Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ooma Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Ooma Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Get the Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System and call anyone, anywhere in the U.S. with no monthly fee to worry about. It comes with useful features of caller-ID, in-network calling, and call-waiting at no extra charge. The Internet phone system is designed for exceptional voice clarity matching the crisp, acoustic performance of a landline. It is also compatible with corded and cordless phones. The My Ooma provides you with versatile features like hear messages, check call logs, prepay your international calling, or even set up voicemail notifications 24 hours a day. The Ooma is a highly intuitive setup that allows you to create a unique phone number, with up to nine additional numbers for everyone in the family and give each of them a distinct ringtone for easy caller recognition. Make three-way conference calls with your family and friends at the click of the button using this free home phone service. Ignore unwanted calls and messages with the community blacklist feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.47 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1049 Reviews) 1031
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
749
4 stars
167
3 stars
50
2 stars
43
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation91%919 out of 1,005reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
83 Questions | 275 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
749
4 stars
167
3 stars
50
2 stars
43
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

I've tried them all and THIS is the one !

03/21/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I considered a landline, but it's now fiberoptic in my town. So, in the event of a widespread power outage like we had a few years ago, the phone service would still be on the fritz.
I started with Magic Jack. Nothing but probs. They couldn't hear me or me not hear them. Complaints of echoing. Dropped calls. Frustrations.
Then I tried Net-Talk, same thing.
Then I tried Basic Talk. Echoing and poor call quality.
Then I tried Ooma Telo VOIP. Had for about two weeks now and no complaints. Crisp, easy to hear, no echoing or other digital noise. This one's a keeper.
Sure, the upfront cost kept me away, but after trying all the others, except Vonage, I went to Ooma. After the equipment cost it's free sailing. I checked my state taxes for California and was told $4.95 a month. THAT'S IT ! 5 bucks a month for home phone service. Even if you spread the cost of the equipment of $120 at $10 a month for one year to cover equipment cost, $15 a month for one year for phone service is a steal. After that first year it only costs you $5mo for the state taxes. NOT BAD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Excellent review.
Posted 04/16/2014
You cover every question someone would consider before purchase, and answered very informative. Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Best overall VOIP

02/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did extensive research into VOIP and decided on OOMA. While a few others may have comparable service,OOMA has the best sound and technology.Its virtually free after buying the equipment-anywhere from 99 -150 online,and you only pay around 3.50 monthly in taxes.Free local and long distance.Nice online dashboard to manage numbers and features.For 9.99 a month you get a whole slew of extra features,some are pretty cool.I will opt for the premier after my 90 day free trial.Caller ID,voicemail are included free without premier.Most people wont need the other fancy features but again..some of them are really cool..like hearing your voicemails in an email..call blocking and call forwarding etc.It was the reviews that finally decided it for me.While you may choose another similar product,i can only say THIS product..OOMA is great and exceeded my expectations.No dropped calls..clear sound..loud enough..just a happy camper.Easy to install too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Good-sounding phone calls at a can't-beat price

12/14/2013
By ,
Dixon, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Ooma Telo after about a year of hemming and hawing. Long story short, we cancelled our internet/VOIP provider's service because it wasn't dependable, went with a new ISP and purchased a Telo for a landline. The Telo gives good-quality calls with little or no lag. Setup took about 10 minutes, though in some cases it may take up to 25 (according to the documentation). The Telo guide was bare-bones basic but sufficient for the set-up. We never needed to contact customer service--which, so far as I can see from Ooma's web page, seems to be mostly of the online variety. The unit functions perfectly with our existing wireless handset. But we now have a non-local number. We'd intended to port our old number but found that we'd have had to continue service with our former phone provider for the duration of the porting process (Ooma says this can take "two to three weeks"). Haven't tried the Ooma Premier services, though they're offered free for a trial period. Count me satisfied with the Basic service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Excellent alternative to high priced phone service

02/05/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased the Ooma system I was looking for something that would allow me to have a home phone that wouldn't cost me an arm and a leg. After reading through articles on the system I felt it was the lesser of the evils I found, so why not give it a try. I ordered the unit and it arrived actually much faster than I thought it would and it was soon time to decide whether to keep the old phone number or get a new one. I opted for the new one. The set up was extremely easy and direct, answer the questions on the page and hit next, choose a new phone number from the list and continue to the end.
After the "activation" was complete, it's plug and play. Setting up the house wide phones could be a slight problem for some people, but to have a phone, it couldn't be any easier.
The first call I made was long distance, and the call was as clear as a bell, I believe even better than the original Cox system. You just have to remember to drop off the "Premier Package" before the 60 free days or you will be adding another $10 to the monthly bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Works like a charm

03/07/2014
By ,
Parker, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for ways to save money and I considered getting rid of my home phone completely until a friend of mine told me he had this. I researched it and it seemed to good to be true at first glance. I thought this is my answer to saving money. I am saving about 40-50 dollars per month by using Ooma and there is NO differrence at all. Installation was a breeze, calls are perfect, unit is stylish with more features than I had before and the price cannot be beat. I am paying 3.79 per month to have a home phone and I dont have long distance charges. I can use all of my existing phones and it even has a built in answering system so I was able to do away with that too. I would reccommend Ooma to everyone I meet and dont let the phone companies tell you that VOIP does not work - it does and there is NO difference at all. Excellent customer service, excellent device and excellent price - what more could you ask for?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Excellent VOIP (former MagicJack)

04/02/2014
By ,
shelbyville, in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used magicjack for years but recently in the last year or so the service has went downhill. I have not changed service providers or anything else. I got to the point I had to switch. Saw a news report on FOX about ooma and went to work doing my research online. The reviews by several tech magazines and websites report the service has the best VOIP quality. I have already paid for both my magicjack #'s till 2015 and 2017. Instead of porting, I just forwarded the numbers over. The Ooma device is designed so you can connect it between your ISP modem and your router/computer to get the best call quality. It had a wide selection of local numbers to pick when activated it, based on the ooma calculator the phone bill will only be 3.82 a month (unless I keep the premier features which is + 10$). After the premier feature trial runs out, I am staying with the basic sevice of 3.82 a month. People that I called on the magicjack (cellphones mostly), no longer complain about my phone skipping, stuttering, etc, they said it is really clear. Im sold on ooma!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Wierd installation

01/04/2010
By ,
Torrance, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installation took longer than expected partly due to different variations possible configurations. It seemed like Ooma tried to make it simple but actually made it more complicated. In a typical scenario of a cable modem with a wireless router, they suggested installing the device between the modem and router. They do NOT recommend plugging straight into the router. It seemed to work ok but after a week I started to drop calls and then it would shut down and route all my calls to the voice mail. The web site wasn't much help trouble shooting this problem and after about another week of problems I figured out that this device works better if it IS plugged straight into the router, haven't had any problems since.
It also has intermittent hum as well as an occasional echo. The echo can be quite annoying at times and the only way I've been able to stop it is to end the call and re-dial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Why didn't I do this sooner?

03/31/2014
By ,
Hilllsborough, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm frugal. My landline was there for local calls, power outages and 911. I use my cell phone for out-of-area calls. CenturyLink has increased the cost of that landline from about $15 to $26 a month over the past couple of years. So I pulled the plug, and I'm SO happy. I now have community-blocked calls from spammers and indivually blocked calls as well for which CL wanted extra bucks FOR NINE!! I also have caller id for which CL wanted extra bucks. And I have "free" nationwide calling, for which CL wanted enormous extra bucks. The call/sound quality is excellent. I can use the multi-ring feature to have my cell phone ring whenever someone calls my home phone - never miss a call, unless you want to. The $10 a month for "Premier" service is a bargain. Luv it! And with incentives I even saved the cost of porting my old home phone number. Way to go, Ooma.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

No free telephony at all...

08/22/2012
By ,
Lake Mary, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer beware!
Ooma has changed the deal, this is not a one time bulk payment for unlimited telephone service for as long as the device lasted... not anymore! now the company is charging $4 per month on top of you having to buy the interface. Not a good deal anymore, if you divide the cost of the device by the 12 months of warranty plus the $4 per month and the extra $1 for yearly taxes, you will end up paying around $22 per month... that's the new deal, and this is considering they replace your interface if it breaks within the warranty period.
There are companies that offer a way better deal and way better customer service. Ooma claims the $4 they are charging is government's taxes and fees... but you can type in your browser "VoIpo" and you will see that this company charges $5/month and you don't have to buy the interface, and this is not a "none for profit company"... so? what happened to the "mandatory government taxes and fees"?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
The taxes & fees are charged by the govt.
Posted 06/09/2013
Not by the device mfr. You pay those fees and taxes when you pay for a landline, so it's a wash, when comparing the 2 systems (except you pay more for a landline, since it's a % of your basic fee....In my case, I pay a basic fee of $35 to AT&T for a landline, plus $15 in taxes & fees). How long it takes you to recoup the cost of hte Ooma devices (and the Telo phones or anything else you choose to buy for the Ooma system) depends on your current landline cost. Then after that recoup time, you start saving 100% of the cost of the landline. I'd make up the cost of the Ooma in just a few months because of the high amount for my landline account (about $50/mo).
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Good value but found it cheaper after I purchased

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was recommended to me by a friend who had issues with her MagicJack. She liked this product better. I have had no issues with this product so far. The only thing that happened was I found it $30 cheaper at another store after I had made the purchase. Other than that I am satisfied. Oh and our Best Buy wouldn't price match this item . That was pretty bogus for Best Buy and their price match guarantee thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Works Great

04/22/2014
By ,
Claypool, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure if my DSL speed was going to work. I have 3mb speeds and it works fine. Easy to setup and uses our cordless home phone. Taxes in my area are about $4 a month. Great item !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Good Product

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound on the Ooma is great. Works well, and is so much cheaper than the phone company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

I like it!!

04/17/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am satisfied with this item. The reviews helped, but I didn't like the idea of submitting my credit card information for automatic monthly deductions, but the cost seems to be excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Probably a great product if you live in the states

02/06/2010
By ,
Guam, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a terrible customer service experience with Ooma over this purchase. If you live in the continental US, Alaska, Hawaii, or Puerto Rico, and have a decent internet connection, you'll probably be fine...
If you live in one of the US territories, look elsewhere. After receiving an email from Ooma stating I'd have no problem using this where I live, I went ahead & bought this to save on long distance rates. Once I got it, I realized that they require a credit card to set this up, but don't accept anything but an address in the 50 states or Puerto Rico. Their 800 number doesn't work from overeas, either, but you can reach them at their corporate phone number which is (650) 325-6662. That said, if you ask to talk to someone, you'll either get tech support in the Philippines or you just get an email address unless you know the person's number.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Unbelievable

10/15/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried on spending over $200 on a phone system I never heard of but I am so happy I did less then $4.00 for a month taxes and 911 fees it will take just 7 months to pay for itself I can fax with it I could not do that with the Magic Jack the Magic Jack was a hit or miss with calls and I had to reboot my computer 8 to 10 times a day to keep it working with Ooma it's a perfect phone system never had a dropped call and it dose not hook up through the computer so no more reboots. This is a leap of faith well worth the jump!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Doesn't Fax, Terrible Customer Service

01/31/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased Ooma telo. Customer service is terrible. Voice quality is good. Ooma does not like to Fax. My system worked for a while, then stopped faxing. Contacted customer service. They route you around in hopes you will go away. The first two levels are in the Philipines and the third is in Palo Alto. The first two really resist letting you go to the third. All three levels finally admitted that faxing with the Ooma was on a "Best effort Basis" not Really not one of its strong points. If you have talked to the third level of of customer support and need to call them back, you have to go through the first two again and they really fight you. The really try to keep you talking to them in the Philipines. I am going to return my unit to Costco and go back to Time Warner. It works and Customer service is responsive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Great value

04/09/2014
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. Only had it about 10 days, but our old phone # has been ported over and I'm loving not paying a phone bill each month (other than $3.60 in taxes)!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Overall worth the money

06/06/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First the Ooma installed very easy between the cable modem and router without any noticeable internet speed degradation. The product is well built, the customer service has been good, the voice clarity and volume are excellent. There are a couple of issues however. There is a small 1/4 second or so latency like when you see satellite interviews on TV, not quite as bad as those but it does lend to overtalking the other person because of the delay. Because of this, we decided to keep it to replace our long distance carrier only but have not moved our main line over to Ooma yet. Second, I took internet speed benchmarks using speedtest.net before installing Ooma then after when not in use but turned on, and during a phone call. As mentioned before, there is not internet speed degradation when dormant, I get 14ms latency, 20 Mb/s download, 4 Mb/s upload over cable internet. However, during a phone call, the results have been consistently lower, I still get 14ms latency (ping), but half the download speed, 10 Mb/s and much slower upload speed, 0.25 Mb/s. I don't notice a real difference in general internet usage like reading a news site, but I wouldn't want to be doing large uploads like sending pictures, etc during a Ooma phonecall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Free calls with ooma

12/26/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first heard of the ooma calling unit, I was a little skeptical of how clear the conversations would be. I must say after purchasing the unit , it was money well spent. The setup & activation was easy. I am now making calls nationwide for FREE. I will have to pay a yearly tax of approx. 12.00, but that it much better than the $45.00 I was paying per month for my local telephone service.
The only con to this unit is I was not able to Port my telephone number over to ooma at this time, and they didnot have any local telephone numbers to assign to me.
I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend the purchase of the ooma.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ooma Telo VOIP Phone System

Not the best

12/20/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One problem I've experienced using this product is that it makes a noise to the person on the other end every 5 or 10 minutes that sounds like I'm hitting the buttons on the phone. It beeps in their ear real loud. I can't hear that on my end, so I didn't even know it was happening. I've done different experiments with different phones and going back and forth between this product and my land line, and it seems the problem is inside this machine somehow.
Also, there is a lot of delay in the transmission of our voices. This ends up making us take on top of one another which is annoying. It's like the old-time cell phones. I have a 3Mb DSL connection, so I'd figure it would be fast enough.
The sound is also very loud in the phone on both ends. It's like the power is so strong that you can't turn the volume down low enough. You end up having to hold the phone away from your ear all the time, so that also gets annoying.
Considering the lack of monthly fees except for the taxes, I'd say this may be great for some people to use for long distance, or just as a second line to use occasionally. I talk for long periods so it's not of much use to me. I'm not interested in dealing with the annoying parts for that long.
I'll be returning this product, but it's not necessarily a piece of junk or anything. The voice mail seems to work good, and the machine itself is cool. It has an adjustable light dimmer that's really a cool idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next