Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

You'll enjoy watching your favorite TV shows on the Sylvania SRT702A portable TV. It features an ATSC tuner to receive digital TV broadcasts. The convenient size makes it perfect for camping, tailgating, or entertaining the kids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation64%57 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Overall Good Product

12/28/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Sylvania 7" TV has a GREAT picture quality. The only part I am dissatisfied with at this point is the identification of TV channels. I'm sure that the set displays whatever the stations are broadcasting as identification, but when changing it to my preferred I.D., the options are a bit limited as the menu is limited as to what you can do with it. You do get what you pay for, and at $79, the set is definitely worth the price. The only thing I haven't tried yet is playing the set outside in sunlight, but based on what I know at this point, I would surely recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 42 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
12/28/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got it set up, hooked into my cable and away we went. The picture is awesome, the sound quality is not. So I hooked it up to a set of speakers I had laying around & it is a perfect set up for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 43 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Husbands' Xmas

12/30/2009
By ,
Goose Creek, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really can't rate this product, as I bought it for my husband for Christmas. The value though, was exceptional. Since hubby is usually working out of state, and couldn't get home for the holidays, I thought it would be great if he could see as many Bowl games as possible while he's working around the clock. He thinks it's a terrific t.v., and he loves it, so I guess if I had actually used it, I would have to give it 4-5 stars across the board.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 44 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

TV is poor on receiving digital channels!

03/05/2010
By ,
gaithersburg, md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product because it was advertised as a tv capable of receiving digital broadcasting channels. I literally held the tv out of my third floor window and it could only receive 1 channel which broadcast in spanish. The product excels in having features that allow it to hook up with other electronic items, eg. dvd player, ipod, etc., however do not purchase this item if you are expecting to watch television programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 45 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Not too bad!

01/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first purchase of a portable was this TV. Great price. Many features that I liked. It worked well on my out door antenna with two signal boosters in line to boost the signal. Scanned the channels and found around 28 . Excellent picture quality, many good features, the only drawback I found with this TV is the tuner would not pick up the audio portion of the broadcast signal on half of the channels. My best channel with a 65% signal level had no sound, while a channel with only a 10% signal with a degraded picture came in with great audio. I think maybe the AGC was set to high at the factory?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 46 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

travel / not

12/18/2009
By ,
napoleon, ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was dissappointed, when you could not use it in a moving vehicle, wanted it for travel. very good picture & sound quality .n the home, but you need to be hooked to antenna. could only recieve pbs channel with rabbit ears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 47 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

don't move

12/18/2009
By ,
delmar md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you move at all it goes out of tune. great if parked and NOT moving at alll not even a milimeter
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 48 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No reception with antenna

01/25/2010
By ,
Burrowsville, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was unable to get any station with just the attached antenna. If hooked up to a roof antenna it gets a good picture. However, it is of no use as a portable where we live in VA. It might work OK in an urban area.
I am returning the product for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 49 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

I RETURNED IT!

01/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR MY WIFE. IT WORKS FINE WHEN ATTACHED TO CABLE, HOWEVER RECEPTION IS NOT GOOD WHEN ATTACHING TO A RABBIT EAR TYPE ANTENNA. I COULD GET MAYBE 10 STATIONS AND ONLY 3 OR 4 OF THEM WERE THE MAJORS. WHEN I USED THE ATTACHED ANTENNA, I COULD GET 1 OR 2 STATIONS, AT MOST AND OCCASIONALLY. I'M IN THE WHITE PLAINS, NY AREA AND ALTHOUGH I DON'T LIVE AT THE BASE OF A TRANSMISSION TOWER, THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 50 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

reception

12/18/2009
By ,
Camanche, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TV gets NO reception in my area unless it is hooked up to external antenna. This defeats the purpose of a portable TV. If you are more than 10 miles from transmission tower the antenna supplied with the TV is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 51 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Hard to use

12/18/2009
By ,
White Lake, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased two of them. One for a gift and one for me. The instructions made no sense and I am a pretty technical person. After an hour of trial and error I could not get it set up to receive more than one channel. If you move the TV more than a few feet you need to re-calibrate. Cannot be used in a moving vehicle. Only worked well if I connected to my cable system, but who wants a portable TV connected to a cable? Good picture quality but very difficult to use. I returned it to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 52 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

01/15/2010
By ,
Salvisa, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Neat little TV with lots of accessories. It picks up weak signals well with a sharp picture. VERY poor sound quality with no sound at all on WKET 46.1, but sound on 46.2, 46.3. and 46.4.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Might be OK if close to stations

12/27/2009
By ,
AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live about 40 mi from the TV stations. Even connected to an external TV antenna, this TV could only get 4 channels reliably. My 9-yr old TV gets 13 channels using that same antenna. I bought it to monitor the weather during power outages, but it won't get the stations that have the good weather coverage. The picture is great and it has some nice features, but the 4 channels won't hack it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 54 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

VERY DISAPPOINTING

12/01/2009
By ,
Kenner La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS TV UNDER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS COULD NOT KEEP SIGNALS.AT ONE POINT I HAD 8 STATIONS THEN LOST THEM.EACH SCAN REDUCED THE NUMBER OF CHANNELS RECIEVED.I TRIED FOIL AND DIFFERENT LOCATIONS AND NOTHING WORKED.
DOES COME WITH:
A/C FOR USE IN HOUSE (FOR WALL OUTLET)
D/C FOR VEHICLE USE (FOR CIGARETTE LIGHTER)
AV CABLES FOR DVD PLAYER OR OTHER DEVICE
CABLE OR SATELLITE READY COAXIAL RF HOOKUP
BATTERY TOOK APPROXIMATELY 4 HOURS TO CHARGE
BATTERY STILL WORKING STRONG AFTER 2 HOURS
COMES WITH STAND THAT NEEDS ASSEMBLY
BATTERY IS REPLACABLE
HAS GREAT PICTURE WHEN IT DOES GET A CHANNEL
SOUND GREAT TOO
I HAVE A 4 AA BATTERY TV THAT KEEPS ITS CHANNELS UNLIKE SYLVANIA.
IT APPEARS THAT SYLVANIA USED A CHEAP DIGITAL RECIEVER.I THOUGHT BEING A SYLVANIA IT WOULD BE BETTER THAN OTHER BRANDS BUT IT'S NOT.
I WILL RETURN THIS TO MY WALMART STORE FOR A REFUND
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 55 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

No No No

12/02/2009
By ,
virginia beach, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not pick up one channel, I tried from my back door with the antenna all the way up and not one channel would come in, I live in the center of town too. Im taking mine back
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 56 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
01/23/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for when the power goes out. Recieved it today and no signal on the antenna, so I hooked up my converter box and only recieved one channel. Very disapointed. Does not work in rural areas. Returning it to my local Wal mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 57 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A
01/01/2010
By ,
HUEYTOWN,AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WHEN WE RECIEVED THE PRODUCT IT DID NOT WORK. COULD NOT GET A PICTURE AT ALL,NOT BECAUSE THERE WASN'T A SIGNAL, BUT THE PICTURE SCREEN WAS NOT WORKING CORRECTLY. IT WAS RETURNED TO WALMART & ANOTHER BRAND BOUGHT SOMEWHERE ELSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 58 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Limited viewing!

01/06/2010
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really excited about getting a tv I could watch @ work. I was highly disappointed when it only picked up 5 channels, none of which was channel 9. The antenna that comes with the tv is an analog antenna. So I went and purchased a digital antenna in hopes that more channels would come in, and they did, but not channels 7 and 9. I returned both products to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 59 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

Poor reception

01/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV got very poor reception and did not receive all the channels it was supposed to get. It is also extremely sensitive to movement. The channels that did come in would break up very easiliy if the TV was moved.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 60 for Sylvania 7" Portable LCD TV, SRT702A

might be returning

01/08/2010
By ,
Hackensack,NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
can't get any local broadcast stations. I get some foreign station and 3 radio stations. the purpose was to be able to watch tv in my kitchen, but this seems HIGHLY UNLIKELY. I have someone coming over in the next week or so to see if he can "set it up" to see a local station - if he can't, I'll be returning it.
also was told I could return by mail [since I don't drive and have no idea where a walmart would be near me] and I see the return policy is to return to a store. then I might get stuck w/something that doesn't do what I purchased it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
41-60 of 77 total reviews