Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Danby Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

At 18-inches wide, the Danby Energy Star Portable Dishwasher takes up minimal space. Built-in casters allow the Danby Portable Dishwasher to be easily moved out of the way or out of the room. Energy Star rated and boasting a low-water consumption feature, this Danby Dishwasher with 8-place setting capacity is eco-friendly. The Danby Portable Dishwasher has an 8-place setting capacity with silverware basket and features simple electronic controls, 6 wash cycles, and durable stainless steel spray arm and interior. Plus, the Danby Energy Star Portable Dishwasher also has a rinse agent dispenser, automatic detergent dispenser and built-in water softener system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(448 Reviews) 396
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
121
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation90%402 out of 448reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 592 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
121
3 stars
19
2 stars
5
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

WAY TO CROWDED & SMALL, DOES NOT GET DISHES CLEAN!

06/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a GE Dishwasher for 20+ yrs. It needed a water pump replaced after 15 yrs and ran great for another 5 before giving out. But 20+ yrs is pretty good I think. It got the dishes clean, was reliable and roomy for a portable.
This Danby is a joke!! IT DOES NOT GET THE DISHES CLEAN!! It sanitizes nothing more. I've used every setting, 3 different detergents with the same results. The worst part is the tongs that hold the dishes are so close together that they are crammed in there and nothing gets clean, just sanitized. So if you like washing your dishes before you wash the dishes, this is a great one to own!!
The manual explains nothing, there are parts you have no clue what to do with, no explanation as to what they are. The settings have pictures, no words, so it's like deciphering hyroglyphics. I could not even figure out how to run it!! And I'm not that dumb! I could not figure out how to attach to my faucet, they assume you know all that, again no written instructions for connecting to the faucet. It leaked the first few times until I finally figured out what was wrong. GE was easier to figure out w/o instructions. Attached and ran fine on the first try. This one is not. It took several attempts and trial and error just to get the attachment on correctly to attach to the faucet!! Then you would think the power button and one setting or 2 settings for wash would do it! NO! There is ANOTHER button you have to push!! But they explain NONE of this in the manual!!
Within days one of the wheels on the rack fell off. I could go on with how much I hate this dishwasher but I'll stop there and just say this was a complete waste of $400!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Great Product for limited space

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dishwasher works great and attaches easily to your faucet (just make sure you have a good faucet - a leaky one will leak more as the dishwasher runs on full blast water). I was impressed - the interior is stainless steel and there are places to add jet dry and/or salt if you have hard water. If performs fairly quietly and as to taking so long as others had posted, it's the drying that takes the longest (as with all dishwashers)...you could remove dishes and towel dry if you wish. Also, I cut time by doing the quick wash and it does a good job. My only request would be that they offer it in black as well - black would have matched my kitchen, but I am happy to just have a dishwasher.
I was also surprised at all the extras - it has attachments so you can clean wine glasses without them breaking. Also many of the dividers will remove so you can fit large items in. It sprays from the top, bottom, and middle.
It came absolutely fully assembled...the hardest part was just removing it from the wood and styrofoamed bottom of the box. It is very heavy to lift, but rolls easily. I am going to permanently plumb it into a spot in my kitchen so I don't have to roll and attach to the sink every time (even though it is an easy quick-release attachment).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Great dishwasher

02/07/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this dishwasher after my old GE Nautilus finally gave out on me. Since ive gotten this dishwasher all my friends comment on how cute it is. It fits perfectly up against the wall when not in use. My old dishwasher was big and stuck out a few inches and i stubbed my toes on it alot. I have to say this dishwasher does an excellent job!! I never have any left on food, no spots or white film on my dishes and super clean!! It is a small dishwasher so with a family of 5 i have to load and wash daily. I do however wash my pots & pans by hand and other big items. But I'd rather do that than wash lots of bowls and cups. But heres some advice for ya. Remember to wait til u hear the dishwasher do a series of beeps to tell u its done. I made that mistake thinking it was done cuz it sat there quiet for so long. I disconnected it from the faucet but still had it plugged in for the "drying" that i thought it was doing. Well i almost flooded my kitchen!! Haha, it wasnt done. Also when the dishwasher is done and u unplug it and move it back to its spot just open up the door and pull the racks out and let them dry as if they were in your dishrack. Otherwise u will have alot of water left on your dishes, this dishwasher doesnt dry well. But its fine to let them air dry. I highly recommend this dishwasher!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Really nice size

04/13/2011
By ,
Marysville, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this dishwasher. But they need a better Owners Manual. I removed the little gaget for the stemware so there would be room for tall glasses. I also removed the cover for the silverware holder as some of my silverware had too thick handles to fit. It would have helped if they had told how to do this as it wasnt easy.
But I really like the size in my small apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

machine good, instructions/cust service bad

03/09/2010
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are happy with our dishwasher so far (about five loads washed) but setting up the connection to the kitchen faucet was an ordeal. First of all, there are pieces in the box that are not mentioned anywhere in the manual as far as I can tell. The manual also does not mention the fact you have to remove your aerator in your faucet and replace it with the one they send, which is one of the aforementioned unnamed pieces. Its really not that hard to figure out, unless your faucet does not have the right type of thread, specifically it needs to be a female thread to fit the aerator they send with the machine. If you have a male thread faucet like we do, there is a piece at Lowes you can buy that will make it work. The annoying thing about it is that the manual makes no mention of different types of faucets and whether or not they will connect to the machine. I called customer service when I couldn't figure out how to connect the machine to the faucet and they were pretty clueless. If you have questions you are better off calling the parts dept, although they still basically said I was on my own and that they don't make an adaptor to fit different faucets. So, all in all, good product so far, but hope this helps someone who had the same problem we did.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP
07/16/2012
By ,
daly city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cannot believe that a cycle to wash a few dishes takes longer than 3 hours, yes that's what it takes to run the economy cycle. I would not recommend this product in fact I would like to return it. Running for over 3 hours is not convenient, because you cannot use the sink for this length of time, it is not a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP
01/08/2012
By ,
Queens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of a kind product. You can't find an easier, nicer, effective, good looking portable dishwasher than this. I love it!!!! I would pay much more for it knowing how good it is.
The installations a=is as ease as plugging it to the faucet. AMAZING!!!!
Stop reading this and buy it now.
THANKS WALMART, THANKS DANBY for designing such a great product! ! !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

hard water softner

08/14/2013
By ,
Summerfield,Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having used washer without the salt, as i have a well and hard water, silverware not getting clean. I have added the salt,used walmart dishwasher soap, and a rinse product. Still not getting silver clean. Leaves a scum on them. Dishes plactic containers for top shelf and others getting ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Awesome portable!

11/07/2013
By ,
Easton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm so glad I chose this dishwasher! I live in a small apartment and have been reading up a lot on these portable dishwashers. This dishwasher does an excellent job! Everything comes come out spotless and as long as you have a rinse-aid the dishes come out dry! I did have an issue with the machine leaking a little bit at 1st. The company sent out a tech to look at it and the door was a little crooked so the seal wasn't tight enough. The technician just twisted the door a tad and issue was fixed. So the door is flimsy and just be very careful not to knock into it ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

good for a small space.

05/23/2013
By ,
Defiance, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, I never owned a dishwasher before. I was afraid I was going to have to pre-rinse everything, but that is not the case. It came with a few dents, but I was expecting that from reading other reviews. It does a good job, it has a water softner that I have yet to figure out. I mean, I don't know what kind of salt to use for it. It takes at least 3 hours to run, even on economy setting. If you watched the demo video, I thought it gives the impression that it's a short unit because of how tall the demonstrator is, but it is a normal height portable unit. You can wash plastic dishes cause the heating unit does not get as hot as other dish washers. I have a friend who melted a plastic bowl in their dishwasher. It is easy to move around on the casting, I suppose it would be harder if your floor is not level. I run mine about twice a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Nice little portable!

04/17/2012
By ,
Largo, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice looking machine and has been working very well. A few quirky things with it that I would have liked to know but didn't see in other reviews: #1 it comes with it's own special spout adapter--which means you have to take your areator out of your faucet and screw this in it's place, or just leave this in your faucet...which is what I have done--not the perfect solution, because the water comes out quite hard and direct, but better than the alternative for me of screwing and unscrewing the aereator and adaptor alternately whenever I want to use this machine. Plus when removing and replacing, this adaptor could get lost and I'm not sure if it's a proprietary item that may be difficult to replace. #2 the instruction booklet is weak...there is a large plastic funnel looking thing that comes with this dishwasher, but I have NO idea what it is for! And the instructions never address it at all. #3 The outlet is grounded--which is not a bad thing, but I had to buy an adaptor to use it in my two prong only outlet. #4 This unit has spots for detergent, rinse aid AND salt! That's right SALT...This appears to be a good thing for areas with hard water which we have here, but I'm not sure where to get it. And the machine has lights to warn you when your salt/rinse aid is getting low. Luckily, if you don't use either the dishwasher still works! Just those lights come on whenever you do a load. #5 The top of this unit is NOT butcher block--which I guess I shouldn't have been expecting looking at the picture now, I guess I thought it would be more like a white cutting board type material, but it is pure shiny coating, like the dishwasher itself...a bit disappointing in that I enjoyed using my old portable with butcher block top for additional prepping/cutting space and am nervous about damaging the finish on this one. All in all, for the GREAT price this is a very nice dishwasher so far, just thought these are items of interest to the consumer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

So far, so good

04/01/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this little guy for a few weeks now and I LOVE it. I can't comment on durability, but so far, so good. The unit was, aesthetically, a little worse for wear after delivery (the front door got dented), but it still works just fine. Complaints: the top rack is a bit small - I haven't quite figured out how to nicely fit glassware and anything else up there. Accolades: The bottom rack is fantastic and fits our 13" plates that were (inexplicably) too big for the built-in in our last place. I still hold that portable dishwashers are outrageously expensive when compared to built-ins, but, so far, it's been worth every penny to not have to take on the daily stuff by hand. I also love the added counter space.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Great little dishwasher!

03/05/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this dishwasher after I went on a dishes protest. It cleans wonderfully (even the dishes that sat for days while I was on protest) however it does take about 2 hours to run a complete load. This isn't a problem for me because I start it before bed and its done in the morning.
The machine is small but other then some large pans its held all of our nightly meal dishes and we're a family of 5. It fits wonderfully in our very small kitchen and is easy to hookup/run and was half the price of the other portable option he looked at. I would highly recommend this machine for anyone tight on space and tired of handwashing dishes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

I love this dishwasher

07/24/2010
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was soo excited when this dishwasher got to my house. I have looked for other dishwashers and they cost at least 200 dollars higher. The only thing I agree with the other reviews that the manual was pretty non-helpful. I also had a hard time finding out which salt to use for it. I still have never been able to get the light to turn off even though I have purchased the proper type of water softener for it. You are to use the smallest kind not the larger time release stuff. But other then that, I really enjoy using it since I have been without a dishwasher for 3 years! It cleans them very well and I use it at least twice a day so yes I would recommend it to anyone who wants an awesome deal that works great!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Just... WOW!

05/03/2012
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this thing! I got the 3 year warranty with it just in case. Its only con is that its a little small but I can work with it. Its reliable and has been doin a great job!. Make sure you buy SALT to soften your hard water. Will improve your wash. Enjoy!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP
07/24/2010
By ,
Pawtucket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT ! best thing i have purchased so far for my new apt ! the apt did not come with a built in , like my last one did. after months of having to fight kids to do the dishes i finally researched very hard on buying a portable dishwasher. i was very surprised on how expensive portable dishwasher are compared to a built in. i would of preferred to have a butcher block on top of this one but the top that it does have is just fine. cleans up very well. it does alot of dishes for such a small appliance. i did not have to purchase anything extra. i took it out of the box and was doing dishes within 10 mins. so hook up was very simple. all i use is dishwashing liquid and a little vinger inside of the rinsing agent (for spottes) and the dishes sparkle! when it beeps i know they are done and becareful because they are SUPER hot. drying is very hot ! after searching around i was able to get this portable for a great price and took advantage of the .97 cent delivery which was AWESOME !! since it weights alot. and the driver was nice enough to help me bring it up to my 3rd floor apt ! so no complaints here !
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

perfect for small kitchens

03/21/2013
By ,
davison, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont have a built in dishwasher or space for one. I didn't want to lose cabinet space. This was the perfect alternative! I've only used it a couple of times, but it's worked great! Dishes came out sparkling clean. I did have to replace my faucet, as the one I had did not fit the attachment for the washer....not a big deal. Also have to leave fitting on the faucet, but again, not a big deal. Overall, the washer was/is exactly what I hoped it would be. Good looks and works great. I bought on line and had it shipped site to store. Best price on line was wal mart, as there was no shipping charge for store pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Best $350 I ever spent

08/29/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dishwasher is a Godsend. I have so much more time now! It's only my husband and myself, so it takes 2 days to fill it up. Even if a dish has been sitting and has gotten a little crusty the food comes off. I've only retrieved 1 or 2 still-dirty dishes from it, but that was before I figured out how much soap to use. This thing is SO easy to hook up to your faucet, it's easy to move around (even over bumpy tiles# , and it's a definite time-saver. I took the advice from a guy who left a review about which soap to use, and he's right, the Great Value lemon scented dishwasher detergent works great. Also, even though this dishwasher is compact, it fits a surprising number of dishes of all sizes. I even fit my kitchenaid mixer bowl in the bottom, WITH plates in there, too. And everything came out clean. I usually try to open the dishwasher after it's done, before it goes to the drying cycle, just to save energy. The dishes aren't going to dry in there without the door open, anyway. I just open the door and jiggle the trays a little to slop the water off #if there's any puddles on top of dishes) and leave it open and it's dry in a few hours, energy free. I haven't seen yet how it affects my electricity bill, but I'm thinking it's going to be worth it. I no longer feel like a slave to my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

GREAT value...less expensive that like goods

09/17/2012
By ,
Denver CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This replaces a dishwasher that I absolutely hated because of the poor workmanship involved in its manufacture. Already this dishwasher is better...and $200 cheaper! Hurray! The only downside is that it arrived with some slight damage to the rear of the housing...a downer, but not a deal breaker.
I had a bit of a time understanding the controls of this product, but with a little help from my husband, I have it mastered. The only thing I would have appreciated is if it came in black, or almond, or whatever passes for almond these days.
Perfect for people with really small kitchens that cannot accommodate a full-size dishwasher. Really washes a good deal of dishes for it size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Danby 8-Place Setting Energy Star Portable Dishwasher, DDW1899WP

Small but mighty

02/20/2013
By ,
Garden City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into a home with a tiny kitchen. I thought I could live without a dishwasher but after a few months of handwashing I was out of patience. I started to review apartment size dishwashers and even countertop styles. I ruled out counter top and knew a portable 18 inch would be the only solution. I quickly found the smaller style did not mean a smaller price. But it is supply and demand. I always check reviews on epinion and on seller websites. I found the Danby to be competitive in price and the reviews were good. Walmart had the best price and was free ship to store. This sealed the deal for me. Since I live alone it took a few days to fill the dishwasher (how awesome not to have to handwash). I easily rolled it over to the sink. The hookup is simple. It holds alot of dishes, utensils, cups and etc. I wash my big pans in the sink but I did this even with a regular size. It is quiet running. After cycle finished I was delighted to see how clean my dishes were. I was concerned because some water was still in the unit but checked the manuel and it indicated this was normal. I unhooked and easily wheeled it back into place. I am very happy early on with my unit. I will add it came well packed from the factory. It weighs over a hundred pounds but I would expect that from something with running parts and would be suspicious if it were lightweight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 397 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  20 Next