Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

The Targus DVD Rom External USB 2.0 Drive allows you to listen to music, watch movies, or view pictures wherever you may be, through your PC or notebook. Ergonomically designed, this portable notebook DVD ROM drive has easy-to-access controls that ensure simple operation. The top loading design of this external drive makes it very easy for you to use. Slim and lightweight, you can carry the Targus external DVD drive in your backpack or laptop bag. You can connect the drive to a USB port, without worrying about other drivers. As this DVD ROM drive is USB powered, you dont even need an additional power adapter to use it. This versatile external driver is compatible with RoHS as well as Windows 7, 2000, XP, and Vista. With the Targus DVD Rom External 2.0 Drive, you are never far from your favorite movies, music, or pictures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%75 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

An excellant addition to my netbook

01/06/2010
By ,
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellant addition to my netbook, light weight and a great drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Excellent - did what I needed

06/06/2011
By ,
19958
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because my computer wasn't able to play dvds or games. I purchased this and it's done a great job for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Price, Easy to use.

06/13/2010
By ,
Spencer, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this DVD-ROM drive to go with my netbook. I wanted it so I could install software that I use for school. It was very simple to use, just plug it in, it sets itself up and go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/09/2011
By ,
Santa Fe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little thing. I'm a flight attendant and I take it with me on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great for netbooks

05/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my Gateway netbook so I could download mapping software, other programs and to play DVD's. You must use the supplied cable for the player to work (mistake I made). It is light, small and fits in my Microsoft netbook brief case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Met all expectations

06/12/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little optical drive - truly plug and play. Convenient for travel. The cable fits nicely in a slot on the bottom of the player. This was purchased to install software to my Dell mini netbook and it worked perfectly. Excellent value. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to play DVDs or install software - it does not burn DVDs or CDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Product

05/09/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this every day. It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

I fix computers with this.

05/18/2011
By ,
Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is useful for me because I insert the Windows XP, Vista or 7 in this device and select the option boot from USB CD/DVD rom when I have this kind of computers like in the following examples
1- When mini laptops (netbooks) doesn't have CD/DVD rom by default because there is no space to install one of them.
2- When regular laptops doesn't work the CD/DVD rom.
3- When computers doesn't work CD/DVD rom.
Etc etc... I used to do it through regular USB (pendrive, usb flash) but it was too much work and most of the times doesn't work so I end up buying this USB CD/DVD rom which works excellent for my needs.
Also the USB cord stores under the unit. I've uploaded the pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Works as advertised

07/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A no-frills, relatively inexpensive external DVD-ROM drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Needed for netbook

12/24/2009
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase a netbook about three months ago, and
love it. There was only one thing missing. I needed
an external DVD Drive.
I purchase this product on line and love it. It works
great and the price was right.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great machine, great price

07/20/2010
By ,
Lucca, Italy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother-in-law's computer dvd player broke and so I got him this so he could download his music into his computer. In the description it doesn't say that it's possible to upload the music or films into the computer, but you can. It works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
10/03/2010
By ,
Corona, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as an addition for my netbook, because it doesn't have a dvd drive. It works great with it. I was able to download software using it and I am also able to play dvd movies on it aswell. For the price it is a great buy. The only thing I wish it had was a converter. I had to pay and download a media converter using Danisoft in order to use this on my netbook. I only wish it already came with a converter. But once I did that it's been great. And one more thing it's way cheaper to buy this product online vs. going into the store and purchasing it. You'll save almost $20.00. Interesting huh. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Better than Expected

12/03/2010
By ,
Palm Desert CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast service. Device worked wonderfully and we were pleased with effectiveness as well as price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Did exactly what I needed it to do.

07/21/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it in. The drivers loaded and it was working in a matter of seconds. Great price for a great piece of equipment. I have an HP Mini Netbook running Windows 7 Starter and I had no issues what so ever. Great deal, great product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/19/2010
By ,
suffolk county ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extremely portable..usb cord fits in the bottom of the drive..works great and was recognized by my netbook as soon as i pluged it in
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Perfect for mini-laptops

01/09/2010
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a necessary partner to any 10" mini laptop since they don't come with DVD drives. The 2.0 USB makes it compatable and it's small enough to carry in the mini sleeves. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Product

02/12/2011
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to download on my netbook. Some of the reviews I read stated that this was not a very sturdy product, but I find that it is suitable for my purposes since it is not intended for use everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Product!

12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 11 inch dell computer (because obviously it's too small to have a cd player in it!) Great Product for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
02/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what its supposed to do at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Just what I was looking for.

02/04/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought my daughter a Dell Netbook w/XP for Christmas. Didn't realize Microsoft Office wasn't already installed so I needed a inexpensive drive to install it. Plug and play. Anyone can use it. No need to download drivers or software. Electronic stores wanted $50+ for the same item plus S/H. The Walmart had the best price going. Also, liked the idea that if it didn't meet my expectations I could return it to the local store. She will most likely never need it again but its nice to have just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 69 total reviews