Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Equate Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Equate Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation78%35 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

These patches work if you want them to.

12/05/2013
By ,
NewYork
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I quit smoking about three weeks ago and have been wearing the 21mg. I find they work for me. My husband not as good but they do help. He will still smoke like 1 cigarette a day (your not really supposed to). At first, I was still having cravings but I made myself go and do something. I have not been completely innocent but I can still stay I quit smoking on these. It gets easier, take it day by day and you can too be smoke free. Just remember, after quitting smoking, it takes your body a while to recover. I was sick for about the first two weeks (coughing, sneezing, short of breath and just pretty blah) but I am now, after three weeks feeling better. Quitting smoking can also cause constipation. Eat lots of fiber and drink plenty of water. Now, after these three weeks, I am just able to definitely smell how bad people smell around me. Its disgusting!! This is coming from a person who smoked 15+ years. I'm only 33 and I just want to live a healthier life. Good Luck to you all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

The Patch Does Work

10/07/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the patch off and on over a couple years trying to quit. My son has been using an ecig and gradually decreasing the nicotine in the fluid that is inhaled through the ecig. He has been smoke free for two months. I tried the ecig as well but found that the nicotine was too harsh regardless of what "flavor" I picked and everything tasted horrible so I kept going down on the nicotine level. Finally I got a flavor with no nicotine and suddenly I could smoke the ecig, I liked it, the flavor left no nasty aftertaste and I could get a nice throat hit. So I went and bought a box of patches. I'm about to go and buy another box. This has been the easiest quit I have ever done. With no nicotine in the ecig I can puff away to my hearts desire and have a controlled amount of nicotine in the patch. I am 56, started smoking when I was 15, and had been smoking two packs a day. For me the ecig made the process easier than it ever has before.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

These DO work!

06/12/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who has tried or has successfully quit smoking knows how hard it is. Let me start by saying this---there is no secret thing out there that is magically going to make you quit, this is just a crutch to help you along the journey. You have to WANT to quit smoking. I personally cannot say I have tried these yet however my boyfriend did use this product successfully. He was a pack a day habit and then some.
My suggestions are to buy some rubbing alcohol. Rub some on the area that you will be applying the patch to as it does come off sometimes if you don't. Do not wear it to bed especially if you suffer from nightmares. He wore it to bed not thinking about it sometimes and he had some very vivid ones, almost night terrors because of it.
Put it on the SAME time every day and do not skip a day if you can help it. Buy some type of candy like lollipops, the Dum-Dum brand( the little ones) because it can help you mimic the hand movement of you smoking a cigarette. Or even chewing gum helps.
Lastly, good luck. It is difficult, but just think of the benefits once you complete the program!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

I've been quit for three weeks :))

12/17/2013
By ,
Londonderry, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried to quit smoking, time after time, and I've never gotten this far, before. I am a heavy smoker (some days 2 packs a day), and I've rarely stayed smoke free for even a day on other attempts. This is my second time trying the patch, and this time I haven't even taken one puff of a cigarette. I quit November 25th, and I'm still going strong. I can honestly say, I don't believe I will ever smoke another cigarette, and I couldn't be happier.
These patches really do work, but you have to REALLY be ready and willing to put them down. I found myself still lighting up, while wearing the patch, last time. However, this time I promised myself I wouldn't, and I've made good on that promise. It was just time. I'm so tired of cigarettes running my life, and making me smell and look bad.
Thank you Walmart!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches
07/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't have done it without the patch, and I thank Wal-Mart for letting me do it in such a wallet-friendly way!
For all of you who have been complaining about the lack of adhesive on these puppies, try duct tape rather than medical tape. Medical tape doesn't stick for beans - you probably knew that before you even tried it on the patch. I work in a kitchen, and it gets upwards of 110 degrees in there during the summer months. I just stick some duct tape over the patch and over a bit of the skin around it, and it stays on for a 9-hour shift, plus the time I have between clocking out and going to sleep. The best part about it is that since I'm so sweaty from work, the duct tape doesn't even hurt coming off (you still have to pull at it a bit, though).
I have a few more weeks for my program, and I'm really excited to get all the nicotine out of my system and live a fresh, clean life!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Helpful hint for wearing Nicotine Patches.

09/18/2011
By ,
Patte City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been trying to quit smoking for years now, and I'm attempting to quit again starting October 1st. I have found a way to keep the patches on all day, with this simple tip. Swab the area where you want to place the patch with rubbing alcohol; allow to dry; this will remove any body oils, or soap residue, and will keep the patch in place the entire day. I hope this tip helps!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Woodbridge, VA.
Nicotine Patch
Posted 08/19/2013
Do you still need a prescription for the patches?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Patch works well.

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Equate patch works well. It's the same patch I received in the hospital and most affordable brand. It also stays on in shower.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

SURPRISINGLY MORE AFFECTIVE THAN I THOUGHT!!

01/21/2010
By ,
chicago Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS VERY EASY TO USE, STAYS ON ALL DAY, VERY SIMILAR TO NICORETTE. WHY PAY MORE MONEY FOR THE SAME EXACT PRODUCT?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Good product for the cost

03/30/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've tried every brand patch on the market, and these are by far the best for your money. They are the same as the name brand.
I like that they are clear, and although they are not quite as sticky as the others, I've been able to keep mine on for 24 hours at a time. I've even showered with one on & it stayed most of the day. Just don't wear at night or you will have some freaky dreams - but that's with all smoking cessation products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Sticking Issue
Posted 06/11/2013
I've been smoke free now for almost a year using these patches. Every now and then I had the "not sticking" issue others have commented about.
When I had this minor problem I just cut several strips of surgical tape (clear and cheap) and ran several strips across the patch to my skin.
This worked extremely well and I couldn't of quit without these patches. Please understand that patches help a TON but are NO guarantee...you really have to want to quit and stick with it. Using patches and having the will to quit are key.
Good luck to all....it's soooo worth it!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

I will work the System!

01/20/2012
By ,
Atlanta Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 45 yr old Man, I have been smoking Cigarettes for 32 years. I NEVER thought I'd be able to Stop Smoking after numerious attempts. Well the Proper Motovation came along, My Fiancee became Pregnant in November. In January, I started with small victories such as limiting the number of cigarettes I smoked a day, changing the times I would smoke, BUT I was STILL smoking! I BROKE DOWN & ordered this product... From the 1st day I put a Patch on I have had NO MORE DESIRE to smoke an actual cigarette...I tested if I was ready to be a Quiter & went patchless for 2 days, I went & bought Cigs. I put a New Patch on & I will work the System!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Step 1 patches

10/05/2013
By ,
cincinnati, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used my first patch yesterday afternoon. I had decided two days ago to quit smoking so yesterday morning i made sure I didn't have a pack of cigarettes so i couldn't smoke at all during the day, and after work i would purchase the patches. All day I was irritable, craving cigarette, unfocused, and cranky. I got the patches, place one on and about half hour later I was feeling much better. Since I put it on, I have not had a craving. I did notice very strange dreams, but thus far I don't mind them so I will continue to sleep with the patch on. There is a small amount of redness where I placed the patch, but it does not it or burn. I have noticed a very slight amount of dizziness and a tiny bit of shaking. This was mostly right before I fell asleep. The patch does stick very well, but I have not showered with one on so I can't comment on that. But it didn't fall of while sleeping. I was very skeptical about the product because i couldn't imagine not craving a cigarette, but even 1 patch has been so helpful even though I have been a pack and a half per day smoker for 8 years. Hopefully this trend continues. I'm only 36 hours in, but no cigarettes yet and I'm feeling pretty good. Good luck!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

No Excuses For Smoking AT ALL Now!

03/04/2014
By ,
nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the price as low as these patches are, there's no excuse to smoke, anyone thinking of quitting should use them (if they aren't allergic to trans dermal patches and the adhesive that is) 4 weeks worth of patches for 50 bucks, I would have spent 150 in cigarettes for keeping my habit... So 100 saved there... They don't work well for those strong cravings, but I would recommend an e-cigarette in tandem with these for those horrible/stressful situations where you "just need one smoke". I quit once when my daughter was born... Was back smoking within a year when everything was very stressful, then when she had pneumonia... I lasted 9 months smoke free, then had another puff of a real smoke and kept on going... As horrible as that sounds... I actually did this... And now finally with the birth of my son, and added pressure from my baby girl saying I want you to live daddy... I had to try and keep trying... Its so far has been working... And the patches helped me stay 1 year smoke free before and 9 months another time... The only difference is this time... If I ever would want to falter... I won't let it affect my family... I would seriously recommend having your back-up be something readily available because cigarettes are closer and most times easier to get than some of the nicotine replacement items out there... Stay strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Great Product

04/02/2011
By ,
Hinesville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 20 years of killing myself slowly I have been smoke free for one month thanks to this product. Follow the directions and dont use lotions or certian soap products and you will have no problem with them sticking. I have bought name brand when Equate brand was out of stock and both are made by the same company. Equate brand is just much better priced. Cudos to walmart for making this product more affordable!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches
03/05/2012
By ,
Hopewell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great product. I have been researching a way to quit smoking and decided to try this first. I have been a smoker for 36 years non-stop. I was surprised how easy it was to stop smoking using the patch. I've been using it for a week now and have not had any real strong urge to smoke. I will continue to use this product as per the directions and know I will soon be a non-smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Equate Nicotine Transdermal System

06/22/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just started the program so far I've not smoked and I believe this program will work. While in the hospital they gave me step 2 I am using step 1 and gonna use all 3 . I haven't smoked since May 6 2014. Only ordered these so I would not start back smoking. Be sure to check with your Doctor before using them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Great Product for a GREAT Price!

02/12/2010
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been smoking for the past 12 years! I have quit cold turkey in the past and never stuck with it. I tried these patches, and it is so great how most of the side affects of quitting are not even there. I feel and smell so much better and I dont have to worry about feeling depressed and anxious all the time. The best product I've tried! They are durable and stay on all day long. Follow the directions, and you will have success!
You are a jewel in God's eyes.
God is Love.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches
01/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to agree that buying generic is the way to go. These work every bit as well as name brand.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Thanks Walmart Online & Equate!

03/13/2012
By ,
Willis, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is no different than the Nicoderm brand, except the price, of course! Over 1/2 off!
I have to & love saving money & my health says Quit! Things are progressing only 2 weeks into it though.
Tip: When some friend starts singing praises, I find it is better to ask them not to get overly excited just yet! When quitting is brought up, it makes me think about it more, that's not a good thing for me. I have smoked over 45 years and have tried numerous times, ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Wonderful product at a huge savings!

06/13/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After smoking and loving it for 56 years, I decided it was time to stop, even though I love smoking-
just not all the side effects. I purchased the Equate patches online through Walmart.com & they were delivered promptly, but the best part is....THEY WORK!!! I am now tobacco free and feel so much better! Follow the instructions regarding how & where to apply the patch. They adhere wonderfully even after working outdoors on hot humid days then into the shower. Thank you Walmart for a wonderful product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Nicotine Transdermal System Step 1, 21mg Clear Patch, 14 Patches

Purchased for a family member

03/10/2014
By ,
North Richland Hills, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't smoke any longer as I quit several years ago but I used these to help me quit back then and purchased these for a family member that is wanting to quit. Hopefully it work for him as good as it did for me. So far he has been on these for almost a week and seems to be working pretty good for him. Course he says that every now and then, he still takes a puff off of his e cig.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next