Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Bissell Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

The Bissell Vacuum with its Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Function has a detachable canister that easily cleans your stairs and hard-to-reach areas where pets like to sleep. A multi cyclonic system extends suction power for better cleaning performance. This Bissell vacuum is the perfect tool to thoroughly clean pet hair and more from carpet and bare floors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(273 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
56
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation91%64 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
169
4 stars
56
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great Vacuum

12/01/2012
By ,
Centerville, Ia.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bissell Lift-Off Vacuum, 89Q9 met all of my expectations. Does great on Dog hair. Easy to empty and the lift-off feature is great. The only complant that I would have is that you must hold up the cord with your left hand while vacuuming and the cord is on the wrong side of the unit(right) which would be much easier to control if the cord was on the left side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great Vacuum

02/01/2014
By ,
Durango, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2 year old lab that sheds like crazy and this vacuum pickups all of his hair with no problems. The first time I emptied the vacuum, I thought with all the hair I picked up I could of got another pet out of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Best vacuum for Mohawk smartstrand silk carpet

12/04/2013
By ,
Plainwell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to vacuum now, really!!! I have been trying to push my older Hoover windtunnel on my new Mohawk Smartstrand Silk carpet for months. It's awful! It was almost impossible to push and left deep grooves. I had read online that finding a vacuum for this type of carpet was near impossible and someone recommended this Bissell 89Q9. I ordered it online with free shipping and it arrived very quickly. My son put it together for me and I put it on the highest setting and started to vacuum. I am absolutely thrilled at the ease that it glides over the carpet. Plus, when I tested the vacuum for the first time I had just vacuumed with my older vacuum so I didn't expect to find any dirt in the canister. I was shocked when I saw how much dust/dirt it still picked up. This vacuum also works great on my hardwood floors.
There are two or three other vacuums recommended by others for the silk carpet but this one had all the features I was looking for - good price, bagless, and onboard tools.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boulder, CO
THANK YOU!
Posted 12/05/2013
I have been researching what kind of vacuum to get for our Mohawk Silk Smart strand carpet (that we love!), and after pretty much deciding on this vacuum, i started price shopping online, only to see your review - THANK YOU! You have confirmed my decision to get this vacuum - I hope I love it as much. I've been pushing around a dyson on our carpet, and am tired of sweating after doing one room. Never thought I'd want a vacuum for xmas, but here I am…. and I can't wait for something easier to push around!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Love, love, love this vacuum

04/09/2014
By ,
Farmington Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After getting new carpet for my home (soft, plush Mohawk) I almost despaired of ever being able to clean it. Tried the Dyson, Shark, Eureka, Dirt Devil. Kept buying vacuums and brought them home, and couldn't move them on the carpet, so had to keep returning them. And don't try taking a carpet sample in and trying that out. We did that. Took a large piece of carpet into Lowe's and tried all their vacuums on it. The Eureka worked great. Got it home, and I had to struggle to just move it on my carpet. At the store though we didn't have the pad under it. Finally, because of reviews here, I ordered the Bissell 89Q9 from Walmart. It came in just a day, and I can't believe how beautifully it works. I don't even have it on the highest setting, and it moves like a dream. Seems to take up a lot of stuff from carpets that were supposed to be clean. So I highly recommend this vacuum, especially for those very soft plushes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

So practical

04/01/2014
By ,
St.cloud, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a vaccum cleaner that makes sense, powerful, dirt cup easy to empty. Long cord, really picks up dog hair, I have two shelties, and it picks up the big clumps of hair no problem. Thanks Bissell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

I will never buy any other vacuum again.

04/21/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this vacuum a few years ago and loved it. It eventually stopped working years later, so I bought a different brand to save a few bucks. Biggest mistake! That vacuum only lasted 3 months and didn't even work that well during that time. So I shopped around for a new one but was hesitate to try a different one again due to my last mistake. I then ended up purchasing this same bissell again because I knew it worked based on my past experience with it. And all I can say is that I missed my bissell. I have a dog and lots of carpeting, this bissell works great. I realized that it worked so well and was very dependable. I would totally recommend this vacuum. I trust this brand and this vacuum is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

great vacuum!

02/13/2010
By ,
Spanish Fork, Ut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to say I read a lot of reviews before buying this vacuum. I finally settled on this one and knew the issues I would have before buying. The filters on this vacuum do have to be kept clean in order to avoid some of the problems that other people are experiencing. It will lost suction and make a high pitched noise if you don't keep the filters clean. I clean mine after every use and have had the vacuum for 4 years. I was online today looking to see what the price was as I was going to buy another one my husbands office. I think this is an amazing vacuum but you have to be willing to keep the filters clean, which really you should be doing with any vacuum! Just know that this vacuum is worth the money if you are willing to take care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great on heavy carpet

11/11/2013
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum based on a blog site of a lady that had the same problem I did. Basically we bought Shaw carpet, platinum series frieze. I knew before buying the carpet the vacuum may be an issue based on one salesman's comments. Sadly my Hoover Windtunnel can not push through the carpet. This vacuum glides with the beater bar on well enough. The suction is good. Perhaps the best thing ever is the detachable canister for our stairs. The other vacuum I own is also an upright and it is nothing short of dangerous when I had to use that thing on the stairs. The canister when detached is very light weight. The "pet brush" attachment is great at picking up the new carpet fibers still coming out and my daughter's very long hair. We do not have a pet but we have some serious hair issues just from my daughter. I do not know long term how durable this will be. Other buyers complain about suction after a while. It mentions on other sites and the manual you MUST keep the filters clean. I am not crazy about bagless vacuums but there are other features to make up for this vacuum. One poor design was detaching to hose. You can not wrap your hand around the entire hose to pull it off. There is a little lip sticking up to help in removing it but it is really not helpful. My issue is I had carpal tunnel surgery earlier in the year. I need to get a firm grip on things and my grip just doesn't feel very firm. That being said I can still get it off. Eventually I will get used to it.
Pros: great on stairs
has a very high setting for the spinning brush
detachable canister
lot's of attachements
light canister
bagless because you don't have to buy expensive bags
pretty long electrical cord
you can turn the spinning brush on or off
easy to find switch to turn the unit on
Con's: It is a little heavy when pushing the entire unit
you must keep the filters clean or your suction will suffer
bagless (this is a con for me)
stiff removal of the hose for attachments
the electrical cord must be manually hand wrapped
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Peoria, IL
second update
Posted 01/29/2014
Still works great. Something you might need though is a second vacuum to clean this vacuum. I thought I was cleaning all the right areas and found I have been missing a spot. I sort of knew you had to take that yellow cone out but never did. Today I HAD to. I was surprised how clogged it was. Don't forget to clean this or you WILL loose suction. As for needing a second vacuum, it is handy to have a vacuum to clean the dust that falls out when you pull the canister. Bagless vacuums are not my thing but I HAD to buy this due to the type of carpet I bought. I have yet to discover how to keep the filth from being static charged and not sticking to you when you empty the canister. I even tried sucking up cut up fabric softener sheets but they didn't work. I wish a genius would solve this riddle. Anyway, the vacuum is working great and if you keep it clean it will keep sucking.
0points
Customer Avatar
Peoria, IL
update
Posted 01/04/2014
So I've had this vacuum for almost 2 months. I have not had issues with loss of power. I am pretty particular about keeping the filter clean and emptying the canister. I think for most people you want a second backup vacuum to clean this vacuum. When you remove the canister to dump the dirt there is a lot of dirt above in the cyclone that gets knocked down. This dirt goes straight into a black squishy filter. It is a bad design but just requires you to pay attention. I ordered extra filters from Bissell. If I ever need to wash this black filter I have a back up clean and dry filter to use until the next change. There is another set of filters you can not clean like that though. I have those ready to go. I also order extra belts. I have had enough vacuums to know if you don't buy these consumable pieces early you may find yourself buying a new vacuum again due to lack of parts. I have to say I love the feature for vacuuming stairs. Detaching the unit I now clean my stairs all the time. My biggest "hate" of this vacuum is being baggless. As soon as you take the canister off the dirt inside instantly starts to jump out at you due to static charge. My son went to look at all the dirt and it was like the dirt came alive. It just started popping out at him. Any comments on how to deactivate the static charge? My hands are usually covered in dirt when I dump it out as well.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Awesome

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum rocks! The only one I have found with 7 manual adjustments for carpet height. I have a thick pile carpet and the auto height adjust vacuums just don't work. One push of the button and you have a portable vac for the stairs or whatever. Great vac, great price. I tiried a comparable hoover and it died in less than 2 weeks. I have other bissell's but this one works on the high pile carpet and the 1 button portable feature is awesome as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

My Favorite Vacuum

04/07/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned this vacuum for about 4 years now. It is the first vacuum that has lasted me over a year. We have 5 pets-2 dogs and 3 cats, plus 2 kids. My vacuums have to work and they have to last. I love this bissell. I have never had to replace the belt and the motor has never even waivered. I had a bit of trouble with the hand held vacuum device, but I called Bissell and they sent me out a new one.
I also own the Bissel 2x cleaning machine, which I love and the Pet Hair Eraser, that I don't particularly like.
The Lift off has convenient attachments and the filters are easily cleaned and emptied. I don't really find them messy, but if you are not familiar with bagless, I can see where you might think they are. This is by far the nicest bagless I have owned. We have owned Dirt Devil, Hoover, Eureka and some Shark kind. Even the Pet Hair Eraser isn't as good as this one.
The suction on the Lift off is excellent and REALLY picks up the dog hair. The other thing I like about it is that when the unit is in the upright position, the rotator bar automatically stops. I had a Hoover that ate through my new carpet because the rotator bar kept going. You can also turn the rotator bar off and on and it works well on hard floors.
The foam filters can be washed and air dried. I purchased a second set so that I can rotate them without waiting for the filters to dry. I even washed the hepa filter, though you are not suppose to.
Having used many kinds of vacuums, I HIGHLY recommend the Lift Off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great suction.

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great suction. My old vacuum was a Bissell too, so I expected good suction.
I chose this model because it vacuums the edges of the baseboards when vacuuming straight ahead.
I'm having to get used to the lift off feature. The attachments are the same as with my old Bissell. I wish that it came with a better floor attachment for the lift off function. I see that Bissell makes one, but I will have to purchase that separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Love the lift off feature

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this vacuum!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

EXCELLANT IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY

04/08/2014
By ,
Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow works so great I have 2 small dogs and 5 cats and the amount of hair I get with each vacuum everyday is just really unbelievable great suction I use the power brush on my furniture and it gets all the hair off very impressed with this vacuum really love it and I use it on my hardwood floors, now I don't have to sweep lol defintley worth the money thank you BISSEL & WALMART
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Super sweeper

04/05/2014
By ,
Aurora, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this sweeper from Walmart.com price and delivery were great. This sweeper allows me to get rid of my other two sweepers as it converts to a handheld sweeper. It also works great on my new frieese (high Plush) carpeting
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great vacuum for the money

02/10/2014
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I had Mohawk SmartStrand Silk carpet installed and you have to be very careful which vacuum you use on it. I had a Hoover Rewind Elite (4yr old) but the brush setting would not go high enough. The 89Q9 works great on it's highest setting and the large wheels make it easy to move on SmartStrand Silk carpet. The "pet hair" power brush is a joke though, same as the one that came with my Hoover. It uses suction to drive the brush tool, but the second it makes contact with anything it stops dead in its tracks. The other tools are fine. Good suction, I like the lift off feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Skip this one and buy a better brand

01/31/2010
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought Bissell was a good name brand and registered for this when my husband and I got married. We had another vacuum so we kept this one in the box till we bought our first home. The first 2 weeks it was nice... and then it started losing suction. It also started making a humming noise. I took it apart and cleaned everything on it. It was so dusty in it... not just the parts that are going to get dusty but all of it. The dirty bin is a big mess to dump and clean. I feel like I have to clean the vacuum more than my carpets. Also it only spreads everything around if you try to use it on hard floors. The attachments are a joke because you get the extender on and then an attachment and all you do is knock the dirt and dust to the floor there is no suction at all. Then the motor broke less than a year after we took it out of the box. Not worth the box it was packaged in! We are not going to wast our money on anything bissell makes any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Very nice.

03/23/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Dirt Devil and used it just before I went to get this one and the dirt it picked up was unbelievable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

NICE WHILE IT LASTED!

10/23/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this vacuum had just died on us after 6 months. this vacuum is really really loud and also kinda heavy, this vacuum will make a very high sound to it and will smell like dust and like it will blow up on you like mine did, i cleand the brush changed the belt and clean all the filters and replaced the hepa fillter but then it got even more loud and the smell got worse so now its in the garoge but i dont think it will be living much longer but it was nice while it lasted i though about buying it again but i dont think so cause im not buying it again every year, but the suctin is good for the 1st month or 2 but after that is gose down, the hand turbo brush broke because it fell off when i was vacuuming , i gess it nice to turn of the brush roll when you vacuum hard floors so thats one nice thing i gess, the last thing is when i was vacuuming the steps the base fell down the stars and so now the vacuum wont stay up any more so i give this 3/5!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Works great on pet hair.

02/10/2014
By ,
Durant, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! The only thing is that I expected the overall vacuum to be a little lighter. It's still a heavy vacuum used in the traditional manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Lift-Off Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum, 89Q9

Great Vacuum

06/30/2011
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this machine. It picks up everything and is awesome with pet hair. I have two dogs that shed constantly and a long-haired cat so I have to vacuum every day. Up until now, I have not found a vacuum that could match my old Kirby. This one one does (and it's much lighter too). I also love it that you can lift off the canister for stairs and such. My only suggestion would be to offer a longer hose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next