Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

The Targus DVD Rom External USB 2.0 Drive allows you to listen to music, watch movies, or view pictures wherever you may be, through your PC or notebook. Ergonomically designed, this portable notebook DVD ROM drive has easy-to-access controls that ensure simple operation. The top loading design of this external drive makes it very easy for you to use. Slim and lightweight, you can carry the Targus external DVD drive in your backpack or laptop bag. You can connect the drive to a USB port, without worrying about other drivers. As this DVD ROM drive is USB powered, you dont even need an additional power adapter to use it. This versatile external driver is compatible with RoHS as well as Windows 7, 2000, XP, and Vista. With the Targus DVD Rom External 2.0 Drive, you are never far from your favorite movies, music, or pictures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%75 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great little Drive

03/22/2010
By ,
Allentown PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Targus External DVD Drive to use with my netbook. It's small, easy to use (love the holder underneath for the USB cord), and it works like a charm. Great for adding software on CDs to the netbook. It's not a CD or DVD writer, but then my netbook has an SD card that will take care of that. Found the best price at WallMart.com, and the Ship to Store feature was free, quick, and hastle free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 42 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Works great & Lightweight

02/05/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I needed to use my Netbook more effectively. It's light and compact design makes it easy to slip into the case with my Netbook, and it is SO easy to use. Just plug in the cable (which even stores in the bottom of the drive!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

PLUG AND PLAY

06/02/2010
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use not issues just PLUG AND PLAY its ready to be used
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 44 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Just what I was looking for.

02/04/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought my daughter a Dell Netbook w/XP for Christmas. Didn't realize Microsoft Office wasn't already installed so I needed a inexpensive drive to install it. Plug and play. Anyone can use it. No need to download drivers or software. Electronic stores wanted $50+ for the same item plus S/H. The Walmart had the best price going. Also, liked the idea that if it didn't meet my expectations I could return it to the local store. She will most likely never need it again but its nice to have just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 45 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Did exactly what I needed it to do.

07/21/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it in. The drivers loaded and it was working in a matter of seconds. Great price for a great piece of equipment. I have an HP Mini Netbook running Windows 7 Starter and I had no issues what so ever. Great deal, great product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

DVD Player

01/10/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple player that works great. A nice addition for a netbook. Plays DVD' s and CD's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 47 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Add-on for a teens computer--perfect!

07/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought an Acer computer for a teen who is being encouraged to study, with this as an add-on we don't need to supervise when it's not being used to watch a movie instead of doing homework.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 48 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/09/2011
By ,
Santa Fe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little thing. I'm a flight attendant and I take it with me on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 49 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

This device is worth the price!

12/26/2011
By ,
Findlay, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have dropped this device 2 times, and it keeps on ticking. It runs really loudly, but that is my only complaint. The load times for movies are decent, and I noticed that the drive doesn't 'sleep' and stop spinning unless I tell it to do so. I assume this will shorten the life of the motor within it, but I am a satisfied user!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 50 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

It does work on Windows 7!

07/01/2010
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though it says not sold in store, it was sold at my local Walmart in Citrus Heights. I needed one for my eMachines em250 so this works. I was able to recover my machine with discs I ordered from Acer. Tried installing programs and it works well too. This unit will play DVD movies with VLC Media Player and Media Player Home Classic Cinema which are both freeware. There have been some reports of this not working on Windows 7, but it works 100% on my em250 without a problem. It works best when plugged in to a netbook with the A/C on but If you have it plugged in without the Netbook A/C, it may drain your battery faster then you think. You cannot finish a movie on a 3 celler , but maybe a sixer or a niner. One big thing that I would like to mention is that I do not reccomend this for kids who have netbooks, the design is too flimsy and the door can break off easy. Its meant for people who are gentle with their electronics. Overall a good product, but you get what you pay for I suppose. A complaint I and others would have is the short cord. You can use a longer cord with this if you have one. I encountered no real issue in file transfer speeds between shorter and longer cords. Overall I am satisfied with this unit, but it has that feeling that you can break it within the first few weeks of ownership if you do not take care of it like a precious and delicate china dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati, Ohio
Targus DVD-ROM External
Posted 09/06/2011
I must agree that this product is very sensitive. I had been using it for about 2 months and one time perhaps became to rough and it no longer works...Beware!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great lightweight unit

09/02/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit works great if you read the directions which will tell you about a free software download. I like that the cord is attached to the DVD unit. All in all a great unit for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 52 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Met all expectations

06/12/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little optical drive - truly plug and play. Convenient for travel. The cable fits nicely in a slot on the bottom of the player. This was purchased to install software to my Dell mini netbook and it worked perfectly. Excellent value. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to play DVDs or install software - it does not burn DVDs or CDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 53 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Price, Easy to use.

06/13/2010
By ,
Spencer, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this DVD-ROM drive to go with my netbook. I wanted it so I could install software that I use for school. It was very simple to use, just plug it in, it sets itself up and go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 54 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
10/03/2010
By ,
Corona, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as an addition for my netbook, because it doesn't have a dvd drive. It works great with it. I was able to download software using it and I am also able to play dvd movies on it aswell. For the price it is a great buy. The only thing I wish it had was a converter. I had to pay and download a media converter using Danisoft in order to use this on my netbook. I only wish it already came with a converter. But once I did that it's been great. And one more thing it's way cheaper to buy this product online vs. going into the store and purchasing it. You'll save almost $20.00. Interesting huh. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 55 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Product

05/09/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this every day. It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Deal

08/08/2010
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DVD player to hook uo to my acer mini laptop for my 3 year old son to watch movies during a 3 hour airplane ride. Hooked it up ahead of time and it worked perfect. No complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 57 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great for netbooks

05/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my Gateway netbook so I could download mapping software, other programs and to play DVD's. You must use the supplied cable for the player to work (mistake I made). It is light, small and fits in my Microsoft netbook brief case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 58 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Works as advertised

07/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A no-frills, relatively inexpensive external DVD-ROM drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 59 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good External DVD-ROM

04/02/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD-ROM performs well and is a great value. It is lightweight and compact. It is a great companion for a netbook. Keep in mind that it plays DVDs and CDs but it does not burn them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i havent watched movies yet so I'll have to do that but it rips music nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
41-60 of 69 total reviews