Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fx Special Effects Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Fx Special Effects Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

Good stuff!

11/09/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am African-American and my curl type is between 3b and 3c. I was looking for a product that would make my hair feel soft, while leaving a decent natural curl to my hair without having to do a whole lot of work. This product does the job!! When I first use the product, my hair did look like I had a "jerry curl", while wet. After letting my hair air dry, my curls were soft, supple, and shiny. My only concern is that this product contains a paraben, which I discovered is not really "good" on the hair. I have to do a little more research.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Review 2 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

best curl gel

11/21/2009
By ,
Dayton Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best curl gel I have ever used weightless control. Able to comb through but great hold and no frizz
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 3 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

AWESOME PRODUCT

10/11/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product after seeing a YOUTUBE review and thought "Why not try it, if it doesn't work I will pile up with the rest of products I have tried" 1st time I used, I was impressed with the curl it gave my naturally curly hair. My hair have the wave, but if I do not use product my hair just is limp and frizzy. This product brings my curls to live and defines them awesome. I have purchased so many high priced products that swear to leave your hair crunch free but then leave my hair greasy. This product doesn't leave it crunchy or greasy. The gel is thick when you dispense but after in hair it's not sticky at all. You can let dry naturally or use diffuser either way you have a nice natural curl. I will continue to use this product. I also purchased the Curl Boost Spray for touch ups for next day or during the day if needed. Good too.. Scrunch with no crunch.....
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

LOVE IT!

11/21/2010
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very long brown wavy curly hair and it can get very dry and frizzy. This works very well! Keeps my waves and curls shiny soft touchable! Not like if you use gel or mousse which can make your hair more hard and stiff. A little bit of this stuff goes along ways! Smells good too! I would recommend this!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 5 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

A must have

08/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish Walmart would put this back on the shelf. This is the only gel that works well with my naturally curly hair. I have been trying the other products Walmart has to offer, and none of them work as well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Review 6 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

I need this product!

07/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great on natural curly hair. Just a small amount gets rid of frizz & tangles, while leaving beautiful curls. Holds while hair stays soft and bouncy. Wal-mart needs to put this back on the shelf for my grandaughters.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 7 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

makes my hair happy

08/30/2010
By ,
Groton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to add my voice to the chorus of reviews asking Walmart to please put this back on the shelf in stores. This is the ONLY thing that defines my curls without making them sticky or crunchy. Without it, I look like a poodle on a bad day. At first I thought maybe the company stopped making this stuff when Walmart stopped selling it; while I'm thrilled to find it online (and plan to stockpile it now that i found it again), I'd love to see it in the store again...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 8 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

One of the best..

12/31/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have longer, thick hair that tends to get a bit frizzy. This product is fantastic because it helps 'tame' my hair, but it doesn't look or feel like I have any product in my hair at all. I also agree with another reviewer in wishing that Walmart would put this product back in their stores as I don't like paying the shipping for something as simple as a hair care product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

awesome

10/26/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it since it came on the market, I have natural curly hair,,,it use to feel like a brillo pad now its soft and more curls no frizz I cannot live with out this its all I need LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

not to be used by itself

12/01/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is ok, but I don't recommend it as a single use product- it is best used in conjunction with other products. it does seem to keep the frizz down, but does not hold curls together.
I have been on a search for the perfect curling product for my daughter's hair. It's long, blond and curly, and looks fantastic when all curled up, but the best product I've tried thus far is Garnier Fructise Curl foam. It holds and curls at the same time, not perfect, but better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
I completely Agree!
Posted 08/08/2011
I Agree with you. I have naturally curly hair. So I'm not looking for a product that creates curls, but rather one that holds, defines, and does not frizz. This product is nice because it does not contain Alcohol, which drys and damages hair. However, the result are just as if you leave in conditioner in your hair for the day. Definitely did not hold, define, or de-frizz my hair. My mother also used it in her hair, which is naturally curly and wavy, but she has thinner hair, and i have thicker hair. Her result were the same as mines.
This product would have to used along with another. I would use it as a base. However I will not use it again. The Garnier spray gel or mouse does the job beautifully!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

My experience from using this product

06/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a black woman , 4c hair used this in my hair and nothing it still looked the same , frizzy . I have a son who is mixed I used it in his hair , nothing...I put a bunch in his hair just to make this to work, and he has Alot of curls but theirs still a little friz but it didn't work. I tried this in my Husbands hair who is white.... nothing. Everyone is different .
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+1point
Review 12 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

No0o Bueno0o!! but read what i did find =)

08/08/2011
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have naturally curly/wavy hair. I need a product the hold, defines curls, and defrizzes. This product is nice because it does not contain Alcohol, which drys and damages hair. However, the results are just as if you leave in conditioner in your hair for the day. Definitely did not hold, define, or de-frizz my hair. My mother also used it in her hair, which is naturally curly and wavy, but she has thinner hair, and i have thicker hair. Her results were the same as mines. You definitely can't leave your hair loose, you would have to style it to tame it. Like a pony tail or something, or else you would have an afro..lol
This product would have to used along with another. I would use it as a base. However I will not use it again, because as a base i prefer a lotion moisturizer or leave in conditioner.
I was really in search for the perfect product for my hair so I bought/ and my results:
-Tresseme curling lotion-Great! works well as a moisturizer. It curls your hair but does tame it or hold in place. I will continue to use this product as the first base, before gel to reduce damage. Works great as a leave in conditioner.
-The Garnier spray gel-Excellent, definitely holds your hair, and curls last about two days or more. I absolutely love this one!! Everyone notices and compliments me at work. I even go to the pool and water parks, and my hair stays nice even after being soaked.
-Sammy curling mouse-Not good, same results as the FX. Will not buy again.
-Pantene curling spray gel- Great, I love it!!! Defines, and defrzzes, but does not hold. I would use it with a hair spray to hold. And will purchase again.
If you want really nice curls what work for me is:
The Tresseme cruly lotion as the base. (use as a leave in conditioner to moisturize)
The Pantene spray gel, its more watery base so use all around, liftin layers of your hair to make sure every part gets it, and comb your hair with your fingers to make sure its not just at the top of your hair.
Than a little bit of the Garnier spray gel. which is more of a thicker gel. Just a little bit will do.for hold and definition!
With these products I have received endless daily compliments! And absolutely LOVE my curly hair. I'm not longer ashamed of going to pool parties, and things like that. LOVE MY CURLS=)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)
12/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only product that makes my 3 yr old son's curls look good. It holds the curl while still letting them have bounce. other products leave his hair frizzy and the curls messy. I'm so glad I found this product, so I can keep his long curls looking awesome for as long as possible, since I'm sure when he's older he'll want shorter hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
-2points
Review 14 for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)

Wat would I do without it???

09/02/2012
By ,
Harbor City, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to buy this in the store, but cant find it anymore. Bought other stuff and everything did not work like this awesome product. I have long curly hair, and FX makes it look amazing. Thank you FX.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fx Special Effects Curls Up Curl Reactivator & Defrizzant 6 fl oz (Pack of 2)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5