Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Turtle Beach Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Turtle Beach Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Add more excitement and thrill to your favorite games with the Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset. It is an ideal product for hardcore gamers who want to experience the sounds in their favorite PC games to the maximum. This lightweight PC Gaming Headset is apt for long gaming sessions and over the head design ensures maximum comfort for the user. The Turtle Beach Headset comes equipped with 40 mm surround sound speakers which delivers high quality audio output. These speakers are accompanied with soft-cushioned pads that are comfortable on the ears. The Noise Reduction Headset promises to give outstanding sound quality by eliminating unwanted distractions. It gives you an added advantage of not getting distracted in middle of a serious gaming session. You can easily fold the headsets and carry it around where ever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
2.911 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation52%29 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Great headset

11/29/2012
By ,
L:exington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I know this is a lil confusing, I bought my first set of Z1's and they were great. Sounded great light weight and comfortable, then the bracket for 1 f the ear pieces broke. I went to exchange them but the store didn't have anymore and without the receipt there was nothing I could do. So I bought a second set from walmart.com. They were delivered quickly but when I used them I found out that the new set was defective as well. In this case I got refunded my money. Being that I dj online and needed a good headset that was light weight and a set that had a mic wand long enough to reach I ordered another set of Z1's, Because of my experience with my first set is why I ordered again. I would say if you want a light weight headset with good quality sound and need a longer mic wand and can get a solid quality set of Z1's you would be very happy, I also pruchased a set of the Z2's and I like these as well but these cover the whole ear which makes my ears sweat if worn for a long time this is why I love the Z1's,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Great buy

01/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previous headsets that I've purchased (ones from Logitech) have broken down on me after moderate use of about 6 months. I can feel the sturdiness of this Turtle Beach headset. It blocks out sound and reproduces the frequencies accurately. The mic is very adjustable and people can hear me loud and clear. Much better pricing compared to their other headsets and worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Good sound quality but.......

06/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased a pair of these headphones to replace an old set that was dying out. However, the first pair I purchased were broken out of the bgox as one of the clips holding the right headphone was broken clean off. I exchanged them, figuring it was just a faulty pair. I got another set and tried them. The sound quality from these headphones I will say is excellent. However, the second pair literally broke in the same exact spot not 48 hours after purchase. It is greatly disappointing, since these have such an excellent sound quality that the design would be so flimsy. If they weren't so fragile, I would consider them an excellent buy, however it seems they break if you even breathe on them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Jacinto, CA
good sound bad design
Posted 07/08/2011
I recently bought a pair of these at Wal-Mart. I used them for only a few days and then the left earpiece broke off. I thought it was odd so I took it back to the store and since i didn't have a receipt i had to get an exchange. I took the new pair home and much to my dismay they came OUT the box broken...both sides. I took it back and got store credit. I won't be buying these ever again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Do Not Buy These!

07/10/2011
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a set of these and they broke within a month. I take care of my equipment and was not rough with them. If you look where he head strap connects to the earpiece it's a very small cylindrical connection. You can't see it by the photo, but this cylindrical piece is actually in two pieces and only half of it connects to the earpiece making it very weak there. That is where it broke. Very poor design. This is inexcusable even at half of the $30.00 price tag. The question is not if they will break, but when.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset
02/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these after my logitech clear-chat headset bit the dust after 6-8 months. the wiring on them broke inside the cord and as i am an online gamer i needed a new set. i bought these and when i came online, my gaming buddies immediately noticed and commented on the clarity of this headset. they said i was much easier to understand (which is important as we are from all over the world so sometimes the accent can make it difficult to understand clearly) and my mic wasnt breaking up like the other one was. the sound quality is crystal clear and can be turned up quite loud. and i love that this headset has a velcro strap attached to the cord to bundle up the cord which is nice as they have a 10ft cord which is way too long for someone like me who is playing on a laptop and only needs 2-3ft of cord so i can bundle up the excess and im not constantly catching the cord on anything as a move around (which is partly how my logitech headset ended up with a short in the cord).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Great Deal

12/29/2010
By ,
OHIO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this today and tried it out with a few games and some music. Great deal. Sound is amazing and it cancels out all outside noise.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset
10/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The headset does have good sound quality but the small clip that was mentioned in other reviews has broken after 4 months of normal use. Based on my experience and the reviews of others this small clip seems to be a flaw in the product. If I had seen the reviews prior to purchase I would not have wasted the money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Joints break very easily.

06/23/2012
By ,
Land o Lakes, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As many of the reviews have indicated, this headset is very easily broken. I'm 42, I take care of my toys. But just taking this thing on and off in regular use, it's broken twice. I think it's because there are too many joints. The ear cushins swival both horizonally and latterally. I'm not sure why this "feature" exists. The human head is either wide or long, both of which are accomodated by extending the length of the arms. The ear cushins can swival and tilt and twist into positions that would make a yoga master jealous. But it's pointless. And the degrade the strenght of the piece #cause them to break#. After a fixing one break, and now a second a week later, I'm done. At least I know what NOT to look for this time. I would say a pro is that they were cheap #about $20 as I recall#. But in this case, "cheap" is quality, not value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Fell Apert in 1 Month

10/03/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound quality was great and I thought this was a good deal... but after 1 month of moderate usage one of the earpieces fell right off on its own. Now they are unusable and I've thrown my money away. You get what you pay for... but I would have wanted these to last longer than 1 month...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

skype calls

04/14/2011
By ,
Iraq
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having issues making calls on skype. I have a built in mic in my laptop and because there was lots of back-round noise my calls weren't so good. With this headset I can hear great and the other end hears me even better. Perfect for what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

It was an ALRIGHT product.

02/20/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was my first headset. I thought "Cheaper the better" well thats not the case when buying a headset for everyday gamer use. These were alright for the price, did the job well and were fine for gaming. But they don't last long. After my 7th month of owning these they snapped. One day I didn't feel the right ear piece on me anymore..It was dangling off its cords next to me. Also because you can't hear yourself when you talk on the mic I got in trouble...ALOT...because I was too loud(screaming coz I don't think the other gamers can hear me aha). Lastly im an all day gamer..Those are DEFINATELY uncomfortable if you plan to use them non-stop. If you are considering buying these, PLEASE do not and consider buying the Turtle Beaches x12. Those are incredible and for $20 bucks more you get so much more. They are compatible with PC & XBOX, extremely comfortable, you can hear yourself when you talk, enhances your gaming experience, and the control on the bass is an awesome feature. Do me a favor and spend $20 bucks more on a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Used 4 times and BOTH earpiece holders broke

10/12/2011
By ,
Lexington, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Honestly, I am not a complainer, but come on. There are two small plastic pieces that hold the actual earphone part onto the body of the headset, and both broke within 2 weeks. I honestly did not use them more than 6 times. Sadly, I didn't keep the original packaging so I can't return. But those pieces of plastic are entirely substandard and just leaving this as a warning to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Great find. Excellent Headset!

04/21/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great headset. I've used many headsets in my time and this by no means the best one, but for the money it is great. The sound quality of both the headphones and the mic is excellent. My only gripes are the lack of enough bass and the headset can become quite uncomfortable but only after long periods of time, as expected. The in-line volume control is a great feature. Overall this is a wonderful headset and I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Great Sound Poor Manufactring

10/19/2011
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second pair, both of them had great sound quality but both of them broke very quickly so we will see how long the third on lasts.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Inexpensive, but sounds excellent.

12/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't imagine what the more expensive headphones sound like. I got these for my
son who plays MW2 and he loves them. People in the game think that he is cheating because he can hear everything. I have tried them as well and the sound quality is excellent for listening to music etc. They are also comfortable to wear. He enjoys the phones and I saved a bunch
of money. WHAT A DEAL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Break at pivot point
Posted 08/29/2011
Extremely cheap design where the earphone rotates on a flange--all plastic and all weakly designed.
Save your money for something else.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset
11/13/2011
By ,
st.louis, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very good headset at first but over time they break so easy, just over a months time. Not really a good buy for that much money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

Very nice, for the price.

01/14/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This headset is great for the price, not many bad things to say about it. Good sound quality and mic quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset

As expected from Turtle Beach brand.

09/23/2011
By ,
Springfield, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I currently own two versions of turtle beach headsets the X11 for the XBOX 360 and now the Z1's for PC. As expected the best sound quality and noise cancellation for the price if not better. Installation was simple (plug n play) no driver installation or hardware install. I have owned 2 Logitech Headsets (with mic boom) the usb cable would twine itself and would just crinkle needed constant unwinding. So far so good with the Z1's I do not see any issues coming up for a real long time if anything maybe an upgrade :) over all 5/5 Value 5/5 Expectation Met. If you are looking for a cheap and reliable headset with mic boom the Z1 is for you what you waiting for go buy now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset
01/05/2012
By ,
CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's extremely comfortable and provides great sound, but I've gone through three of them in a year. It keeps breaking in the same place where the ear piece meets with the overhead. I thought at first it was how I was taking the headset off, however with the last one I was far more careful with taking the thing off. It's already cracking and I've only had it a month. It's how it sits on my head that appears to be bending the earpiece the wrong way. I've tried to position it differently on my head, after super gluing the crack and it's still slipping, bending wrong, and cracking. It's a design flaw, this thing is not fitted for everyone's head.
It's very unfortunate because I really do like the headphones and they are an affordable price, but after going through three I wonder if I would have saved myself money by just buying one of the expensive one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Turtle Beach Ear Force Z1 PC Gaming Headset
06/17/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when i first bought these i was impressed. good sound quality. but i went to voice chat and they could only occasionally hear me. I picked up a second pair as i misplaced my original receipt. just taking them out of the package the clip holding one of the ear pieces fell apart. returned that pair. the original pair i took apart and found the bare ground wire stretched across the other wire connections for the mic shorting it out. i insulated them better and it works fine. but having to fix an out of the box pair is completely sloppy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next