem, or its your computer, or yada yada yada. Anything other than they oversold the network and now they can't keep up. I can have 4 bars (-80) signal and still read an email as it loads.
If you live in a Sprint cell phone tower, you may fair batter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 23 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160
09/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i coudn't get this product to connect to the internet.
it did not work at all, and customer service at virgin mobile was no help.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 24 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160
09/14/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I needed an internet connect while out of town. So far it has worked perfectly. No issues with speed. Netflix streams when in the EVDO mode. Coverage is more than shown on coverage map. I am out of the Orange band by at least a mile and it connects and works just fine. Much better than dial-up. No contract, 1 GB of data for 20.00. No other product out there does what this does with no contract to sign. Never used all the data yet in a month. Guess I need to watch a movie on the last day..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 25 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Good product

12/03/2011
By ,
McAlester, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I had both been using the ReadyBroadband USB stick. I began having problems with mine. It would cost me 70 megs to visit 3 websites and download email once. ReadyBroadband would/could not fix the problem so I tried the VM Broadband2Go. I'm highly impressed with this product for the most part. The only problem I'm experiencing is being able to connect to my home computer from anywhere else.
The product works well for me. If you're in the market for broadband, be sure to check it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

V-Mobile Laptop Stick

03/27/2011
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets expectations, is one of the more affordable options out there for someone who needs occasional access to mobile internet (3G) while taking trips. Also, the stick itself is nice (built well, not too big, doesn't get overly hot).
Cons: data balance expires after 1 month. this is a major con for a prepaid stick since the whole purpose is to be able to use it when you want but if you go on a 1 week trip and use 200 mb then your remaining 800 mb expire in 3 more weeks.
the other con is the connection speed/consistency. sometimes its fast, sometimes its slow, and sometimes you can't get a connection at all. Also, while traveling down I-5 from Oregon to Cali, it would sporadicly loose connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 27 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Not Bad, Expected Worse

02/27/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm fairly impressed! The area where this is used is rural. AT&T, Verizon, and a couple other wireless providers had already refused us wireless service out here. Just on a whim we bought this and gave it shot. It's not fast out there (.3Mbps) but it's still 10x faster than dial-up.
The install process and the online account setup process were seamless, not a hitch.
I was impressed enough that I went out and bought another one for use in town.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 28 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Why pay more?

01/12/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Virgin Mobile's web site clearly states that data access uses "the Sprint® 3G network". No USB modem without an external antenna will perform significantly better than this one. So why pay more for data access?
The beauty of this product is that you can sign up, then only buy time when you need it. Because you've bought from Walmart, you get a special rate that's even lower than VM's usual rate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 29 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Works great on my laptop and desktop PC's

09/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It loaded the software perfectly and I'm using it both on my old laptop and desktop PC. I did have to upgrade my old laptop to Win XP service pack 3 as it wont run on the older versions of XP, but after I did that, it installed automatically and works great. I'm getting very fast speeds (I still use my dial up connection as well) I have had it nearly a month now and so far I'm very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 30 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Using Computer Where There is No WiFi

08/12/2011
By ,
Lake Worth, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is quite helpful where there is no WiFi, but it definitely is slower and at times it is quite difficult to connect to Virgin and takes several tries. Not sure if other brands have the same issue, but I am happy to have a USB.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 31 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Worked great in Reno, Virginia Foothills Area.

09/07/2011
By ,
Aptos, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used it on my laptop for three days in a place that the coverage map showed no service.
Very good value if you buy it from Walmart (You get a 1gig card for the price of 500mb).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 32 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Meets expections

03/01/2011
By ,
Orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works good for what I need. Just for on the weekends on the coast. The sevice is ok it go's up and down one sec. to the next. I would say just for the people with a light usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 33 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Poor Reliability

02/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The USB adapter from Virgin Mobile (MC760) is evidently not designed to provide a continuous internet connection. I tried using it with a Cradlepoint cellular router. It will only hold an internet connection for anywhere from 1 hour to 1 day and requires complete removal of the USB modem and restart to re-establish a connection. This product might work for you if you only plan to use it for short sessions with a laptop, but lacks the reliability for applications requiring a dependable longer term connection. Virgin Mobile considers this normal operation and will not warranty past the initial 30 day return period. This rules out using this device for unattended applications such as cellular backup to alarm systems, remote cams, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 34 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Absolute Junk! Save your money!!

04/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Speeds as fast as a turtle and if you get logged on you got lucky! Horrible Service!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 35 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160
04/08/2012
By ,
Princeton, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a rural area where AT&T does not maintain their infrastructure for DSL, so every time it rained or stormed - according to the Help Desk - I had to check and recheck my Internet equipment. Being an IT guy this got frustrating. I researched other options, but since I live in a "technology-free-zone" this seemed like the best option. I really like this device, it works - even when it is raining outside! Awesome. Only complaint is that the website that is used to manage the device is confusing. It isn't clear how to initialize the device when it comes to payment, and there is little help when choosing between adding time and "topping off." A few hyperlinks with explanations on the page, or a guide to help you choose the best method for adding bytes would be helpful. Just a few helpers would be better than all the work that has obviously gone in to make the website look "cool" would be appreciated. I lost some money by renewing my limited-unlimited monthly time, and although I'm not completely sure even now, I probably should have topped off. Hey, Web Master get someone to take a look at your web site to help simplify or make more clear all the choices offered. I totally would recommend this device to anyone who lives in a black hole like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Works Well

12/10/2011
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does run very fast, for me. 3.2mbps. Much faster than any dial up. I would recommend this if a person uses limited internet. The unlimited aspect of this service does have a limit, making the claim a little misleading. Up to 2.5gb's. Over that, and they have the right to slow down your connection. Other than the limit mentioned, this device does work very well and I am amazed at how quickly pages load and the computer responds very fast. I am happy with the purchase, but do wish the limit on the unlimited plan was higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Not what I expected

08/21/2010
By ,
I-95
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While planning our vacation this year we found out the hotel we were staying in would be charging for internet access (hard to believe I know when every corner restaurant has it for free.) We got this thinking we could have internet access while driving up & down I-95 and while at the hotel in Philadelphia. It gets on Google really well, but won't even access the Virgin Mobile website so I can check to see how many mega bytes I have left, wouldn't send e-mails, wouldn't access movies on Netflix or stream more than a couple of minutes of TV episodes before locking up. We have wasted our money - should have just paid for internet at the hotel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 38 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Helpful tech product even on a farm.

02/25/2011
By ,
Colorado County, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This modem gets good coverage and works for me on my laptop on the farm. Rural areas have long been left out of the internet scene and to have any successful productive business you need the internet. I'm sure coverage varies so check before buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 39 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

Fantastic

03/07/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my VMBroadband2go device. I use it daily with the 40.00 a month plan I get unlimited internet usage at speeds that exceed my mothers cable internet! I wouldn't trade it for anything. I have definitely gotten my moneys worth time after time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 40 for Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go Prepaid 3G USB Adapter, VMMC76NTKIT160

best aircard value

02/19/2011
By ,
Lampasas,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At 20.00 for 1gb 30 day service and 80.00 unit price this is the best aircard value I've found.
With Windows XP I had some software difficulty
activating my device but struggled through it and
couldn't be more pleased now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
21-40 of 91 total reviews