Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Sony Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Experience some awesome surround sound with the Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer. It is designed to offer a complete audio excellence for a modern home theater system. You will appreciate the quality of the high input lines and 10" Mica reinforced cellular woofer within the Sony powered subwoofer. Movie buffs will enjoy the incorporation of Motion Feedback technology. It can distinguish modern sounds within BluRay and pick up audio that would normally be missed when not listening with a powered subwoofer for home use. A fuller and deeper thrilling bass sound adds ambiance to the movie-watching experience, letting you enjoy the magic of sound from the comfort of your home. The Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer is equipped with an automatic power-save setting that can help you save on power bills. The technology helps to reduce distortion while providing high fidelity. The Sony powered subwoofer offers quality sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
40
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%168 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
40
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great addition to any speaker system...

01/18/2013
By ,
Parkersburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
diffinately improves everyones speaker system. The bass is incredible. My Cerwin Vegas are very crisp and clear and this subwoofer is just what the doctor ordered. Very powerful and very sensitive. Cabinet is vibration-free. Very good quality. Equal to those twice and three times more money..I am considering buying one more...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Best booty bass for the money

04/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe how awesome this sounds. And for $100 bucks, unbelievable. Yes it looks like something you made in your garage but I didn't buy it for looks. I have a unique set up that makes it sound so much better. I have a wall unit with TV section. I had to take the doors off to fit my 40" TV inside. I replaced 40" with a 60"and mounted it on the outside of the wall unit. I decided to put the sub behind the tv so its in an empty shell behind the 60" and the sound is 100% better, louder, fuller, and deeper.
The only little negative is if there isn't music on the TV it shuts down but as soon as music starts playing it auto-starts in about 1-2 seconds. Doesn't due this with movies and DVDs I think you can turn this feature off but its to much work to get behind the 60". Besides it more fun when you hear that bad boy kick in and notice what a difference a sub makes.
For the money you can't beat this sub, and its a SONY.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

A bargain subwoofer

04/05/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this subwoofer to pair it up with the Vizio VSB200 sound bar (also available at Walmart). I noticed that the Vizio Sound Bar User Guide’s illustration of how to connect a powered subwoofer, was a photo of this subwoofer, so I figured Vizio had probably tried it out with its sound bar and that at the very least, the sub wouldn’t tank the sound bar.
Set up was a simple matter of connecting one cable (enclosed in the subwoofer’s box) from the soundbar to the subwoofer.
This sub doesn’t provide house-rattling bass, to be sure, but we were looking for a fuller, richer, deeper bass sound, with at least a little cinematic emphasis in dramatic scenes, and that’s what we got. Our primary use is for HD Cable television and Pay Per View movies.
I rate the sub 5 out of 5 because it has much better performance than we had any right to expect for $99.99.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elkhorn Wi
Excellent sound!
Posted 07/03/2013
This subwoofer is great! Bought the Sony av receiver to go with the already installed surround speakers in our house. Needed a subwoofer to complete the system. Bought an overpriced subwoofer at competitor that didn't sound right. Returned it, and bought this at a better price and am completely happy with it! Thank you Wal-Mart!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Amazing Subwoofer

04/06/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This powered subwoofer is amazing. I didn't think much of this unit and thought all of the reviews were overgeneralized hype, but this product lives up to its praises. The whole delivery process went rather smoothly without any issues. I unpacked the box and at first glance thought this was a little too light to be a good subwoofer. I plugged it into my system without any issue and then I was surprised by the responisvness, tone, and overall quality of this speaker. The speaker was tight and didn't overwhelm the rest of the system. We have a smaller house and we like to listen to our music loud enough to hear it thoughout the home and this woofer does an excellent job. We have a 12 inch Acoustic Research in our family room and I am thinking about buying another one of these to compliment that system. I got this on sale for $98....you cannot go wrong at that price.....or at the normal price of $139 either. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great Boom for the Buck

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a tremendous sub-woofer for $~90. As some have commented though, it really does seem rather "boomy". My average joe's definition of boomy would be difference between pounding a bass drum in your living room vs in a warehouse (boomy). I am not an audiophile by any stretch, but being a kid of the 70's...I do care about the quality of my sound. If I were strictly to grade this on the ability of this sub-woofer to make my walls rattle, then I would give it 5 stars...because I can EASILY shake the house. BUT...if I was looking for a more musical bass sound where it doesn't distract from the music or movie sound...then I would give this a 3 star rating. The good news is that this sub-woofer is adjustable which also leans it toward 5 stars so I am hoping I can find a sweet spot for this subwoofer. So far...like Goldilocks...it's either TOO loud or TOO quiet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Good Subwoofer

04/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy.... but I cannot use it to the max because my wife hates sound....
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens04/10/2015
Hi Vijay, I'm happy that the Subwoofer met your expectations.Thank you for these lovely feedback. Dave Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

WOW!

01/23/2011
By ,
Portland, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product before buying. Most were very good. I was a little bit skeptical however because I am a HUGE audio freak, and have been for years.
This sub, shakes the windows, fills the room with bass, and when I popped a cd in my blu ray player, I felt like I was live at the concert. VERY good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Excellent Sub

07/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While any man would love a higher powered larger sub this meets my needs perfectly. I think the only thing that needs to be said is my wife hates it but me and my son LOVE it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great addition

12/14/2009
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Added this subwoofer to the Vizio Soundbar (also available at Walmart) and the effect was a great home theater sound without wires stretching all over the place! Love it! And for the price, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Very good subwoofer. Great value.

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I already owned this same model of Sony subwoofer. I've used it for 6 years on my primary stereo system in my large family room. I liked it so much that I just purchased another one for a second stereo system in our large master bedroom. I'm using them to complement Polk stereo speakers.
It's amazing how much difference a subwoofer makes in completing a sound system. The sound is just so much richer.
I'm very impressed how Sony's subwoofer performs and at such a great price. I would have expected to pay a lot more for a subwoofer of this quality. Incredibly, this subwoofer at Walmart was several dollars less than what I paid for the exact same model 6 years ago!
I'm very picky when it comes to my stereo equipment. I've invested thousands of dollars in my recorded music, and several thousand dollars more in my equipment. This subwoofer is the real deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

subwoofer

12/13/2010
By ,
oregon coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent low cost sub woofer system. It performs well in my 7.1 channel surround sound system made by Sony. The original sub system burned out so this was a replacement. I am very happy with this unit and its performance. Setting the two controls about mid range works best in my system . Much higher and the neighbors will start beating on the walls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great value for a basic good enough woofer

04/05/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For around 100 bucks you won't beat this woofer. I purchased it to give a bottom to an office audio system that needed it. I also chose this product because it has clips to attach left and right leads for connecting to my system. Many woofers have only the one plug for system hook up. If you compare the quality of this woofer to the $200 - $250 ones like I did in a large electronics store, you will notice the relative inferior quality of this woofer. Just need a woofer to give a bottom? It does it. Need a woofer for a higher quality system and you are a quality music lover? You will be disappointed. The high quality is just not there, in spite of the Sony brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great sound for the price

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sony subwoofer totally exceeded my expectations...
The bass level is deep and rich...I have it connected to my Pioneer Dolby Pro Logic 5.1
surround stereo receiver.....It literally shakes the walls...I have it hook to the RCA jack..
It was easier for me with an RCA jack on my receiver ...Installation was a breeze...
It has an energy saving mode and go's on stand by when not in use..
Extremely pleased with the quality..
Would definitely recommend this product to a friend..
Michael..
Waterbury, Ct
1/30/15
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/06/2015
Hi Michael, We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. We are glad you enjoy the sound quality of this powered subwoofer. -Jen Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Very good sound, easy install!

07/18/2011
By ,
Lyons, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connection to an existing Vizio Soundbar was simple and quick. The results were FANTASTIC! Very good subwoofer sound and makes watching TV more enjoyable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Good Value For The Price

07/10/2013
By ,
Missouri City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a new receiver but kept my 15-year old speakers which still produce a remarkable sound. However, I wanted a little more bass (movie) sound. After researching several products, I found many of them to be over my budget. I finally found the Sony Subwoofer which was within my budget and the ratings were good. So far, I am pleased with my purchase. I did not give this product a 5-star rating because I wished it had a remote control to turn off the power. I have remotes to turn of the TV, CD player and DVD player. But, I still have to walk up to the subwoofer to turn of the power which is located in the back of the subwoofer. Also, I have only had the subwoofer for a month. I feel after a product has been used for a few additional months, I can then truly rate the product. By the way, I ordered this product online and picked up at the store. The box was wrapped very securely but after opening the box, I could tell the product had been returned by a previous customer. The power cord and paper work were lying loosely in the box. The nonskid items to be placed on the bottom to protect floors and/or furniture were missing. But, since the product has worked well, I choose not to request an exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

More then I expected

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sub online at Wal-Mart it was cheaper online including shipping then at the store ,I waited three days and it arrived .plugged it in hooked up the audio cable and away we went .I am using this sub as an add-on for my Onkyo sound system it is a very good match for my needs .The bass is adjustable and the line input is adjustable so you have complete control over your audio .In addition there are also speaker inputs and outputs very impressive peace of equipment for very little money I rate this 11 on a scale of 10.very very happy with this purchase!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Nice product, great price...

03/29/2012
By ,
Marion, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't really used this sub-woofer a lot (YET) but, I have done some testing with it and IT ROCKS!! I was looking for a sub to enhance my Vizio soundbar that's hooked up to PS3 and TV. This thing does more than deliver, it nearly chips the paint off of my walls! I'm using it in a fairly small room so I only have the level set up to about half. In a larger room, you could really crank it up and be very satisfied. For $99 you can't go wrong with this sub-woofer. I've used it to watch (listen) to some ball games and a couple of movies. It sounds spectacular. I also tried it out with a couple video games and the sound really puts you "in" the game. I set the cut-off frequency to max since I will rarely (if ever) encounter a frequency that will actually make it shut off. The stand-by mode is awesome too. Turn it on, let it go, and when it's not receiving an audio signal, it shuts off (sleeps). Buy this and you'll be happy, like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Big boom for your room!

07/20/2010
By ,
Frederick, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big boom at a great price. Efficient and deep 10" active sub. Lots of connectivity for both Sub/Satellite or direct sub. Has cut-off and and bass volume knobs for customizing your subwoofer. Sub can be set to turn off after 1 min of inactivity, thus saving on your electrical bill.
Easy to setup and will add that degree of bass you need for your sound system at a very competetive price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

good value

02/25/2011
By ,
stuart, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent product for the price. only downside is auto power doesn't work very well, so use power button (lower left back panel).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Small speaker, incredibly large sound!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked up some reviews on this subwoofer before I bought it. I was satisfied with them. After getting home and setting up a subwoofer with my new receiver, I was astounded. I can't believe how much low end I've been missing for all these years. It is powerful enough to make my floor shake, but it does not sound cheap.I am considering buying a second one. My receiver will support two.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next