Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Brother Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

The Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine comes with more than a hundred preloaded designs. This digital embroidery machine is compatible with USB memory sticks. With a super easy bobbin winding system and a quick set drop-in bobbin, this sewing machine is very convenient to use. This sewing and embroidery machine allows the user to use a Brother Memory Card Library for many diverse designs. It has an editing feature wherein embroidery editing patterns can be rotated in 1, 10 or 90 degree increments. The editing is done on a monochrome LCD touch screen. It is equipped with adjustable machine speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%74 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
83 Questions | 151 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Nice Machine

08/12/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
spaces between letters
Posted 10/16/2012
I was reading through the reviews on the Brother PE770 when I saw your comment about wishing there was a way to put spaces between letters or words. Have you figured that out yet? I hope so. My se400 has a space key in each of the alphabets that came on the machine and I'm sure yours does too. After you scroll through the letters and numbers and get to the symbols in a particular font, there is a symbol that looks like what would be an underline on a computer keyboard. "_" That is actually what you pick to put a space in between words.
+5points
Customer Avatar
League City, TX
Letter Spacing
Posted 10/13/2011
I had the same problem when embroidering words where I needed a space in between. I have a Brother SE 270D and discovered that you can "trick" the machine by skipping over one letter where you need the space. I did this by advancing the thread color by one on the screen when I got to the place where the space was needed. Not sure if your machine has the advance thread choice but I would assume it does since my machine is much older. The picture on the screen is a spool of thread with a + sign next to it. Hope this helps & good luck!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great Value for the Price!

04/17/2014
By ,
Mansfield, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased a Singer Futura XL400 but returned it the next day after numerous/continual problems.
I bought this to replace it and couldn't be happier. My mother in law has a very expensive Brother Innovis embroidery machine and this has most of the same features and functions as well as equal ease of use. Set-up is a breeze and there are on screen animations to guide you through anything you may need to know.
The embroidery is beautiful and neat- comparable to a much nicer machine. I did have an issue with my bobbin thread showing on the top with my first practice piece, but after researching it, I realized I just needed to re-thread it with the foot up (otherwise the tension is off). Easy fix. I have even downloaded images and fonts to use with this machine and they all work great! My next purchase will be Elipse hoop set for added versatility, however the included hoop is a great size and works just fine.
Overall its a great value and produces high quality embroidery designs and lettering. I am very pleased with the performance of this embroidery machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Wonderful machine for all!!

01/10/2014
By ,
St Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally ordered the pe 400 and returned it as it only had a 4x4 hoop!! I am so glad I got this machine the PE 770 that has the 5x7 hoop it works like a dream!! I have been appliqueing and monograming like crazy!! Love it!! And walmarts sale price was unreal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

fantastic machine

12/10/2013
By ,
San antonio, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on embroidery machines and this one is top-rated. I love it, and Walmart honestly had the best price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great ! Love it!~

01/10/2014
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching for quite a while I purchased this machine, seemed to be the most bang for my buck, I have ran it for a few days, it was very simple to get started and is very simple to run! I really like it! Just what I expected, great beginner piece!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Good machine

02/11/2014
By ,
Kenosha , wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to work. It does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Very pleased.

07/13/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Easy to use from the start - intuitive

02/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great embroidery machine - super value - easy to learn
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great machine

12/09/2013
By ,
new iberia, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great workhorse

12/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my machine for hours at a time day after day. It's a great work horse and value for the money. It's easy and quick to set up. I bought the Brother PED Basic to transfer designs from computer to card, I haven't tried using the USB port on this machine. I also love that you can save designs on this machine. Other great features are that it alerts you when bobbin thread and spool threads are running out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great Machine

01/29/2012
By ,
Monroe, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased my Brother PE770, I had never used an embroidery machine before, although I am an experienced seamstress and quilter. I did my research prior to making the purchase. I have found the machine went above and beyond my expectations.
Some have complained about the hoop being difficult to insert. It is only a matter of learning how much pressure you need to insert and remove the hoop. With practice it becomes so easy you don't even realize you are doing it.
I have found it is very user friendly, and after receiving the machine and reading the manual once, I was able to produce my first embroidery. Within a few minutes I was able to do my first applique. The applique is what I use my machine the most . It produces professional quality results with minimum effort.
While there is limited editing available internally, in order to completely design your own or edit purchased designs, it is really necessary to have an editing software. These can be purchased at low cost (with some being free or offering a free trial basis). The learning curve is not any larger than learning to use any computerized machine. I was producing work for customers with in a week.
While this machine is designed for home use, I have built up a rather impressive business in the 2 short years I have owned this machine. While I would love to have a commercial machine, I have decided to purchase another Brother PE770 to add to my business. One week shy of the two year mark and I have put 5.5 million stitches on it.
Nini
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bastrop, la
Editing designs
Posted 06/11/2013
Hi, I am completely new to embroidering and I'm trying to prep before I actually try it out. I am wanting to use my embroidery machine mostly for applique. I've been downloading a lot of free designs to start with but I would like to personalize some of them as I get more use to it. Could you recommend a cheap editing software that would let me combine two or more downloaded designs or fonts into one. ie a heart design and a separate crown design..If I wanted to place the crown on top of the heart and put a name in it, is there a cheap (under$100) software that will let me do that? All I have found so far is digitizing software that is super expensive, but I don't need to create my own designs just merge some. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Very good embrodery

01/23/2013
By ,
Willis,Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the PE770 embroidery machine for awhile but was a little afraid of this type of machine. I have always had a plain sewing machine, never one this detailed. After I read instructions I venture out to do one color embroidery. It turned out great. When my grand-daughter got married she wanted me to embroidery the initials of the bridesmaids on a dress coat for each girl. I was worried about setting the distance between letters and getting them balanced, but they turned out fine. Just a lot of figuring when your ready to use, but it works good. Have done a few more items since and I plan on doing more. So far I'v enjoyed experimenting and learning as I go. It does a professional looking job. It has alot of built in patterns and Brother offers patterns online free. Walmart had the best price and the rebate was a bonus. Hope to have many years of use from this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Issues with Operation Manual

01/03/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent a couple of days reading and rereading the manual. The illustrations and instructions were clear for bobbin winding, threading, preparing the hoop, and embroidering the builtin designs, letters, and frames. The adjustment, layout, and size instructions were clear.
Use of the EM memories, however, has been a challenge. I could not delete a pattern recalled from memory by following the manual. By accident, I discovered the pattern display must be touched to bring up the delete key. I have not been able to stitch a recalled pattern from an EM memory. I have an email request into Brother support for an explanation of how to do this.
Since I purchased the PE770 to do labels for a family quilt collection, it is important to be able to create and size and postion alpha string patterns and store them and frames in memories before recalling and stitching. Also important to store them on a flash memory, which I haven't been able to test yet.
The PE770 has a nice assortment of builtin designs, alphabets, frames, and borders.
As for machine function, the operation and stitch quality is good. But he hoop does not seem to seat as firmly and precisely as I expected. And when the hoop was removed to check bobbin thread and replaced to embroider the same design enlarged with another color thread, the registration was off. Although I don't expect to do this regularly, I was surprised and disappointed with the result.
I hope problems with the memories can be resolved, and if so I would give a higher rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
.PES Format
Posted 08/27/2013
Yes, you can program your own designs and save them in a .pes format.
About enlargements causing registration issues, you might want to recreate designs that need to be enlarged by more than 10%. Quality can suffer with these little machines, so maybe even a 5% increase in design size should just be reprogrammed, or remade. Registration goes astray because stitches (density, length, width, etc.) are fixed in .pes formatting, from what I understand.
+1point
Customer Avatar
AR
Question
Posted 03/14/2012
Does this machine allow you to create your own designs? For instance, if you have a picture of your pet can you get it embroidered? Or no?
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size
09/18/2012
By ,
Ville Platte, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine for my daughter-in-law to be. She had been using mine but wanted one of her own. She is in love with it. She has created sooo many items with it and she has only just begun. It sews very, very smoothly and very easy to operate. Of course she is one to read the entire book before beginning to use it. (Not like me...i just like to jump in). The only feature she does not have that mine does is that you cannot put multiple images on the design set at once. But of course she sort of got around that and fine tuned her design area. She does plan on purchasing the software for that in the future. But for now she is having a ball....I would highly recommend it to anyone. LOL now my other daughter in law wants one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Takes a bit

04/11/2011
By ,
Aurora, Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use.
The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format.
Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

good machine for the price

11/20/2010
By ,
mulberry fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had a small learning curve after using my PE 200 for years but the manual was quite helpful. Enlarging the pages helped me because I was able to read and understand it easier
you need to be aware that the machine counts 2 patterns as one from the USB drive. Spent an hour and a half figuring that out! There is only one hoop and thin material is hard to tighten in it.
Bottom line; the machine makes beautiful designs.
you can enlarge and decrease them easily. You can also turn them in any direction. I love using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great machine

04/08/2014
By ,
Ontario, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this machine. It does everything I want. A little hard to figure out everything that it is capable of doing but it can do a lot! It was half of the price of the comparable brother machine that I could get in Canada.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Great inexpensive embroidery machine

09/04/2013
By ,
waxahachie, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two Viking sewing/embroidery machines and bought this one as a back up when I thought one was damaged beyond repair. Like having an embroidery only machine as I don't have to adjust the tensions so much. The Brother PE770 is not as fast as the other two but fast enough and has a generous 5X7 embroidery field. Have seen nothing but good reviews for this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

perfect upgrade for my current SE-400 embroidery m

03/29/2014
By ,
Garden City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very prompt friendly service. There were a few items missing from the box. Still don't have the machine up and running as I didn't get the hoops with the machine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size

Awesome machine

03/31/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not had time to figure everything out but love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next