Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hyper Bicycles 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Hyper Bicycles 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

The Impakt Sidehack 20" BMX bike is made to Today's Park-bike spec., out of high-performance steel and comes equipped with a brake cable rotor, so 360-degree rotating handlebar tricks are just a bar spin away. If you're looking for the coolest way to bring along a buddy as you rip from place to place on this 20" BMX, or just a good way to make a "Monkey" out of anyone brave enough to ride co-pilot at your local skate park, the Impakt Sidehack 20" BMX bike is for you! It's affordable, yet built to take a licking and its fun factor is the stuff of legend. 48=spoke alloy wheels, freestyle geometry, alloy platform BMX pedals, and micro-drive front and rear sprockets round out the Impakt Sidehack to make it one of the best 20" BMX buys out there today. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%53 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

OMG 2 much FUN

06/25/2010
By ,
Sumner WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most FUN we have had on a bike in a long time. Took it to our local BMX track River Valley BMX & every one was riding it. I am going to have to get anther one soon. Here is a pic from the Great Northwest Nationals. & yes it is all stock & took 2ND :~)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Hack owner

03/04/2011
By ,
Not so sunny Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this sidehack in the first run for Walmart.
I had several things go bad right away and could not get replacement parts. I am sure the warranty parts problem is ironed out by now.
Having said that, I purchased parts locally to replace the broken ones and Walmart took good care of me and reimbursed me.
This sidehack is a real head turner and has created alot of fun for me and my son.
With a few upgrades it can last a long long time.
I highly recommend this , the price is right for entry . The parts used are not the greatest, but you can only expect so much for $275.
You will definitely enjoy the ride!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Fantastic

07/12/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall I was very satisfied with what I got for the price. The bike came shipped with no problems and almost fully assembled. As a bike mechanic, I was actually surprised at how dialed in and solid it was. There has been a slight break-in period with normal adjustments, like brakes, headset, etc.
A few things that Walmart doesn't tell you about this bike that you might want to know before you buy:
Weight limit is 350 lbs total
Headset is 1" threaded
Cranks are 3 pc forged, unsealed BB
Comes with gyro
Wheels are 48 spoked, single walled, unsealed
Frame, forks, bars, etc are hi-ten steel
This bike would NOT hold up if you took it to the skatepark or tried jumping or grinding with it. It flexes quite a bit when I ride it with a monkey so both the pilot and the monkey would have to be pretty light for it to hold up over a long period of time.
Honestly though, for the money you are getting what you pay for. The bike isn't high performance, but you're not paying a high performance price. I bought the bike to goof around on with my kids and so far we have loved it and have no complaints. Buying it through walmart.com was also really easy and I actually preferred it to ordering through a bike shop.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/26/2012
Do you know what type of bottom bracket it is?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

assembly of sidehack

12/30/2010
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a lifelong bicycle guy with tons of experience in all aspects of cycling. I have two issues with the sidehack. First. One of the fork dropouts was welded at an angel that required a bench vice to straighten enough to ride on Christmas morning. Second... The seatpost was the wrong diameter. It wasn't even close to fitting. It had the exact same outside diameter as the seat tube it was supposed to fit into; it oculdn't have been driven in with the seat collar removed and an eight pound sledge hammer. The only solution was to borrow one from one of my other bicycles. I can only imagine how frustrated other kids must have been Christmas morning. BUT it is a solid bike and a smooth ride.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

You can buy this?

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of bike for the money, reasonably burly and stupidly fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Kids love it

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys (age 10 and 13) love their new side hack bike. They saw it on Fantasy Factory and HAD to have one. I soon discovered they can only be purchased through Walmart. Ship to store had it here in about 5 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Hacking it up with Sidehack

01/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The factory builds the bike and then disassembles only the handlebars, peddles, seat, reflectors, front tire and the break connections near the handlebars. You need only to put these back on, and since the factory already had them put together, you are assured it all fits! The bike is very well made and strong. My kids take it on jumps and such and it has held up completely. You also get stopped and asked by many, "Where'd you get that Sidehack??!!!!" Great fun to tell them, Walmart! Enjoy... For more info go to www.Impaktbicyles.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Hacking is fun!

06/09/2010
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 45. My son is 13. We both take turns as Monkey and Pilot. I also use it for hauling stuff like the icechest and chairs to the river when we go swimming. We ride it every day. My son also takes his friends for rides on it.
It was worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

HACK ALL DAY

01/14/2010
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is like a trophy! Once put together, it's almost too clean to ride, lol. The box is huge & packaged very well! Big props to Greyboy, TrulyOdd & the crew.
Everything about this bike exceeded my expectations. If you're looking at this bike, you already know. I feel lucky to get one before SOLD OUT...again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

awesome product

06/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is worth the money you pay for it your kids will love it my motto for it is "respect your monkey trust your polit"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

It was bent

11/03/2010
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really love this bike, I waited a long time for them to come back into stock and then today it finally arrived.
You cant imagine how disappointed I was when I put it together and found one of the crank arms was so badly bent it wouldnt rotate without hitting the frame....
The box was all beat up when I got it, seemed it had a very rough time in transport.... obviously at some point it got a serious hit and the crank suffered.
I wanted to ride it so much I bent the crank back and got it running, but this seriously bad... walmart.com are rough with their shipping. So 5 stars for the product, 1 star for the delivery.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

very fun and active product

12/08/2010
By ,
middletown,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this sidehack is very fun and good for a active child my son is 12 and absolutely loves this product i very well recomend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Fun Bicycle

07/13/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad product BUT it is for children. I got the bike for an occasional ride around my neighborhood. I am an adult and the frame is a bit small for a full sized person. I'll probably look for a larger seat at the bike shop. The only problem is my wife makes me peddle her around. The small amount of assembly was very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

great ride for adult and child

10/27/2013
By ,
upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10/27/13, glad to see bikes are being sold again. purchased one at closeout price of 239.00 a few years ago. bike is great. current price of 289 is still great value for fun and looks. frame quality is excellent components are lower grade to keep pricing low, but will be able to ride without any problems, for serious riding cranks and wheels/ hubs could be upgraded for weight and better performance, but again could be ridden right out of the box after easy assembly. shipping box is huge. get one today more = more fun...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle
05/14/2012
By ,
Fresno CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some assembly but any fool can figure it out. The brakes are kinda weak, and probly should be a lot better since its a two person bike and it can barely stop with one rider. Clean lookin bike, well built, but my biggest concern was the shipping. Not packaged very well and came with scratches on the frame, forks, and the right handle grip looked like it was dragged on the floor. So yes, mine came damaged, which was a little heart breaking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Good Base-Will Need Changes

02/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having a bracket-mounted 'hack in the '80s, I really enjoyed getting a new hack last summer. I changed the cranks, grips, wheels, freewheel, and added front brakes. I am dumping the gyro and rear brakes when I get a chance. I also removed the white foam tape and went with black athletic tape. For under $300, you get a whale of a bike that turns heads wherever it goes. If you want to take it on a track, you definitely have to upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle
01/01/2012
By ,
Ocala, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 15 year old has been pestering me for this bike for about 3 years, he saw it on Rob Dyrdek's Fantasy Factory. I finally broke down and ordered it ship to store for Christmas this year. My son was estatic when he received it and it was very simple for him to put it together. However, within 2 days, the rims were bent. My feeling is that with this being a BMX bike with the SideHack, they would have used a better quaility rim.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

A lot of fun

03/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a lot of fun but when i took it out of the box it was scrathed up and paint chipped off. wal mart could do a better job in shipping but the bike is a lot of fun
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

loved it

06/13/2010
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my boyfriends birthday and he said it was his favorite present ever! I've been trying to buy this since the show aired and it was worth the wait.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 20" Impakt Sidehack BMX Bicycle

Strong bike. Rated to carry 350 lbs

11/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got an email message saying it was in, called and asked if they could assemble..no problem
Ready in a half hour
Free ship to store was great.. Saved a 100.00$
Ship charge
Only thing it needed was a bigger
Seat for the 300 Lb monkey.
I already have a 20" 450 watt electric
Rear wheel on it (modified currie)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next