Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Sony Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Experience some awesome surround sound with the Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer. It is designed to offer a complete audio excellence for a modern home theater system. You will appreciate the quality of the high input lines and 10" Mica reinforced cellular woofer within the Sony powered subwoofer. Movie buffs will enjoy the incorporation of Motion Feedback technology. It can distinguish modern sounds within BluRay and pick up audio that would normally be missed when not listening with a powered subwoofer for home use. A fuller and deeper thrilling bass sound adds ambiance to the movie-watching experience, letting you enjoy the magic of sound from the comfort of your home. The Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer is equipped with an automatic power-save setting that can help you save on power bills. The technology helps to reduce distortion while providing high fidelity. The Sony powered subwoofer offers quality sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
39
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 171reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
39
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great addition to any speaker system...

01/18/2013
By ,
Parkersburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
diffinately improves everyones speaker system. The bass is incredible. My Cerwin Vegas are very crisp and clear and this subwoofer is just what the doctor ordered. Very powerful and very sensitive. Cabinet is vibration-free. Very good quality. Equal to those twice and three times more money..I am considering buying one more...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great Boom for the Buck

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a tremendous sub-woofer for $~90. As some have commented though, it really does seem rather "boomy". My average joe's definition of boomy would be difference between pounding a bass drum in your living room vs in a warehouse (boomy). I am not an audiophile by any stretch, but being a kid of the 70's...I do care about the quality of my sound. If I were strictly to grade this on the ability of this sub-woofer to make my walls rattle, then I would give it 5 stars...because I can EASILY shake the house. BUT...if I was looking for a more musical bass sound where it doesn't distract from the music or movie sound...then I would give this a 3 star rating. The good news is that this sub-woofer is adjustable which also leans it toward 5 stars so I am hoping I can find a sweet spot for this subwoofer. So far...like Goldilocks...it's either TOO loud or TOO quiet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

A bargain subwoofer

04/05/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this subwoofer to pair it up with the Vizio VSB200 sound bar (also available at Walmart). I noticed that the Vizio Sound Bar User Guide’s illustration of how to connect a powered subwoofer, was a photo of this subwoofer, so I figured Vizio had probably tried it out with its sound bar and that at the very least, the sub wouldn’t tank the sound bar.
Set up was a simple matter of connecting one cable (enclosed in the subwoofer’s box) from the soundbar to the subwoofer.
This sub doesn’t provide house-rattling bass, to be sure, but we were looking for a fuller, richer, deeper bass sound, with at least a little cinematic emphasis in dramatic scenes, and that’s what we got. Our primary use is for HD Cable television and Pay Per View movies.
I rate the sub 5 out of 5 because it has much better performance than we had any right to expect for $99.99.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elkhorn Wi
Excellent sound!
Posted 07/03/2013
This subwoofer is great! Bought the Sony av receiver to go with the already installed surround speakers in our house. Needed a subwoofer to complete the system. Bought an overpriced subwoofer at competitor that didn't sound right. Returned it, and bought this at a better price and am completely happy with it! Thank you Wal-Mart!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Amazing Subwoofer

04/06/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This powered subwoofer is amazing. I didn't think much of this unit and thought all of the reviews were overgeneralized hype, but this product lives up to its praises. The whole delivery process went rather smoothly without any issues. I unpacked the box and at first glance thought this was a little too light to be a good subwoofer. I plugged it into my system without any issue and then I was surprised by the responisvness, tone, and overall quality of this speaker. The speaker was tight and didn't overwhelm the rest of the system. We have a smaller house and we like to listen to our music loud enough to hear it thoughout the home and this woofer does an excellent job. We have a 12 inch Acoustic Research in our family room and I am thinking about buying another one of these to compliment that system. I got this on sale for $98....you cannot go wrong at that price.....or at the normal price of $139 either. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great sound for the price

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sony subwoofer totally exceeded my expectations...
The bass level is deep and rich...I have it connected to my Pioneer Dolby Pro Logic 5.1
surround stereo receiver.....It literally shakes the walls...I have it hook to the RCA jack..
It was easier for me with an RCA jack on my receiver ...Installation was a breeze...
It has an energy saving mode and go's on stand by when not in use..
Extremely pleased with the quality..
Would definitely recommend this product to a friend..
Michael..
Waterbury, Ct
1/30/15
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/06/2015
Hi Michael, We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. We are glad you enjoy the sound quality of this powered subwoofer. -Jen Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

More then I expected

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sub online at Wal-Mart it was cheaper online including shipping then at the store ,I waited three days and it arrived .plugged it in hooked up the audio cable and away we went .I am using this sub as an add-on for my Onkyo sound system it is a very good match for my needs .The bass is adjustable and the line input is adjustable so you have complete control over your audio .In addition there are also speaker inputs and outputs very impressive peace of equipment for very little money I rate this 11 on a scale of 10.very very happy with this purchase!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Small speaker, incredibly large sound!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked up some reviews on this subwoofer before I bought it. I was satisfied with them. After getting home and setting up a subwoofer with my new receiver, I was astounded. I can't believe how much low end I've been missing for all these years. It is powerful enough to make my floor shake, but it does not sound cheap.I am considering buying a second one. My receiver will support two.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Very good subwoofer. Great value.

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I already owned this same model of Sony subwoofer. I've used it for 6 years on my primary stereo system in my large family room. I liked it so much that I just purchased another one for a second stereo system in our large master bedroom. I'm using them to complement Polk stereo speakers.
It's amazing how much difference a subwoofer makes in completing a sound system. The sound is just so much richer.
I'm very impressed how Sony's subwoofer performs and at such a great price. I would have expected to pay a lot more for a subwoofer of this quality. Incredibly, this subwoofer at Walmart was several dollars less than what I paid for the exact same model 6 years ago!
I'm very picky when it comes to my stereo equipment. I've invested thousands of dollars in my recorded music, and several thousand dollars more in my equipment. This subwoofer is the real deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

WOW!

01/23/2011
By ,
Portland, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product before buying. Most were very good. I was a little bit skeptical however because I am a HUGE audio freak, and have been for years.
This sub, shakes the windows, fills the room with bass, and when I popped a cd in my blu ray player, I felt like I was live at the concert. VERY good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great replacement for an old sub.

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We need a new replacement for our subwoofer from our surround sound. I looked at the reviews for this sub and was hoping it lived up to the great reviews. And it does. Well work the money for the quality of the sound and how it is built. If you are looking for an reasonable subwoofer with great sound and quality do not hesitate to purchase this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great Sound!!!

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I purchased this sub-woofer to replace my old magnavox that went out and so far I'm very impressed the bass is deep and full without any distortion. Overall I would highly recommended this sub-woofer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Excellent Sub

07/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While any man would love a higher powered larger sub this meets my needs perfectly. I think the only thing that needs to be said is my wife hates it but me and my son LOVE it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

real nice little subwoofer.

12/18/2014
By ,
spokane,wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you really need to do some adjusting but once you get it tuned in it is sweet. it has what they call auto stand by. when I first started using it, it really bugged me. it was shutting off all the time when I was watching tv. all you need to do it make sure the sub is getting enough power to keep on. there are a couple ways of doing that. on the back of the sub there is a level adjustment, you can turn that up and in the settings for the receiver on my str-dh750 i went in and turned up the subwoofer up to 10 decibels, now it works great when I turn the receiver off that sub turns off too.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great addition

12/14/2009
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Added this subwoofer to the Vizio Soundbar (also available at Walmart) and the effect was a great home theater sound without wires stretching all over the place! Love it! And for the price, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Worth about what it cost

01/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bass is muddy and poorly defined. It adds some oomph but lacks the clarity I wanted.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/09/2015
Hello GDT01, thank you for your message. That is unfortunate that the Powered Subwoofer did not meet your expectations. However, thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Oscar.Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

The bass is back

01/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When my subwoofer died, surround sound just wasn't the same. The sony subwoofer was easy to install and brings all audio to life. Just can't listen to music or watch movies without it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

subwoofer

12/13/2010
By ,
oregon coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent low cost sub woofer system. It performs well in my 7.1 channel surround sound system made by Sony. The original sub system burned out so this was a replacement. I am very happy with this unit and its performance. Setting the two controls about mid range works best in my system . Much higher and the neighbors will start beating on the walls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

Great value for a basic good enough woofer

04/05/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For around 100 bucks you won't beat this woofer. I purchased it to give a bottom to an office audio system that needed it. I also chose this product because it has clips to attach left and right leads for connecting to my system. Many woofers have only the one plug for system hook up. If you compare the quality of this woofer to the $200 - $250 ones like I did in a large electronics store, you will notice the relative inferior quality of this woofer. Just need a woofer to give a bottom? It does it. Need a woofer for a higher quality system and you are a quality music lover? You will be disappointed. The high quality is just not there, in spite of the Sony brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

One Awesome Sub

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly a great investment in sound pleasure no complaints just satisfaction. Great quality for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony SA-W2500 10" Powered Subwoofer

In a pinch

12/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's alright it's not the worst one I have ever had
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next