Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

The Samsung GoPhone is ideal for social communicators who want an affordably priced, messaging-centric device that fulfills their communication needs. The classic black color is enhanced with a soft-touch finish. With its built-in VGA camera and small compact design, the Samsung GoPhone is ideal for teens who want to stay connected to friends and share their lives through pictures. Includes $30 of airtime.
Average Customer Rating:
4.085 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation83%49 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

AT&T's worst plan ever

08/16/2010
By ,
buurlington, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
functionally this phone did not meet me needs. I was unable to function the keyboard. But the real trouble was with AT&T themselves. this prepaid phone plan was the most expensive one I found, But it didn't even offer web access. I returned the phone the same week I receive it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime
09/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone feels like a cheap toy typing on the keys I can hear cracking noises afraid to press hard because it my break. Cheap!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

You get what you pay for.

10/17/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know pay as you go phones are really inexpensively made, but this phone I had no idea what a bad idea this was. Poor connection, almost a delayed answer when a call is made or received. Website showed I had proper antenna coverage, I don't. The covering on the back of the phone doesn't stay on. List goes on and on. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

DON'T GET IT..

10/20/2010
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone I have had since May of 2010. This month alone in the last 13 days I have had to call customer service, talk to supervisors, and talk to warranty tech support. I have been hung up, told to look for a sticker in a place (where the warranty tech, had no idea where it was located on this phone, obviously). I have been a prepaid customer of At&t's since 2004 and I'm switching after what I have gone thru this month alone not only with the At&t reps, but the supervisors, and warranty tech's. The phone has many options and yes you can do a lot with it. But here is the ? are the headaches worth it in the end?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime
08/09/2010
By ,
E Bridgewater, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buttons were way to small. I wouldn't recommend
this phone to anyone who has slightly impaired
eyesight
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Expecting more

08/25/2010
By ,
Central Ms
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The QWERTY board is made for fairies, best bet is to use a stylus. It also has an annoying feature of when you hit the shift key, it goes in this order: lowercase/123 (numerical), Abc (1st letter Cap) and ABC (all caps) in other words, when I want to make a capital "i", I have to hit shift 3 times.
The other big problem with this phone is I don't have an unlimited data plan, and I have to be very careful not to accidentally hit the most prominent button on the key pad, because it automatically goes to data usage and there is no way I have found to cancel it, it is going to charge you SOMETHING for the accident, may not be but a couple pennies, but it's my pennies.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

phones and such

09/13/2010
By ,
pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
really nice phone, loud enough when it rings but not overly loud to be annoying and interupting. does everything i need it to. i can call , text, and check e-mail. I really like this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good phone

11/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got this phone about a year ago, and its still in great shape. i have dropped it many times and it seems unbreakable. i would recommend this for someone of a younger age. the only issues ive had with this phone is that you have to pay too much a month. i was paying $25 a month for just unlimited texting. if you also want calling or web u would have to pay somewhere between $50-$60 a month which too me is a waste considering you can get text, web, and email for $25 a month with virgin mobile. but overall this is a really good phone
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good quality but

12/14/2010
By ,
pdx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keys are way too small causing numerous mis--types..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

AT&T go phones are quite expensive

08/07/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If the TracFones had text friendly phones, I would have went with that instead. Until then I'm stuck with the pricey at&t go phone.
Bluetooth doesn't work real well either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Samsung A-177

11/19/2010
By ,
Kenosha, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do not like this phone. The beginning is good, but later on, (for me) when you make a text message or type anything, keys will randomly do more than what its supposed to. Example? If I press the "w" key once as in where, it will show as wwwwwhere. So then I have to go back and delete the extra "w's" Which is a pain. Though the qwerty keyboard is nice when it works, there are just too many other factors that make it not as enjoyable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

missing an expansion memory slot

09/20/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great deal and good phone with easy software and and OKay Camera >> only problem is that the phone does not have an expansion slot for a memory card which I think is a big con and they failed to make that clear otherwise would recommend it for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Sweet

09/03/2010
By ,
Bakersfield,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a woman, small hands and slender fingers, this phone is wonderful. Easy to use and has lots of features that I adore. The AT&T pay as you go plans are a little pricy, but you get what you pay for right. This phone is well made and very trendy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Affordable & Filled With Goodies

10/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is completely like a blackberry, but a lot more affordable then other phones. I would recommend this phone for teenagers or college students.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good news

12/05/2010
By ,
Carthage, Ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product meets every expection, and exceeds most. This phone is right next door to a smart phone. I am well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Good for the price

12/06/2010
By ,
Vassar, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone does everything it is supposed to do, it also seems quite rugged since I have already dropped it several times. For a quick messaging phone that can get the job done at a great price look no further.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

phone was a hit

12/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was bought as a gift for my 15 year old. The moment she opened it it was a hit. She loved the look and the feel of the phone. There have been no problems with switching the sim card or getting the bonus $30 air time. Definately a good upgrade from the old phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

I love this phone!

09/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually was trying to buy the packaged deal w the BlueTooth but I didn't want to send it back and wait for another. I love the phone!! The only thing I don't particularly like is its terribly light. It just slides right out of my hand at times O.o O! And the mic on mine is terrible (glad I went and bought a BlueTooth. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

replacement phone

08/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone to replace the phone that was dropped into a lake . This phone is capable of all the functions my other phone achieved and for half the price. I do wish the buttons were easier to push but maybe time and use will do this for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Good for the money

09/20/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone and signed up with Pure Talk USA. It is a whole lot cheaper than AT&T and operates on the AT&T Network. I saved a lot of money that way and the phone works great. Just plugged in the sim card from Pure Talk and I was ready to go in a few minutes.
The Good:
Voice Clarity
Small Size
Cost
Good Texting Features
Long Life Battery
Fast Shipping
No Contract
The Bad:
Limited/No ring Tones
Bad Camera (low res images)
No SD Card Capability
Small Texting Buttons (takes getting used to)
All in all a very good phone for the money if you don't care about pictures, video, and data storage. I don't have e-mail or internet with the Pure Talk service so I can't comment on those items.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next