Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cricut Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Cricut Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

With the Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut, you can design wherever and whenever inspiration hits. This Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut stores all your Cricut cartridges, making it easy to search and find just the right shape. Gypsy works easily with any Cricut machine. Just connect and cut!
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation80%12 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Unusable for me....Small Screen and Glitches

01/21/2010
By ,
Shreveport La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so happy to get this machine because I've seen how you could easily do so much. HOWEVER: As soon as I tried to use it I realized that the viewable screen area was SMALL. When you add the icons and items you want to cut, those look even smaller. While I don't have 20-20 vision, I'm not blind either. I had to get a magnifier glass to see the things that I selected to cut, which helped. It also made it awkward. I kept making mistakes because I had to fidget with the machine and a magnifier at the same time.
That's part of the problem. The other is that it had "glitches." Every once in a while I couldn't move the icons around. They would bounce in other directions on the screen.
You might want to check other reviews like on Amazon to see how others fared with this machine. I've read where others have had bad issues with glitches too.
Also....Please check the store return policy before you spend this much money on the Gypsy. Most will NOT let you return them to the store once they're opened. You have to mail them back to Provo Craft to get them repaired.
Sadly, that's where mine is now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+54points
Review 2 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Most Awesome Thing

11/30/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since buying my Gypsy, hardly a day goes by that I don't use it. If you own a Cricut and several cartridges, this is a must-have purchase. You load all your cartridges onto this little beauty and you never have to get them out to plug into your cricut again...you just use your Gypsy. It's great to take on the go if you're always away from home. You create right on the Gypsy and then plug it into your Cricut and cut! No changing out cartridges! It works very much like Design Studio. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 3 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Cricut Gypsy

10/25/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Out the box this product is horrible however once you register online and get the latest updates it is the best. The zoom feature helps you get closer to what ever you put on the screen and the option to see all possible cartridges is a plus. Also having all your cartridges loaded in the Gypsy makes it easy for cutting something without having to look for the cartridge. Good investment if you ask me you can design anywhere because it is portable and then cut with a mixture of all YOUR LINKED cartridges at once. To learn the ins and outs of your Gypsy I would recommend using the cricut message board. It was from reading the message board and seeing one that helped me decide to buy one. Also wait for a sale if you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 4 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Disappointing.

01/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product was Dead On Arrival. Read several bad reviews elsewhere concerning problems with this product. Should've heeded. Wife has been working with the manufacturer (the recommended method) to get "repairs." Not Wal-Mart's fault - the product is just faulty. Wait for the next version.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Review 5 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

So wonderful! Get one now!

12/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gypsy is everything that the above poster said it is. I am so glad that I got the Gypsy! I have not regretted it at all. It is so convenient and easy to use. If you have any of the Cricut machines and a lot of cartridges or are away from your Cricut often, this is definitely the way to go. You can design anywhere and just save your work until you get home and are ready to craft.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

AWESOME PRODUCT FOR CRICUT LOVERS

09/30/2011
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my cricut for about three years, and rarely used it for the hassle of changing cartridges. Since I got my Gypsy, i use it constantly. The Gypsy is so easy to use, works wonders for my scrapbooking. You can do so much more with this, and you can cut from multiple cartrides on one sheet. It took a while for it to update, but it was worth the wait, cartidges link almost instantly. And your able to view all Cricut cartridges so you can search through all of the contents before you go buy them. This is truely a wonderful product. A must have for scrapbooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 7 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

A Must Have Cricut Machine AddOn!

02/15/2011
By ,
Bumpass, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought an Expression machine and a Gypsy for my wife,... she loves them. Don't waste your time with the design software, buy the Gypsy instead, it comes with the software on it. The Gypsy also makes updating your Cricut a breeze! When I bought the Gypsy they had a special going if you bought one they would let you download a total of 7 cartridges. I couldn't pass it up. This is a must have companion for your Cricut machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Started out troublesome

06/22/2010
By ,
Saginaw, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a lot trouble getting the Gypsy updated, I'm glad I called the help hotline. After that it was easy to use. Didn't like the small images. It was hard to see the details of the more detailed cut-outs. Would have liked a magnifier opinion. Overall I like it, because I didn't have to change the cartridges. Also could see what the other cartridges have on them that I didn't have. The more I use it, the more I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

My Gypsy experience

11/22/2010
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Gypsy arrived in record time; however, it was DOA. My box did not have all of the paperwork required for installation or registration.
I returned it to the local Walmart for a refund. I was unable to reorder it that afternoon because it was out of stock. The price of the Gypsy at Walmart fluctuates right now so I am glad that I did not reorder it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 10 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

don't buy it!

06/13/2011
By ,
Newark,Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was soo excited to get this when it first came out. My husband got it for xmas 2009. It is now dead. Warranty is for only 12 months, so I now have a $300 paper wieght. I am so disappointed with this product. Don't waste your money. For me it didn't add to my scrapbooking!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

Love It

03/16/2011
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love my new gypsy. It's a great compliment to the cricut. Works just as they say. A bit hard to get to know the machine without an instruction book, but there were many helpful videos for use on youtube!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut

A must have

03/01/2011
By ,
Moline,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the cricut expression and have used the Gypsy to design layouts. I downloaded the instruction manual from the Provo website where I registered my Gypsy and am amazed with all it can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut
10/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted this product for a while, and when I saw the price at walmart.com I had to have it. It is all I expected....Great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut
01/01/2010
By ,
scranton, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my gypsy. It is a bit overpriced, like all provocraft products, but for a serious crafter, it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Provo Craft Gypsy Handheld Design Studio for Cricut
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5