Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

You'll enjoy watching your favorite TV shows on the Sylvania SRT702A portable TV. It features an ATSC tuner to receive digital TV broadcasts. The convenient size makes it perfect for camping, tailgating, or entertaining the kids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation64%57 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
12/23/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our handicapped child enjoys it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

SHARP PICTURE

12/23/2009
By ,
DFW
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CLEAR AND SHARP PICTURE. NEEDS EXTERNAL ANTENNA FOR ROAD TRIPS. GREAT VALUE FOR PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 43 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Good Value

03/06/2010
By ,
Bethany, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With storm season approaching we wanted a portable tv in case of a power failure. This did that and more.
It picks up local chanels and when connected to cable it will pick up the basic cable chanels.
It meets expectations, especially for the low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

travel / not

12/18/2009
By ,
napoleon, ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was dissappointed, when you could not use it in a moving vehicle, wanted it for travel. very good picture & sound quality .n the home, but you need to be hooked to antenna. could only recieve pbs channel with rabbit ears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 45 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

don't move

12/18/2009
By ,
delmar md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you move at all it goes out of tune. great if parked and NOT moving at alll not even a milimeter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 46 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Not too bad!

01/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first purchase of a portable was this TV. Great price. Many features that I liked. It worked well on my out door antenna with two signal boosters in line to boost the signal. Scanned the channels and found around 28 . Excellent picture quality, many good features, the only drawback I found with this TV is the tuner would not pick up the audio portion of the broadcast signal on half of the channels. My best channel with a 65% signal level had no sound, while a channel with only a 10% signal with a degraded picture came in with great audio. I think maybe the AGC was set to high at the factory?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 47 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

TV is poor on receiving digital channels!

03/05/2010
By ,
gaithersburg, md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product because it was advertised as a tv capable of receiving digital broadcasting channels. I literally held the tv out of my third floor window and it could only receive 1 channel which broadcast in spanish. The product excels in having features that allow it to hook up with other electronic items, eg. dvd player, ipod, etc., however do not purchase this item if you are expecting to watch television programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 48 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Might be OK if close to stations

12/27/2009
By ,
AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live about 40 mi from the TV stations. Even connected to an external TV antenna, this TV could only get 4 channels reliably. My 9-yr old TV gets 13 channels using that same antenna. I bought it to monitor the weather during power outages, but it won't get the stations that have the good weather coverage. The picture is great and it has some nice features, but the 4 channels won't hack it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 49 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

01/15/2010
By ,
Salvisa, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Neat little TV with lots of accessories. It picks up weak signals well with a sharp picture. VERY poor sound quality with no sound at all on WKET 46.1, but sound on 46.2, 46.3. and 46.4.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

reception

12/18/2009
By ,
Camanche, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TV gets NO reception in my area unless it is hooked up to external antenna. This defeats the purpose of a portable TV. If you are more than 10 miles from transmission tower the antenna supplied with the TV is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 51 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Hard to use

12/18/2009
By ,
White Lake, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased two of them. One for a gift and one for me. The instructions made no sense and I am a pretty technical person. After an hour of trial and error I could not get it set up to receive more than one channel. If you move the TV more than a few feet you need to re-calibrate. Cannot be used in a moving vehicle. Only worked well if I connected to my cable system, but who wants a portable TV connected to a cable? Good picture quality but very difficult to use. I returned it to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 52 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No reception with antenna

01/25/2010
By ,
Burrowsville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was unable to get any station with just the attached antenna. If hooked up to a roof antenna it gets a good picture. However, it is of no use as a portable where we live in VA. It might work OK in an urban area.
I am returning the product for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 53 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

I RETURNED IT!

01/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR MY WIFE. IT WORKS FINE WHEN ATTACHED TO CABLE, HOWEVER RECEPTION IS NOT GOOD WHEN ATTACHING TO A RABBIT EAR TYPE ANTENNA. I COULD GET MAYBE 10 STATIONS AND ONLY 3 OR 4 OF THEM WERE THE MAJORS. WHEN I USED THE ATTACHED ANTENNA, I COULD GET 1 OR 2 STATIONS, AT MOST AND OCCASIONALLY. I'M IN THE WHITE PLAINS, NY AREA AND ALTHOUGH I DON'T LIVE AT THE BASE OF A TRANSMISSION TOWER, THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 54 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

VERY DISAPPOINTING

12/01/2009
By ,
Kenner La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS TV UNDER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS COULD NOT KEEP SIGNALS.AT ONE POINT I HAD 8 STATIONS THEN LOST THEM.EACH SCAN REDUCED THE NUMBER OF CHANNELS RECIEVED.I TRIED FOIL AND DIFFERENT LOCATIONS AND NOTHING WORKED.
DOES COME WITH:
A/C FOR USE IN HOUSE (FOR WALL OUTLET)
D/C FOR VEHICLE USE (FOR CIGARETTE LIGHTER)
AV CABLES FOR DVD PLAYER OR OTHER DEVICE
CABLE OR SATELLITE READY COAXIAL RF HOOKUP
BATTERY TOOK APPROXIMATELY 4 HOURS TO CHARGE
BATTERY STILL WORKING STRONG AFTER 2 HOURS
COMES WITH STAND THAT NEEDS ASSEMBLY
BATTERY IS REPLACABLE
HAS GREAT PICTURE WHEN IT DOES GET A CHANNEL
SOUND GREAT TOO
I HAVE A 4 AA BATTERY TV THAT KEEPS ITS CHANNELS UNLIKE SYLVANIA.
IT APPEARS THAT SYLVANIA USED A CHEAP DIGITAL RECIEVER.I THOUGHT BEING A SYLVANIA IT WOULD BE BETTER THAN OTHER BRANDS BUT IT'S NOT.
I WILL RETURN THIS TO MY WALMART STORE FOR A REFUND
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 55 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

NOT A HELPFUL PRODUCT,DO NOT BUY

12/28/2009
By ,
HOUSTON TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I LIVE IN THE 4TH LARGEST CITY AND CAN'T GET THE MAJOR CHANNEL (ABC,NBC.CBS) ON THIS TV. I HAVE TRYED SEVERAL LOCATION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE GET THE CHANNELS. I GET CHANNELS THAT I DO NOT NEED OR UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE SAYING. I WANTED TO USE THIS TV IF WE HAD A POWER FAILURE, OR WHEN MY CABLE GOES OUT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 56 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No No No

12/02/2009
By ,
virginia beach, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not pick up one channel, I tried from my back door with the antenna all the way up and not one channel would come in, I live in the center of town too. Im taking mine back
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 57 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Waste of money

12/28/2009
By ,
Riverdale, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv for my boyfriend for Christmas because he is a sports junkie. Unfortunately he couldn't get a signal for the tv. It works well when you hook it up to cable outlet, dvd, or game sytem only. The picture quality is good, but it would be nice to watch local channels on the rf. I'm in the process exchanging it for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 58 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
01/01/2010
By ,
HUEYTOWN,AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHEN WE RECIEVED THE PRODUCT IT DID NOT WORK. COULD NOT GET A PICTURE AT ALL,NOT BECAUSE THERE WASN'T A SIGNAL, BUT THE PICTURE SCREEN WAS NOT WORKING CORRECTLY. IT WAS RETURNED TO WALMART & ANOTHER BRAND BOUGHT SOMEWHERE ELSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 59 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Not worth the money

03/24/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can only get three channels on the tv it is supposed to be portable but it will not pick up any but three channels one is in canada i am in MI and the other two channels are public tv the only way you can get any more is hooked up to cable. i have tried in many rooms in my home and at our cottage.
It is a waste of money we are very disapointed!
Product Attributes:
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 60 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

SAVE YOUR MONEY

01/18/2010
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv as a backup & also to take with me on trips. Good idea but this is not the tv for that. For one thing, the instructions say do not use in a moving vehicle. The reason being that any type of movement loses the signal...even the tiniest vibration caused the picture to break up and go away. If you can get a good picture don't move or even breathe, because it will go away.
Plus, I can't get all of my local stations, like Channel 7 our FOX station, so FOX football, American Idol or even 24 can not be viewed on this tv.....and on another local channel (ABC) there is no sound.
It's not a very well thought out or produced product and was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
41-60 of 77 total reviews