Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

You'll enjoy watching your favorite TV shows on the Sylvania SRT702A portable TV. It features an ATSC tuner to receive digital TV broadcasts. The convenient size makes it perfect for camping, tailgating, or entertaining the kids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation64%57 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

good tv

02/10/2010
By ,
Marlow, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a recent ice storm, and a 7 day stretch without power I decided to purchase a battery powered tv. I really liked the price of this one, so I dug a little deeper and found the owners manual online which showed a SD and a USB slot. I thought I was getting a really good deal, but this unit has NO sd or usb capabilities, tv only.
With that said, if you only need a small digital tv this one is really good for the price. The picture is as good as my home unit. Sound is not bad at all for such small speakers, and it is easy to use. battery lasted about 2 hours on a full charge. The provided antenna is useless at least in my area, but receives normally with my roof top antenna. Comes with an AC adapter AND a 12 volt plug for your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 42 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Great Buy

03/24/2010
By ,
Newark, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality, appearance and overall feel of the unit. It reminded me of the quality products supplied by Sylvania many years ago. I promptly plugged it in and did a channel scan from Comcast Cable. I wound up with a lot of channels, some of which I was unaware I had; all the channels were sharp and clear.
I next plugged in the antenna that was supplied with the unit and attempted to pick up some channels. I'm located about 30 miles from Philadelphia, so really didn't expect much. The analog tvs would automatically pick up 3, 6, 10, and an assortment of UHF channels. I picked up no signal at all. I walked outside with the unit and obtained similar results.
My hobby is building transmit and receiving antennas of all types, so I decided to throw together a small UHF antenna, similar to what would be available at Radio Shack for about 30 bucks. When I finished building the antenna, I connected it to the TV and did another test, both inside and outside. Still no signal.
In conclusion, I would suggest that this tv be purchased for use with cable only. The supplied antenna is inefficient and would probably work at a distance of no more than 5 or 10 miles from a broadcast station--and that's only a guess. A high outside antenna would probably work ok, but I wouldn't put one up just for a tv this small.
The only complaint I have about the unit is that the cable attaches at the top of the set. This unbalances the set and it's hard to keep it from falling over at times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 43 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

A nice little tv

12/18/2009
By ,
Pensacola, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tv as a backup during bad storms and hurricanes but find myself using it as a bedroom tv. I think the price was o.k. for the quality - maybe even a good price compared to other 7" digital portable tv's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

TV is poor on receiving digital channels!

03/05/2010
By ,
gaithersburg, md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product because it was advertised as a tv capable of receiving digital broadcasting channels. I literally held the tv out of my third floor window and it could only receive 1 channel which broadcast in spanish. The product excels in having features that allow it to hook up with other electronic items, eg. dvd player, ipod, etc., however do not purchase this item if you are expecting to watch television programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 45 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Not too bad!

01/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first purchase of a portable was this TV. Great price. Many features that I liked. It worked well on my out door antenna with two signal boosters in line to boost the signal. Scanned the channels and found around 28 . Excellent picture quality, many good features, the only drawback I found with this TV is the tuner would not pick up the audio portion of the broadcast signal on half of the channels. My best channel with a 65% signal level had no sound, while a channel with only a 10% signal with a degraded picture came in with great audio. I think maybe the AGC was set to high at the factory?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 46 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

travel / not

12/18/2009
By ,
napoleon, ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was dissappointed, when you could not use it in a moving vehicle, wanted it for travel. very good picture & sound quality .n the home, but you need to be hooked to antenna. could only recieve pbs channel with rabbit ears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 47 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

don't move

12/18/2009
By ,
delmar md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you move at all it goes out of tune. great if parked and NOT moving at alll not even a milimeter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 48 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

01/15/2010
By ,
Salvisa, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Neat little TV with lots of accessories. It picks up weak signals well with a sharp picture. VERY poor sound quality with no sound at all on WKET 46.1, but sound on 46.2, 46.3. and 46.4.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Might be OK if close to stations

12/27/2009
By ,
AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live about 40 mi from the TV stations. Even connected to an external TV antenna, this TV could only get 4 channels reliably. My 9-yr old TV gets 13 channels using that same antenna. I bought it to monitor the weather during power outages, but it won't get the stations that have the good weather coverage. The picture is great and it has some nice features, but the 4 channels won't hack it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 50 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No reception with antenna

01/25/2010
By ,
Burrowsville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was unable to get any station with just the attached antenna. If hooked up to a roof antenna it gets a good picture. However, it is of no use as a portable where we live in VA. It might work OK in an urban area.
I am returning the product for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 51 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

I RETURNED IT!

01/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR MY WIFE. IT WORKS FINE WHEN ATTACHED TO CABLE, HOWEVER RECEPTION IS NOT GOOD WHEN ATTACHING TO A RABBIT EAR TYPE ANTENNA. I COULD GET MAYBE 10 STATIONS AND ONLY 3 OR 4 OF THEM WERE THE MAJORS. WHEN I USED THE ATTACHED ANTENNA, I COULD GET 1 OR 2 STATIONS, AT MOST AND OCCASIONALLY. I'M IN THE WHITE PLAINS, NY AREA AND ALTHOUGH I DON'T LIVE AT THE BASE OF A TRANSMISSION TOWER, THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 52 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Hard to use

12/18/2009
By ,
White Lake, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased two of them. One for a gift and one for me. The instructions made no sense and I am a pretty technical person. After an hour of trial and error I could not get it set up to receive more than one channel. If you move the TV more than a few feet you need to re-calibrate. Cannot be used in a moving vehicle. Only worked well if I connected to my cable system, but who wants a portable TV connected to a cable? Good picture quality but very difficult to use. I returned it to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 53 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

reception

12/18/2009
By ,
Camanche, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TV gets NO reception in my area unless it is hooked up to external antenna. This defeats the purpose of a portable TV. If you are more than 10 miles from transmission tower the antenna supplied with the TV is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 54 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

could not find stations

12/20/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not really give a proper rating on the picture or sound quality because I could not get the product to identify any stations. I don't know if it is where I am at or the product is poor. I will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 55 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Less than excited

03/31/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was great, but after charging 8 hours, it would only play about 30 minutes before needing a recharge.
No matter where I tried to scan in channels, I could not get CBS, ABC, NBC or public television (and I live within blocks of the PBS station). I did get a lot of the former UHF channels, but not channels I watch.
I ended up taking the TV back. The Walmart associate was very nice and understanding, so it was not a bad experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 56 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

is not functional

12/25/2009
By ,
Miami, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not take any of the regular channels, only 4 not regular, the signal es not stable at all. I will return it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 57 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

NOT A HELPFUL PRODUCT,DO NOT BUY

12/28/2009
By ,
HOUSTON TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I LIVE IN THE 4TH LARGEST CITY AND CAN'T GET THE MAJOR CHANNEL (ABC,NBC.CBS) ON THIS TV. I HAVE TRYED SEVERAL LOCATION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE GET THE CHANNELS. I GET CHANNELS THAT I DO NOT NEED OR UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. I WANTED TO USE THIS TV IF WE HAD A POWER FAILURE, OR WHEN MY CABLE GOES OUT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 58 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Waste of money

12/28/2009
By ,
Riverdale, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv for my boyfriend for Christmas because he is a sports junkie. Unfortunately he couldn't get a signal for the tv. It works well when you hook it up to cable outlet, dvd, or game sytem only. The picture quality is good, but it would be nice to watch local channels on the rf. I'm in the process exchanging it for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 59 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

SAVE YOUR MONEY

01/18/2010
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv as a backup & also to take with me on trips. Good idea but this is not the tv for that. For one thing, the instructions say do not use in a moving vehicle. The reason being that any type of movement loses the signal...even the tiniest vibration caused the picture to break up and go away. If you can get a good picture don't move or even breathe, because it will go away.
Plus, I can't get all of my local stations, like Channel 7 our FOX station, so FOX football, American Idol or even 24 can not be viewed on this tv.....and on another local channel (ABC) there is no sound.
It's not a very well thought out or produced product and was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 60 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

disappointed

03/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV with high hopes for it to replace the little TV that I had in my computer room that became obsolete last year when TV went digital. I was really disappointed when we could get neither a picture or sound after many hours of trying.We got a menu & scanned but it would not pick up anything.We have an outside antenna & 2 other TVs that will access all available channels,so why this wouldn't work is a mystery. Also, it is advertised as portable & something that will work at the beach even,so we could not understand what was the problem. We ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
41-60 of 77 total reviews