Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Shipping Note: This elliptical machine is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Isolate your glutes, quads and calves and achieve faster results with the Gold's Gym Stridetrainer Elliptical Exercise Machine. Use the elliptical's intensity ramp to quickly change your incline and create a more challenging workout from this exercise equipment. With 14 built-in workouts, your home exercise routine will hardly be routine. Designed to help you burn maximum calories, the Gold's Gym Elliptical Machine features workouts that target your trouble spots and help you reach your fitness goals sooner.
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
58
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation85%172 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
58
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

A good value

03/29/2010
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this about a month ago, and have had no problems. The assembly was easy, although I had a second person helping me. A single person could put this together (hardest part is getting the bottom legs on but you could prop up the machine on some wood). I lined up all my pieces initially and then it took about 1.5 hours to assemble. I purchased extra high temp auto grease at the auto store and actually used the grease on all my screws and pieces to help them go in easier. I purchased the RCA Universal 500mA AC adapter from Walmart and it works great (it is positive tip polarity). I never ran the console on batteries. The machine does not squeak after a month of pretty much daily use. Just a note: it is heavy. It was delivered curbside to my house and we opened it up outside and carried it in piece by piece. I went with the delivery option since the box would not fit my Highlander well. It is a rather large box. Overall, I am happy with the unit. For the price, it was a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

1st time user

11/19/2009
By ,
Kuna, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first elliptical machine that I have used. I have been researching the machines for about a year, and wanted an efficient one, that was also a good price. I found just that at my local Super Wal Mart. My husband and I put the machine together. I recommend using 2 people to put it together. Also give your self plenty of time. We took about 2.5 hours to put it together. We wanted everything to fit nice and tight, after reading other reviews on other machines, I gathered that some of the bolts needed constant tighten after assembly. If you take the time to put it together and have your husband or super strong friend tighten the bolts super duper hard you will not have to worry about the bolts lessening or having "things" move. We have used our machine for about 2 week every other day for about an hour and no problems, perfect machine for the first time user. Programs are wonderful, as well as having the iPod hook up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Great deal on a great exercise machine

12/29/2010
By ,
Fairview Park, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an avid exerciser and do my research before buying exercise equipment. This is my 3rd elliptical (I had the other 2 for years and simply worked them to death), and I knew what I was looking for. This machine is solidly built and easy to put together. I'm a woman and I was able to put it together myself. All the parts were included and were well organized, and the instructions were easy to follow. It took me about 2 hours including unpacking everything. This elliptical has a lot of great features too. The incline ramp really works your butt, and I've had a chance to try all the preset workouts (each 30 min. long) and they're all very challenging. I also like that the resistance goes up to 12- I like a challenge! The elliptical is pretty easy to move around, and is fairly quiet, even when I'm working out hard. This is the best elliptical that I've bought yet, and I highly recommend it. The price was quite reasonable as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Much better than I was expecting

02/01/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the stride trainer 595 before reading any reviews. And now that I'm reading through the reviews a few of them are making me chuckle. We purchased this for me because I have been trying to lose weight and when winter hit and we lost our primary babysitter for our son, my time outside at the track was completely eliminated. I love this thing! I can burn an easy 500 calories in 30 min. I feel like I'm dying after about 15 min because I push to stay in the 65rpm range....but with the reviews saying it is noisy I completely disagree...I am 220 pounds and it is very quiet and I don't play music or anything typically watch a tv show or read a book. the only complaint I would agree with is the screen. It is pretty cheapish...but the different options and the 12 resistance levels are awesome. This is defiantly worth the 450. If you are having issues with noise try greasing it really well...my husband did that as he was putting it together, he has even started using it as of last night! Yeay! lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical

01/06/2010
By ,
Coldwater Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been looking for an elliptical trainer to complement my home gym. I purchased the Golds Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical in early October as soon as it was available in my local store. I love the workouts (except getting the machine down stairs into my gym) and have lost a significant amount of weight as well as improving my cardio and blood pressure. It is an all-round great way to work out.
The machine is sturdy in construction and has many nice features for the price range. My only concern after using it 4 times a week for 13 weeks is that it is starting to develop some light clicking noises. I rechecked all the bolts and nuts and found them to be tight. I am very noise sensitive and little noises like that make me think there may be something wearing. Other than that, I am very happy with my purchase. I do recommend getting a plug in power supply to replace the batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Works great even for the bigger gals/gents

07/21/2010
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this, and I was 305lbs. I knew I was over its weight limit but I couldn't afford the bigger ones. I planned on losing some weight first so that I could use it. I lost 17lbs using the machines at work so I was down to 288 and I started using this.
It had no issues with my weight and doesn't rock at all. I am now, thanks to this machine and eating right, down another 16lbs and 1 pants size.
The fan is a little underpowered (they all are though) I always use the Hi one. The MP3 Player makes it all worth while, the time would go so slow without music/books to listen to.
Instead, having the fan and MP3player I am able to do 30 min every day. I started out doing zero resistance for the first 3 weeks, then I started doing some of the resistance training.
It feels just like a gym machine esp with the resistance. You know, I shopped everywhere before I bought this, HSN, QVC, Bestbuy etc for a machine that felt like a gym machine, this was the closest thing I could find under $500.
I totally recommend this product and I am SO glad I bought it.
It makes a tiny clicking during use, but I am pretty sure thats because of me assembling it and its very soft, nothing that I worry about at all, esp since it has been used 30+ times since being built with NO issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+92points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Jose
not perfect but overall good value
Posted 08/20/2011
It's a smooth stable machine. However the digits on the console are difficult to view, the fan is incredibly week, and the incline already needed a service call. Nevertheless, I would still recommend it for the competive price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Excellent elliptical for the $$

07/23/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited for months to review this product and I usually don't write reviews but felt compelled after buying this Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 and reading some negative reviews. I'm in my 40s, 5-10 about 180, and I workout daily. I've put this machine through the ringer and have found it to be an excellent buy. I can't believe anyone has had trouble putting this machine together. Yes, it may take a couple hours but the instructions are simple to follow. It absolutely feels and performs like an elliptical you would find at your local gym or paid hundreds of dollars more for. I love the longer stride length, the adjustable incline, and the preset workouts are awesome. This machine can be used for both the beginner and advanced workout. I've owned it for months and still haven't completed all the preset workouts. Every time I use this elliptical I feel like I've received an excellent workout!! I would highly recommend this machine to others! This is a great piece of workout equipment - no doubt!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine
04/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical in February, and I put it together myself (I am an small/medium, athletic type). Surprisingly, this machine started squeaking shortly after I bought it...maybe a couple of weeks later, but I figured that I did not put enough grease on it. However, by now I am very annoyed! After using this machine for barely two months, it is now scraping, but the thing is...it is not scraping on any part that I had to put together. A large portion of this machine was put together--the part with the circular part that the pedals need to go around. I do not not know to fix this except for either replacing it (I guess it is an axle or something) or filing it down. I honestly do not even know how it happened! It is like a when the break pads on a car get worn down and the breaks start to scrape. But this is not just regular scraping; it sounds terrible! I'm very disappointed!!! The saying "You get what you paid for" is so very true! :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

A bit exspensive, but worth it overall.

04/18/2011
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this was very exspensive for my tastes, my research proved this machine to be worth the purchase. As far as workout quality now that i have it, it exceeds my expectations. There are however some minor points i think i should mention just incase it is important to you and your purchase.
1) You can barely feel the fan on high
2) The pulse rate monitor is not accurate. It had crazy numbers that just jumped from 90 to 165 back to 110 in the same reading, even with fresh batteries.
3) Minor clicking did occur after about a week of use. Its not too bad and honestly doesn't bother me, but to some it might become annoying.
4) I am 5'9 and though the stride is alot better than most, it still felt a little short imo.
5) The MP3 player works great! I used my blackberry and had no issues, the sound quality is great too.
6) Definatly make sure you have at least 2 people to put this thing together, It is HEAVY. LOL
7) Definatly look in to getting the wall plug in, it might be cheaper in the long run.
Overall i give the product a 4 star rating. I would have given it a 5 but the pulse monitor and fan lowered it for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Worth the Money

01/16/2010
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off My dad is old school and he always told me you get what you pay for. I had seen on consumer reports that the ideal eliptical has heart rate montiors that strap to your chest and have digital screens and what not. Well they tested the $999.99 to $4500.00 machines. For $447.00 at my local Wal-Mart I got what I paid for and more! I am 6'6" and weight 265 and I fit nicely on this machine, my knees dont hit anywhere and it feels very comfortable working out and with 8' celings I dont even come close to hitting my head, Ha! I put it together by myself and the instructions and hardware were all there and it was very simple to assemble. In my opinion I got what I paid for and more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

GG Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical

07/13/2010
By ,
Simi Valley, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of weeks now and have to say I like it.
I was able to put it together by myself in a couple of hours even though the instructions say two people. All of the parts were there and nothing was broken.
The delivery was quick, but the delivery guys said that they only did curb side delivery when I asked them to wheel it into the house. I ended up paying them a few bucks a piece to get it where I wanted it.
The machine works as advertised and will put a whuppin on ya if you are out of shape like me. This is just the ticket for folks wanting to get back into some sort of shape with out killing yourself at a gym.
It does eat batteries alive so you will do good to get the wall power brick.
The only other thing I am not thrilled with is that the display is hard to make out and could use back lighting, but that may just be the lighting in the room I have it in.
In all I have to say that this was a good buy, but only time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

So far it is working well

03/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much quieter and a better workout than a treadmill. I've been using it almost every morning and I've noticed that I feel better when I go into work after exercising.
I took my time putting this together by myself. It wasn't hard but takes a long time to bolt the parts together because the bolts have locktite on them and requires a lot of force to tighten them correctly. You can save a lot time by using a hex socket and wrench. Make sure you tighten the foot pedals down all the way or they will creak when elliptical is being used.
Make sure you buy the Jensen Jen1700 power adapter so you won't need to buy and replace expensive D cell batteries. I used a meter to determine the polarity of the adapter plug. The internal conductor on the adapter plug should be positive voltage. I hear that the Gold's Gym DC power adapter is way overpriced so don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

So and So..

12/29/2010
By ,
Baldwin Park,CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The quality of the steel frame and overall performance is really good. Just a little dissapointed but overall happy with my purchase. First of all, I shouldve read the manual clearly before buying. I thought it had the automatic incline where you have to push a button and it inclines..Well, with this machine, you have to actually physically get on your knees, look all the way down and push a little lever to adjust the incline whether low, medium , or High.. with 3 levels only.. I wasnt expecting that at all.. This machine will really make you sweat within 30 minutes with Level 1 on Resistance. It wobbles a little bit while youre on it. The monitor runs on batteries. The heart monitor does not give continuous reading, you have to physically take your hand off and put it back in place to get an accurate heart reading. Theres no LCD lighting. The fan works well. The MP3 connector does not work that well with my I touch bec. it makes a static noise when you move the cord around but it works. Overall, It works and it does the job for a good cardio workout. For its price, it is still a good deal. Easy to assemble , easy to follow instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

My Best Purchase of 2009

01/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Elliptical trainer about 2 months ago. I love all the features of the trainer. It had everything I was looking for. A fan, music player outlet, several preset programs, bottle holder, it even lets you know how long you've been on or how much longer you have to go on a workout program. The resistance adjuster is right @ your fingertips. I get an outstanding workout on this machine, I love everything about it. I work out at least every other day for about an hour & I sweat hard. I hate going to the gym but vow to be Slim-Goody again by the end of 2010. So this was definetely my best purchase of 09...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Great choice

02/09/2011
By ,
Sun Prairie, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine from WalMart three days ago and here is what I have found so far:
I first read tons of elliptical reviews before this purchase and the ratings are all over the place. Be wary. The assembly took about 2.5 hours and was straight forward and simple. My wife asked me to break the man code and actually follow the directions. This was a wise move. (sorry guys)
The instructions said that two people are needed for assembly. Not so. If you have a small block of wood to put under the frame for the first couple steps you can climate the second person.
The only assembly problem I had was installing the right handle on a spindle that I had to grease first. The handle would not fully slide onto the spindle. After removing the grease from the spindle I found that there was some paint overspray on the base of the spindle. I took some 100 grit sandpaper and quickly removed the paint. No other issues.
The machine is very stable and quiet. It has a fan worth about 50 cents but that does not concern me. If a good fan is important to you, spend 10 bucks and buy a real fan and put it on a chair next to you and you will have better cooling than any exercise machine on the market. The panels that hold the batteries in are lame but the power supply is the way to go anyway.
Elliptical versus Treadmill:
As far as a good work out, this elliptical is far superior to a treadmill for me and my wife. On a treadmill I could leisurely walk slowly for 30 minutes but the effort and results were minimal. (I’m lazy)
On the elliptical, the first thing I noticed was that after about 10 minutes using the lowest resistance setting, I could really feel the workout. At first I didn’t like this because the treadmill was easier. But using that line of thinking, sitting in my recliner and pumping some small hand weights while watching the biggest looser is even easier, but my need is to GET A WORKOUT!!!
My advice: Choose an elliptical over a treadmill and this one is a great choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Lose screw...lose star

12/01/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to dock one star because a screw was missing that was required had to got to Ace to get one to replace it.
Overall though it's been a good machine, I'm about three workouts in and find myself nicely smoked at the end of a workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

This is wonderful!

03/03/2010
By ,
Vaughn,MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for an eliptical for a long time. Price, size, and reviews were what I was looking at before purchasing one. This one met and exceeded my expectations. I read the other reviews and was a little concerned at first. My husband and son put it together for me in about 2 hours. I now use it everyday and get a great workout! It is awesome!! I wanted to use it for a while before writing my review, and I am glad that I did, I now know it works great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Very Solid Machine at a Great Price

09/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've wanted an eliptical machine for a long time but the decent ones were just too expensive, until I found this one. This has an 18" stride, the action is very smooth, and most important it has a very solid feel similar to high-priced elipticals in workout facilities. Yes, as others have mentioned it is not perfect and that's the reason for my 4-star and not 5-star overall rating.
Biggest problem is they try to extract more money from you right out of the box, with a card on top that has a phone number to call to purchase an AC plugin to power the console for some undisclosed price (it's about $90 with shipping). This little swindle doesn't do much to enhance the buying experience and people are understandably upset by this. In any case, you'll more than likely have to make a trip back to the store to pick up 4 D-size batteries to power the console until you decide what to do about the AC adapter (as mentioned below, get a $14 universal adapter from Walmart).
The decision to try to force people into spending an additional $90 after purchase for the ac adapter required them to lower the power requirements of the console in the event someone opted to stay with the 4 batteries solution (trust me, you'll want to get the AC adapter or you'll go nuts changing batteries all the time). So they skimped on power by having a regular LCD instead of the more typical backlit LCD (I have to have the room well lit to even see the monitor), a very weak fan (helped somewhat by the AC adapter), and the worst sounding, tin-can speakers I've ever heard. I won't even use them they sound so bad. One last complaint on the console is that it's not tilted upwards enough, forcing you to bend down slightly to read it (unless you're a pretty short person). AC power solution - I bought a $14 Powerline universal AC adapter (3-12 Volts/600ma) from Walmart and it works perfectly. Set it to 6V and be sure to use positive polarity or you will ruin your console.
Overall, this machine excels where it matters most - the performance of the machine itself. In my opinion, the problems some are having with loud squeaks or breakage could be due to improper assembly. One issue for me, though was that I could not find the grease for the moving arms that the instructions said were included, so I improvised and used WD-40. Not sure if this hurt or helped but noise is not an issue. I have faint squeaking, nothing major at all. Be very patient putting this together and reading, even re-reading the instructions a few times just to make sure you're doing it correctly. Tightening bolts until they are very snug and following directions will reduce squeaking to a minimum. If assembled properly, I don't think the noise is an issue, although it will never be as whisper quiet as a health club eliptical costing much more. I think in spite of the poor console and lack of AC adapter, this is a super machine for the money. I get a great workout and I love the many resistance and incline levels included. I do hope that Golds Gym will read these reviews and fix the console issues. They could charge a little more, include an AC adapter and this would really be an incredible machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+111points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Florida
DO NOT USE WD-40
Posted 10/31/2011
For those of you reading this WD-40 IS NOT a Heavy Duty Lubricant. It's barely a Lubricant at all.
" WD-40 is the ultimate multi-purpose problem solver. WD-40 cleans/degreases, penetrates to loosen up stuck parts, prevents corrosion and is a light lubricant. " This is per WD-40's website.
Instead use a Very Good Grade of Grease, What is needed here is a Heavy Duty Grease, such as White Lithium Grease. Here is an example of what I would use instead of WD-40.
http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=white+lithium+grease&revid=1203420360&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&biw=1440&bih=717&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=1051099993723156088&sa=X&ei=KSOvTpniEInt0gGY6-XeAQ&ved=0CD4Q8wIwAA
You can find it at most any Hardware / Automotive store that sells Lubrication's including some Wal-Mart stores.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

Great for the Price

12/29/2010
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used tons of $2,000+ ellipticals at gyms for years, and I can honestly say this $450 machine gives just as good of a workout as higher priced machines. It's not flashy, but it does what it is supposed to do extremely well. I've found the highest incline to be the best stride, as the machine tilts downwards for some reason on the other inclines.
The only thing lacking in this elliptical is the console. While it does have a few preset modes, the console is practically worthless aside from seeing time left and calories burnt. It has a cheap look and feel to it. The ipod speakers are also not amplified and practically worthless. The cup holder and fan are a nice touch though.
The machine makes absolutely no squeaking noise either, when properly greased. Even if it were to start making noise after a few months (even $2,000+ machines eventually do with wear), just re-grease the inner rods and the problem is solved. If you can't, then get a protection plan. Just like a car, moving parts like this need maintenance occasionally. It would be ignorant to think otherwise.
If you can overlook a barebones console and just need a good workout, this elliptical is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 595 Elliptical Machine

So far, so good!

12/14/2010
By ,
Carbondale, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this elliptical from the store 48 hours ago and have used it twice now. So far I am very impressed and what criticisms I have about this elliptical are minor at best.
First and foremost, this is a very heavy machine. Getting the box into your house is exercise in and of itself. You will need at least two people to get it through the door. As the box is just over 5 feet in length, even if you are strong enough to lift it yourself, it is too bulky to manage on your own.
Outside moving it into your house, the only other thing I discovered that I needed a second person for was taking it out of the box. Once out, you should have no difficulties putting it together by yourself. Make sure you fully unpack the box as there are boxes and packs of parts hidden everywhere. I managed to locate the elusive grease as a small blister pack amongst the packing materials. If I had not fully unpacked the box, I would never have found it.
----
PROTIP: You can use some of the included packing materials to hold the base of the elliptical off the ground when attaching the stabilizers.
----
It took me approximately 2 and a half hours to put it together. While I was extremely methodical in following the steps, I did somehow end up missing a few and having to double back to redo it.
----
PROTIP: Wait to put the joint covers on the machine until after your first workout. This will allow you to re-tighten the bolts without running the risk of snapping the tabs on the coverings. You will, without a doubt, need to re-tighten the bolts after the first workout. Failure to do so will lead to the machine feeling wobbly.
----
I found the action rather smooth, with no jerking or catching as the arms run back and forth. The foot pedals are very wide and long, allowing you to stand further back on them - which in my case has allowed me to avoid my legs running into cup holder (which I have read on other reviews of the lower priced ellipticals). You will need to wear some kind of footwear on the pedals however. The plastic is very firm, and the indentations are not comfortable against just stocking feet. The stride is a nice and full 18 inches, giving my legs a nice stretch on each rotation.
As far as the height of the machine, I found that it works in a room with 8 foot ceilings. Though at my height (6'2"), I am at almost eye level with the ceiling fan. So make sure you set it up in an area that is free from anything hanging from the ceiling. You will also need at least 5 feet of floor space in which to place the trainer. That said, the entire mechanism runs completely with that space and nothing slides out past the end of the machine.
----
PROTIP: The instructions call for a phillips head screwdriver. Make sure you use one that is a solid screwdriver and not an interchangeable one. When you go to attach the cup holder, the bottom screw hole is too small to let and interchangeable-head screwdriver to fit properly.
----
Overall, this is an very good machine for what you pay for it. While it does lack some things that would make it an excellent trainer - such as the console display is not back lit, the built-in fan is a little lacking in strength - it does exactly what you need it to, and that is give you a very intense workout. The resistance was enough to give me pause at the higher levels, and the switching of the resistance in the workout mode is very smooth and does not interfere with your stride.
---
PROTIP: Make sure you pick up a universal adapter for the console. I managed to find one in the electronics department at Walmart for around $14. It works just fine, and costs less than the AC adapter being peddled by Gold's Gym.
----
I would recommend this machine to my friends, and in fact, I have most likely bored them to tears already in describing it - despite my excitement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hohenwald Tennessee
Posted 06/11/2011
This review was very helpful. I purchased this elliptical & followed the recommended tips posted by Katharsys2009 & it took about 2 hours from unpacking to finish. I had no problems what so ever, and I made sure to check for the blister pack of lubricant. I really enjoy the elliptical & wanted to thank Katharsys2009 for all the great tips.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 191 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next