Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Targus Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

The Targus DVD Rom External USB 2.0 Drive allows you to listen to music, watch movies, or view pictures wherever you may be, through your PC or notebook. Ergonomically designed, this portable notebook DVD ROM drive has easy-to-access controls that ensure simple operation. The top loading design of this external drive makes it very easy for you to use. Slim and lightweight, you can carry the Targus external DVD drive in your backpack or laptop bag. You can connect the drive to a USB port, without worrying about other drivers. As this DVD ROM drive is USB powered, you dont even need an additional power adapter to use it. This versatile external driver is compatible with RoHS as well as Windows 7, 2000, XP, and Vista. With the Targus DVD Rom External 2.0 Drive, you are never far from your favorite movies, music, or pictures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%75 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Product

05/09/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this every day. It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

PLUG AND PLAY

06/02/2010
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use not issues just PLUG AND PLAY its ready to be used
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 43 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Met all expectations

06/12/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little optical drive - truly plug and play. Convenient for travel. The cable fits nicely in a slot on the bottom of the player. This was purchased to install software to my Dell mini netbook and it worked perfectly. Excellent value. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to play DVDs or install software - it does not burn DVDs or CDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 44 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great Price, Easy to use.

06/13/2010
By ,
Spencer, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this DVD-ROM drive to go with my netbook. I wanted it so I could install software that I use for school. It was very simple to use, just plug it in, it sets itself up and go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 45 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

It does work on Windows 7!

07/01/2010
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though it says not sold in store, it was sold at my local Walmart in Citrus Heights. I needed one for my eMachines em250 so this works. I was able to recover my machine with discs I ordered from Acer. Tried installing programs and it works well too. This unit will play DVD movies with VLC Media Player and Media Player Home Classic Cinema which are both freeware. There have been some reports of this not working on Windows 7, but it works 100% on my em250 without a problem. It works best when plugged in to a netbook with the A/C on but If you have it plugged in without the Netbook A/C, it may drain your battery faster then you think. You cannot finish a movie on a 3 celler , but maybe a sixer or a niner. One big thing that I would like to mention is that I do not reccomend this for kids who have netbooks, the design is too flimsy and the door can break off easy. Its meant for people who are gentle with their electronics. Overall a good product, but you get what you pay for I suppose. A complaint I and others would have is the short cord. You can use a longer cord with this if you have one. I encountered no real issue in file transfer speeds between shorter and longer cords. Overall I am satisfied with this unit, but it has that feeling that you can break it within the first few weeks of ownership if you do not take care of it like a precious and delicate china dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cincinnati, Ohio
Targus DVD-ROM External
Posted 09/06/2011
I must agree that this product is very sensitive. I had been using it for about 2 months and one time perhaps became to rough and it no longer works...Beware!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great machine, great price

07/20/2010
By ,
Lucca, Italy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother-in-law's computer dvd player broke and so I got him this so he could download his music into his computer. In the description it doesn't say that it's possible to upload the music or films into the computer, but you can. It works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Did exactly what I needed it to do.

07/21/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it in. The drivers loaded and it was working in a matter of seconds. Great price for a great piece of equipment. I have an HP Mini Netbook running Windows 7 Starter and I had no issues what so ever. Great deal, great product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i havent watched movies yet so I'll have to do that but it rips music nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 49 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Deal

08/08/2010
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DVD player to hook uo to my acer mini laptop for my 3 year old son to watch movies during a 3 hour airplane ride. Hooked it up ahead of time and it worked perfect. No complaints here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 50 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
08/19/2010
By ,
suffolk county ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extremely portable..usb cord fits in the bottom of the drive..works great and was recognized by my netbook as soon as i pluged it in
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 51 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

External DVD-ROM

08/27/2010
By ,
PV, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, have had no problems with the dvd drive working with the Acer Aspire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great lightweight unit

09/02/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit works great if you read the directions which will tell you about a free software download. I like that the cord is attached to the DVD unit. All in all a great unit for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 53 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
10/03/2010
By ,
Corona, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as an addition for my netbook, because it doesn't have a dvd drive. It works great with it. I was able to download software using it and I am also able to play dvd movies on it aswell. For the price it is a great buy. The only thing I wish it had was a converter. I had to pay and download a media converter using Danisoft in order to use this on my netbook. I only wish it already came with a converter. But once I did that it's been great. And one more thing it's way cheaper to buy this product online vs. going into the store and purchasing it. You'll save almost $20.00. Interesting huh. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 54 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Better than Expected

12/03/2010
By ,
Palm Desert CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast service. Device worked wonderfully and we were pleased with effectiveness as well as price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 55 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Happy with Purchase

12/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with this this dvd-rom. It works as expected and the usb cord stores in the bottom of the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 56 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

DVD Player

01/10/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple player that works great. A nice addition for a netbook. Plays DVD' s and CD's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 57 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Good Product

02/12/2011
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to download on my netbook. Some of the reviews I read stated that this was not a very sturdy product, but I find that it is suitable for my purposes since it is not intended for use everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 58 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only
02/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what its supposed to do at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 59 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

helpful product

04/03/2011
By ,
Delrio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product help me and work 100% in the proposit of boot dvd or cd in the Netbook and this be helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 60 for Targus DVD-ROM External USB 2.0 Optical Drive - Read Only

Great product

04/23/2011
By ,
Elgin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and reasonably priced. The only thing about it that I was not impressed with was the usb cord.... it is much to short, it is only about 7 inches long. But it works wonderfully. I am quite happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
41-60 of 69 total reviews