Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Lodge Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

A natural for countless recipes, the Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5-Quart Double Dutch Oven will quickly become a favorite piece in your collection. After more than 100 years of perfecting cookware, Lodge is the most trusted and recognized brand of cast iron cookware. This cast iron double Dutch oven is foundry-seasoned and works like a charm right out of the box. It features loop handles for convenient, secure handling. Stretch your imagination and create beautiful breads, soups, stews, pastas or even bake a cake in this cast iron Dutch oven. You can seriously prepare practically anything. Take the Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5-Quart Double Dutch Oven with you into the mountains or allow it the spotlight in your gourmet kitchen. Perfect for use on any cooking surface stovetop (electric, gas or induction!),on the grill or over a campfire. Proudly made in the USA since 1896! Now let's eat!
Average Customer Rating:
4.728 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%120 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Arrived Broken

12/13/2010
By ,
Lehigh Valley, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately, this cast iron double dutch oven box arrived at the store in terrible condition. The box was not within another box packed with paper around like everything else we order site-to-store. The box the dutch oven was in looked like it was in a war. So the girl opened it for us and one of the cast iron handles was broken in three pieces. She apologized and credited our account. We ordered a different Lodge Dutch Oven and this one came in perfect condition with a larger outer box that had a lot of paper surrounding it to cushion the inner box during shipping. The rating I gave it does not reflect the dutch oven itself--it's on the packaging! It is a gift, so I'm sure they will like this one. They specifically wanted cast iron and the new one we choose was even less expensive than the double dutch oven and it is in perfect condition. We would recommend this product if the packaging would have been adequate and the handle wouldn't have been broken in three pieces. It's very sturdy and heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It!

09/25/2011
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Your chicken pot pie looks so yummy!
Posted 09/30/2011
Can I have your recipe? It looks so good I would love to try it. Can you let me know which type of dough you use? Thanks so much I can't wait until I get the double dutch!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Bread Baking Magic

02/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven

08/18/2010
By ,
Southwick, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Iron is the way to go Dutch!

01/07/2011
By ,
Gatorville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Great dutch oven for baking gluten-free bread!

07/28/2014
By ,
Columbus Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this dutch oven because it is made in USA, is cast iron and is very reasonably priced as compared to the colorful enamel coated ones that currently sell for about $250.00. Purchased specifically for baking bread in the oven. Performed very well and I bake gluten-free breads which are the most challenging of all baking projects. Bread had nice crust and soft flexible texture. Best gluten-free bread I have ever eaten.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Cast Iron Heaven

09/15/2014
By ,
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my BEST dutch oven! The 5 quart capacity is perfect for meal preparation. The lid has "side" handles but NOT a "top" handle so you have to use two hands to remove the lid. The lid is reversible and can be used as a skillet by itself, which makes this a more versatile item for the price. It is heavy and well made. I would HIGHLY recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

a nice way to get iron in your diet

09/11/2014
By ,
Punta Gorda
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this ... make sure you have a nice pair of pot holders ... I cook in the lid like I would a skillet ... I love throwing it in the oven for slow cooking ... I find it heavy for my condition but I work with it when empty & Ron works with it when full
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Main Pot

02/08/2011
By ,
Spring Hill, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

versitle dutch oven

12/09/2010
By ,
indianapolis in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Good value for money

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love cooking traditional foods, which cook perfectly on the multipurpose cookware. the cast iron material gives a unique earthy flavour to the foods cooked in the pots.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Big Hunk of Iron does the job

08/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
easy fix
Posted 09/25/2011
I don't have any sharp spots on my handles, but you can sand those down yourself, then re-season the pot (oil any sanded areas, bake at 350 degrees).
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Very happy with this item. Thank you.

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this Dutch Oven and so quickly delivery!
This item made my day. I bought it for baking bread. Thank you very much
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Just right.

08/01/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been looking for the right dutch oven for baking bread. This is perfect, plus I intend to use it for Boeuf Bourguinion (beef stew) so the frying pan/lid will come in handy for browning the beef. It also provides a little more headroom in case the bread rises too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Great addition to my set!

01/16/2012
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Two for one.

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value. A case of the whole being greater than the sum of it's parts. The lid not only adds height to the oven, it also serves as a 10-1/4" skillet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Excellent 2 piece cast iron set

07/28/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new skillet and dutch pan. I use it all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

durable cookware

03/05/2011
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven

Lodge Cookware is to Die for!

06/02/2010
By ,
Sacremento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dutch oven arrived before it's expected date, which was a real plus!
The oven itself is a perfect size for two-person meals. It is sturdy & even all the way around, so there are no 'thin' spots as seen in lesser quality cast iron.
It comes fully seasoned...and a quick wash & more 'seasoning' probably wasn't necessary, but I did it.
I made chicken paprakash and it was fabulous. I used the lid to brown the chicken, while browning the other ingredients in the bottom.
The only 'downside' is the weight of it, 13 pounds. However...that is what cast iron is. And this one is F A B U L O U S!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Logic Cast Iron 5 Quart Double Dutch Oven
11/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent choice for those of us who are looking for a traditional "dutch oven" with all the value and durability of cast iron. Not only will I be able to pass this down to my grandchildren, it will help keep me strong enough to lift them well into old age--think bicep curls!
I have used this multiple times since purchase; it continues to be non-stick and clean up well. A very light gloss of canola oil and it waits patiently for my next recipe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next