Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

The Samsung GoPhone is ideal for social communicators who want an affordably priced, messaging-centric device that fulfills their communication needs. The classic black color is enhanced with a soft-touch finish. With its built-in VGA camera and small compact design, the Samsung GoPhone is ideal for teens who want to stay connected to friends and share their lives through pictures. Includes $30 of airtime.
Average Customer Rating:
4.085 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation83%49 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

AT&T's worst plan ever

08/16/2010
By ,
buurlington, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
functionally this phone did not meet me needs. I was unable to function the keyboard. But the real trouble was with AT&T themselves. this prepaid phone plan was the most expensive one I found, But it didn't even offer web access. I returned the phone the same week I receive it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

You get what you pay for.

10/17/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I know pay as you go phones are really inexpensively made, but this phone I had no idea what a bad idea this was. Poor connection, almost a delayed answer when a call is made or received. Website showed I had proper antenna coverage, I don't. The covering on the back of the phone doesn't stay on. List goes on and on. Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

DON'T GET IT..

10/20/2010
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone I have had since May of 2010. This month alone in the last 13 days I have had to call customer service, talk to supervisors, and talk to warranty tech support. I have been hung up, told to look for a sticker in a place (where the warranty tech, had no idea where it was located on this phone, obviously). I have been a prepaid customer of At&t's since 2004 and I'm switching after what I have gone thru this month alone not only with the At&t reps, but the supervisors, and warranty tech's. The phone has many options and yes you can do a lot with it. But here is the ? are the headaches worth it in the end?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime
09/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone feels like a cheap toy typing on the keys I can hear cracking noises afraid to press hard because it my break. Cheap!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime
08/09/2010
By ,
E Bridgewater, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buttons were way to small. I wouldn't recommend
this phone to anyone who has slightly impaired
eyesight
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Expecting more

08/25/2010
By ,
Central Ms
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The QWERTY board is made for fairies, best bet is to use a stylus. It also has an annoying feature of when you hit the shift key, it goes in this order: lowercase/123 (numerical), Abc (1st letter Cap) and ABC (all caps) in other words, when I want to make a capital "i", I have to hit shift 3 times.
The other big problem with this phone is I don't have an unlimited data plan, and I have to be very careful not to accidentally hit the most prominent button on the key pad, because it automatically goes to data usage and there is no way I have found to cancel it, it is going to charge you SOMETHING for the accident, may not be but a couple pennies, but it's my pennies.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

phones and such

09/13/2010
By ,
pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
really nice phone, loud enough when it rings but not overly loud to be annoying and interupting. does everything i need it to. i can call , text, and check e-mail. I really like this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

missing an expansion memory slot

09/20/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great deal and good phone with easy software and and OKay Camera >> only problem is that the phone does not have an expansion slot for a memory card which I think is a big con and they failed to make that clear otherwise would recommend it for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good quality but

12/14/2010
By ,
pdx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keys are way too small causing numerous mis--types..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

AT&T go phones are quite expensive

08/07/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If the TracFones had text friendly phones, I would have went with that instead. Until then I'm stuck with the pricey at&t go phone.
Bluetooth doesn't work real well either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Samsung A-177

11/19/2010
By ,
Kenosha, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do not like this phone. The beginning is good, but later on, (for me) when you make a text message or type anything, keys will randomly do more than what its supposed to. Example? If I press the "w" key once as in where, it will show as wwwwwhere. So then I have to go back and delete the extra "w's" Which is a pain. Though the qwerty keyboard is nice when it works, there are just too many other factors that make it not as enjoyable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good phone

11/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got this phone about a year ago, and its still in great shape. i have dropped it many times and it seems unbreakable. i would recommend this for someone of a younger age. the only issues ive had with this phone is that you have to pay too much a month. i was paying $25 a month for just unlimited texting. if you also want calling or web u would have to pay somewhere between $50-$60 a month which too me is a waste considering you can get text, web, and email for $25 a month with virgin mobile. but overall this is a really good phone
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

replacement phone

08/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone to replace the phone that was dropped into a lake . This phone is capable of all the functions my other phone achieved and for half the price. I do wish the buttons were easier to push but maybe time and use will do this for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Good for the money

09/20/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone and signed up with Pure Talk USA. It is a whole lot cheaper than AT&T and operates on the AT&T Network. I saved a lot of money that way and the phone works great. Just plugged in the sim card from Pure Talk and I was ready to go in a few minutes.
The Good:
Voice Clarity
Small Size
Cost
Good Texting Features
Long Life Battery
Fast Shipping
No Contract
The Bad:
Limited/No ring Tones
Bad Camera (low res images)
No SD Card Capability
Small Texting Buttons (takes getting used to)
All in all a very good phone for the money if you don't care about pictures, video, and data storage. I don't have e-mail or internet with the Pure Talk service so I can't comment on those items.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Not bad, not bad.

08/24/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I payed $120 for this phone a few months ago. I really liked the way it looked for a go-phone. Now it's on sale for like $50 and comes with free airtime so that's a bummer for me >.< The phone worked fine, nice features and such. I don't know how in the world it happend but I somehow locked myself out of it! I went to an ATT store to see if they could help and all they told me was to look online for an unlock code - imagine my luck there, none! But for it only costing about $50 now, it's worth it and i'd recommend it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

ok phone

12/23/2010
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They keys are hard to type on because they are so small. The battery life is really good. i forgot to plug it in and it lasted a week on the battery. I even dropped it in water and it still worked after drying out. The back does come off easy and if it's dropped the phone falls apart, but is easy to put back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Good Fit

08/29/2010
By ,
West Monroe, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone to get the querty keyboard without having to renew or expand my contract with ATT. The phone arrived two days ahead of expectation and I was using it in mins. Just swapped the SIM card and everything worked well.
Only problem is the small keys but no big issue after getting used to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Affordable & Filled With Goodies

10/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is completely like a blackberry, but a lot more affordable then other phones. I would recommend this phone for teenagers or college students.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

Sweet

09/03/2010
By ,
Bakersfield,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being a woman, small hands and slender fingers, this phone is wonderful. Easy to use and has lots of features that I adore. The AT&T pay as you go plans are a little pricy, but you get what you pay for right. This phone is well made and very trendy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung SGH-A177 with Bonus $30 of Airtime

good news

12/05/2010
By ,
Carthage, Ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product meets every expection, and exceeds most. This phone is right next door to a smart phone. I am well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next