Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

The Targus DVD Rom External USB 2.0 Drive allows you to listen to music, watch movies, or view pictures wherever you may be, through your PC or notebook. Ergonomically designed, this portable notebook DVD ROM drive has easy-to-access controls that ensure simple operation. The top loading design of this external drive makes it very easy for you to use. Slim and lightweight, you can carry the Targus external DVD drive in your backpack or laptop bag. You can connect the drive to a USB port, without worrying about other drivers. As this DVD ROM drive is USB powered, you dont even need an additional power adapter to use it. This versatile external driver is compatible with RoHS as well as Windows 7, 2000, XP, and Vista. With the Targus DVD Rom External 2.0 Drive, you are never far from your favorite movies, music, or pictures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%75 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Add-on for a teens computer--perfect!

07/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought an Acer computer for a teen who is being encouraged to study, with this as an add-on we don't need to supervise when it's not being used to watch a movie instead of doing homework.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 42 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Perfect for mini-laptops

01/09/2010
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a necessary partner to any 10" mini laptop since they don't come with DVD drives. The 2.0 USB makes it compatable and it's small enough to carry in the mini sleeves. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 43 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/19/2010
By ,
suffolk county ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extremely portable..usb cord fits in the bottom of the drive..works great and was recognized by my netbook as soon as i pluged it in
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 44 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Better than Expected

12/03/2010
By ,
Palm Desert CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast service. Device worked wonderfully and we were pleased with effectiveness as well as price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 45 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

This device is worth the price!

12/26/2011
By ,
Findlay, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have dropped this device 2 times, and it keeps on ticking. It runs really loudly, but that is my only complaint. The load times for movies are decent, and I noticed that the drive doesn't 'sleep' and stop spinning unless I tell it to do so. I assume this will shorten the life of the motor within it, but I am a satisfied user!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 46 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

An excellant addition to my netbook

01/06/2010
By ,
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellant addition to my netbook, light weight and a great drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 47 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Works as advertised

07/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A no-frills, relatively inexpensive external DVD-ROM drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 48 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great little Drive

03/22/2010
By ,
Allentown PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Targus External DVD Drive to use with my netbook. It's small, easy to use (love the holder underneath for the USB cord), and it works like a charm. Great for adding software on CDs to the netbook. It's not a CD or DVD writer, but then my netbook has an SD card that will take care of that. Found the best price at WallMart.com, and the Ship to Store feature was free, quick, and hastle free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 49 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Did What I needed It To Do

03/12/2010
By ,
Buchanan, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to go with my Acre netbook, which had Windows 7 starter. Had no problems getting my Microsoft Office software downloaded with this product. I don't know why some gave a poor review because they couldn't get it to match up with Windows 7. It worked fine with mine. I highly recommend it for someone who has the Acre with Windows 7 starter.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Review 50 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great for netbooks

05/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my Gateway netbook so I could download mapping software, other programs and to play DVD's. You must use the supplied cable for the player to work (mistake I made). It is light, small and fits in my Microsoft netbook brief case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 51 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i havent watched movies yet so I'll have to do that but it rips music nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 52 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Product

05/09/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this every day. It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

External DVD-ROM

08/27/2010
By ,
PV, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, have had no problems with the dvd drive working with the Acer Aspire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Needed for netbook

12/24/2009
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase a netbook about three months ago, and
love it. There was only one thing missing. I needed
an external DVD Drive.
I purchase this product on line and love it. It works
great and the price was right.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Review 55 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Happy with Purchase

12/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with this this dvd-rom. It works as expected and the usb cord stores in the bottom of the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Product

02/12/2011
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to download on my netbook. Some of the reviews I read stated that this was not a very sturdy product, but I find that it is suitable for my purposes since it is not intended for use everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 57 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good External DVD-ROM

04/02/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD-ROM performs well and is a great value. It is lightweight and compact. It is a great companion for a netbook. Keep in mind that it plays DVDs and CDs but it does not burn them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

It does work on Windows 7!

07/01/2010
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though it says not sold in store, it was sold at my local Walmart in Citrus Heights. I needed one for my eMachines em250 so this works. I was able to recover my machine with discs I ordered from Acer. Tried installing programs and it works well too. This unit will play DVD movies with VLC Media Player and Media Player Home Classic Cinema which are both freeware. There have been some reports of this not working on Windows 7, but it works 100% on my em250 without a problem. It works best when plugged in to a netbook with the A/C on but If you have it plugged in without the Netbook A/C, it may drain your battery faster then you think. You cannot finish a movie on a 3 celler , but maybe a sixer or a niner. One big thing that I would like to mention is that I do not reccomend this for kids who have netbooks, the design is too flimsy and the door can break off easy. Its meant for people who are gentle with their electronics. Overall a good product, but you get what you pay for I suppose. A complaint I and others would have is the short cord. You can use a longer cord with this if you have one. I encountered no real issue in file transfer speeds between shorter and longer cords. Overall I am satisfied with this unit, but it has that feeling that you can break it within the first few weeks of ownership if you do not take care of it like a precious and delicate china dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati, Ohio
Targus DVD-ROM External
Posted 09/06/2011
I must agree that this product is very sensitive. I had been using it for about 2 months and one time perhaps became to rough and it no longer works...Beware!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great machine, great price

07/20/2010
By ,
Lucca, Italy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother-in-law's computer dvd player broke and so I got him this so he could download his music into his computer. In the description it doesn't say that it's possible to upload the music or films into the computer, but you can. It works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Deal

08/08/2010
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DVD player to hook uo to my acer mini laptop for my 3 year old son to watch movies during a 3 hour airplane ride. Hooked it up ahead of time and it worked perfect. No complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
41-60 of 69 total reviews