Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for IYOGI iYogi New PC Setup Support

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

IYOGI iYogi New PC Setup Support

Personalize your new computer by customizing its settings Set up a default music player, automatic updates and windows firewall settings Configure your computer's wireless or wired Internet connections, if available Optimize your new computer's power options, reducing your electricity usage and saving up to $200 a year in energy costs
Average Customer Rating:
3.238 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation63%40 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Big waste of time

12/21/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this service along with a new laptop purchase. I called the number and provided my "key" code. I had to repeat the number at least 4 or 5 times before the iYogi representative got it correct. I had a lot of trouble communicating with the iYogi representative, English was not his first language. I could only understand about 40% of what he was saying. After much time and effort to get "set up" so he could begin helping me, he informed me that the tasks I needed help with were not "covered." Basically he could provide some internet security and some "green computing" software and that was about it. I already own McAfee, was not familiar with the software he wanted to install and was not comfortable with him "taking over" my computer via the internet for "30 to 45 minutes"." I ended the call disappointed that I had wasted my time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Review 2 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Friendly and efficient service

01/19/2010
By ,
Rollie, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very quick response when I dialed the toll free number and help was very thorough, with explainations the entire time. Its a must for all pc users like myself
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Review 3 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Truly a life saver

02/05/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On first instant I doubted whether they would keep their words, now I can say they are outstanding. I am not much computer savvy; they really made my life easy…
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+6points
Review 4 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

extremely helpful

01/15/2010
By ,
Folsom,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addressed my problem, fixed it. Very professional and helpful to answer my questions and make my experience a positive one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Review 5 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

wouldn't recommend trial installation

03/01/2010
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here's the scoop. The tech at I Yogi was very professional and polite with assisting in the set up. They do have a very heavy accent which may be difficult for some people to understand.
The problem lies that the IYOGI support is only valid for 7 days. I did not need any tech support until day 10 and I did try to contact them and they told me I would need to purchase this service for a cost of over $100. Why put IYOGI on a computer for only 7 days this is not ample enough time to try out a service for free? 30 day trial period is more reasonable for what the service they want you to buy.
As far as the Viper program that came with it, the jury is still out on this antivirus/spyware program. I did have problem with the software for Viper when I unistalled the IYOGI software. I had to restore the laptop to reset the viper program. This was very frustrating since the program was in for a short time and I didn't have the product key to reset the program since IYOGI had set it up for me.
I wouldn't recommend IYOGI to be installed for only 7 day period unless you are definitly going to buy the service
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Memorable Experience

01/19/2010
By ,
Queens, NewYork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i purchased the laptop i thought it would be difficult to set it up but i was proved wrong at iyogi. i was treated like a prince and everything was taken care of. i also purchased their annual plan to save myself from computer problems 24/7. with a price of 1 incident they would insure my PC for 1 complete year against any software problems. thank you iyogi
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 7 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Great tech support

01/19/2010
By ,
OWATONNA, MINNESOTA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always get very good service from iyogi. I have earlier experienced their service when my pc had a virus and this time with a new laptop. they make my life easy when these problems arise,I have also subscribed for their services for 1 year. unlimited technical service for 1 year at the cost of 1 incident
from any other company
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+4points
Review 8 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Really a Good Karma

02/05/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It helped me to customize my brand new Dell Vostro 1520 Laptop, now working on it is really fun!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 9 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

not helpful

01/03/2010
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend this product as they don't sent it with the computers. I got mine a week after the laptop where they could have easily put it right in the box with the computer as it's only a disk. I would never use it again as it's not really free like they say and I get junk in my email from it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

I Don't Know

12/10/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm still trying to figure out what value ths is to me. Don't recall choosing this or having an opportunity to opt out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 11 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

GOOD KARMA

02/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There logo is GOOD KARMA, and they said their joint efforts for computer support for people like us who are not much computer savvy is really beneficial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 12 for iYogi New PC Setup Support
03/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was not helpfull, called and person talked broken english and said system was down and would call me back, they never called back,, no help at all
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 13 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Thanks a lot.

02/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I called those people they were really very helpful. I don’t have much knowledge of computer, and there help is much appreciable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+1point
Review 14 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

They will make your computer WORSE!

02/26/2010
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the techs are very polite and nice, they have tried to fix my computer twice his week by taking "remote control" of it. the problem my system was having was easy - a printer not being able to print or scan wireless. They had taken control in two 4 hour sessions and still cannot get a printer to work. (It was working fine at one time, so I know it's not a compatibility issue.)
Two technicians going into my registry to "TRY" anything they could think of has totally wiped out the functionality of my system.
I will now need to back up everything from the past 4 years (a mall business!!!) and reinstall Windows XP and then all the software programs I have, as well as reinstalling all the files I needed to back up.
Iyogi will just keep trying things (without knowing IF it will work) until they are out of "ideas". This is when they will blame a virus that doesn't exist, or corrupted files (that worked fine before they did their thing).
Don't walk - RUN!!! Run away from even the thought of using them. Oh, and I'm now out $139 on top of having to spend the next week, day and night, reconfiguring my own computer.
I feel I know as much a they do, except I use foresight before trashing my registry or other programs that make my systems run.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Less than expected

02/26/2010
By ,
AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Maybe I was expecting too much from this little machine...I was looking for something that would be relatively fast on the internet but returned it after 2 weeks. Internet pages loaded extremely slow and I was not happy with Windows & STARTER version. I will say that battery life was amazing and weight and size were great however, if it won't work well on the internet....what good is it? I will probably need to bump up to 13 inch screen to get Windows 7 premium, different processor and pay a little more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

iYogi -- a waste of time

02/23/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took two phone calls, 45' of hold time, and an hour-and-a-half of letting them poke at my machine remotely, to learn that they know nothing about anything except Windows.
When they went into their sales pitch about how I should also pay them $350/year for "better protection from malware on the internet," I explained that in 35 years, I've never used anti-virus software, had a virus, or known a co-worker who had. "Oh. You must have used Macintosh. Only computer professionals can understand Macintosh."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 17 for iYogi New PC Setup Support
01/05/2010
By ,
Millington, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was sent with the Acer notebook, but does not apply to it as it does not have all the required equipment, so it was of no use to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 18 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

Waste of Time

05/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off the guy seemed fairly helpful, though not all that friendly. When I went to use my new laptop after he installed security software it would NOT work, at all, period. I couldn't even try to uninstall the software as the computer would do nothing but bring up the first screen. I had to find the directions on how to set the computer back to its factory specifications. I definitely DO NOT recommend anyone use this service. Given a choice I'd give this product 0 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

I yogi

02/28/2010
By ,
St. Louis MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was only a good value because it was free included with the lap top. However basically they set up the wallpaper and screensaver. Virus scan if needed. Mostly they wanted me to buy a 12.95 a month plan for online service support where they can fix your computer online.
Which I guess would be good if you need that and want to spend the money.
Also they download some tools into your computer which unless you buy the plan you really wouldn't need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for iYogi New PC Setup Support

A must needed gift

12/27/2009
By ,
Marshfield, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched this a few days, very happy with the order, checking on it and arrival. Delivery was very nice-right to my door. This is a Christmas gift to my daughter and family, so will know more how she got along getting things hooked up and going. A gal that was here when they opened it said it was a very good computer-realiable!! She shouldn't have any problems. Has the 24/7 HP Tech support-they will be a great help for her
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next