Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Braun Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Braun Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Highly efficient 40 tweezer system: Removes even shortest and flat lying hairs at the root - for fast and more efficient results. Regrowth is slow and fine, leaving your skin silky smooth for up to 4 weeks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Great Product

03/13/2010
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this product is just great!!
Pros: Easy to use and handle, cleans easily, hair doesnt grow back for a long long time, it doubles as a shaver and an epilator,
Cons: is very painful the first time, and the first two minutes after subsequent uses, your body will manage the pain you wont feel it as time goes on when you are using the epilator if you are scared take an aspiring an hour or so before using it (but not necesary). a lil pricey though
Beauty is Pain...and Beauty is Pain
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 2 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea
04/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
It's the first time I buy it.
The first time I used it was very painful, but my hair got thinner after the first time, after that one you are going to feel less pain.
I noticed that when I use the razor my legs get itchy by the second day and my hair grows very quickly and with this product I do not get itchy at all, my legs feel smooth and I didn't notice my hair until a week later. Try it you are going to love it. Remember Ladies no pain, no gain!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 3 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Not for me

05/10/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been looking for an epilator for a while now. With the review for this one, I though I'd found the one.
All that I have tried have just broken off my hair. This one does seem to actually pull them out but I still had stubble so some must have broken. I let the hair grow out enough to make sure that I knew the stubble was not to be from regrowth.
I could only use the item on legs and top bikini area. I'd like to have been able to use it on my underarms as well even though most recommend on using on the legs. However when I tried, even on low speed, I tore up my underarms a bit.
The shaver part seemed to work well and smoothed out what was left behind from the stubble but still no better than regular razor shaving.
To top it off, one of the attachments was broken.
I thought the price was excessive but if it had worked, I would have been happy.
I do not recommend and will be returning the item.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Love it!

06/02/2010
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an emjoi product which broke due to wrong voltage when I traveled abroad and decided to try Braun this time.
I absolutely love this product. It definitely hurts a lot the first time but the hairs that grow back are fine and I was surprised at how much less it hurt (disclaimer: I also have a good tolerance for pain). Depending on the coarseness of the hair and whether it was broken at the surface or removed from its root, it took 1-2 weeks for the hairs to grow back. I use it on my face (chin, sideburns), under arms, fore arms and legs. It keeps me hair-free for long and its worth the pain I had to endure for the first couple of times. Definitely recommend it but be prepared for the pain the first couple of times you are ripping the hair out from its roots! I am so glad I need not shave my under arms and legs anymore :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Very Good Product

06/04/2010
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I;m A man in my 50's, I use this to pull all my
Hair on my Head, and all my Facial beard
Neck beard, and around my mouth beard
hairs, out of all the electric hair pullers,
I have tried many different ones.
This electric hair puller pulls the hairs, and
I like it, it's a keeper.
P.S. Pulling Hairs does Hurt, especially
The first time, but as you do it more
times, then it gets less painful, and
the hair more like fuzz, less coarse.
Great allternative to messy waxing.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Love Braun epilators!

06/04/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the epilator as mine broke after using it more that 10 years. It was Braun and that's why I wanted the same brand. The best price I found was on walmart.com. Delivery was fast and free. Product is great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Good Product. Not Good Price.

06/22/2010
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this one since an year. It's a little more painful when compared to my emjoi. But after a few times I got used to it. It's well worth. I was sold because it works on both volts (110 and 220V) and since i travel that was a must.
I got this one now for my niece and I had to pay $20 extra when compared to the price I paid an year ago. So i am not happy with the price. Still this was the cheapest i could find now. The product is good and that's why i'm buying it again. To find the best price is upto you!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Realy nice product

07/12/2010
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's working faster, it's quiet and effective!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Cool little gadget

08/21/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little machine. If you let the hair get too long it hurts to epi it, so do it when is short. Very easy to use. Cool little machine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 10 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Good one!

11/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this one better than any other one I had.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Pretty good product

11/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'll be honest... this epilator is rather painful. But... it does work. I can use it and not have to shave for a week or two... and after using it for a few minutes and if you use it the right way the pain kind of subsides. It definitely works, and if you really want to not have to shave then it's work the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Very pleased

12/11/2010
By ,
Greendale, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product exceeds my expectation. I have used a single head product that took forever and did not work well. The light is so important to be able to see fine hairs, and for all those who complain about pain, take an asprin an hour before and don't worry. The first sweep is very tolerable and after that you desensitize. It would be better if it was cordless but for as fast as it works, when batteries die down the product would work more slowly and would be more painful. And the point is that the hair will not grow back, so hopefully I won't need to use it forever.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Very good product!!

12/21/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got it yesterday as an early Christmas gift, and it works fantastic. It's a lot less painful than the first Epilator I used, which was by Braun as well.
I'm very happy with it and all the attachments that come along with it. Good value for the money since you're not only getting a good epilator, but a trimmer as well. The smart light is very helpful and makes getting all areas done easier.
My sister tried epilating for the first time last night, and I'm glad her first experience wasn't as painful as my first time (: So I would definitely recommend this for people just starting out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Great Value

01/30/2011
By ,
Durango, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could kick myself for paying for bi-weekly waxings! This product will pay for itself several times over for sure, and works just great. I saw a similar product by Braun at another large retail chain for $50 more. I continue to be impressed with the low prices and value from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

No Pain, No Gain!

02/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is definitely worth the cost though it may not seem like it at first.
Holy Smokes did it hurt the first couple of times (this is from someone who multiple tattoos including her ribcage) but with repeated use it became much more tolerable (Never pain free as some claim though). I also read several reviews stating this fact on Amazon about this product and I'm glad that I did b/c if I went by the first time I used it, I would not have used this again.
Recommendations. . . the longer the hair the more painful it is to remove. if you're planning on using this product on your legs I would shave and then start elipating after 3 days growth. (The instructions recommended the hair length b/t .02-.08 but it will grab it from shorter) You will have to go over it for several consecutive days b/c your leg hair grows at different lengths but if you wait until it's all long enough it's HIGHLY painful. So painful I could only do one leg before I gave up. It was much easier on the other leg doing it over several days.
ALWAYS do this after a HOT shower. It opens your pores and use an exfoliator before and after to prevent any ingrown hairs.
I think it depends on how sensitive your skin is, your reactions on different body parts. I have used this on my legs, bikini area, underarms, chin, and upper lip and by far the legs were the most painful. (this may have been due to having longer hair at first but still I find it pinches the most overall).
Your armpits are going to be a sensitive area for sure but it helps if you pull the skin tight and work in small areas.
As a person with naturally dark hair as well this is great at making the skin look more even tone. Often even immediately after shaving legs/armpits the skin would appear to have a 5 oclock shadow b/c the hair is just resting beneath the surface. This pulls all the hairs out by the roots eliminating this problem.
Also, I found the product works better with out the massage clip on but other reviews find the massagers help dull the pain. I'd recommend trying it both ways to see which works best for you.
The razor/trimmer feature is great. Works wonderful on bikini line area.
Make sure after every couple of passes you are stopping to brush out the surface area. If you are using the attachments make sure you remove them as well to brush off any hairs. This will keep it at maximum removing ability.
As someone that has highly sensitive skin this product is a joy. Shaving and waxing caused irratation as well as break outs and my skin from head to toe is looking better.
I know it may seem to be a lot out of pocket but over the course of several months it will pay for itself.
Lip and Brow wax every three - four weeks after tip was $17 a trip.
Razor blades $9-$12 not to mention the cost of shaving cream once a month.
Spend a little more out of pocket now to have something that delivers lasting results.
Hair grows at different speeds across your body but i'm finding it lasts every 2-4 weeks depending on the area and I hope with time that the duration will actually increase. Hope this helps!
I gave it 4 out of 5 stars b/c it does hurt. Extremely painful at first then dialuted down to slight discomfort with a random burst of sharp pain (when it pinches the skin).
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 16 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

confused

02/07/2011
By ,
TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I decided to buy this one based on the reviews. I have had it for a week and am not completely satisfied. I have used it almost daily and still have some hair on my legs. It does work but not as well as I had hoped. If you are going to buy this and want smooth legs immediately, keep using your razor.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

A very good way to be always smooth

02/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've researched a lot before purchasing this epilator.
I used to wax legs and bikini area and wanted to try something so I could do this at home.
Well, for the legs is perfect, but, it's very painfull doing the bikini area, and, Brazilian bikini, no way!!
The good thing is that the equipment comes with a shaver too, so when it's impossible to use the epilator system, it's possible to change.
I defenily recomend this product!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

painful, first time anyway

03/10/2011
By ,
Caledonia, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was about an 8 on a 1-10 pain scale the first time. After that it is better but I find I have to use it a lot as it doesn't get all the hair the first time. Especially the fine hair. Also, works best on shorter hair so I have to shave them, wait a few days and then go over it again.
I am having a problem with ingrown hair. I plan to find an exfolient today to hopefully help with that. If it works after a few times where I don't have to do much maintance this summer it will be worth it. We will see.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Takes to Long and Hurts to Much

04/02/2011
By ,
Tampa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Take a shot of tequila before you start using this product. That's all. If you can take the pain then you will have smooth legs.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 20 for Braun Silk Epil, Epilator, 5270, 1ea

Fabulous

04/11/2011
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Braun Epilator 5270 - works great! You have to get used to the pinching sensation as hair is pulled out - but no biggie -saving much time in shower not shaving! No razors, no cream - shaved twice so far since receiving - 3 weeks. Will last longer as time goes on!! I love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next