Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Brother Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Take your embroidery projects to new levels with the Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5" x 7" Hoop Size. It is compatible with USB memory sticks so you can download and save a wide range of designs. With a super-easy bobbin winding system and a quick-set drop-in bobbin, this digital embroidery machine can be used by beginners and professionals alike. Its editing feature allows patterns to be rotated in variable-degree increments. The Brother PE770 embroidery machine also can be used with a Brother Memory Card Library (sold separately) for a larger selection of designs. It features a touchscreen panel, adjustable speeds and a memory feature that allows you to save designs for future use or add your own personal designs. The Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5" x 7" Hoop Size comes with 136 built-in designs, six built-in lettering fonts and 10 frame patterns with 12 border styles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%81 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
97 Questions | 189 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Issues with Operation Manual

01/03/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent a couple of days reading and rereading the manual. The illustrations and instructions were clear for bobbin winding, threading, preparing the hoop, and embroidering the builtin designs, letters, and frames. The adjustment, layout, and size instructions were clear.
Use of the EM memories, however, has been a challenge. I could not delete a pattern recalled from memory by following the manual. By accident, I discovered the pattern display must be touched to bring up the delete key. I have not been able to stitch a recalled pattern from an EM memory. I have an email request into Brother support for an explanation of how to do this.
Since I purchased the PE770 to do labels for a family quilt collection, it is important to be able to create and size and postion alpha string patterns and store them and frames in memories before recalling and stitching. Also important to store them on a flash memory, which I haven't been able to test yet.
The PE770 has a nice assortment of builtin designs, alphabets, frames, and borders.
As for machine function, the operation and stitch quality is good. But he hoop does not seem to seat as firmly and precisely as I expected. And when the hoop was removed to check bobbin thread and replaced to embroider the same design enlarged with another color thread, the registration was off. Although I don't expect to do this regularly, I was surprised and disappointed with the result.
I hope problems with the memories can be resolved, and if so I would give a higher rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
.PES Format
Posted 08/27/2013
Yes, you can program your own designs and save them in a .pes format.
About enlargements causing registration issues, you might want to recreate designs that need to be enlarged by more than 10%. Quality can suffer with these little machines, so maybe even a 5% increase in design size should just be reprogrammed, or remade. Registration goes astray because stitches (density, length, width, etc.) are fixed in .pes formatting, from what I understand.
+1point
Customer Avatar
AR
Question
Posted 03/14/2012
Does this machine allow you to create your own designs? For instance, if you have a picture of your pet can you get it embroidered? Or no?
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Easy

02/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use but there are features I imagined that are not available; multiple lines of text.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Not hard to use.

03/16/2010
By ,
Fairview, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This embroidery machine is fantastic. I have not used the flash drive or the card slot yet, but will very soon. I wish the manual explained some things in more detail, but so far I have figured out everything. I am enjoying it, so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great Machine

03/28/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has done everything that I ever expected and then some. I would recommend this Embroidery Machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Not for regular sewing

05/30/2010
By ,
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somehow I missed the fact that this was an embroidery-only machine. I wanted one that would also do regular sewing. I believe the value for the $ was excellent, but it wasn't what I wanted. I returned it but felt bad that I hadn't realized what it would do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portland, Or
Not your fault!
Posted 08/31/2013
Anyone would assume that this machine sews if you read Walmart's product description..."This sewing and embroidery machine ." Walmart really needs to change the description. Brother does make embroidery and sewing machine in one and Walmart sells them, but this model is not one of them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Brother PE-770

07/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing machine. It has many useful features like mirror imaging, image rotation, and a 5x7 inch embroidery hoop. I don't recommend this to a beginner because its many features can be overwhelming and maybe a little confusing. The touch screen is very easy to use once you become familiar with all the symbols.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OK
PE-770
Posted 09/11/2013
Seamstress Maddie, I have had a digital sewing machine for several years. So when you say beginner, do you mean someone who has never used a sewing machine or someone who has never used an embroidery machine?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Customer service was very helpful

10/17/2010
By ,
The Columbia River Gorge, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This machine was a disappointment because I expected the same quality that I've gotten from the Brother brand in the past. Machines sold on the open market are not the same quality as those sold by authorized dealers.
The only thing I really liked was the automatic threader - it works great!!
The hoop was difficult to attach, it doesn't use the same size bobbins as other models and I was generally dis-satisfied with the machine.
WalMart made it very easy to return it for full refund, so that's the good news.
I've since gone to a local sewing store and purchased another brand because nobody in my area carries Brother yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

good machine for the price

11/20/2010
By ,
mulberry fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had a small learning curve after using my PE 200 for years but the manual was quite helpful. Enlarging the pages helped me because I was able to read and understand it easier
you need to be aware that the machine counts 2 patterns as one from the USB drive. Spent an hour and a half figuring that out! There is only one hoop and thin material is hard to tighten in it.
Bottom line; the machine makes beautiful designs.
you can enlarge and decrease them easily. You can also turn them in any direction. I love using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great Price

11/27/2010
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been watching prices for this machine and this was the best price I have found. The machine works great and I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Brother PE770

12/05/2010
By ,
los angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good-5x7 frame. Not so good but I live with it: the frame is a little more difficult to insert than my older, more expensive machine. Also not so easy, but very manageable, is the screen. I'm used to a color screen (this one is black & white) & since I'm still getting used to it-I have a little difficulty managing the different features. Other than that I've been totally surprised that I would love this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size
12/27/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be more pleased. Easy to use and was using downloaded designs the first day. I have been using a very old machine for about a year, so not new to machine embroidery, and loving the larger field and unlimited capabilities possible with the USB connection. Found I had less thread breakage using the slower speed. I use small thread cones and found I needed a standing cone holder since they didn't fit well on the installed thread holder and it corrected a problem of needle breaking with threads not feeding properly, but that was not the fault of the machine, just my choice of thread manufacturer. I've had less than 3 weeks, so can't attest to durabilty, but Brother makes a great little machine hence my purchase. Value was wonderful, at least a $100 cheaper at Walmart than thru my Brother dealer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Wonderful Product

01/04/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine. It has done more than I expected and is easy to use. I would highly recommend this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

awesome

01/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this product. I actually bought it for my sister and she has had nothing but good things to say.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

works as advertised

03/04/2011
By ,
Denver, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is easy to use right out of the box. The instructions are clear and easy to follow.
there are several websights to get additional patterns for free or low cost. I would recommend this machine to anyone who is starting out with an embroidery machine. There are accessories that will work with this machine that are not very expensive. Over all, I really like this machine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/31/2011
May I ask what websites you got the additional patterns at?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Takes a bit

04/11/2011
By ,
Aurora, Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use.
The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format.
Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Lots of fun!

05/03/2011
By ,
Stuttgart, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has truly brightened my life. It is so much fun to use once you have mastered the instruction manual. It might have been easier to understand if I was fifty years younger, but I finally figured it out. It is not as much fun as my Goldwing or my Corvette, but I still enjoy using it. I would definately recommend one to my friends, but get a Goldwing first! I may even let my wife use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Very pleased.

07/13/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Nice Machine

08/12/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Spacing between names.
Posted 08/31/2014
I haven't been able to figure out how to insert a space in between names either. Thought it was just me.
0points
Customer Avatar
spaces between letters
Posted 10/16/2012
I was reading through the reviews on the Brother PE770 when I saw your comment about wishing there was a way to put spaces between letters or words. Have you figured that out yet? I hope so. My se400 has a space key in each of the alphabets that came on the machine and I'm sure yours does too. After you scroll through the letters and numbers and get to the symbols in a particular font, there is a symbol that looks like what would be an underline on a computer keyboard. "_" That is actually what you pick to put a space in between words.
+7points
Customer Avatar
League City, TX
Letter Spacing
Posted 10/13/2011
I had the same problem when embroidering words where I needed a space in between. I have a Brother SE 270D and discovered that you can "trick" the machine by skipping over one letter where you need the space. I did this by advancing the thread color by one on the screen when I got to the place where the space was needed. Not sure if your machine has the advance thread choice but I would assume it does since my machine is much older. The picture on the screen is a spool of thread with a + sign next to it. Hope this helps & good luck!
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 19 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

LOVE IT!

10/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this machine! It does exactly what I need for my business as I am just starting out! I'm so glad I made this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Would NOT Reccommend

10/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine to upgrade from the SE400 I had. This machine has been NOTHING but trouble since I purchased it. Within the first week of buying it, I had to return it because the bobbin was messed up extremely bad and was unfixable. I recieved my second one, and it has now been 2 weeks and this one too has messed up. I never had any problems out of my SE400. This one has been nothing but trouble... I will be returning this second one and looking in to another brand...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portland, Or
I had the same experince....
Posted 09/09/2013
I owned a SE 400 and sold it to a friend, then I bought the PE770. It embroidered two designs flawlessly, then the thread started looping on top of the fabric, and thread would gather in the bobbin area and jam. I didn't do anything different other than load new fabric in a hook and change the embroidery pattern. I replaced the bobbin, re threaded the machine, swapped out the thread, then adjusted the bobbin tension, but nothing mattered. I ended up taking it back. I bought the SE 400 again even though it has a smaller work area, but I never ever had a problem with the SE 400 like I did with the PE770.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next