Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

You'll enjoy watching your favorite TV shows on the Sylvania SRT702A portable TV. It features an ATSC tuner to receive digital TV broadcasts. The convenient size makes it perfect for camping, tailgating, or entertaining the kids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation64%57 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Great Television for the money!

01/13/2010
By ,
Omaha, Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an absolute wonderful little television, especially for the money! At first I did not read the instructions so I did not know to set the antenna, but after doing so, the channels set and wha laaa, the picture is wonderful. Everything has come in so clear and sound is very good. This was a much better television than any of the others I shopped for and I did tons of reasearch first before buying this one. I am very happy with this and we have even hooked up a 65 dollar coby dvd player and it works wonderful with that too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Good But Limited

12/26/2009
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product description should have noted that it was not intended for use in a moving vehicle. It has a vehicle adapter (noted in the description) so one would expect it to be able to obtain signals for use while moving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 43 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Battery problem

01/26/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little TV. I purchased this for my bathroom but wanted a battery powered TV as back-up should I loose power. Only problem is the battery won't take a charge. I am returning and ordering a new one. Also if the mount would swivel left to right 180 degrees it would a big plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

TV is poor on receiving digital channels!

03/05/2010
By ,
gaithersburg, md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product because it was advertised as a tv capable of receiving digital broadcasting channels. I literally held the tv out of my third floor window and it could only receive 1 channel which broadcast in spanish. The product excels in having features that allow it to hook up with other electronic items, eg. dvd player, ipod, etc., however do not purchase this item if you are expecting to watch television programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 45 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Not too bad!

01/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first purchase of a portable was this TV. Great price. Many features that I liked. It worked well on my out door antenna with two signal boosters in line to boost the signal. Scanned the channels and found around 28 . Excellent picture quality, many good features, the only drawback I found with this TV is the tuner would not pick up the audio portion of the broadcast signal on half of the channels. My best channel with a 65% signal level had no sound, while a channel with only a 10% signal with a degraded picture came in with great audio. I think maybe the AGC was set to high at the factory?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 46 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

travel / not

12/18/2009
By ,
napoleon, ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was dissappointed, when you could not use it in a moving vehicle, wanted it for travel. very good picture & sound quality .n the home, but you need to be hooked to antenna. could only recieve pbs channel with rabbit ears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 47 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

don't move

12/18/2009
By ,
delmar md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you move at all it goes out of tune. great if parked and NOT moving at alll not even a milimeter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 48 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No reception with antenna

01/25/2010
By ,
Burrowsville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was unable to get any station with just the attached antenna. If hooked up to a roof antenna it gets a good picture. However, it is of no use as a portable where we live in VA. It might work OK in an urban area.
I am returning the product for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 49 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

I RETURNED IT!

01/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR MY WIFE. IT WORKS FINE WHEN ATTACHED TO CABLE, HOWEVER RECEPTION IS NOT GOOD WHEN ATTACHING TO A RABBIT EAR TYPE ANTENNA. I COULD GET MAYBE 10 STATIONS AND ONLY 3 OR 4 OF THEM WERE THE MAJORS. WHEN I USED THE ATTACHED ANTENNA, I COULD GET 1 OR 2 STATIONS, AT MOST AND OCCASIONALLY. I'M IN THE WHITE PLAINS, NY AREA AND ALTHOUGH I DON'T LIVE AT THE BASE OF A TRANSMISSION TOWER, THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 50 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

reception

12/18/2009
By ,
Camanche, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TV gets NO reception in my area unless it is hooked up to external antenna. This defeats the purpose of a portable TV. If you are more than 10 miles from transmission tower the antenna supplied with the TV is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 51 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Hard to use

12/18/2009
By ,
White Lake, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased two of them. One for a gift and one for me. The instructions made no sense and I am a pretty technical person. After an hour of trial and error I could not get it set up to receive more than one channel. If you move the TV more than a few feet you need to re-calibrate. Cannot be used in a moving vehicle. Only worked well if I connected to my cable system, but who wants a portable TV connected to a cable? Good picture quality but very difficult to use. I returned it to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 52 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

01/15/2010
By ,
Salvisa, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Neat little TV with lots of accessories. It picks up weak signals well with a sharp picture. VERY poor sound quality with no sound at all on WKET 46.1, but sound on 46.2, 46.3. and 46.4.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Might be OK if close to stations

12/27/2009
By ,
AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live about 40 mi from the TV stations. Even connected to an external TV antenna, this TV could only get 4 channels reliably. My 9-yr old TV gets 13 channels using that same antenna. I bought it to monitor the weather during power outages, but it won't get the stations that have the good weather coverage. The picture is great and it has some nice features, but the 4 channels won't hack it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 54 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

NOT A HELPFUL PRODUCT,DO NOT BUY

12/28/2009
By ,
HOUSTON TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I LIVE IN THE 4TH LARGEST CITY AND CAN'T GET THE MAJOR CHANNEL (ABC,NBC.CBS) ON THIS TV. I HAVE TRYED SEVERAL LOCATION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE GET THE CHANNELS. I GET CHANNELS THAT I DO NOT NEED OR UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. I WANTED TO USE THIS TV IF WE HAD A POWER FAILURE, OR WHEN MY CABLE GOES OUT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 55 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Waste of money

12/28/2009
By ,
Riverdale, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv for my boyfriend for Christmas because he is a sports junkie. Unfortunately he couldn't get a signal for the tv. It works well when you hook it up to cable outlet, dvd, or game sytem only. The picture quality is good, but it would be nice to watch local channels on the rf. I'm in the process exchanging it for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 56 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

disappointed

03/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV with high hopes for it to replace the little TV that I had in my computer room that became obsolete last year when TV went digital. I was really disappointed when we could get neither a picture or sound after many hours of trying.We got a menu & scanned but it would not pick up anything.We have an outside antenna & 2 other TVs that will access all available channels,so why this wouldn't work is a mystery. Also, it is advertised as portable & something that will work at the beach even,so we could not understand what was the problem. We ended up returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 57 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

SAVE YOUR MONEY

01/18/2010
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv as a backup & also to take with me on trips. Good idea but this is not the tv for that. For one thing, the instructions say do not use in a moving vehicle. The reason being that any type of movement loses the signal...even the tiniest vibration caused the picture to break up and go away. If you can get a good picture don't move or even breathe, because it will go away.
Plus, I can't get all of my local stations, like Channel 7 our FOX station, so FOX football, American Idol or even 24 can not be viewed on this tv.....and on another local channel (ABC) there is no sound.
It's not a very well thought out or produced product and was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 58 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
01/23/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for when the power goes out. Recieved it today and no signal on the antenna, so I hooked up my converter box and only recieved one channel. Very disapointed. Does not work in rural areas. Returning it to my local Wal mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 59 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
01/01/2010
By ,
HUEYTOWN,AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHEN WE RECIEVED THE PRODUCT IT DID NOT WORK. COULD NOT GET A PICTURE AT ALL,NOT BECAUSE THERE WASN'T A SIGNAL, BUT THE PICTURE SCREEN WAS NOT WORKING CORRECTLY. IT WAS RETURNED TO WALMART & ANOTHER BRAND BOUGHT SOMEWHERE ELSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 60 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No No No

12/02/2009
By ,
virginia beach, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not pick up one channel, I tried from my back door with the antenna all the way up and not one channel would come in, I live in the center of town too. Im taking mine back
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
41-60 of 77 total reviews